BBB Accredited Business since

Rainier Overseas Movers Inc

Phone: (800) 426-9928 Fax: (425) 643-0448 View Additional Phone Numbers 7003 132nd Pl. SE #200, Newcastle, WA 98059

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers international moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rainier Overseas Movers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rainier Overseas Movers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Rainier Overseas Movers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 11, 2011 Business started: 08/01/1979 Business started locally: 08/01/1979 Business incorporated 08/11/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Federal Maritime Commission
800 N Capital St NW, Washington DC 20573
Phone Number: (202) 523-5807

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Douglas Wiviott, Vice President Mr. Dave Dack, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Wiviott, Vice President
Business Category


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rainier Overseas Movers Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7003 132nd Pl. SE #200

    Newcastle, WA 98059 (206) 522-1982


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Items lost out of shipment. Over 100 books never arrived in Panama, worth well over 1000.00 dollars

Desired Settlement: Full reimbursement for all that was lost or stolen.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ Per his insurance value inventory, there were no books listed, or priced, the claim was filed for $418.80.He packed the boxes himself, so we didn't know what was packed. His claimed was denied, as he signed as receiving all items at destination. Our Insurance Company, & our company are willing to help him, as a gesture of good faith, and we are offering him what he claimed, $418.80, we both will split the bill, hopefully this will help settle this claim.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ***************** of Rainier Movers International, Inc. in June 2013 to ask if she could provide a quotation to move our household belongings from Surbiton, England to Charlottesville, VA at the end of September. Following an in-house survey conducted by a British company, ******* emailed a quotation on July 8, 2013 stating that 6,000 lbs included our piano "and more items" at $107.63 per net 100 lbs. I asked ******* for a formal quote to present to my husband's employer, **********************, who would pay for the move. She emailed me on July 8 "3000 lbs= 171.22 per cwt = 5136.60; 6000 lbs including piano= 107.63 per cwt = 6457.80". Again, I wrote to ******* asking for a formal document including the final number that we could present to **** By email dated ~July 9 she sent a document stating the full amount was $6458.00 for "exclusive use of a container." We presented the quotation to *** and they created a budget for us based on this number. We then learned that because the estimate was above $5000, and because Rainier was not a registered mover with **** in order to use Rainier *** required us to gather quotes from minority and women owned businesses and Rainier would have to be the lowest for us to use them. I used Rainier when I moved to the UK in 2009 and trust them, so we contacted other companies and underwent a number of other surveys. in the end, Rainier was the lowest quote. We kept ******* apprised of the situation. She suggested that as a part owner of Rainier she could qualify as a woman owned business. We put her in touch with *** to register. Once she was registered and *** accepted the lowest quote, we were set, with our upcoming move 3 weeks away. We emailed ******* last week asking if she could confirm some items in our inventory from the survey in July to confirm which items were included in the quote. We could not recall if we included one of 4 big items-- couches, dining room table and chairs, king bed, or loft beds. In response, ******* informed us by email on August 28 that she was tossing the original quote and getting a fresh survey. We responded that we did not need a new survey, that we simply needed to know what was in the inventory so we knew what to include for the movers. ******* responded "We don't have to survey but we all are confused on what you are ending up taking now?**** said some furniture items not going now and she wanted a firm bid for the school. I don't feel comfortable doing a firm bid without seeing it again We can just move you and see what we end up with?" We again requested the inventory, explaining that a new survey is not necessary, we just need to know what was included in the inventory so we know what to pack. Furthermore, we reminded her that we have been relying on the quote she provided to us and which we provided to **** In response, by emailed document on August 29, ******* informed us she had an updated bid for exclusivbe use of the container, not including teh piano, for $7445.00. When I asked her why she was increasing the quote and excluding our items, she advised me that Rainier changed their rates in June. However, I forwarded her our July 8 quote, reminding her it was given in July. Further, I reminded her that we and *** relied upon this quote, now to our detriment, in establishing a budget and moving forward. We are three weeks away from our move and all is set, and she suddenly changed this on us. I asked her what is really happening, and she told me she understood if we go with someone else. Bt email dated July 9, ******* wrote "I did give you the heavier amount. I have you 2 prices. The smaller amount did not include All the furniture and no piano. The heavier weight did." Despite repeated requests we have not received our inventory. I contacted **********, president of Rainier, who decided it would be fair to all parties to conduct a new survey this week. This is not fair to us at all. Rainier is creating a very bad situation with us and with my husband's future employer, with whom we fought to use and register Rainier. If the amount increases we will go over our budget. Throughout the two months that we were jumping through hoops and fighting to us Rainier, ******* never once indicated to us that the rates would change. And, we are simply asking for the inventory to make sure we know exactly what was included in that quote so we can provide it for the move. At this point, with just three weeks to go, Rainier knows fully well we are stuck and appears to have either lost the inventory, or want to take advantage of us by raising the quote. We are thoroughly disgusted and stuck. We hereby demand that Rainier abide by the original quote of $6458.00 for exclusive use of a container and provide us the inventory so we know what we included in that survey and can provide it to the movers. Further, we request to work with someone other than *****************.

Desired Settlement: To abide by the original quote of $6458.00 for exclusive use of the container, to provide us the inventory for that quote, and to let us work with someone other than ******* *********.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ We quoted the customer our rate for her move on July 8. Our quotes are good for 30 days. Around August 21 our sales team was notified she wanted to book the shipment to move in late September. Our quote had expired and there had been a discussion of what all was to be included in the shipment. We suggested that we re-survey the shipment to make sure of what was to be shipped and verify our pricing. The customer refused and said we had to stick by our quote. I responded and said we just want to re-survey which would be the fair approach for both parties. Once again, she refused and said she would seek what legal options she had, file a complaint with the BBB, notify all of her ex-pat friends and put on the internet that she found our business practices disgusting. At that point I felt our relationship had become adversarial and that we would withdraw our bid and have her select one of the other movers that she had received quotes from. Once again, the quote had expired and at no time was there a signed contract between that we would handle this move. Solution: We have asked our British moving partner to help her find another U.S. company to work with on this move or suggest she select one of the other moving companies she already had received bids from Regards, ***** **** President ph: XXX XXX XXXX email: **** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Rainier is ignoring what we stated to the BBB-- that a contract existed because we relied to our detriment upon the quote given to us. They were fully aware of all of the things we were doing to have them approved by **** I am happy to forward all of our email communications to show that we kept them updated as we fought to use their services, doing everything *** told us to do, which was a hardship-- while trying to prepare for an international move and watch our baby, I had to undergo numerous surveys to obtain quotes from other companies in order to have Rainier approved. It was not until Rainier was approved and we were ready with three weeks to go that, without warning, ******* emailed us stating she had a new quote, which was $1000 more. They waited through two month of us jumping through hoops, never indicating that the rate would change. When I asked her what was happening she responded that their rates changed in June. When I forwarded the email to her showing we obtained our quote in July, she ignored me and decided we needed a new survey. I wrote to ***** **** and he decided it would be "fair" to do a new survey, ignoring all we had done to have Rainier approved and the fact that we were less than three weeks away from our move date. When we asked numerous times for our inventory so we could provide the items approved for the move, we were ignored. It seems to us now that Rainier must have decided that they wanted to earn more money from our move, and waited until we had little choice to throw a new price at us. Please let me know how I can forward all of these emails to you to show how Rainier left us in a very bad situation, and the stress we endured trying to find a new quote on such short notice that would be within our budget. Not to mention the communications we shared with **** fighting to use Rainier and then having to show my husband's new employer how the very company we fought to use left us in a very bad situation, quite frankly, completely screwing us over. People should be warned about Rainier's questionable business practices, and ****** should be reimbursed the difference. In addition, Rainier should apologize to the HR person at *** who helped us through all of the hoops, and who commented that she has never seen a moving company do what they did in her many years in the industry. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/10/01) */ As we have stated numerous times, the quote to *** ***** had expired. She refused to allow us to perform another survey and re-quote the shipment. There was no signed contract nor should we be held responsible for UVA's requirement to use one of their approved movers. If that is their requirement they should have accepted the next lowest bid from one of their moving companies when we withdrew from handling this job. *** ***** should take this up with **** not us. We are more than happy to explain to *** why we withdrew from this job and apologize for any inconvenience. However, we feel no financial obligation for a shipment we never had a contract for nor did we handle. Regards, **** **** President

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted with Rainier to provide door to door shipping of household goods from Boston, MA to Essen, Germany. Was told in person and via email that there would be no hidden charges nor receiving end issues. Movers in MA were fantastic. The trouble began on the receiving end when the receiving transporters basically extorted over $600USD for an alleged "long haul" and would not deliver any of our belongings into the home until the up-charge was paid in cash up front. Repeated contact with **** ******* of Rainier offered NO assistance or resolution. We were basically extorted out of $600USD with all of our personal belongings as hostage.

Desired Settlement: Repayment of the "extortion fe"e due to verbal and written confirmation from the contracted company that this would not occur.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/27) */ This complaint was due to a difference of opinion between our delivery agent in Germany and our client in to the accessibility to their new home in Germany by the movers. Our last correspondane with the client was 7/2 and we were waiting to see what transpired during the actual delivery, but we never heard back from the client. We did receive signed delivery documents from our German delivery agent showing that the client was very happy with the delivery......we assumed that everything had worked out sucessfully as we had not heard otherwise. This complaint to the BBB is the first we have heard from the client sine 7/2....... If they did pay money for a difficult access in Germany which is not part of of our contract, we would like to verify how much was paid and exactly what it was for.......then we can figure out a reasonable solution. Sncerely, **** ******* Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I agree the last correspondence was in the beginning of July- just as the extortion process of ******** was beginning. On several occasions I reached out to Rainier for assistance with this - and their repeated response was something like: "******** is a very well respected removal company in Germany and we have to go with their professional judgment in this case.....they do not make a living on shuttle services, this is only a last solution if a normal access cannot be used... Best, ****" Since they were unwilling to assist, and we needed our household (and our lives), we were left with no option but to pay the extortion fee and file the complaint with the BBB. This is difficult on many levels- - Rainier had assured us on several occasions this would NOT occur. - the extortion process began over 1 week prior to the anticipated delivery date and they offered NO assistance (an email string shows there are 11 emails on which Rainier is copied and they offer no input, response or assistance) - Rainier" drew the line in the sand" stating unequivocally that the delivery agent "knows best" and this is a regular practice of theirs (hundreds of deliveries) - the Boston team sent a 2-man crew to wrap our goods on a Thursday for a solid 8 hours (at no extra charge) - the Boston team sent a 3-man crew to pack the container on Friday for a solid 6 hours (at no extra charge) - the Boston crew loaded the container at a much greater distance (including an exterior flight of stairs with no complaint or upcharge) than the Germany crew - we gave the Boston crew a tip of over $200USD for their courteousness and professionalism - the German 3-man crew extorted almost $600USD, prior to any delivery, for less than 6 hours of work and at much shorter distance than the US crew - the German delivery agent NEVER visited the location or explored parking permit options although given the information repeatedly by my wife - the German delivery agent was NOT the delivery agent declared on the initial contract - the contract has no definition of "long haul" - the delivery agent, although not a part of the original contract with Rainier, can be understood to be extorting monies with our belongings as hostage as they would not even begin to unload our belongings until the fee was paid - although we reported that the delivery of our goods was satisfactory, (the 2-3 man crew did work for six hours and we tipped them accordingly), the questionnaire did not include questions regarding excess fees and inappropriate contractual issues - I don't believe Rainier representatives have ever been to Germany, but our street and loading options are FAR from unusual in Germany (in fact, our street is called *********** which means *********** in German). I forwarded Rainier and their "new" delivery agent photos of loading options - there are several businesses in our immediate vicinity that are able to load/unload regularly in this area without issue We're pleased to hear that they are willing to discuss the above - although it is unfortunate that they and the firm needed to wait for a BBB filing to do so. We chose Rainier based on reputation, references, purported attention to detail and the fact they were going to be the responsible party from beginning to end and it's disheartening that their"promises" were untrue; and when we reached out for assistance, it proved futile. This was everything we dreaded and it all came true. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/07/31) */ The case has been settled.....Rainier has made a goodwill gesture and paid for 50% of th eextra fees......per email trail below *****...per below...please ***** a check to ***** for $290.00 today...thanks!! Hi *****, At the end of the day, you are correct.....two sides to every story..... Glad we could work this issue out and you received your goods in good shape! Best, **** **** ******* Director, International Business Development Rainier Overseas Movers, Inc. ** *** XXXXX Bellevue, WA. XXXXX Direct line: XXX-XXX-XXXX Toll free XXX-XXX-XXXX extn *** Local XXX-XXX-XXXX extn *** Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX Please visit us today at WWW.RAINIEROS.COM From: ***** ******* mailto:********@********* Sent: Wednesday, July 31, 2013 4:10 AM To: **** ******* Cc: **** ******* (*****); <********@************>; <*****@************>; ***** ********** Subject: Re: AW: AW: Quotation request ****************** Nr. ****, ******* to Essen, GERMANY **** - I appreciate the offer. I guess at the end of the day, ******** and I just to agree to disagree on the topic and any other additional discussion is moot. Please send the check payable to ***** ******* to: ********* ** XXXXX ************* GERMANY Phone XXXX-XXXXXXXX Thank you. Sent from my **** *****