BBB Accredited Business since

The Moving Man Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 348-8889 Fax: (907) 345-9545 550 W 54th Ave # 1, Anchorage, AK 99518 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.themovingman.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service, residential and commercial local and out of state moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Moving Man Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Moving Man Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Moving Man Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1992 in AK Business started locally: 04/01/1992 Business incorporated 05/09/1994 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Martin Kukowski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Martin Kukowski, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Relocation Service

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, Visa & MC
Alternate Business Names
Moving Man Inc, The

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Moving Man Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 550 W 54th Ave # 1

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 348-8889

  • 550 W. 54th Ave.

    Anchorage, AK 99518

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2014 I began my communication with The Moving Man out of Anchorage, AK. I got an estimate for moving our belongings from Soldotna, AK to League City, TX. In early November, 2014 I contacted them to set up a moving date. We discussed different ways to have the truck loaded. After looking at dates and numbers, I asked to have the trailer dropped off to our home on November 14 and picked up on November 20. I was told as long as our trailer would be picked up by Thursday (20th), it would be delivered to the port by Friday (21), and would sail out on the 23rd of November with a 2 to 2 1/2 week delivery time to TX. During all this communication all my phone calls and emails were answered/returned very promptly, with no problems or "miscommunications". On November 20 the truck driver arrived to pick up the trailer, (it was raining this day). When he opened the trailer we saw water coming in, in many different locations. I instantly called the assistant manager (whom I've been working with) to make her aware of the multiple leaks. I was told, "I will get a hold of my boss right away and let him know and I'll get right back with you." I said, "Okay, but I want to make sure that any water damage to our things will be covered 100%, this is damage done before it has even left our driveway." Her response to me was, "Oh, we will make sure and take care of it, don't worry, we'll take care of you." On November 21st, I emailed the assistant manager to check on the trailer. To see if it was repaired, to double check with any water damage being covered and to see if the ship date was delayed. I never got a response (I normal got very timely responses), so I called later that day. I was told to not worry about our things, that "we would be taken care of." At 2:50am on November 25th, I emailed asking if there was an update on the trailer and if it will ship out on Tuesday (25th)? At 5:51pm on November 25th I got and email with our invoice attached, and the assistant manager saying, "Yes, your trailer is going on the boat today as soon as I get paperwork back with a tracking number I will forward it to you..." "I got word that the guys in Soldotna did patch the leak." At 7:55pm on November 25th, I emailed with a response to the invoice. I said I would get a check in the mail (I was already in route to Texas at this time), but stated I felt we should not be charged as much as they were charging. I said, "Not only are we expecting to find damage to or things when we get our things offloaded, but our things are now going to be late, which will quite possible throw us in a big bind. We scheduled it to go out in time for my husband to be in town when it arrives, he may not be now with the delay. We have nobody else there to help unload & will not pay for movers when the delay was not our responsibility." At one point after the leaks were found, I was told that the truck was not their companies truck and this one was on loan/rent and they didn't have a chance to inspect it before it was delivered to our house. In response to that, in this email I said, "I understand it wasn't your company's truck, but we still expected a fully sealed trailer & our things got wet (& quite possibly damaged) before it even left our driveway, which puts us on edge during the transfer. I guess I just expected some compensation. If we changed dates and/or location we could have been charged fees, so we expect some sort of compensation. Please let me know what can be done to make this right before I send a check." I never got a call or an email response till December 1st. That email stated, "Talking with the owner your trailer has now been placed on hold and will not be released to you until we have certified funds to pay for your shipment. Please call the office ASAP." I was quite upset with this email. I never got a response from my email, not a "we won't do anything to compensate you", NOTHING. Just an email a week later stating, "Your trailer has now been put on hold." My first thoughts were, "wow, so willing to work with us at the beginning, but as soon as problems arise that are their responsibility they don't want to be helpful, or even get back to us in a timely manner." The minute I got the email I called to talk to the owner. I expressed to him our concern with the leaking trailer and unsure if all the leaks were patched. He told me that the full story was never told to him. That he got a little note stating, "the Soldotna trailer has a small leak above the mattress." I said, "No, I called the assistant manager right when I saw the leaks and told her there was at least 8 leaks." He said, "well I looked in and couldn't see any standing water." I asked, "was it raining when you looked?" He said, "No." He was very rude, and was very attacking with his words, and at one point did everything but flat out call me a liar. I told him we are the paying customers, and we should feel like our things are taken care of. Every time I would raise concern, all he would do is try to turn it around like it was our fault. He told me that they wouldn't cover anything. I asked why our trailer didn't sail on Tuesday and he said I was never told it would. After he looked into it, he could see that I in fact was told it would. He also tried telling me that I was never told it would originally sail on Sunday, but again, after some research, he saw that I in fact was told that as well. I told him I would have the check in the mail the next day so he would take the hold off the trailer. He said he was going to call the customer service to make sure our trailer is pulled off at patched when it arrived in Tacoma. I asked when it would arrive there, he said, "it will be there late tomorrow (Tuesday) night." He went on to tell me that he brings the most business from Alaska to the port in Tacoma (which I find VERY hard to believe with how many large companies are in AK), and that they will help him get it taken care of. He told me he'd call me back to let me know what he finds out. I got a call back and he said that they will be pulling it into the garage when it got there the next night and would patch the whole thing. He also told me that he personally would be emailing me or calling me often to update me with the location of our trailer. On December 5th, I decided to email them asking for an update since I still hadn't got one, and since the tracking number I was given was giving me a message that it could not be found. I was expecting to be told it was close to Texas. I emailed asking if it has left WA yet. On December 8th I got an email back stating, "I am awaiting an update with the tracking information with *** and I will let you know the status as soon as I can." December 9th, I emailed, "Did you hear back? Can you at least tell me the last known location? I have tried to track it with the tracking number I was given & it tells me my number was not found. Really hoping it will be here in the next couple days. I'd assume it will if it was to arrive in WA last Tuesday." Later that day I received and email stating, "We are still waiting to hear back from WA. We know that it is there! We put in a request for repair while it was still on the water. I would assume that is what the delay in updating the system is. We are totally on top of this and will let you know as soon as we hear anything." I couldn't believe they said there were on top of it, because it's like pulling teeth to get straight answers, and typically have to ask twice to get an answer. December 9th I told my husband that I would not call them again. I couldn't handle talking to the owner, I did not want to be disrespected by him any further. On the 9th my husband called to talk to the owner. He asked the owner why it was still in WA, he was told they don't know. He also told the owner that our tracking number didn't work. He said it was on the second bill of laden that we got after it left Anchorage. He told him we never got that. The owner told my husband that it was faxed to us. We told him, no we never got a fax (don't have a fax and never gave them a fax number). When looked into, the assistant manager failed to send it to us. The excuse the owner gave my husband was, "Well, people normally come in our office to sign and pick up paperwork, but your deal was done over the phone." What an awful excuse for a business man. It shouldn't matter how the "deal" was done, it should be their procedure to make sure the customer gets the correct information. Again the owner tried to turn everything around on us. He tried telling my husband, "Your wife kept changing the ship date, so that why it got messed up." I never changed the dates, and have email to prove that, I only confirmed dates ONCE. When we got the correct tracking number I called to track it myself. The information I was given by *** was very upsetting! When talking to the lady with *** she told me our trailer did not leave Anchorage until 30, and wasn't even loaded till the 26th, when I was told that it LEFT on the 25th. I then asked when it arrived in Tacoma (because I was told it would arrive late Tuesday Dec. 2nd), she said it arrived in Tacoma late Friday (Dec. 5th) night. As of December 9th, it wasn't even off loaded. I asked her if she showed that it was supposed to be pulled for repair. She said that she saw no notes of that. That all she saw is that it was supposed to be off loaded and hooked up to leave to head to TX. Obviously this was VERY upsetting to us. Our disappointments thus far: A leaking trailer, with little care from The Moving Man to assure us it's fixed properly. Originally ship date of November 23rd, then told it would and DID ship out November 25th, then found out it didn't even get loaded till the 26th, and shipped out the 30th. Were quoted a time frame of 2 to 2 1/2 weeks from the 23rd. That would get it to Texas no later than the 5th of December. It didn't ship till the 30th, and that still would put it in Texas around the 10/11 of December. As of the 9th of December it hadn't even been off loaded in Tacoma, WA. All the owner will say is, "it's an estimate", "we can't do anything", "we're doing all we can do", "we won't cover anything", so on and so on, taking zero responsibility for their mistakes, promised words, etc.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for 100% coverage on anything that is damaged due to water. Not asking for coverage on any damages other than water damage. If our things arrive in Houston, TX between December 13 and December 22, we'd like for them to be responsible for 100% of storage fees and/or movers to unload the truck, since the delay of our item is NOT our fault. The reason we scheduled when we did was because we are unable to unload during that week. We'd like a partial refund of the cost of the moving services since they have not honored what we were quoted/promised/told.

Business Response:

I would like to start out by saying I have tried to communicate with this customer on several occasions, but it was difficult to have a conversation with them as I was consistently talked over, yelled at, belittled, insulted, criticized for how I run my business, so I have found it very difficult to get anywhere with them. I appreciate this opportunity to respond to this issue.
When a customer moves with our company, we provide a standard $.60/lb. catastrophic loss coverage. Catastrophic loss would be a total loss of the shipment, i.e. ship sinks, truck gets in a wreck, etc. The ********* were given this information in their quote letter (see attached). They were also given a link to a site where they could have purchased additional coverage for their move. At this site they could have purchased any level of additional insurance that would have covered any issues that might have come up. The ********** declined any additional insurance.
I'm sorry to say but when a customer does not put in place the additional insurance that they deem sufficient and then when we are informed they would like to file a claim on insurance they don't have in place it is impossible to assist them.
The Moving Man (TMM) does their best to give advice to our customers regarding insurance, delivery schedules and all aspects of their move. TMM answers all questions the customer may have regarding the terminology in their quote letter. The ********** never expressed they did not know what the term "catastrophic loss" meant.
As far as the scheduling, I was informed by the ********** early on the second week in December that they needed the trailer before December 18, so they could get it unloaded before Mr. ******** had to return to work on the North Slope. The trailer was delivered on the 16th.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm very happy to see that The Moving Man has responded, however, it is obvious that it was not a high priority of his since it took this long. The Moving Man has never once called us, not even after he promised returned calls. Not only that but his dates are completely off. In emails from November it clearly states when we needed the trailer delivered. Also, when we're told 2-2 1/2 weeks that's what we expected. We also (along with anyone paying $6000+) expected a sealed trailer, especially when the leaks were told to the assistant manager before it left our house & we were told it would be, and then was sealed. We were lied to about when the trailer was shipped out (told via email it DID ship the 25th, then told by the freight company it wasn't even delivered to the port till 26th). Moving man stated we needed the trailer because my husband worked on the slope. He works is Pasadena, Texas. Hasn't work on the slope since 2009. When the trailer finally arrived (3 1/2 weeks after it shipped) there was significant water damage, mold and more. In one box there was a bowl with an inch of standing water. I had to throw many items away. We easily had $7000 of damage & still more to come. We were told by the owner that the trailer would be pulled in Tacoma & repaired. When it got to Texas & we saw all the water we contacted the freight company and were told it was NEVER repaired. Just another lie from the owner. The damages I've mentioned are all due to water. Another huge issue we have is our things being gone through. My husband asked the owner if he went through our things, and his response was "I climbed in." Then when my husband asked again if he went through our things, and his next response was "I don't know what to tell you." This is when he was told he handles his business wrong. He was not belittled. Both of our TV's were moved as well as our bed. They were not moved during shipment because they were moved from one side of the trailer to the other, and one TV was removed from its box. We had a painting that was carefully placed in the trailer, but was WEDGED between things when we got the trailer. I even asked the driver, as well as the other moving company we had to hire if any of that could happen during a very rough drive/seas & I was told absolutely not.
It's obvious by reading his response as well as his response to other complaints that he never takes responsibility for his poor business and always blames the customer.
At this point, we'd for one like for The Moving Man to admit his wrong doings and stop making excuses and lies, and compensate us. We are asking for $4000 to compensate for some of our losses, the cost of an additional moving company, and heartache.
This has caused us so much heartache, frustration, loss, and money. The anxiety I have felt with is completely wrong. If The Moving Man does not agree to compensate us, we will be forced to take further actions.

Business Response: The Moving Man can't guarantee a delivery date, ever. We can give an estimated time frame, but there are always many variables to consider when shipping, i.e. weather, holidays, shipping and transporting schedule changes, etc. TMM never guaranteed the trailer would arrive on a specific date.

As far as accusing me of going through the shipment, it is a ridiculous statement. This trailer was never physically in TMM's possession. The trailer was spotted at the residence in Soldotna, by a contractor to the TMM, the customer did a self-load of their belongings. The trailer was then picked up by the same company and trucked back to Anchorage. Martin, the owner, went over to the shipping company's facility to turn in the proper paperwork. In doing so, it is required of TMM to attach a bill of lading to the bulkhead of the shipment and install load lock seals at the shipping company's facility. In doing so, this is act is what the customer is referring to when "I climbed into the trailer." The quote of "I don't know what to tell you" was only said after being spoken-over time and time again in our phone conversation. The customer did not want to listen to one word I had to say.

Like we said in our previous response, when a customer moves with our company, we provide a standard $.60/lb. catastrophic loss coverage. Catastrophic loss would be a total loss of the shipment, i.e. ship sinks, truck gets in a wreck, etc. The ********* were given this information in their quote letter. They were also given a link to a site where they could have purchased additional coverage for their move. At this site they could have purchased any level of additional insurance that would have covered any issues that might have occurred. The ********** declined any additional insurance.

The ********** did not purchase the level of insurance that is needed to file a claim.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Arbitration. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary.

Sincerely,

******* ********

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers broke three items during move. Movers lied to the customer stating they could not fill the truck from top to bottom, and then told customer later about an earlier move where they did fill it top to bottom. This caused customers to spend extra time and money moving the rest of their items over 25 minutes out of town. Owner continues calling for payment over and over and over (solidly for over two hours), harassing customer for payment. This business caused over $700 worth of damage to: queen bed, lamp, and wall. Photos are available. Here is the letter I sent to owner 9/12/14: September 12, 2014 Regarding move on 9/5/14 from **** ******* ****** to XXXXX ******** **** To: The Moving Man Anchorage, AK Fr: ******* ******** Eagle River, AK $698-Original The Moving Man charges, billed @ $115 per hour Subtract $115 for movers arriving with a van instead of a truck @ 8:30 AM. I was told many times two men and a truck by the ladies in your office, and even your paperwork that I signed states "two men and a truck". Your two men showed up with a van, instead of a truck. That is not my problem. They came back with a truck, as was agreed, at 9:30 AM. Subtract $500 to replace our queen size mattress. Original mattress price was $1,100. Our mattress that your movers handled was damaged beyond repair. See photos to follow. Subtract $30 to repair the door knob hole wall, that **** made. It was there before, but was very small. He insisted on just pushing the furniture through the door, instead of removing the door at my husband's suggestion. It is now bigger and harder to repair than it was before. See photos. Subract $45 to replace our lamp. See photos to follow. Subtract $50 for a tank of gas. Instead of filling the box truck from top to bottom, the movers insisted the truck was full once the floor was full. **** refused to pack anything from the back porch, which I had pointed out within the first hour after they started moving. **** said it would "ruin his cubing", and that he would "fit it if he could". After they moved our belongings into our new place, they told me the last job they were at, the people had so much stuff that they "filled the truck from top to bottom". We ended up having to move the rest of our belongings all the way to Eagle River ourselves, and it took five trips with our small car. All because **** didn't want to fill up the box truck. My total claim against your company is $740. I certainly do not owe your company anything for this move, considering all the damage that was done. Sincerely, ******* ********

Desired Settlement: We want our bill to be settled at $0, as the damage caused was slightly more than the cost of the move.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/09) */ The Moving Man performed a move for Ms. ******** on two days, Thursday, September 4 and Friday, September 5. We did not collect after the first day as we knew the crew would be returning the second day. At the end of the day on Friday Ms. ******** signed the invoice stating "Customer acknowledges truck is empty of all household goods and all said household goods were delivered in good condition" and gave the crew her credit card payment to cover the bill of $698. Usually the crew will call the office before they leave a job site and have the office personnel run the credit card to assure there are appropriate funds, but since it was after hours they were unable to do this. When the crew returned to the office that evening they ran the credit card and it was declined. ***** our crew leader then called Ms. ******** to inform her the credit card was declined. Ms. ******** said something to the effect of her taking care of this, by transferring money and getting this resolved. The next Monday we did not hear back from Ms. ********, so we attempted to reach her several times during the week leaving messages and there was no response back. A week later on Friday, September 12, the office personnel informed ******, the owner, that they still had not heard from Ms. ******** on her outstanding bill. ****** proceeded to call her number several times with no response. We received an email on Monday, September 15 when we returned to the office. This email states damage and her desire to be reimbursed. This was the first we heard of any damage. In our experience if there is any damage it is reported to the office immediately by the customer and/or crew. This did not happen. Upon speaking with the crew on the report of damage on this job, their response was "there was no damage and they were happy with the move upon completion." This is also reflected on the invoice that she signed that states "Customer acknowledges truck is empty of all household goods and all said household goods were delivered in good condition." This claim baffles me. The Moving Man's desire is to have this settled with customer paying for the services we provided. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have provided photos to The Moving Man of all damage. No walk throughs were done of the furniture, before OR after THIS move. The men were rushing to their next job. The paperwork I signed says "two men and a truck", and the first day they showed up with two men and a van. They charged me for that hour, which I do not owe them. The owner violated the law by calling me 35 times in an hour and left 29 voicemails. I did not have time to call on Monday, because I was so busy finishing up my move because the moving men lied and said the "truck was full", even though there was all the vertical space left and only the truck bed was full. They would not take the rest of our belongings. Later they bragged to me that they filled the last client's truck from top to bottom. So no, after moving to a new home, I did not call you the following Monday because I was busy moving the rest of my stuff. And, I have photographic evidence of all the damage I found AFTER the men left, because like I said, they did not offer a walk through. They were trying to move on to their next job and were in a rush. I did think they did a good job, until I found the giant hard lumps in my $1100 mattress and the broken lamp and the hole in my wall at our old apartment. I did intend to pay for this move in full. However, once I realized that I had made 4-6 car trips to finish my own move, and took photos of the damage, I realized I did not owe this company a dime. Plus once again, they showed up with two men and a van I was told over and over they'd come with a box truck. I do not owe your company anything, because I had to replace my mattress, my lamp, move the rest of my stuff myself, and pay for a repair for the hole int he wall they made. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/11/25) */ We are addressing this complaint in chronological order, as well as inserting her concerns. First complaint in BLUE BOLD CAPITAL LETTERS UNDERLINED and her second part of the complaint in RED BOLD CAPITAL LETTERS, and addressing them following. ************ first called in mid-August to say she was looking for assistance on moving and we scheduled her one day of services 9/3. She called back a few days later to change it to two days, 9/3 and 9/4, the first day for us to pack boxable items and the second day to load and move to new location. She called after that to change the dates to 9/4 (prepack) & 9/5 (to relocate household goods). Then on 8/29 she called again to discuss some options of possibly only using The Moving Man (TMM) on just Thursday, 9/4 and not Friday, 9/5, she didn't know just what services she wanted and said she will call back with an update on needs. On the Tuesday, before their Thursday move date, the office called the customer to find out if she had an update on her needs. The office called repeatedly that week leaving several messages to please contact our office, but with no reply. We never heard back from her so we continued with services she had last requested. On 9/3 the TMM offices called and left two messages, one in the morning and one in the afternoon, for ************ trying to confirm the job and services for the following day. We never heard back from ************. SUBTRACT $115 FOR MOVERS ARRIVING WITH A VAN INSTEAD OF A TRUCK @ 8:30 A.M. I WAS TOLD MANY TIMES TWO MEN AND A TRUCK BY THE LADIES IN YOUR OFFICE, AND EVEN YOUR PAPERWORK THAT I SIGNED STATES "TWO MEN AND A TRUCK". YOUR TWO MEN SHOWED UP WITH A VAN, INSTEAD OF A TRUCK. THAT IS NOT MY PROBLEM. THEY CAME BACK WITH A TRUCK, AS WAS AGREED, AT 9:30. The morning of 9/4 the crew called ************ to confirm what equipment and services she was requiring but only got her voicemail. With the information we had, we sent the crew over in a van loaded with packing materials, prepared to pack her household goods, because that is how the job had been booked, to prepack the first day. For pre-pack jobs we always send a van, because it is not necessary to send the large box truck. "Truck" is a generic term referencing a vehicle. ************ finally called TMM office after the crew had already left the office for her move, to confirm that the crew was on their way When the crew arrived at the job site, ************ was upset that the crew had brought the van instead of the box truck.***** then called me, ***************, the owner of TMM, and said "hey, we have a mix-up or something here. We have the van with packing material on the job because that's what the paper work says. Packing the first day and move the household goods the following day. The customer is saying no packing is needed and they need half of the stuff loaded today, She will point out what gets loaded today, and she need us to hold it overnight in the truck and come back tomorrow and load the rest of what needs to get moved." At no time prior to the move was it discussed that she needed us to tie up one of our box trucks for 24 hours to hold her items. After I spoke with*****,***** then handed the phone to ************. She spoke with me about sending the wrong equipment. I said to her, "we dispatched the crew and appropriate equipment with the information we had from the last conversation with you. We tried to get a hold of you several times to confirm the job and services and you never got back to us." I pointed out all the times we had left messages and tried to confirm the services she was needing. With discussing this she got agitated and said "can we stop talking about this, I got it." I did tell her then we would send the crew back to change out trucks. The crew came back and grabbed a box truck and went back to the residence. When the crew did the walk through of the house they noticed there were a few rooms that were not packed or ready. The crew suggested to the customer that they come back tomorrow and move everything at once to save her money. She insisted that they load up what was ready and packed and they could come back the next day to finish the load and deliver it. They stayed and loaded the items specified by the customer. They did no packing. By 10:30 am they had loaded everything the customer had asked. She said that she needed to clear and clean up stuff before they returned the next day. So the crew headed back to the office, per ************s recuest. The crew returned to the yard and clocked the customer out. They billed the customer for 2.75 hours for the first day. I DID NOT HAVE TIME TO CALL ON MONDAY, BECAUSE 1 WAS SO BUSY FINISHING UP MY MOVE BECAUSE THE MOVING MEN LIED AND SAID THE "TRUCK WAS FULL", EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS ALL THE VERTICAL SPACE LEFT AND ONLY THE TRUCK BED WAS FULL. THEY WOULD NOT TAKE THE REST OF OUR BELONGINGS. Day 2, 9/4. The crew left the yard at 3pm with the half full truck from the day before. They arrived at the origin residence and loaded everything that was specified to go. There were lots of things that the customer did not want to go, saying "those items are small we can get them ourselves". She told the crew her brother has a truck and they can use it to move the loose, small, miscellaneous items. The crew drove out to *********** and delivered the household goods. SUBTRACT $50 FOR A TANK OF GAS. INSTEAD OF FILLING THE BOX TRUCK FROM TOP TO BOTTOM, THE MOVERS INSISTED THE TRUCK WAS FULL ONCE THE FLOOR WAS FULL. **** REFUSED TO PACK ANYTHING FROM THE BACK PORCH, WHICH I HAD POINTED OUT WITHIN THE FIRST HOUR AFTER THEY STARTED MOVING. **** SAID IT WOULD "RUIN HIS CUBING", AND THAT HE WOULD "FIT IT IF HE COULD". AFTER THEY MOVED OUR BELONGINGS INTO OUR NEW PLACE, THEY TOLD ME THE LAST JOB THEY WERE AT, THE PEOPLE HAD SO MUCH STUFF THAT THEY "FILLED THE TRUCK FROM TOP TO BOTTOM". WE ENDED UP HAVING TO MOVE THE REST OF OUR BELONGINGS ALL THE WAY TO ***** ****** OURSELVES, AND IT TOOK FIVE TRIPS WITH OUR SMALL CAR. ALL BECAUSE **** DIDN'T WANT TO FILL UP THE BOX TRUCK. As far as the truck being loaded poorly - when it is requested that only certain things get loaded now and certain things later it is very difficult to stack things "high and tight", especially when the crew does not know what will be added later. The crew leader did not see an issue with the load" everything she wanted to go they got in the truck, If we would have stacked higher, it would have taken more time and we try to give the most efficient service we can. We try to assist in meeting customers budget restraints. LATER THEY BRAGGED TO ME THAT THEY FILLED THE LAST CLIENT'S TRUCK FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. This statement is ridiculous. The crew would never have said something like that. After the move was complete,***** proceeded to bill ************. She paid with a credit card. The normal procedure on a credit card payment is to call it in to the office, during normal business hours, and someone there processes the card on the machine before the crew leaves the jobsite. This job finished at 6:30pm so the crew took the credit card information back to the office with them and***** attempted to process the credit card when he arrived and the credit card was declined.***** called the customer and she answered the phone.***** explained the transaction was declined and asked for a different credit card to pay for the move. She said something to the effect of "oh no, I don't know what the problem is, I will make some calls and transfer some money and take care of it."***** said, "ok, I will let the office staff know." On Monday, the 8th, when I got to work I heard that the customer's credit card was declined from Friday, after hours. Also, there was a note to call the customer as she wants to talk about the "dry run with the van." I called the customer back, no answer and left a message. I said "this is ****** with the Moving Man I have a note that you called, please call me back at ********." She did not call back. After waiting for an hour or so, I had my staff call her to try to reach her to resolve the credit card issue. The office staff continued to call all week leaving messages with no reply back from ************. When Friday afternoon was coming to a close, I was given ************s file and told she still had not called back after several messages had been left for her. The staff asked what I wanted to do, I said "I will try to get a hold of her." I started calling her sometime after 5pm, thinking that she would be off work and would be able to contact her. I left messages asking her to call back so we could resolve this issue. THE OWNER VIOLATED THE LAW BY CALLING ME 35 TIMES IN AN HOUR AND LEFT 29 VOICEMAILS. It is true, that i repeatedly called the number we had for ************ requesting a call back regarding the declined credit card she had given us for payment for the move. I called her repeatedly to see if the customer was at all responsive to our phone calls, or if she was even receiving our calls. It became evident that she was indeed receiving our calls but just not responding. If someone owes you almost $700, of course you are going to continue to try to contact them for payment. In ************s email dated September 12, 2014, was the first time we had ever heard of any damages on the job. This came a week after we completed the job. Usually if there is any damage the customer notifies us when the damage happens, before the crew leaves. Why are we not hearing about these damages until the credit card is declined and we are asking for another form of payment? We also have a signed invoice from ************ stating "Customer acknowledges truck is empty of all household goods and all said household goods were delivered in good condition." SUBTRACT $500 TO REPLACE OUR QUEEN SIZE MATTRESS. ORIGINAL MATTRESS PRICE WAS $1100. OUR MATTRESS THAT YOUR MOVERS HANDLED WAS DAMAGED BEYOND REPAIR. SEE PHOTOS TO FOLLOW. SUBRACT $45 TO REPLACE OUR LAMP. SEE PHOTOS TO FOLLOW. I DID THINK THEY DID A GOOD JOB, UNTIL I FOUND THE GIANT HARD LUMPS IN MY $1100 MATTRESS AND THE BROKEN LAMP AND THE HOLE IN MY WALL AT OUR OLD APARTMENT. I DID INTEND TO PAY FOR THIS MOVE IN FULL. HOWEVER, ONCE I REALIZED THAT I HAD MADE 4-6 CAR TRIPS TO FINISH MY OWN MOVE, AND TOOK PHOTOS OF THE DAMAGE, I REALIZED I DID NOT OWE THIS COMPANY A DIME. PLUS ONCE AGAIN, THEY SHOWED UP WITH TWO MEN AND A VAN--- I WAS TOLD OVER AND OVER THEY'D COME WITH A BOX TRUCK. I DO NOT OWE YOUR COMPANY ANYTHING, BECAUSE I HAD TO REPLACE MY MATTRESS, MY LAMP, MOVE THE REST OF MY STUFF MYSELF, AND PAY FOR A REPAIR FOR THE HOLE IN THE WALL THEY MADE. When I asked the crew about the lamp they said "we did not move any small miscellaneous stuff like that lamp. The hole in the wall was already there when we showed up. As far as the mattress, we carried it like any other mattress. There were no issues whatsoever. The customer was happy when we left, thanked us and said good bye with a smile on her face. She seemed like she was happy with the service" In her first complaint she states: SUBTRACT $30 TO REPAIR THE DOOR KNOB HOLE WALL, THAT **** MADE. IT WAS THERE BEFORE, BUT WAS VERY SMALL. HE INSISTED ON JUST PUSHING THE FURNITURE THROUGH THE DOOR, INSTEAD OF REMOVING THE DOOR AT MY HUSBAND'S SUGGESTION. IT IS NOW BIGGER AND HARDER TO REPAIR THAN IT WAS BEFORE, SEE PHOTOS. Then in her second part of the complaint she states: AND PAY FOR A REPAIR FOR THE HOLE INT HE WALL THEY MADE. Nothing was tight going through doors. They never had to cram anything. It is interesting that it goes from it starting as a very small hole, to us making the hole in the wall. THE MEN WERE RUSHING TO THEIR NEXT JOB, THE PAPERWORK I SIGNED SAYS "TWO MEN AND A TRUCK", AND THE FIRST DAY THEY SHOWED UP WITH TWO MEN AND A VAN. THEY CHARGED ME FOR THAT HOUR, WHICH I DO NOT OWE THEM. The statement on the crew being rushed is untrue. This was the last job for the day for that crew and they went home after calling her to notify her the credit card was declined. The way they rushed or hustled was to give good value for the customer's dollar. Our crews are fast and efficient. "Truck" is a generic term referencing a "vehicle". Our policy on not charging a customer for a "dry run" is, that if we, TMM, make a mistake and bring the wrong equipment and we have to change it out, we do not charge. When the customer changes their mind after we are on the job site they are responsible for those charges. If ************ had returned our calls and let us know what her services she needed, we could have brought the appropriate equipment. I HAVE PROVIDED PHOTOS TO THE MOVING MAN OF ALL DAMAGE. NO WALK THROUGHS WERE DONE OF THE FURNITURE, BEFORE OR AFTER THIS MOVE. A walk through of the residence before and after the move to note every nick and scratch on the furniture is not standard. We do get a "walk thru" to be shown what goes and walk through when we are ready to leave the house to make sure we grabbed all the items that need to go. We do try to point out existing damage on any piece before it is moved and try to point any new damage on the delivery side of the move, if any. The crew didn"t report any damage resulting from the move. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would say 20% of your letter is factual, and the rest of it is a flat out lie. I stand by everything else I have previously stated, and do not accept this resolution. The owner is delusional, and does not know or apologize when he breaks the law and leaves extremely creepy messages evil people leave messages like the ones he left. OF COURSE I wouldn't call him back, because I had spoken to him in the past and he is completely unreasonable. Your movers are unprofessional apparently, and at least one of them is lying to you or protecting each other. You were not there, you did not witness what happened. Again, I stand by everything I said previously and will not repeat myself. Take me to court if you want, but I sent you a bill too via email and it line items all my costs associated with the move. You owe me money ******, not the other way around. I would never, ever cheat somebody, I fully intended to pay and it just so happened that my card was just $20 short. I had the good intention to pay it and when I handed over my card, that was what that was. I am GLAD it declined, otherwise I'd be out several hundred dollars and know that I got cheated myself and you would NEVER refund somebody money, because of the type of nasty character you are. I will always tell people what a terrible business your moving company is, with a terrible owner who sees dollar signs instead of truth. I hope I cost you a great deal of time and money in your written replies, on top of the overly expensive move you tried to charge me for. Creepiest person I have ever dealt with- ****** at The Moving Man.

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired movers to move my belongings from one home to another. When I made my reservation I asked for 3 men to assist with the move, which was confirmed by the company, they only sent out two men. When I asked where the other guy was, one mover said they wouldn't need a third guy because it looked like a two man job. 45 minutes in to the move, they starting moving slow, and carelessly stacking my belongings, one guy said they could just move the big stuff, and I could do the little things myself. My reply was that I didn't need to move anything, that's why I hired them. A little while longer my aunt and I began to help them by bringing things out and putting them in the truck because they were moving so slow, which started to seem as though they were intentionally doing it. The truck was poorly stacked, and one guy said we're going to have to do two loads in which I was very upset, because there was still room on the truck, and movers that previously moved my things had the same truck, and got my things out in one load. I called the moving company to explain my displeasure with the way these movers were working and asked to speak to a manager to see about some type of compensation because it seemed like they were not wanting to do the job. The receptionist wouldn't allow me to speak to a manager and said I would have to pay for whatever service they provided. I told her to have a manager call before they were finished unloading to discuss not having to pay so much because I felt I shouldn't have to pay for us having to help them load, them intentially moving slow, and loading the truck wrong. When we arrived to my new place the movers said they weren't going to unload my truck until I paid them because I threatened not to pay, and that I would have to pay for the time they had just spent loading and another hour and a half before they would unload my belongings. I asked how could they make me pay extra not knowing if they would be done before an hour in a half. One guy said I could call the owner and he gave his number so I did, and asked why I had to pay them in full before the job was done, and if I could have some type of compensation due to the poor service they provided, and having to help them load my things. His reply to me was that they will not unload until I paid them what the mover were asking, and that by me helping them load should've saved me money already for helping them. I end up having to pay for the full service, which they said also included them leaving my house and returning to there store. They told me I was considered on their clock until they made it back to there store.

Desired Settlement: I want full compensation for being treated so unfairly, and extreme lack of customer service. For the owner being completely unprofessional, and not understanding to the issues I stated above, and being wrongfully charged. I've never had to pay for a mover to return back to there station after they finished unloading. They treated my aunt and I very poorly. I have never felt so disrespected in my life.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/21) */ We only sent a two-man crew that day, as there were no three man items on the job, and one of our crew members had an unexpected appointment. The job did not require more than two men. One of the guys on the job stated "the house was a total mess and she was not at all prepared to move." They did have to spend twice as long on any one piece because of all the items not going that they had to move out of the way in order to get to the items she wanted moved. She is the one who told them to "just get all the big stuff". Ms. ****** was on the phone for quite a while when they arrived and kept yelling at the crew. As Ms. ****** and her aunt began bringing items to the truck, she demanded that ***** (crew member) stay in the truck and she started passing him boxes. Ms. ****** refused to allow ***** to help **** (crew member) with several two man items. ***** didn't want to have an argument with the customer as tensions were already high, he stayed on the truck and assisted her with the boxes she brought him. **** said they were going to have to do a second load because she kept complaining about the crew stacking things on top of each other and not allowing it. Ms. ****** kept saying "don't stack anything on that" "make sure this is upright". There is only so much room in the truck to have only one layer of items, things must be stacked if they only want to do one load. Both of our office administrators received several phones calls from Ms. ****** throughout the morning. She was very belligerent and abusive to our office staff as well. Saying such things as "I am not paying for this ****" and "I'm going to cancel service". She was informed that she could cancel the service but she would still have to pay for the services already performed. The crew was informed by ****** to not unload a single item at the destination until the bill was paid in full. **** should use the actual time from the start of the job to the destination and then estimate what the offload would take and collect for that, as the crew and ****** were feeling like she was not going to pay her bill at the end of the job. Ms. ****** was verbally abusive to the crew members by calling them names. Ms. ******' aunt went as far as saying "I'm calling my sons to go get my guns I'll shoot these ****** ********** ***** said when he got off the phone with ****** she continued to call him and **** names, along with ******. We required payment before the job was complete because she repeated numerous times that she was NOT going to pay. She gave us no other choice. We were not going to be abused and provide this service and not get paid in the end. All customers are informed of our rate and drive time policy when booking their job. Ms. ****** was treated professionally, and was not wrongfully charged for anything. The crew charged her for 3.5 hours which was the actual time they spent on the job with the appropriate drive time included.

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11.15.13 - The Moving Man crew, **** and his assistant, moved a bedroom set from one residence to another residence. The bed set was taken apart, dresser, nightstand and media drawers were taken out of the set and already moved to the new residence. The dresser had an attached mirror, which **** had unscrewed from the dresser, upon delivery of the dresser in the new bedroom and attaching the mirror to the dresser, I heard a loud "ouch" and scraping noise from the bedroom. I asked if everything was "OK", and **** stated "everything is fine". Once the bedroom furniture was all moved, I inspected the furniture and noticed a large chip on the border of the mirror. **** stated he didn't notice this, but I had found chips of the mirror border in the bedroom floor. **** stated glueing the pieces back on the mirror border would be fine and he would deduct $57.00 from the invoice total. **** did not wish to file a claim and I semi-agreed only if the border chips fitted properly on the mirror border with no gaps. 11.16.13 - Tried to glue the chips back onto the mirror border, but the pieces would not line up properly and there are gaps where smaller pieces broke off and are missing, there is a noticable open gaps on the side of the mirror border. Called The Moving Man and left a message to return my call. 11.18.13 - Called The Moving Man and spoke with the adminstrative assistance regarding the damage, a claim was not filed because **** did not want to file a claim and I did not wish for **** to get into any trouble from the damage and there was no $57.00 deduction from the total cost of moving (The Moving man rate is $115.00 per hour from the call of arrival to the completion of the job, I received an arrival call @ 2:50 pm, The Moving Man crew arrived @ 3:10 pm and were completed with the move @ 4:36 pm) for two hours, I was charged $230.00, with no deduction of any kind. 11.19.13 - Administrative assistant contacted me and stated they spoke to **** and I will be sent a check for $57.00 for damage to the mirror and would need pictures of the chipped mirror frame. The check may take several days since ****** (owner, manager?) is not in the office. 11.25.13 - Emailed The Moving Man the pictures with this reply: "Attached are the pictures related to the damage done to the mirror piece during the move on November 15, 2013. Picture one shows the large chip broken off and the remaining pictures show the large chipped area. I have attempted to glue the large piece to the mirror frame, but there are additional small pieces missing and the side of the mirror frame still shows a gap. I would like to file a claim to get this mirror replaced, because this not real wood and the chip will not adhere properly with wood glue. You are welcome to come by to take a closer look at this item." 12.01.13 - Have not received check for $57.00 from The Moving Man. 12.04.13 - Contacted ****** ********* store for the replacement value of the mirror and frame, since there is open gaps on the side of the mirror border and the glued pieces do not fit properly on the frame. This is the quote I received from ******** ****** "The cost of the mirror and frame, as they are sold as one, we would have to charge $199 and that would include the shipping. We do not carry this in stock, so it would have to be ordered. Let me know if you have any other questions." Thanks, ******** ***** ********* *********** of ** *** ** **** **** Anchorage, AK 99503 XXX-XXX-XXXX 12.12.13 - Called The Moving Man and left a message for ****** to return my call. 01.13.14 - Called The Moving Man and left a messgae for ****** to return my call. 01.22.14 - Have not received any calls from ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like for The Moving Man to replace the mirror and frame, this item needs to be special ordered from **************** and the cost will be $199.00. I have made several attempts via email and phone calls to resolve this issue, but I feel this is been put on the back burner waiting for this claim to disappear. The chip is more noticeable since there are smaller pieces missing that will not close the gap on the side of the mirror frame. I would like a check for $199.00 be sent to my attention to re-order the mirror and frame.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/03/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********, Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@ak.net The Moving Man (TMM) crew did perform a move for **** **********. I received a phone call from **** at the time he was doing the bill at the customer's delivery residence reporting to the office that a mirror frame was chipped. **** asked for direction on what to do. I, ****** ******** suggested to give her a half hour credit off the bill, which would equal $57.50. **** asked the customer if a half hour discount would be sufficient and the customer replied "yes". **** adjusted the billable time on the bill to give her a half hour credit and logged the credited time on the paper work. So the time on the paperwork was the adjusted time, not the true time spent on the job. After the crew had left and returned to the shop we received a call from *** ********** stating that the bill did not reflect a half hour discount. The office checked with **** and reviewed the paper work, although the time log on the bill did not reflect a half hour discount, **** assured us she was given a half hour discount off the true time of the job. *** ********** did not agree with this so TMM at that time offered her another half hour discount, $57.50 off her time which she agreed to. The customer paid in cash, so we pulled $57.50 of those funds to reimburse her. I called her the next day to try and schedule a time to drop of the money. She did not return my call. This was the start of the phone tag. I do not agree with her call log, but I will state this, that every time she left a message for me I called her back and always received her voice mail, in which I would leave a message that I was trying to get the reimbursement to her. I left at least three messages to try to get this resolved. After not receiving a call for over a month I felt she had put this issue on the back burner. TMM is ready and willing to make this right with the customer. At no point has she given me the opportunity to fix the mirror. TMM would like to request to pick up the mirror for repair. If the repair can't be made, TMM will special order the mirror and when it comes in will deliver the mirror, and hopefully resolve this issue. TMM will wait to hear from *** ********** so we can set up a time to pick up the mirror. Our offices hours are M-F 8am - 5pm, she can reach us at XXX-XXXX.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ********, ***** and ********** of The Moving Man visited our home in April 2013 to prepare an estimate for the cost of a household move from Anchorage to Pennsylvania. We did all of the packing and provided all of the packing material and transported approximately 1/3 of all the goods to the garage and adjacent 8x14' enclosed trailer. At the time the estimate was given, the household had not been packed up. His estimate was to include padding the furniture, moving all the items to the container and loading it. He assured me that it was only an estimate and that an itemized accounting of the labor and packing supplies would be given and the cost adjusted. In my mind it certainly would have been lower since we had done all the packing, built the required crate, and done much of the moving. You are referred to my e-mail to him regarding the man hours which were billable. He owes me at least $610 refund for that. The pretext that a couple of common laborers were professional movers and appropriately billed at $48/hr is laughable since at least one of them wondered from room to room trying to look busy while dodging the real work and knocked off early to go to his real job. I had formally asked him to provide me with the details of the contract between him and us. Again I refer you to my e-mail to him which also went unanswered but he called my wife in response to that e-mail saying that there were no formal contracts but he was honest and did what he said he would do. When the formal bill was rendered to me---fully a week after the payment demand was met, did I learn that he charged inflated prices for wrapping material and itemized the padding paper per sheet which is typically sold in bundles. In short he charged $895 for 275 paper pads. I have delayed this complaint until I could count the paper pads that were used. We could find 220. An approximate $800 refund out of a $15000 charge is chicken feed. The real cause for my ire is the implicit dishonesty in not being upfront about the individual charges and the devious means utilized to secure the inappropriate payments. While we were in transit driving through Canada he threatened that our container would be impounded and incur daily charges if he were not reimbursed within the next 2 days. No bill etc. had been given to us until that moment.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for the man hours not provided but charged and the padding not utilized but charged and an acknowledgment of his inappropriate, dishonest and devious behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/30) */ The ***** were asked to come into the office to sign paperwork before leaving town. The ***** chose not to do that, they did not even inform us they were leaving. TMM realized the ***** had left town when we contacted them in regards to them not showing up to the office to sign paperwork. If they would have completed their paperwork like every one of my customers, they would have had the opportunity to look over their billing and discuss issues they might have had and avoided all of this confusion. The email *** **** is referring to that was "not responded to" was indeed responded to. I called **** **** as soon as it was received and explained that the quote I sent them was indeed an agreement, it stated the estimated price, the cost per man on an hourly basis. It listed everything The Moving Man (TMM) was required to do at said price. The email I received from *** **** says: On Aug 13, 2013, at 2:30 PM, The Moving Man - office Thank you for you response. I am interested in the particulars of the contract; Specificallly I want to have the documentation setting downs the terms of the agreement and who is responsible and the details of what is required of you, what happens if there are long (define long) delays, what sort of performance guarantees are being made, what it the specific entity making the contract(s), to whom would we address and hold responsible for non-performance and that sort of thing, If there are subcontracts with other shippers I do not want to be in the position of loosing my goods because they went bankrupt or were not paid by the Moving Man or something like that. > *******, I did not know how to respond to that with an email and I felt I needed to talk with the customer. The only phone number I had was the house phone and when I called **** **** answered. After speaking with **** **** I felt the questions in the email were addressed and she said she would relay this information on to *** ****. I will not respond to the statement that "the price I charged for a crew member is laughable". *** **** was informed in writing what he would be charged for each man for each hour. This statement does not surprise me as he has brought my office manager to tears during phone conversations that were filled with belittling statements. In one phone conversation as he was speaking with my office Manager, she was trying to explain the charges he said "I don't need to listen to your fourth grade math." I would like to respond to the statement of "when the final bill was rendered to me ---fully a week after payment demand was met ...". In our quote letter it clearly states that address and payment must be received before the trailer can be shipped from Anchorage, AK. I am unsure why he states it as a "demand", every customer is required to pay for their container before it is shipped. As for the complaint that *** **** was charged for 275 paper pads vs. *** **** only counting 220, I reviewed the materials logs and spoke with the lead man and all counts are accurate as billed. The statement of "there were no formal contracts" is untrue. I did not say that. What I said was "the quote letter is our agreement". It states the pricing and what TMM obligations are within that pricing. TMM did not use any devious ways to secure payment. *** ****'s accusations that I "threatened that our container would be impounded and incur daily charges if he were not reimbursed within the next two days" is false. After the job was completed the container was weighed, the man hours and material was tallied and the paperwork was completed for the ***** to come into the office to sign and payment was to be made. When we contacted the ***** to arrange payment and the signing of the paperwork, we learned that they had left town. The ***** were then reminded that we needed payment to turn in their shipment to get on the barge. They did make payment over the phone with a credit card. We informed them via email that the paperwork, that was not signed before they left town, still needed a signature and we would mail them the paperwork to be signed and returned. We stated that the shipment will not be released to them until the paperwork was signed and returned. As we waited for these papers to be returned, we also kept an eye on the delivery of their shipment as it got closer to their destination. As we saw the delivery date get set for the shipment I chose not to hold his container as I had stated before. They had plenty of time to sign and return the paperwork. (I have never had a customer do this in all my 21 years in business.) I let the delivery happen with no hold ups to avoid any added stress to **** ****. I, ****** ********, President of The Moving Man will not acknowledge I used any inappropriate, dishonest or devious behavior in charging the ****** because that would be untrue.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two garage door panels dented and in need for repair as result of movers placing the center piece of my entertainment center too close to the garage door causing the garage door to impact the entertainment center when they asked me to close the garage door. Repair is estimated at about $413, not including labor. Replacement of these panels needs attention soon, as painters will soon be painting the exterior of the home, including the garage door. I have placed two phone calls to ****, one on Wednesday, May 15, and another to his receptionist asking for a return call on Monday, May 20, with no reply.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for the two damaged garage door panels, including labor.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/30) */ The Moving Man (TMM) moved the customer, *** ** on April 30. She did not have access to the main house so the crew was instructed to place the contents from her entire household into the garage at the new residence. The crew did their best to fit everything in this customer's garage, as you can imagine it was very tight. Upon leaving, the crew wanted to make sure the garage door would shut, they asked *** * to shut the garage door to make sure it would clear the household goods. When the garage door was closing a crew member noticed an item was too close to the garage door and immediately instructed *** * to stop and raise the garage door back up. They readjusted the piece, the garage door was then closed without incident and in working order. On or about May 13, *** * called TMM to report damage to her garage door. The owner of TMM, ******, returned the call on May 14 and spoke with ***** and said he would look at it as soon as possible, the next time he was in the Eagle River area. I did not speak with *** * on May 15, as she states in her complaint. After receiving this complaint on May 22, ****** questioned the TMM receptionist asking if *** * had called on May 20, she said "yes, but I forgot to give you the message." *** **** comment of getting no reply from TMM is untrue. I did speak with her on May 14, which is logged in our customer file. I would like to state that performing a move and then getting a complaint of damage 14 days later is hard for TMM to accept full responsibility when others have moved these items into the house and opened and shut the garage door after us leaving the job site. I would also like to point out this was not a new house. I am not positive the year the house was built, but the crew reported to me it was at least 15 years old and the garage door had the normal wear and tear, dings, and dents that a garage door of that age would have. For ***** to demand TMM to replace two garage panels from a resulting dent, that is even unclear when or how it happened, seems unreasonable.