This business is not BBB accredited.

Travel Inn

Phone: (907) 277-1511 720 Gambell St, Anchorage, AK 99501


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Travel Inn include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Travel Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

On October 29, 2012, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding refund issues. Consumers allege they are told a refund will be given for the motel deposit, but they do not receive it upon checkout.

On October 30, 2012, BBB notified the company of the complaint pattern. To date, the company has not responded to BBB's request to address the pattern.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Travel Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Han Young Cho, President Mr. Ki Sang Cho, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Han Young Cho, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ki Sang Cho, Director
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Hong & Lees Inc Samovar Inn

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Travel Inn has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    720 Gambell St

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 277-1511

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was staying at this motel and this place is infested with bed bugs and got bit up everywhere and person that runs the didnt want to give a refund or my deposit back and I told I going to report him and he didn't seem to care

Desired Settlement: If I don't get a refund just at least my deposit back

Business Response: I talked with Mr. ***** ***** and told him that we in fact issued his room deposit of $20 as of yesterday, 9/9/2015, and I also promised that we would give him discount of $20 on his next visit. 

Mr. ***** ***** sounded happy and relieved. 

I conclude that this issue is resolved.

Contact me should you have any questions.

Best regards, 

Kisang C**
Travel Inn General Manager

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am staying in travel inn on Gambell in anchorage. After being here about 3-4 hrs I found bed bugs. I tried to immediately get a refund & check-out. I was told I would have to speak to the manager at 11 pm. I bought some spray & sprayed my curtains & bedding & mattress. > At 11 pm I went into the office & asked about a refund. I was told under no circumstances do they refund anything. I was told they had replaced the carpet in my room (& were doing this room by room). The manager said at 5 pm the following day I could change rooms if I wanted. I told him that because our room had new carpet & I had already treated all the bedding etc that if the issue persisted overnight that I would not want to stay the remainder of the reservation. I would want a refund. He said even if I left without staying a night that he would not refund any portion of my payment of $212. > I need to know if there is any way to obtain a refund. I was going to sleep in my car overnight but I heard gunshots, as well as saw 2 drunk men get into a threatening match a few rooms down from ours. Please refer me to whoever governs these places & send me any info that may be helpful in obtaining a refund Thank you, ***** *****

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: rented a room on july 20th 2013. walked in to room, was the most disgusting place i've ever been. the window was busted out of the the wall, and lot of other things i will not list at this time. My wife and i immediately turned around and went to the front desk.I told them that room was unexceptionable, they showed us another room, it stunk just as bad. I wanted my money refunded, they refused.

Desired Settlement: i would like they $80.00 back they took from me

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ We have No Refund Policy. I do believe that we could have found a room that they would be happy to stay with. However, it seemed at the time that one of the guests had a change of mind or change of plan and wanted to leave for some reason. I am more than happy to issue the customer for a one night credit as an effort to make customer happy. They would be more than welcome to comeback and stay as we have nice rooms with a very reasonable price. They may choose to return to our Travel Inn at anytime of their choosing. Hopefully this will resolve the issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Travel Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart