BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail sales of motorcycles, all terrain vehicles, personal water crafts, and snowmobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro Caliber Vancouver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Caliber Vancouver include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Caliber Vancouver
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1998 in OR Business started locally: 10/01/1998 Business incorporated 10/28/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Jabusch, Vice President Ms. Jennifer Hannah Dougherty, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Hannah Dougherty, President
Principal: Mr. John Jabusch, Vice President
Business Category

Motorcycles - Dealers Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Pro Caliber Motorsports - Vancouver Pro Caliber Motorsports Inc

Additional Locations

  • 10703 NE Plain Blvd

    Vancouver, WA 98682 (877) 776-6686

  • PO Box 1679

    Vancouver, WA 98668 (360) 892-3030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subject: Service Around April 17th I bought an Agility Scooter from Pro Caliber in Vancouver. I was extremely happy with my experience that is until I notice an issue with the scooter. I rode the scooter pretty much every day after I bought it, but then I started to notice that when I let it sit for more than a day or two, it started fine, but when I attempted to accelerate it would stall. The first time this happen I let it sit for about ten minutes thinking that I flooded it somehow, and it started, and throttled fine. The next day it did the same thing. I had reached the 300 KM break-in mark, so I took it to***************** because they are closer to my house, and they too are an authorized repair shop and dealer. I was hoping that the initial service would remedy the issue; however it did not, so I took it back to*****************, and they called ***** directly.*****************s told me that there is a screw which adjusts the fuel/air mixture that is set at the factor, and that it was set too low so the engine would stall when applying throttle. They were able to cover the cost though the warranty on the scooter. For a few weeks the scooter worked fine, but if I let it sit longer than a day, and I attempted to apply the throttle after letting the engine warm up, the engine would die. The only way to get the machine to work properly is to start it a few times and apply the throttle. This behavior is not right, and the scooter should start each and every time, and the throttle should grab and not cause the engine to stall even if I have let the scooter sit for a day or two. I submitted a service request via Pro Caliber's website stating my issue, but I never heard back, so I decided to call the store directly. The person I spoke with told me that I could come drop it off on Sunday, but that they weren't likely to get to the scooter until Tuesday, Wednesday at the latest. When I dropped the scooter off I spoke with ***** ******* who explained to me the process, fee, and also mentioned that if the issue is due to a fault with the bike that ***** will likely pick up the assessment fee through the warranty. All of these statements seemed reasonable, however it wasn't until I was half way home that I realized he failed to request my key, so I had to drive back to the store and hand him the key. Wednesday came around and no one called, so I called the store to find out the status of my scooter. **** was the person who answered the phone, and when I asked for a status of my scooter, he said he didn't' know anything about my scooter or if it was being repaired or not. That was literally all the information he could give me about my scooter. He also said that the person who checked me in wasn't there, so he had no idea what was going on. When I asked him if he was the only one who could repair my scooter, he said he didn't know. When I asked him for his manager's number he said, "*** I ask you why you want his phone number?" When I explained to him that he wasn't giving me any information, he said, "If it were my motorcycle I wouldn't rush it, and let the mechanic take his time," to which I replied, "do you think four days is rushing?" he didn't reply. I then called the service manager ***** ******* I explained to ***** the issue I was experiencing. ***** then conveyed to me that several of his techs were out ill, and that they were backlogged. He then apologized that no one had called me, and said that he will have someone look at it and give me a call back the next day by one o'clock. I was satisfied with *****'s response, because after all unexpected issues due arise in business, mistakes are made, but it's how you fix them that really matters. Within an hour I received a call from **** stating my scooter was ready. When I asked him how they were able to do it so fast he said, "We weren't able to duplicate the problem. We started it up and it ran fine." Shortly after my conversation with **** I arrived to get my scooter. What I heard next was pretty alarming. **** told me that it took longer than expected because they were waiting a day or two to start it up to duplicate the problem. I then wondered if ***** was being honest with me about several of his techs being out ill. After I explained again to **** the issue I had with my bike, he then told me that Pro Caliber is not an authorized ***** dealer, and they are not authorized to do warranty work. He suggested that I take the bike back to where I bought it. Shocked at what I was hearing I informed **** that I had bought the bike at that store, and he seemed to be surprised, but never recanted his story. He then charged me fifty-nine dollars plus tax for the assessment even though my address is clearly stated on the service form, and I live in Oregon and am exempt from Washington state tax. I didn't realize I was charged for tax until I got home. After all of the mistakes and untruths I experience dealing with Pro Caliber's service department, I got on my scooter a day or two later and it's still having the same issue. Never have I ever been so disappointed in a purchase I have made from a local store. Not only has Pro Caliber lied to me, and took money from me that they certainly didn't deserve, they misrepresented themselves to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of charges totaling $59.62.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/03) */ Customer was contacted on 7/2/2014 by ****** ********* General Manager of Pro Caliber Vancouver, and a check has been processed for a full refund of the $59.62 as requested by the customer. In addition we are including a $25 Pro Caliber Gift Card for the customer. We appreciate the customer taking the time to discuss the matter with us and we did apologize to him for how he was treated. We offered to work on the scooter again, at no charge, but the cusotmer said it was runnign fine now. It should also be noted one of the employees involved in the situation no longer works for Pro Caliber. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/07/07) */ Business refunded amount I requested. I am satisfied with the businesses response.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Pro Caliber place a rear tire on my Kawasaki V2k. Shortly after, the belt snapped, causing the bike to fall in traffic. According to the Kawasaki service manual, the belt was not worn, (as witnessed by their service desk rep named *****) but had snapped. The service manual states that this is due to improperly adjusted belt tension. They refused to replace the belt.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the drive belt replaced at their expense, since it was by their mechanic's carelessness that this occurred.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ After reviewing Mr. ******'s complaint that omits some key facts, we would like present everything that has transpired concerning this situation going back almost exactly 7 years. To begin with clear back on June 13th of 2007, Mr. ****** brought his Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 into Pro Caliber Vancouver with 16,513 miles reading on the odometer to have a tire changed. At this time we also replaced Mr. ******'s belt at no cost to him as a sign of Goodwill for apparently having initially mounted his tire backwards. Notes on the Repair Order from 2007 clearly indicate the Service Manager charged the entire amount for the belt and labor to a Service Goodwill account. This is also the recollection of the person that was the Service Manager at that time. Simply put, Mr. ****** did not pay anything for the belt and labor that was installed on his motorcycle. Please again note this was clear back in 2007, and since that time Mr. ****** has put exactly 20,859 miles on this motorcycle, as when it came in with the broken belt on 5/15/2014 it had 37,372 miles on it. On 5/6/2014 Mr. ****** did bring his motorcycle into Pro Caliber Vancouver to have a new tire mounted and balanced. The tech that performed this is very experienced very capable of performing this correctly and we are confident the tech did so since aligning and adjusting the belt on this machine is fairly straightforward. On 5/15/2014 Mr. ****** brought his motorcycle back in with the broken belt demanding we replace it for free based on the fact he felt the failure had something to do with the tire that was mounted on 5/6/2014. We told Mr. ****** we would look into all the facts and determine if there was any reason to believe work performed at Pro Caliber was the cause. Two senior techs, with a combined 60 years of experience working on motorcycles, took a very close look at the belt. They concluded that while the belt appeared to have a lot of miles on it, it had no indications of being installed or adjusted incorrectly on 5/6/2014, or for that matter clear back when it was initially installed 7 years and 20,859 miles ago. The technicians did note the belt still had a rock or piece of gravel embedded in it in another area away from the area where it failed. It is their belief based on how the belt did tear that it was more than likely another piece of rock or gravel that nicked the belt closer to the edge initiating a tear that eventually caused the belt to fail completely. It is simple logic that if Mr. ****** picked up one piece of rock or gravel, which again was still in the belt, that he more than likely picked up another piece that cause the belt to fail. The techs also believe due to the age of the belt, and amount of miles on it, that it could have been more suspect able to tearing and complete failure. While it is impossible to know for sure if a rock caused the failure, the simple fact that another rock was still actually embedded in the belt, combined with the type of failure the belt experienced, leaves this as a reasonable conclusion. Furthermore, even if a rock did not cause the failure, the two senior techs felt it is very possible that the belt simply failed after being on a machine of this size and displacement after 7 years and 20,859 miles. Nobody will ever know for sure what caused the failure, but both senior techs are sure that the wear signs indicated the belt was aligned and tensioned initially in 2007, and again on 5/6/2014, when the rear tire was installed. While Pro Caliber regrets Mr. ****** had a failure on his motorcycle, we are 100% confident that the belt failed for one of two reasons, neither of which is the fault of Pro Caliber Motorsports. In light of how upset Mr. ****** was, and that we are always willing to try and help out a customer the best we can in a bad situation, we did offer a substantial discount on the labor and belt should he decide to pay for the replacement. The belt has a retail cost of $525.34 and the labor cost is $330.00 due to the fact this a very large motorcycle with a 2000cc motor that generates a lot of torque and also not very easy to change the belt on. The total retail price for the belt and labor would have been $855.34, but we offered him a $230.35 discount telling him we would do the job for $624.99 to replace the belt and labor Mr. ****** declined our offer and picked up his motorcycle. In summary we feel it is simply unreasonable to expect Pro Caliber to pay for the replacement of a belt that has been on a machine for 7 years and 20,859 miles. When you factor in that another rock that was still embedded in the belt, how the belt was torn, and the fact two techs with a combined 60 years of experience felt the failure had nothing to do with the quality of the work performed or any carelessness by the mechanic on 5/6/2014, we are 100% confident we are correct in not replacing Mr. ******'s belt for free, although the discounted offer still stands. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company lied. The belt in question was never replaced, as I recognized the same belt, with the same pebbles as before. Additionally, they never offered me ANY discount to replace the belt. According to other complaints on YELP, I am not the only person to have had this problem with Pro Caliber. When a drive belt is left in an overly loose adjustment, it is more likely to pick up debris from the road. My previous bike went over 55,000 miles with the same belt, and I've discussed this with other owners. It was the consensus that the belt must have been out of adjustment as before, back in 2007. Any motorcycle dealership that puts a tire on backward, and fails to tighten the axle nut as in 2007, Either doesn't know how, or is negligent in its service procedures. Furthermore, I would never allow Pro Caliber to service my bike ever again. My failure was that I didn't heed the warnings of other bike shops in the local area, that warned me of Pro Caliber's dishonesty and incompetence. I should've known, they are a part of **** ******. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/03) */ In spite of the fact that Pro Caliber did nothing to cause the belt in question, which had over 20,000 miles of wear on it, to fail, the ownership and upper management of Pro Caliber has decided to offer Mr. ****** a new belt at no charge once again as a gesture of goodwill. While we will provide a new replacement belt at no charge, we will not install the belt as we no longer desire to work on Mr. ******'s motorcycle under any circumstances. Please note this is our final offer to Mr. ******. A belt has been ordered and should be at the dealership by the end of the week. Someone from Pro Caliber will call Mr. ****** when it arrives so he can pick it up. As for the facts of this case at no time has anyone from Pro Caliber lied to Mr. ******, nor have we presented any information in our response that is not based on the actual facts of this matter. The staff at Pro Caliber has absolutely no reason to lie about any part of this situation, as we are quick to accept responsibility when we make a mistake, and always take the proper action to rectify the situation just as we did previously 7 years ago with Mr. ******. Furthermore, the facts we have stated are backed up by our service records for this specific vehicle in question as well as photos in our possession. As mentioned in our previous response it is also the professional opinion of two senior motorcycle technicians, as well as a very experienced Service Manager, that Mr. ******'s conclusion as to what really caused the belt to fail, as well as his other accusations to the BBB and on multiple types of social media, are absolutely incorrect. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The social media sites stand, as others have experienced similar problems with this dealer. At no time did ANYBODY with Pro Caliber offer a discount of any service or parts in this matter. This was news to me, as I would've accepted their offer, all though I am in disagreement with them. When a drive belt is not tightened to correct tension, it is at risk of picking up rocks from the road. I speak from experience. Further, I would never allow Pro Caliber staff to work on my bike ever again. My concern now, is that the so-called "replacement" belt might get damaged by twisting or bending. I will have a dealership other than this business inspect, and install the belt. I wonder...would they be willing to take a lie detector test? I would!

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service