BBB Accredited Business since

Lile Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 691-0530 Fax: (503) 691-1403 View Additional Phone Numbers 19460 SW 118th Ave, Tualatin, OR 97062 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lile.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential moving and storage services, moving equipment and rentals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lile Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lile Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lile Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated 08/17/1948 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Transportation
550 Capitol St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/odot
Phone Number: (888) 275-6368
askodot@odot.state.or.us

Alaska Department of Transportation
4111 Aviation Ave, Anchorage AK 99502
http://www.dot.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-0770

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Diane DeAutremont, President Ms. Dawn Boots, Director of Marketing Mr. Darren Cook, Branch Manager Mr. Bill Jackson, Branch Manager Mr. Mike Lesmeister, Branch Manager Ms. Chris Linn, Claims Adjuster
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Diane DeAutremont, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving Equipment Rental Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services

Alternate Business Names
Lile International Companies Lile North American

Additional Locations

  • 10610 32nd Ave S

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • 1445 Industrial Way Bldg 19C

    Longview, WA 98632

  • 19460 SW 118th Ave

    Tualatin, OR 97062 (503) 691-0530 (503) 726-4800 (503) 726-4820 (360) 892-1454 (360) 892-7906 (503) 393-0110 (541) 689-6683 (360) 423-2260 (800) 662-7084 (360) 377-3863 (800) 662-5012 (503) 753-3543 (360) 807-9900 (541) 772-6278 (253) 872-2222 (800) 283-5453 (253) 838-9181 (800) 421-6622 (253) 584-2222

  • 1957 Claxter Rd NE

    Salem, OR 97301

  • 20427 87th Ave S Bldg H

    Kent, WA 98031

  • 2061 Lars Way

    Medford, OR 97501

  • 3330 Roosevelt Blvd

    Eugene, OR 97402

  • 5720 - B NE 121st Ave

    Vancouver, WA 98682 (541) 683-3900

  • 6000 Werner Rd STE A

    Bremerton, WA 98312

  • 606 W Reynolds Ave STE 2

    Centralia, WA 98531

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Lile North American to move our household belongings from Lake Stevens, WA to Lowell, MI. We were given a delivery spread of the 25-28th of February, 2015. I planned my airline travel with my two small children (4 years and 3 weeks) around the dates that were provided to us by the dispatch office and the driver. We called the office several times to verify and weren't told until the day before my flight that the truck was still in Washington state. We were told that the company would reimburse us a specific amount to get a minimal amount of things for our home and that our belongings would be delivered on the 5th of March. We were told twice that if our belongings were delayed further that they would increase the reimbursement amount. Today we are being told that the truck could be up to a week later (12th of March) and they will not increase the reimbursement amount. I am sleeping on and nursing a newborn baby on an air mattress, my 4 year old daughter is eating meals on the kitchen counter while my husband and I stand. We have no reason to believe anything this company tells us at this point.

Desired Settlement: This company has lied to us multiple times. We paid them to do a job in a specific amount of time - which they have not done. I do not believe that we should have to pay them for a job they did not do within the guidelines that THEY set. It is unacceptable to leave me, again with two very small children, in this situation. Monetary compensation is the only way to settle this matter as it is going to cost us money to make our situation livable until they FINALLY arrive with our things.

Business Response: In business in the Pacific Northwest for over 50 years, Lile strives to consistently offer and provide the most efficient and reliable moving and storage services available on a local, intrastate, interstate and international level.   Household interstate moving falls under the authority of the carrier ultimately responsible for the shipment.   As an agent for ***** ******** *** ****** a nationwide household relocation provider, Lile provided origin services only, and the responsibility for the actual movement of the customer's household goods fell under the authority of ***** ******** *** *****.   Lile did not have the ability to intervene and/or resolve any delivery issue, and was unaware of the delay in delivery until 1 day before the last day of the identified delivery dates when the customer called to check on the status of their delivery. 

Our research indicates that this shipment was assigned to a ***** ******** *** ***** driver who picked it up on the agreed upon load date.   When the driver's next load fell through, his dispatcher apparently decided to keep him waiting for several days for additional tonnage.  We were not notified of the delay or change in the estimated date of delivery until prompted by the customer's phone inquiry and were advised at that time that the driver would be 7 to 10 days late.  To further complicate the problem, we were later told that the driver'a truck broke down in North Dakota resulting in the shipment being even later than originally assumed.

We believe in providing the best possible service to our customers, however once the shipment was loaded, decisions made by others (***** ******** *** *****) totally derailed the possibility of achieving an acceptable degree of satisfaction. The responsibility for this shipment falls clearly within the process for ***** ******** *** *****..  We ask that this complaint be removed from our account and assigned to ***** ******** *** *****. 


 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is a total deflection of responsibility. We hired LILE North American to handle our move. LILE North American gave us a quote for our move. LILE North American gave us the delivery dates. I called LILE North American no less than three times to confirm the dates (their dispatch office handled my calls, neglected to return my calls, and didn't tell me until the day before expected delivery) that our belonging were still in Washington. LILE North American gave me a quote for a reimbursement amount to furnish our home while we waited for our belongings and assured me (twice) that they would increase the amount if our belonging were further delayed. If LILE North American can not fulfill the promises they make to their customers than they should accept responsibility. My main source of communication was with the LILE North American dispatch office. They sold me on THEIR service and they failed to provide it. 
It was an ****** truck that loaded our belongings, not a ***** ******** truck. Maybe they have too many contractors to keep track of. Regardless, we met with a LILE salesman, dealt with LILE dispatch, and signed a LILE contract. They failed to meet the terms of their contract.
An update - we are missing two valuable items from our move. We have not filed a claim for said items yet because we are waiting to fully unpack to make sure we are not missing anything else. We are absolutely certain however, that a very tall outdoor ladder and my husband's skiis were not delivered with our move. It is clear to us that this company was not able to fulfill their contractual obligations to us in several ways. Our delivery was late, we were lied to about reimbursement amounts, and some of our things have disappeared during delivery. 

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response:

While Lile Moving and Storage was the booking agent for this shipment, it was turned over to ************* *** ***** for hauling.  The contract the customer executed was with ************* *** *****.  I am attaching a signed copy of the contract for review.  The consumer may contact ************* ******** Customer Service at ************ or Lile's Regional Vice President ****** ****** at ************ or via email *************@navl.com.  Thank you.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is ridiculous. Lile North American was the service agent that we hired (It says so on the bill of lading). They were the only point of contact that we had. Lile's dispatch office told me that they would keep us abreast of our shipment at all times. They failed to do so, neglected to return my calls when I tried to check, and lied to me. Had they updated me with the delay in shipment I could have changed our travel plans and prevented being stuck in an empty house with two children for nearly two weeks. I have attached a copy of our invoice - it is a Lile North American Invoice. That is who we paid to handle our move. The bill of lading is a piece of paper we signed amidst all the chaos on the day of our move long after we hired LILE North American to handle it for us. If nothing can be done to make this up to us - at the very least this complaint should stay on their account to warn potential customers of their lack of accountability. We paid our bill in full and this company hasn't even apologized to us. This is an unacceptable way to conduct business. Shame on you.

Sincerely,

******* *******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Lile northAmerican Moving transport my car from Oregon to Texas. When we got the car in Texas, 1) it was not delivered to the location we agreed to (we had to drive to a truck stop to retrieve the car), 2) it was covered so badly in soot we could not perform the inspection before signing for the car and 3) after washing the car, we noticed scratches on the hood. Lile worked with the transporter (Lile contracted out this service) and offered me $300 reduction from my bill (this has not happened yet). The damaged is estimated at $900 to repair and it cost me $150 dollars to clean the car enough to do the inspection. Product_Or_Service: Car Transport

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund 1) I'd liked to be reimbursed fully for Lile not having my car delivered to the location as we agreed (estimate $100);2) I'd like to have my car hood repaired and Lile pay for the repair (estimated at $900);3) I'd like to be reimbursed for the cleaning we had to do to the exterior of the car (estimated at $100).Since Lile will reduce my billing by $300 (they have not done this yet), I am seeking $800 in addition to the $300 already promised to reconcile.Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/13) */ In response to the aforementioned complaint, we are sorry for any inconvenience incurred of behalf of our customer and we would like to do everything possible to help resolve this issue. The $300 refund for the change of pickup location and cleaning of the soot on the car will be provided to you after ************* *** ***** (for whom we are an Agent) processes the audit for reconciliation. This process typically takes between 30-60 days from date of delivery. With regards to the customer's point 2 and 3, as clearly stated on the estimate provided to the customer we hired a third party to transport the car, as is done for moves of this distance. For the $900 damage claim, we have contacted the third party contractor on behalf of the customer and they are open to file a claim when the customer contacts them and provides them with the additional information they require. The contact information for this is listed below: ****** ****** ****** ******** ******* Accounting Department *** **** ******** ****** ***** *** Worcester, MA XXXXX www.fishershipping.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The offer is acceptable provided I receive the $300 refund and ****** ******** files a claim and that claim results in the repairs to the damage they did. At this point none of the offered resolution has happened. I will contact Fisher Shipping and will wait to give a final response after I receive the promised $300 refund and my car is repaired with no expense to me. Thank you.

4/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lile Moving offered me two options to move our household From the United states to our home in Australia. Option 1 was a 2-3 month delivery. Option 2 was a 5-7 week delivery, for the additional cost of $1,900. Our container arrived at the shipping port at 9 weeks. Our items have been in customs for 5 weeks and not delivered yet. Our items are reportedly not the cause of any delay. Lile Moving, to date, has not taken any responsibility for any aspect of the delays.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $1,900 so that Lile Moving is paid only for the service they provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ We strive to provide excellent service to our customers and take concerns very seriously. In reviewing this case, we've learned that we did provide the service agreed upon and had the customer's goods packed, loaded and tendered to the freight forwarder within 3 days. Unfortunately, once it reached its next destination, customs, we no longer had control of the timeliness of the delivery. Because we cannot control delays due to customs, we were forthcoming with the information on the contract which clearly states that delivery dates are not guaranteed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Whey offer and charge for service they can not provide? I feel like I paid for a lottery ticket rather than a professional moving service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/04) */ I spoke with the sales representative again and he assured me that he discussed with the customer, as with all international shipment customers that the times provided are based on the time period from pickup to delivery which we handled within 3 days. He explained to the customer that unforeseen delays, especially with international customs, can and do occur. This will cause the time to increase. That would hold true for either shipping period that was discussed. Had the customer selected the slower/less expensive method, it still could have been held in customs for 5 weeks beyond our control.

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lile Moving and Storage damaged my home upon delivery of my household goods. I called the claims office to request those damages be paid. I spoke with ****** *****, who told me to go ahead with a request from my builder's contractor, for an estimate. I forwarded that estimate as requested. I was told that they would need to send out an individual to perform an additional estimate, though later that afternoon received another email stating they'll accept the estimate I provided. That email also contained a document that I needed to sign before they would release those funds. This company is WELL aware that I am missing boxes and that I will be making a claim against the damages to my household goods that were transported and stored by them. The document in the email contained verbiage to not only pay my estimate, but that the payment would release them any further responsibility to any damages. Their play on words, in order to get me to sign that document, with their knowledge I am missing items and I will file a claim against damaged items is revolting. They have proven their service is NOT customer based. And, I want to be sure action is taken so that it doesn't happen to anyone else in the future, as they would potentially loose all rights to file further claims. No one called or emailed to be sure I understood what would happen if I signed that document, therefore, I can only assume they crossed their fingers for a completely ignorant customer.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking payment for the estimate they received, $503, for the damage that occured to my home 20 Dec 13, without releasing them from monetary responsitlity to any addtional claim for damage to my household goods that were transported and stored, and delivered. I am seeking communication from the company, which is customer based. I am seeking professionalism.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/10) */ We are glad we were able to resolve this issue, per the customer's settlement request, by paying the $503 to the customer. Also, she sought communication for her cargo damages and we provided instructions to her on how to file with the other carrier who is the responsible party.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service