BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers motor home and car rental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A B C Motorhome Rentals Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A B C Motorhome Rentals Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A B C Motorhome Rentals Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 1997 Business started: 11/01/1986 Business started locally: 11/01/1986 Business incorporated 11/13/1986 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Marquardt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Marquardt, President
Business Category

Motor Homes - Rent & Lease Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease Motor Homes Auto Renting & Leasing

Alternate Business Names
A B C Motorhome & Car Rentals ABC Motorhome & Car Rentals ABC Motorhome Rentals Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A B C Motorhome Rentals Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3875 Old International Airport Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99502 (800) 421-7456 (907) 266-7103 (907) 279-2000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a bad 10+ day experience with ABC rentals. From the beginning they where too busy for you to talk to one person when planning our trip. Which means you repeat yourself often, and when booking four, 21" RV's for 10 days = headache. We picked up the RV's and left Anchorage, that night we noticed some of the RV's had a few things not working (somewhat expected). As our trip went on (we called to make sure each unit had working tv, DVD player or we would pack one, we had kiddos with us). We had 2 units with poorly working refrigerators. One that the tv and DVD shut off after powering on, another where part of the slide out had a frame fall off while driving that sliced through the screen door. (No one was injured). And one had a coffee pot that didn't work, I know coffee isn't a big deal for everyone... So we returned them and told them about all the trouble we had from above mentioned to the fact that at times the doors where hard to unlock with keys for that camper. After returning the RV I realized that night I left a case of my daughters DVDs ($300.00) worth on the camper. So my father in-law went back the next morning to get them and they said they where already out with the next rental? So they don't clean or prep them before going out again??? I have been calling for two weeks now and get treated poorly and never get called back. You can decide on your own if they are worth renting from... You'd think they'd want repeat or referral business. Or even to honestly return any lost-forgotten items, especially anything of value.

Desired Settlement: Return of missing property or communication that it just disappeared from their possession and that they are unable to ask the next customer in that unit if they had seen my missing dvd's ($300.00) value??? Or can they ask their cleaning and repair staff?? Or have some knowledge of the business they are running?? Any hotel or car rental company would have already done this! I had a cab company return an expensive camera in NY, NY. After 24 hours and me calling and asking for it! So why can't an RV rental shop in Anchorage AK??

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/22) */ ******* ********* Please excuse the response time. You name was not the name on the reservation and it took some time finding someone who could remember the correct name on the motorhome. The letter presented brought up two points and I will do my best to address both of them. First is the quality of the motorhome. Our fleet consists of 2013, 2014, and 2015 Coachmen and Sunseeker motorhomes. These are both well respected names in the RV business. However they are also traveling hotel rooms that go all over Alaska. We do our best to troubleshoot the motorhomes and keep everything working the way intended but with todays electronics the roads can loosen the circuit boards. Having over 200 rental units it can be a challenge to keep everything working 100% of the time. We appreciate the feedback from customers when something doesn't function properly as we can then take the measures to correct them. Unfortunately many customers return units late at night and we don't have an opportunity to speak with them. Secondly you reported that you left some DVD's behind in your unit and that your father in law came in the next day to inquire as to whether or not they had been turned in. It is our normal procedure for any employee to turn in any 'found' items with the day they found them and the motorhome number so we may contact the owner. We have a storage rack full of fishing equiptment, cameras, cell phones, etc. Many times when we contact the clients they tell us that they left them behind and to donate them to the 'share' table which is an area where we put out items for other clients to take if they would like to use them. Your DVD's should not have been put on that table but it may have happened. Normally we don't do that without instructions from the owner. Having served over 3500 client families over the summer we cannot always get merchandise left behind to the rightful owner. We state right in our contract "ABC cannot be responsible for any personal belongings left in the vehicle. Please double and triple check all compartments and cabinets carefully." Ms. ********* I wish we had your items to return to you and that your motorhome worked 100% perfectly. These are mechanical vehicles and we get them cleaned, mechanic checked, and restocked is a very short period of time. I would hope that our A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau would show that we are willing to work with the customer in problem resolution.

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been financially victimized by ABC Motorhome Rentals in Anchorage AK. Last month July 2013, I spent over $3500.00 dollars for a 20 day rental of a pickup truck with a camper in the bed. Upon my return I was greeted by a very unwelcoming ABC staff member flailing her hands in the air and exclaiming that I was supposed to have returned the vehicle 3 hours earlier! This irate woman stormed off exclaiming "you're going to pay now!" A second ABC staff member returned and continued to inspect my rental for a full fuel levels, damage etc... After all things checked out perfectly on the vehicle the ABC staff member said I was going to be charged a penalty of $300.00 for being 3 hours and twenty minutes past there 10:00 am check time. I explained to her that I was unaware of a 10:00am check in time. I was not allowed to pick up the vehicle any sooner than 1:00pm when I arrived, so I assumed that check in time was the same as pick up time. She became very verbally aggressive to the point of flat out raising a ruckus in front of my minor daughter when I refused to pay the unreasonable fine. In trying to defuse her angry demeanor, I asked to speak with management and/or the owner. She exclaimed that neither was on site and neither was accessible by phone. I then requested to have either management and/or ownerships contact me and informed the ABC representative that I absolutely disagree with the excessive fine of $300.00 for unknowingly being a few hours late. You see, my rental fees were approximately $180.00 a day plus taxes. I had prepaid for the entire trip including a full day's rental fees both on the day I picked the vehicle up and the day I dropped the vehicle off. Yet, I was not permitted to have the vehicle for a full day on either the pickup date or return day. I was informed by a third ABC employee that they had rented the same pickup truck that I was in to another client on the day that I was due back basically double booking and charging both him/her and myself full rental fees for the same vehicle, on the same day. I was penalized, out of anger, and without any regard for me or my family as a customers who just spent over $3500.00 for a pickup truck rental. When you consider ABC Motorhome rental took money from my account even though I expressly told them not to, their actions are not simply unethical, they are unjust. I completely disagree with ABC Motorhome rental's excessive misuse of "policy" to fleece unsuspecting tourist, who in good faith, agree to use their services. My family traveled several thousand miles for a once in lifetime opportunity to visit the great state of Alaska, not to be taken advantage of by unscrupulous business practices! I have never received a call back, email, or even a letter from management and/or ownership regarding this issue. Despite directly informing the ABC staff member who received my rental vehicle that "I refuse to pay the penalty," ABC Motorhome rental, without my consent and without any ethical consideration, automatically charged the credit card that I had used to prepay for the reservation a $300.00 late fee.

Desired Settlement: Can someone from the BBB make contact with this company's ownership? I was unfairly treated and should receive a complete refund. Nonetheless, I would appreciate a prompt return of the monies that they unjustly took against my verbally expressed disagreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/04) */ To: **** ***** & BBB of Alaska From: ******* ****** / Gen. Mgr. ABC Motorhome Rentals Date: September 4, 2013 Re: Case # XXXXXXXX Dear *** *****, The complaint received through the BBB has two elements. First being the treatment you received upon return and the second being unethical late charges being processed against your will. There are several items on each and I hope to address them all to your satisfaction. First is the treatment you received when you arrived to return your vehicle. ABC Motorhome Rentals has been in business for 29 years and the treatment you described is certainly not how we built this business. We receive in our reviews from customers how 'friendly, courteous, and welcoming" our staff is in most cases. I only wish I would have known about this earlier so I could have reviewed the video footage from our security cameras to confront the employee responsible. Unfortunately our tapes only go back 14 days. Regardless their actions are inexcusable and for that I apologize for your mistreatment. When you booked your reservation last April you were sent a confirmation (see Doc #1) and an information sheet (see Docs 4 & 5) On the front of the confirmation we list the pick up times as being between 1PM and 5PM. The drop off times being between 8AM and 10AM. In this regard we are much like the hotel industry. We need our rentals returned prior to 10AM so we may have at least 3 hours to clean, restock, and safety check. We need that time to have the units ready for customers who expect to be able to pick them up at the 1PM time we guarantee. When a customer returns late (or on rare occasions not at all) we will not have the unit available for the next rental customer. There are times when we have to pay to put customers up at hotels or substitute a size they don't really want just to keep them on their vacation schedule. That is the reason for what may be considered an excessive penalty. Just imagine what your reaction would have been upon your arrival if you were told "Sorry, we don't have a camper for you and your family." On the back of your information sheet (see Doc #5) we clearly state again the return time of 10AM and state the penalties for a late return. Once you checked in we had you sign one of our rental contracts (see Doc #2). This document is standard in the industry where we may charge up to $500 for any conditions not met in the rental contract. Without this customers could not be held responsible for any damages, unfilled fuel, or late fees. We have this in our contract for our protection and only use it if we determine the charges are justified. The other point I would like to make known is that we don't get a full days rental from two different people. If you examine Doc #6 you will see that when you picked up your unit at 1PM on June 30th and if you had returned it on July 19th by the 10AM check it time you would have had possession of the camper for 18 days and 21 hours. Just 3 hours short of the 19 days you paid for the camper. I think you can appreciate the fact that you can't get back a camper at 1PM and hand the keys over to the next camper with anything being done to insure that it will meet that customer's expectations. My final thoughts on the situation are this. Had you returned the camper at 10AM like we requested you would have left Alaska hopefully having a great family vacation with memories to last a lifetime. Instead you left feeling cheated and abused with the thoughts of ABC Motorhome as not being the type of company you will use again nor recommend to your family and friends. It's amazing how much 3 hours can change a person's perspective on a company. What I would like to know is if the staff treated you well at the check in process and if your camper met all your expectations. As general manager of this company I believe we provide ample documentation to our customers alerting them to our expectations. I also know all too well that when people arrive they are so excited to get their vacations started that they don't always hear what we tell them. That's human nature. So at this point I am directing the outcome of this complaint back to *** *****. I am willing to refund the entire $300 if he still feels that our company is acting out of line. Or if he understands our point of view after what was presented and wants to split the difference I am OK with a $150 refund as well. Either way I would still like to know how he was treated outside of the day he checked in. Respectfully submitted, ******* ****** Gen. Mgr. ABC Motorhome Rentals Anchorage *******@abcmotorhome.com XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for finally responding ***, although I'm chuckling to myself as I read the defensive tit for tat nature of policy posturing that you seem to adhere to in your reply... Okay I get it, it's entirely my fault! If 'I' would have read the fine print in your five page contract regarding the ABC Motorhome pick it up late and return it earlier policy. And If 'I' would have understood that a $500.00 dollar deposit was required to collect unwarranted penalties rather than reasonable expenditures such a low fuel levels and/or damage. And if 'I" would have dropped the camper off 3 hours sooner my family and I would have not been ill-treated by your staff, but would rather have had a great Alaskan vacation memory. Are you serious? The fact remains that your company did not put up anybody in a hotel, only me and my family were made to suffer the indignity of your staffs actions and verbal beratements. Yes, of course I expect a prompt and full refund. No, I did not have an otherwise great experience with your staff or equipment. Upon my arrival I was issued a vehicle that had damage to the driver's side of the windshield that appeared as if a baseball size rock had struck. The clerk who provided the walkthrough was undertrained and admittedly unfamiliar with the vehicle. She had to call a mechanic from the shop over several times to answer the most basic of operational questions... I had reserved a gasoline powered vehicle and was provided a diesel engine model that ended up significantly increasing my fuel expenses. The camper's entertainment center did not function and an ominous bright red electronic throttle control service warning message caused me to double back 150 miles to Fairbanks out of concern for the vehicles mechanically soundness. A more dangerous issue arose when one of the C clamps that attached the camper to the truck broke off mid-trip... Even though the camper I occupied was knowingly provided with major windshield damage, it appeared to be one of the better vehicles when compared to others in the ABC fleet. And still, there is no excuse for your staff's mal-tempered actions towards my family when we returned. As a General Manager in the RV rental industry surely you can understand that the future success of your business is not merely dependent on providing safe, reliable equipment, but more importantly in the reputation gained (or lost) by treating real life customers fairly and with respect. Is it your understanding that any of these basic expectations were meet based on what I had previously written? Do you feel that your staff treated me and my family fairly and with respect? Is it common practice for ABC Motorhome Rentals to provide families vacationing from out-of-state with large RV's that have obvious unaddressed safety issues and offer instructions for use by staff who themselves are unfamiliar with the vehicle? A 100% refund of all monies I spent with ABC Motorhome Rental's is way overdue. That is, if you agree that my experience is the exception and not how ABC Motorhome Rentals operates on a daily basis. Are you are willing to accept responsibility for your staffs general lack of regard for customer safety, social ineptitude, and poor decisions concerning company policy by issuing a complete refund, not just for the unjust $300.00 dollar late fee but, for every dollar I spent with your company? Regards, **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/09/15) */ *** *****, I have instructed our accounting department to issue you a refund of $300 for all late fees. You made mention in your last communication that you encountered some mechanical problems and returned to Fairbanks causing you unwanted expense and time. Could you please provide me with a copy from whatever service shop you stopped by to have them problem evaluated? Thank you, ******* ******