This business is not BBB accredited.

Pacific Movers Inc

Phone: (907) 276-5737 Fax: (907) 258-3717 View Additional Phone Numbers 2510 N Post Rd, Anchorage, AK 99501 http://www.pacificmovers.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services,


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Movers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Movers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 01/01/1954 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Walt Schlotfeldt, Secretary Mr. Jack Crockett, Vice President Mr. Jim Dodson, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jack Crockett, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Walt Schlotfeldt, Secretary
Business Category

Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2510 N Post Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 276-5737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed my household goods in this storage facility in April 2010. In November 2010, I requested that some of my items be released from storage; the items that would not fit in my new residence, I requested that they remain in storage. The items that were stored in April 2010, along with the items that remained there after the November 2010 partial release were all listed on the inventory. In August 2011, I placed the remainder of my items back into storage. Again, I received inventory listing, with everything that was going into storage. This August storage should have been added to my household goods from April 2010. In March 2013 due to a Permanent Change of Station (PCS), an inventory of my household goods was conducted by ************** and*********************, the military storage that would take over my storage. In July 2014,********************* delivered my household goods to my current duty station. At this time, I noticed that several items were missing from shipment. I contacted********************* and they told me to contact Denali Movers. When I contacted Denali Movers, I asked for the inventory listings from the April 2010 pickup, the November 2010 delivery, the August 2011 pickup, and the March 2013 turnover. As of today, I only received the latter inventories. All of the items, except for the chair to living room set is listed. Several times, I've asked Denali how does a dining room table with four chairs, a full-size leather chair, and other items go missing? At their request, I completed a claims form, listing the prices of all the missing items. After I submitted my claim, Denali still did not answer my question as to how the items left my house, made it to their storage facility, and went missing. I have asked this question countless times, and I have yet to receive an answer. A warehouse "invtentory" was performed from July to September 2014. During this "inventory", instead of Denali reaching out to me and providing updates, I had to contact them for updates. This facility located right outside of Elmendorf Air Force Base. Being in such close proximity, I am fairly certain that many military are using this company. They need to be aware that items stored at this facility have been known to disappear, and Denali will avoid all responsibility and admitting fault.

Desired Settlement: My items were being stored at this company at my expense. From April 2010 to March 2013, my storage bill was around $130 a month. I paid almost $4700 over the course of three years. After my claim, Denali offered me $800. Not only was this an insult to me, it absolutely contradicts their claim of secure storage, and they have yet to answer my question as to how my items went missing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/10) */ On September 30th, 2014, I responded to **** ****** via email as to how the items went missing. **** ****** seems to be unwilling to accept this explanation. On this same date and in this same email I explained to **** ****** the agreement that she signed waiving any additional valuation and agreeing to the standard valuation of $.30 per lb per article. I am honoring the agreement that was signed. In response to Denali being outside of the installation and that many military members are using our services, **** ****** is correct. With the huge amount of moves we do for the military, our BBB record is near spotless with an A+ rating. On the email from **** ****** on October 7, 2014, she states herself that, "Denali Group came highly recommended". This shows the customer service that Denali Group is known for and provides. Unfortunately situations do arise where damages or loss occurs with household goods. We have upheld our end of the contractual agreement by providing Mrs. ****** the maximum amount that was signed by her at the time of her move ($.30 per lb per article). I am very sorry for the inconvenience that **** ****** has experienced and have offered her the full amount allowable under the contract that she signed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An explanation has not been provided. All that Denali is doing at this point is denying any responsibility for my missing items. They have yet to explain how crated and sealed items go missing; what they are doing, is hiding behind an agreement that excuses them of accepting responsibility for my items. While the dollar amount that they did offer doesn't even begin to cover the full value of my items, I will stick with my complaint. This has been by far the worst experience I've have with a storage facility in my 13 year career. Denali does not deserve the rating they have been given, as I am I sure I am not the only customer to have furniture go missing.