BBB Accredited Business since

Alison's Relocations Inc

Phone: (907) 345-9934 Fax: (907) 344-4504 View Additional Phone Numbers 1524 Ship Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501 http://www.alisonsrelo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alison's Relocations Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alison's Relocations Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Alison's Relocations Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 03, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1997 in AK Business started locally: 11/01/1997 Business incorporated 08/27/1998 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Alison McDaniel, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Alison McDaniel, Owner/President
Business Category

Movers Relocation Service All Other Support Activities for Transportation (NAICS: 488999)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Debit, Cashiers Check, Personal Check and Cash.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Alison's Relocations Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1524 Ship Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 345-9934

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: En route to the destination from Alaska to California, I was notified by *** at Alison's Relocations to change my insurance to help me save money. The shipments had arrived, there was at least three items that was damaged. The most important item was the automotive car seat, which I had to obtain three estimates, requested by Alison's Relocations, that cost around $400 to have it repaired. I had to drive hundreds of miles, covering three counties in Southern California to find the reputable upholstery shops at reasonable estimates. A new replacement by a dealer would cost over $3000.Then, I received a check for $40 for the repair of the automotive passenger seat. Besides the broken seat, the phonograph cover was cracked, and the glass figurine was in pieces.

Desired Settlement: Repair of the three items, the automotive passenger seat, the phonograph cover, and the glass figurine.

Business Response: Alison's provided moving services for this customer on September 14th of 2011.  A claim had been submitted and had been processed in accordance to the customers chosen coverage of the carriers liability which equals to $.60 per pound per article.  The phone call from our staff was put out because the signed and therefore acknowledged contract with the ******* states that payment was due within three days of the household goods being picked up and as of September 19th payment had not yet been received.  The conversation was noted that Mr. ****** asked if he could change his mind on the insurance coverage to save money and we agreed to dissolve the full replacement insurance cost originally quoted with the understanding that the coverage would now convert to the limited liability of $.60 per pound per article.  The request for estimates is/was requested so that we the carrier could determine if our liability was higher or lower than the actual repairs.  In this instance our liability was lower than the repair estimate so we as mandated settled on the weight of the item.  The DOT and FMCSA govern the carriers liability and limit the carrier to $.60 per pound per article.  

We just recently learned of Mr. ******* dissatisfaction as we had been notified by our reputation management alert service that numerous slanderous reviews were being posted on line; this is two and a half years after services had been rendered!  We have contacted our legal department to pursue this issue on our behalf.

Alison's settled the claim appropriately based on the customers choice of liability coverage.  Due to the lapse in time from services and most importantly settlement had already been provided to Mr. ****** via the legal governing coverage chosen by the consumer we cannot justify any further settlement. 

We are with the hope that the aggressive behavior of the on line postings will cease.

Alison's Relocations, Inc.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: of the unacceptable as well as unprofessional behavior exhibited by ****** ******** in her responses.

In my Yelp review, I quoted ****** in the email that was provided by her as my reviews are accurate about removing the negative review.

I requested that ****** return my calls to speak about having the issues resolved. However, ****** never returned my calls. I also never recieved any responses from ****** by further e-mails other than the one requesting removal of negative review.

I paid for my damage insurance in the beginning. However, *** called me in the middle of everything to cancel my coverage to help me save money.

When the shipment came, it arrived with the boxes smashed. I checked everything and found the automotive seat being damaged. That was the most important thing that I needed to have taken care of it.

However, the company had me to obtain the estimates to the best effort I could to get to the reputable shop as well as pricing.

With the payout about 10 times less to cover the repair, it was insulting as well as unacceptable.





I can reflect in my Yelp updates as necessary when ****** ******** continues this aggressive behavior.

******* asked in the email about how can the negative reviews be removed, I have requested that the three items to be repaired several times.





Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: It is a conundrum as to why it has taken Mr. ****** 3 years to bring this to our attention and had we heard from Mr. ****** sooner we may have been able to pull our recorded phone records to assure him that again we do not coerce our customers to not purchase the insurance but rather we promote the option of full replacement value coverage.  

Alison's settled the claim according to the contractual agreement between it and the customer and in accordance to regulations.  We have no further comment with the exception that we are truly sorry that Mr. ****** was not pleased with our resolution.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I had the necessary coverage up until when *** made that phone call to drop the insurance that I had while I was en route to my destination at the time.

Reflecting back on my experiences with Alison's Relocations, I believe that something had happened to the items that were in question, especially with that passenger seat, that led to *** making that phone call to have me to save money.

I had paid for the insurance around $100 to cover up to $10000 in losses. The repair estimate for the seat was over $400 or $3000 for the entire seat replacement at a automotive dealer, which $40 for the loss from Alison's does not cover.

I was glad that BBB was part of the process as Alison's did not return my messages or phone calls regarding the issue to resume the communications between Alison's and I.

Because of Alison's actions, I cannot rely or depend on their services or their assistance in the past, now, or in the future. While I appreciated their apologies, but that would not resolve the issues completely.

I will leave the issues as-is. I will need to repair the items on my own.

Please feel to close the case as Alison's was unable to resolve the issue fully. 


Sincerely,

***** ******

1/7/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moved on 28 OCT 2014 from the hours of XXXX-XXXX in-town relocation (approximately 5 minutes apart). At approximately 1215hrs; the movers took a "break" for 45 minutes and were moving boxes around the truck (at the first location). Before the move was completed I noticed blankets piled up in one corner of the truck. When the move was completed, I was not "allowed" to check the back of the moving truck per the movers. Upon unpacking my boxes I noticed that one box was missing, labeled "Game Room" and marked with green tape labeled "fragile." In this box contained 1 Sonos Play 3, 1 SanDisk 16GB Memory Card, 1 Nikon D7000 MH-25 Quick Charger, 2 Seagate 500GB External HardDrives, 1 GCI Cable Modem, 1 GCI Cable TV Box, and 2 SanDisk Cruizer 32GB USB Drives. These missing items total $820.93. I contacted ******'s Relocations, Inc. dispatch and spoke with manager *********. She told me that she will look in to the missing box. On 29 OCT 2014 at approximately 1545hrs; my wife and I met with manager ********* and she stated that "they will not charge the credit card until the matter is resolved and that they will let me know before any charges were made" A claim form was submitted to manager ********* on 18 NOV 2014 at approximately 1305hrs. Manager ********* stated a police report would need to be filed for "theft" in order for the process to be submitted to the insurance company. I completed a police report on 22 NOV 2014 at approximately 1054hrs. Upon checking my credit card, I noticed a charge of $517.50 was completed on 14 NOV 2014; this violates what ********* had told me on 29 OCT 2014 and she did not tell me that a charge would be completed. This is still not resolved and I seem to get "stone-walled" when I attempt to resolve this issue. I have lost a total of $1,338.43 from this move.

Desired Settlement: Property return or equal value returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/22) */ This dispute has been resolved with our customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to my shipment being shipped out, I asked that I will pick up my vehicle in their warehouse in Anchorage, AK. My shipment left on 5/13/14 from Lubbock, Tx, and within one week, I found that my shipment arrived at Montana. As of now, my shipment is idling in Montana. Initial conversation I had with **** and ******* at ****** Relo was that I would pick up my vehicle as soon as shipment gets into Anchorage. They have been deliberately delaying this although the payment was paid in full. I trusted the company, but this company does not exercise the value they promote to customers

Desired Settlement: Have my shipment as soon as possible, and have this company is unreliable shipping company under BBB web listing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/14) */ Transit times quoted to customers are estimated times of arrival and are not guaranteed. This statement is written on all of our customers proposals. When we are made aware of a particular need in transit times we strive to meet it for our customer but during our peak season it can become difficult if not impossible to accommodate. Mr. ** received his auto on 7/8/14; 56 days in transit. Below is a copy and paste from************** Order For Service. I believe Mr. ** will respond that he has been satisfied. ****** ******** May 1, 2014 ORDER FOR SERVICE ******** **, Thank you for selecting ******'s Relocations, Inc. to service your upcoming relocation. Following is a list of pertinent details regarding your move and the services you requested. We ask that you please review the details and advise us of any discrepancies you may find. Carrier Reference No. **** Load Address: XXXX XXXth ****** Lubbock, TX XXXXX Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Pack/Load Date: 5/12-13/2014 Services Requested: Full Service Pack by ******'s Relocations, Inc Delivery Address: Customer to advise; ****** AK XXXXX Contact Phone: Customer to advise; Services Requested: Full Service Delivery includes: placement of furniture and cartons, reassemble items mover disassembled and removal of debris. Delivery excludes: Unpacking of cartons, customs fees, storage, shuttle, stairs and long carries, etc. Estimated Quote: Household goods; ***** @ $237.95 per hundred pounds: $11,005.18 3rd Party services for washer, dryer, refrigerator and HD TV wall mount: $350.00 (1) Auto: $2,945.69 Storage in Anchorage; $5.00 per hundred per month @ ****** $231.25 Warehouse handling; $5.00 per hundred @ 4625#: (One time charge) $231.25 ETA: 3-6 weeks from the date payment is received in full **TRANSIT TIME IS NOT GUARANTEED** Interlining Carrier: *********************** **** *** No.XXXXXX **** ** **** ***** Great ****** Montana XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX Destination Carrier: ******'s Relocations, Inc.

12/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It took 64 days from the time they picked up my household till it was delivered. I was told it would be 21 to 42 days. I am missing several boxes that were not listed on their inventory but I did receive several items that were unnumbered and not on the inventory. I received a wrapped up set of bed slats labeled small refrigerator. Kitchen items labeled hall closet. They loaded the boxes in a maker that I could not monitor the process.A couple of days before we were to leave I receive a call to see if I could come in to sign a release that had to be signed prior to shipping, which should have been sent with the loaders. I live 150 miles away from their office. 5 weeks into it I was told my household had arrived at ************* in montana. It had not. It was a week later than they told me. At one point I was asked if I removed a box of 2 hand guns. I gave them a complete list of all fire arms and counted all ammunition. They could not find these hand guns even after crossing Canadian and American borders. The hand gun boxes that did legally make were delivered with the bubble wrap removed thrown back in with the boxes open. I found the missing hand guns located in the bottom of a box labeled tools. This was the norm as we opened the boxes. I believe my lawn mower and a band saw ended up in Detroit I received them approx 150 days after they were picked up. I received 1/4 of the cost to replace it. I also had to cancel a trip to Las Vegas for my nieces wedding due to the delays of their delivery of which I received no reimbursement for the airfare and lodging. I could go on forever about their "satisfaction guarantee" policy.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recover at least 50% of the $14,000 it cost for using their service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/07) */ The Bill of Lading, Order For Service and Release Form all document an estimated transit time of 3 to 6 weeks. The Release Form had been reviewed, initialed (each line) and signed by ****** ** *********** One line item in particular reads - Estimated Transit Times/Delivery Spreads-I understand my transit time is estimated and not guaranteed. The Release Form is never sent out with our crew. It is preferred that a customer review all final relocation forms in our offices; usually done at the time of payment. This also is stated in our material. The Release Form confirms line by line; 9 total, that the customer has received particular documents such as delivery instructions, insurance options, claim filing limitations, transit spreads ect. The Release Form, payment processing and Bill of Lading (Contract) are administrative functions only and not meant for a mover to review with a customer; therefore not sent out and or finalized with the movers. ARI researched diligently and were not able to conclude how the 2 firearms ended up in a box of tools. *** ********** submitted a claim and ARI settled the claim in accordance to the chosen governing coverage of $.60 per pound per article; totaling $231.00. An additional $100 was provided as a goodwill gesture to satisfy the inconvenience for a later delivery of their lawnmower. Although *** ************* move had some less than desirable features; longer transit than anticipated and mismarked items we cannot justify any additional refund to *** ********** as requested. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not addressed the cost of my loss of airfare and lodging to Las Vegas which was lost due to the late arrival of my household goods. Nor did they reimburse me for the purchase I had to make of a lawn mower due to the fact mine was shipped to Detroit. Their web states,and I qoute "satisfaction guaranteed". The delivery time is, as I was told, an estimate of 3 to 6 weeks not 3 weeks to whenever. I believe that their business practices regarding their services are very misleading. Final Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2013/12/09) */ The transit concern had been addressed and explained in our response. Transit time is estimated and not guaranteed. Again, this information is written out on the Release Form (attached in prior response)and had been initialed by our customer; therefore assumed to be acknowledged by our customer at the time it had been initialed. In the claim submitted the lawnmower had not been an item to be claimed as damaged or missing. But ARI had been verbally made aware of the lawnmower not being received. Between the time of it being located and scheduled for delivery to MI the customer had opted to purchase a replacement mower, understandably. Had we settled the claim on the lawnmower at 100#'s our settlement would have been $60 ($.60 per pound per item). In the claim settlement check ARI had sent $100 as a goodwill settlement for this item which is above and beyond its liability.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2013 Delivery Issues
1/9/2013 Delivery Issues