This Business is not BBB accredited

Sailor Jack's Oceanfront Motel

Phone: (541) 994-3696 View Additional Phone Numbers 1035 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sailor Jack's Oceanfront Motel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Sailor Jack's Oceanfront Motel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sailor Jack's Oceanfront Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Business Management
Ray Campbell
Contact Information
Principal: Ray Campbell
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Sailor Jack Oceanfront Motel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1035 NW Harbor Ave

    Lincoln City, OR 97367 (541) 994-3696 (888) 432-8346

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed at Sailor Jacks hotel for the weekend 01/24/14 to 01/25/14 apone check in of the room there was a burn hole in the carpert of a non smoking room. and on the 25th when i checked my bank account they billed me a extra $200.00 when i called them they said its because we were smoking in our room. I never smoked in their room i had a plastic cup with water in it. i used on the beach when i went to smoke but never smoked in the room -- and just because i through it in the garbage can in the room does not mean i lite up in the room. When i called the hotel he refused to take the charge off. after looking at all the reviews on line they have done this to over 10 people in the last 4 months --- this is fraud and a ongoing scam

Desired Settlement: refund of the $200.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/31) */ On January 25th and January 26th, 2014 we received a notice from another guest that they could not open their window due to someone smoking in one of the rooms below them. When we receive a complaint of this nature we investigate all possible rooms for evidence of smoking. What we found in the complainant's room was a strong smell of smoke (still evident three days later), ash on the tables, an empty cigarette pack, and cigarette butts in a cup in the room trash can. We have photos of this evidence along with the notice from another guest. Every guest signs a room agreement upon arrival that states there is no smoking in the rooms, walk ways or decks. They are verbally reminded of this policy and it is posted through out the property, on the doors and windows. The policy states that any evidence of smoking will result in a $200 fine. There are garbage cans and cigarette disposal receptacles provided in the designated smoking areas. Also there is a garbage can just outside their door. There was no reason for the guest to bring cigarette butts into the room when there are disposal receptacles provided. With our current notifications it is rare that we charge a smoking fine. In the last four months there have been only two other incidents. The complainant's accusatory statement, "they have done this to over 10 people in the last 4 months - this is fraud and a ongoing scam" is an exaggeration of the facts and is slanderous. Complainant not only wrote a BBB complaint with false statements, but also called the fire marshal stating there was no smoke detector in the room. Upon inspection, the fire marshal found both a smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector. Complainant also called the health inspector stating that she had flea bites. Upon inspection, the health inspector found no evidence of fleas or insects. Documentation available upon request.

7/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their website offers a Beach Package Special that says it is valid Sun- Thurs through Sept 30. However, when I called to make reservations I was told that was an old ad and no longer valid therefore the price would not be honored. I explained that I was looking at the website as I was on the phone and that it said it was good through Sept. The employee was rude and said there was nothing she could do about that. I said that the ad needed to be removed. She said the owners were working on a new website and again there wasn't anything she could do. I asked if the owners were available to speak to and was told no. I suggested the website be taken down until the new one was ready. I spoke to them on Sunday and as of today, Tuesday, the website is still the same with the same ad. I feel this is false advertising and they should honor the price if the ad is still on the website.

Desired Settlement: I feel as long as the ad is being offered on the website that the price in the ad should be honored.