BBB Accredited Business since

Cross Town Movers Inc

Phone: (541) 683-5211 Fax: (541) 434-6509 1400 S Bertelsen Rd, Eugene, OR 97402

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers rental equipment for moving and storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cross Town Movers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cross Town Movers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cross Town Movers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1998 Business started locally: 10/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Somerville, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Somerville, Owner
Business Category

Moving Equipment Rental Truck Rent & Lease Moving & Storage Company Moving Brokers Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cross Town Movers Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1400 S Bertelsen Rd

    Eugene, OR 97402 (541) 683-5211


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In a word: awful! I had them move a piano from Corvallis to Albany. When they were moving the piano out of the house in Corvallis, my partner called and said "Be warned: it's Larry, Curly, and Moe that are moving the piano". Boy, was she right. On arriving in Albany, they clearly had no idea what they were doing. When the three fellows moving the piano were half way up the steps, they nearly dropped the piano, destroying one of my (yes, old) stair railings. Piano was not damaged, but really put it out of tune. When I was negotiating for compensation for the railing, they low-balled me. Not classy at all. And, to ad insult to injury, one of the off duty employees yelled at me as he was driving by (as I was working on replacing the railing): "Nice railing" I am very unhappy with the lack of professionalism, oversight, and lack of training their moving crews have. My strong recommendation is to look elsewhere for moving services!!! I am quite unhappy with the entire experience.

Desired Settlement: Apology from employee (or manager) and just compensation for poor service and damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/10/09) */ Whenever Cross Town Movers has a dissatisfied customer, we take it very seriously. Our reputation is generally a very good one, despite Mr *******'s experience, and we try very hard to leave everyone feeling good about our resolutions to any issues that may arise. After reviewing both sides of the story, we feel that there are mitigating circumstances on both sides. We do acknowledge that our initial offer of compensation was inadequate to satisfy Mr *******'s concerns and we are very open to discussing the issue further to come up with a mutually accepted figure. However, our numerous attempts to contact him and have not gotten a response back. We apologize for not providing Mr ******* with the level of service he expected and will do what we can to make it right. He can feel free to call us and discuss the issue further.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted $103.90 per hour. I had only 6 pieces of furniture to move, and approx 15 boxes (already packed) in my onsite 10x10 storage unit. It took them 3.5 hours to move these items from my apartment to my new residence, and then to a local storage unit (3 places within 5 miles of each other). They made phone calls re: no gas in moving truck, had no tools (used mine), took smoke breaks, and scratched my dryer. I was charged a "mandatory" 45 minute travel charge after delivery. I called *** last Saturday to complain and he has never returned my call with a result. I spoke to ***** yesterday. Still no call back. Made excuses about being too busy and staff changes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of at least one hour ($103.90) for the unprofessional and careless attitude of the movers. I paid a total of $389.90. *** stated they only charge a 30 minute travel time which I was NEVER quoted when I originally called on January 23rd (spoke with ****** It is highly unprofessional and disrespectful to not return an unhappy customer's phone call. I am busy too, and my time is also just as valuable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/13) */ *****, I was very disturbed to read about your complaint. It is rare that we ever hear complaints about our staff and so when we do, I take them very seriously. I have spoke with my staff who performed your move at length and reminded them of our policy with breaks, and that is that any breaks that are taken are to be deducted off of our customer's bill. Also, that we are to round the drive time in our customers favor, not our favor. We do charge 15 minutes travel time each way on a local move, for a total of 30 minutes. I greatly apologize that we charged 15 minutes too much. I have since reminded all staff of these policies. Also, I have spoken with *** and ***** in regards to your comments about their handling of your dispute. This also was totally unacceptable. I have since corrected these customer service issues and it will not happen again, to you or any other Cross Town customer. Once again, I apologize for this. I have decided to refund you an hour and a half for your troubles. I will mail you a check immediately for 1.5 hours * $103.90 of $155.85. Also, I would like to offer you a $100.00 off coupon for yourself for any move in the future. If you don't plan to move, you can pass this to a friend or family member. I hope to have the opportunity to earn your trust back. Sincerely, **** ********** President