BBB Accredited Business since

Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 365-4454 Fax: (206) 365-1262 View Additional Phone Numbers 10750 Aurora Ave N Ste A, Seattle, WA 98133 http://www.hansenbros.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, long distance and world wide moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hansen Bros. Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1890 Business started locally: 01/01/1890 Business incorporated: 07/08/1970 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Nelsen, President Mr. Dave Cullen, CFO Mr. Dave Jedlicka, Quality Control Manger Mr. Eric Rovner, Marketing Coordinator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Jedlicka, Quality Control Manger
Principal: Mr. Larry Nelsen, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Sales Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Storage Units - Household & Commercial Storage Units - Portable

Alternate Business Names
Hansen Bros. Transfer & Storage Co. Hanson Bros. Transfer & Storage Co. PortaBox Storage

Additional Locations

  • 10750 Aurora Ave N Ste A

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 365-4454

  • 2902 Lincoln Way

    Lynnwood, WA 98087

  • 6860 Coal Creek Pkwy SE

    Newcastle, WA 98059

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used Hansen Bros moving back in March for our move. We were told our products would be handled we care by professional movers. Our move resulted in extensive damage to our refridgerator, which Hansen bros refuses to acknowledge was as a result of negligence. Instead of taking the refridgerator out of the front door, they took it out of the back door which required them to lift it over a fence, resulting in them dropping it on the ground. In addition, they also failed to protect the refridgerator in the moving van. It was not padded or wrapped.

Desired Settlement: Refridgerator replacement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/20) */ It's unfortunate this complaint was filed considering we went above and beyond our legal obligation to attempt to reach an amicable solution. Our crew moved the refrigerator out of the home through the back door because the access was better. In the process of moving it through the yard one of the members of the crew fell. This fall resulted in the damage to the refrigerator. There was no negligence. It was an accident. Unfortunately those happen from time to time despite our best efforts and professionalism. The customer had the option before the move began of taking out Replacement Value Protection, either with or without a deductible. The customer chose not to purchase that coverage. Instead they chose to have their goods covered at the standard 60 cents per pound. That is the liability we are required to provide by the State of Washington. Responding to the claim for damage by the customer, we offered to increase our liability from the level of their coverage ($0.60 x 364 lbs = $218.40) to $500 in the interest of customer service and reaching a fair settlement for an otherwise problem-free move. The damage caused to the refrigerator was cosmetic in nature. The unit still functioned properly. The customer accepted a check for $500 as settlement and it was deposited to their bank account on 5/13/2013. Hansen Bros. has provided compensation above what was required by law. We communicated throughout the claims process in a timely manner. There is nothing else we can do or could have done in this matter which we didn't do within reason. We're certainly sorry the customer was dissatisfied with the outcome. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1 - It was shrink wrapped in transit, but was not protected with a pad. I saw it with my own eyes when they unloaded the truck. There wasn't a pad in place to protect it as there should have been. They have no way of proving that it was damaged by the fall only. 2 - Lifting a very large refrigerator over a fence is negligent and put our refrigerator and their employees at risk. This fall could have been avoided had they gone through the front door. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/05/22) */ To respond to the specific concerns the customer has raised: 1) The refrigerator was protected during transit. It was stretch-wrapped, strapped to the inside wall of the truck with a pad between the strap and the appliance. The damage happened during the fall. 2) We don't consider the choice of route, or the handling in any way negligent. It was an accident. Regardless, whether negligent or not, our legal level of liability remains at 60 cents per pound as the customer agreed to at the beginning of the move. There was a clear option to have a higher level of coverage which the customer voluntarily declined. Again, we have gone above and beyond the normal scope of a claim in trying to reach an amicable resolution. Our Branch Manager visited the home of the customer, viewed the damage to the refrigerator. He then offered to pay the deductible on the customer's homeowner's insurance, spent a great deal of time researching the possibility of replacing the skin and/or door of the refrigerator. The body of the email we received from the BBB about this complaint said - "Typically, to resolve a complaint, it is necessary for both parties to shift from their initial position to a middle ground. We encourage you to take this into consideration in your response and indicate what steps can be taken by both parties to resolve this case." Hansen Bros. has done exactly that. Our initial position was to pay the claim at our legal responsibility of 60 cents per pound for a total of $218.40. We have shifted from our original point and paid out over double our liability. The customer has accepted this resolution by cashing the check we sent. We don't see how to stretch any further in this matter. We strongly believe we've acted in good faith throughout the process and see no other course which would be any more fair to either side.

12/3/2012 Delivery Issues