BBB Accredited Business since

Supportive Services of Oregon Inc

Phone: (503) 557-1441 Fax: (503) 557-1441 5100 SE Harney Dr # 8, Portland, OR 97206

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers moving support for disabled and seniors including cleaning, packing, moving and final move out preparation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Supportive Services of Oregon Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Supportive Services of Oregon Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Supportive Services of Oregon Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated 03/10/2009 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Transportation
550 Capitol St NE, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (888) 275-6368

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Todd Burton, President Mr. Darin Johnson, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Burton, President
Business Category

Movers Cleaning Services

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:00pm Monday - Saturday
By appointment Sunday
Alternate Business Names
Supportive Services Moving & Hauling

Additional Locations

  • 5100 SE Harney Dr # 8

    Portland, OR 97206 (503) 557-1441


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made verbal commitment to move items within a specific amount of time that we had budgeted for, were late showing up, The two men that came and moved our furniture, did not show up until 3:45 P.M. after moving a 4 bedroom house that same day starting at 7:00 A.M. The temperature that day (6/26/2015) was 102 degrees. They were exhausted and burned out from the previous move. They should had not been allowed to move two four bedroom homes in one day, especially at 102 degrees. We had numerous items damaged.....front door jam, brand new couch and chaise was ripped in several places, and soiled. Two broken dresser drawers, shoe shelf, and a small dresser fell off the top shelf of their moving truck while in transit, we had to throw them out they were so badly damaged. A lot of our furniture was soiled from body sweat and grease. They did not move what we asked them to move and did not listen to instruction. We also asked them to have their boss call us and tried to contact their boss several times the next day, only to get a response such as "he's not reachable at this time". This company is clearly not a reputable company, otherwise they would have tried to make the situation right!!

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of $454.12, which is what we paid them for their services. This amount will not even begin to cover the repair costs to all of our damages.We will have to pay our apartment for the damage to the front door jam, which will come out of our deposit.

Business Response: i'd like to first off state that i would generally not respond to customers in the manner of which i'm about to.

We follow all ODOT  guidelines in how we respond to complaints of damages of items and or property. Although perfection is our goal it is impossible to be perfect in the moving industry. Accidents happens. When they happen we take care of our mistakes. We always have and always will. I invite you to check out our extensive reviews on Thumbtack for movers if you care to view a representative example of how we respond to legitimate complaints as well as our overwhelming amount of positive reviews.

As for these complaints we completely refute all of them. As the owner i can say she is not remembering our conversation correctly nor the conversation with our general manager. As for damages, our lead on the job, our best employee, the one we get the most compliments from, has countered that everyone of of their claims of damages was false and they were 'just making stuff up to try and get free service out of us". We were hired to move the furniture. There was more belongings left to move afterwards and they requested we come back the next day to move the rest of the items free of charge due to alleged damages. They hired us to just move the furniture. It is illegal for ODOT licensed movers to move anyone for free under any circumstances and it is also illegal to give a complete or even a partial refund. We are only allowed to cover for damages and only if there actually were any.

We are considering legal avenues against this person for slander and  harassment.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
First of all, filing a legitimate complaint against a business is neither libelous nor is it harassment as indicated by their response. If they wish to threaten us with a lawsuit because of a legitimate complaint then so be it. We are not as they claim trying to receive free service, or something for nothing, we only suggested to them that we would consider some kind of compensation for the damage they caused, in lieu of filing legal action or an insurance claim. We are not aware of any ODOT/DOT regulations regarding compensation or we wouldn't have suggested it, but we were getting no where regarding our claims for damage to furniture and poor performance. In fact when we mentioned the damage we were called "liars" and that it just didn't happen. There has been nothing but total denial from the get go. They were never willing to discuss their poor performance nor the damage done. I did mention damage to one of the workers on the day of the move and they claimed it didn't happen, even though I showed him the broken piece, which I assumed to be their chosen response so I decided at that time not to pursue the damages with their workers, which I deemed inappropriate. When we asked to speak with their insurance personnel regarding a claim they said there was "no damage" and we didn't have a claim. As to their remark regarding the Thumbtack website of reviews, I have read them and the ones that complained were immediately explained away by this company's management, but they by no means have a perfect record. We take this matter very seriously and are not looking to disparage any business for fun. We were wronged by this business, damage occurred to both brand new and used furniture and we are truly offended by their threatening remarks. No legitimate business would call a customer "liars" and not at least investigate a claim of damage thoroughly.

********* *******

Business Response: they signed a legal document stating that all items were received in good and satisfactory condition. They also signed the bill of lading stating what level of protection they would be offered if any damages did occur. That level is 60 cents per pound of any damaged items. That's the level of protection they opted for and it's the only level of protection we are legally obligated and allowed to offer them. We asked them to send us pictures of any damages and they have not. Our driver, once again, says that all that they are saying in regard to damages is not true. If it's not true what else can he say?   If damages occurred (blatantly and right in front of them) as they claim then why would they sign a document that stated that none did occur? They have threatened to 'see you in court' after we refused to be bullied into providing them free service. They also helped unload some of the items out of the truck. Once they touch an item we are no longer responsible for any damages after they touch that item. I am very much calling them out as being dishonest because they are being dishonest and threatening. i disagree with (but am not surprised by) their assessment of our reputation on Thumbtack. They are repeatingly asking us to do something we are not legally allowed to do. I invite them and the BBB to contact ODOT and ask them if they do not believe us or go on their website and look it up. It's there for all the public to see.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, we were not asked to send any pictures, I would like the proof where they asked us to send pictures.  I have kept every e-mail, every text, and every phone conversation (which was recorded) with "Todd", and "Randy".  Second of all, I was bullied into signing documentation due to the fact that when the two movers arrived, they were almost an hour late. The driver said, and I quote "don't worry about what you are signing, it's just stating that we are here and ready to get going because we are so late". My son was standing in the room with me when I signed the document and is and will be my witness. Again, they did not arrive until 3:45 P.M. Their arrival was on the heels of a move prior to ours that was also a 4 bedroom home in 98 degree heat. My move should have been pre-screened prior to moving especially because the physical demands on the two movers was above and beyond anyone's physical limits considering the heat and the size of the move. Also, I was recently observing another move by a different moving company the other day, and what I saw was unbelievable. They were efficient, careful, hydrated, and they were on task. This particular company's employees wrapped furniture, wrapped entry doors, and were not exhausted and sweating all over the customers furniture. I think that Supportive Services should make this situation right.


********* *******

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Worst experience ever! Movers showed up 45 min early and appeared to be under the influence. One of them placed their wet cup of soda on top of my very expensive brand new hardwood dresser, which left a nice ring on it. They took 50 minutes to drive 10 miles on a Sunday. I left after them and got to the new home 20 minutes before them...not sure if they made a pit stop and I wouldn't be surprised. When we arrived one of them stood and watched the other one move the furniture. I asked them 5 times to move together. I was so frustrated that I ended up moving half of my own things because I couldn't take it anymore. When I left for a moment, I came back to my new home only to find the lazy worker was taking a **** in my new bathroom for 15 minutes on the clock and didn't even apologize or ask me if it was okay to use my personal bathroom....worst company ever. I could've hired a real moving company that would have made this move quick and painless which would have been the exact opposite of this crappy experience. I would NEVER hire them again nor recommend them to anyone. I have sent this complaint to the business on 11/22/2014. They responded with a promise to call me the very next day. It has been two weeks and I have heard nothing from the business regarding my complaint. I am very disappointed in their lack of customer service and business practices.

Desired Settlement: A full refund for the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ We dispute 90% of this customers complaints and have documentation to back that up. To begin with her facts are off (we arrived 15 minutes early and it was on a Saturday and we did not take 50 minutes between load and unload sites) She signed a legal document at the end of her move that states when we arrived, what day it was and that her belongings were moved to her satisfaction. Customers are not allowed in our trucks. If any of our customers, including her, has any complaints or disputes with our service we encourage you to call us to discuss the bill and any issues. Our number is on our truck. Our worker did use her restroom without asking which is against our company policy. We cannot give her a refund. It is against ODOT regulations. If we give her a full refund as she requests she can then turn us into to ODOT and they would then fine us. We can offer to make amends for damages as stated in the contract she signed which we fully abide by as is required to keep our ODOT license. However, she signed the document stating all was delivered in acceptable condition. We are obligated by ODOT to abide by that contract. She has complained three times on various websites about us. We're sorry she is frustrated but are at a loss on what we can legally do to make amends for her experience at this point. We tried to contact her once and have responded on this site and to her on her other avenue's of complaints and a have also offered to have her call us. We would be more than willing to discuss this with her as we have told her from the beginning. To other potential customers i would ask that you use the other 1,000 of satisfied customers we've had since we were established in 2003 in establishing an opinion about us. We get lots of compliments because we earn them and we care. We are doing our best to learn from this experience so that no matter what the reality of the situation is that we do not leave a customer in such an unhappy state and opinion about our company.