BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of doors, millwork material, stair systems and cabinets; including custom casework.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Choice Carpentry Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Choice Carpentry Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Choice Carpentry Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Nixon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Nixon, President
Business Category

Millwork Cabinet Manufacturer Cabinets Carpenters Contractors - General Cabinet Refinishers Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)


Additional Locations

  • 3509 57th Street Ct NW

    Gig Harbor, WA 98335 (253) 853-4920

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had choice carpentry remodel an area of my home, and install a new composite deck. I am not happy about the fact they choose material from a company that was going out of business as the warranty is no longer available. When they installed the deck they spaced out the decking at the minimum spacing of 1/4". Since then the material has swollen and there is no longer any space between the planking there is no space for the water to drain away off of the deck and the water stands on the deck-causing mold to grow on the deck and the deck material to crack and weather. When I called them they came out looked at it and said it was installed per specification. However I would think that a company that did this kind of work would have known that the minimum recommendation would be inadequate when the decking swelled. The (expensive) front door they sold us and installed, has had to be refinished as the door lost its finish and began to have algae grow into the wood. I was told that doors always have to be refinished from time to time. Can't say I follow that reasoning, as I have never had to have one refinished after only a few years. The Skylights they installed leaked, and it took them several months to figure out how to repair them properly. I was required to repair the damage to the inside of the skylight. As a consumer I would be wary of the work performed by Choice carpentry, after having contact with once when they came out, they have not replied to my complaint

Desired Settlement: Removing deck material and reinstalling to the recommended 1/2" spacing

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/01) */ October l, 2014 RE: Case #******** ************ New Decking- Choice Carpentry was hired by ************* in July, 2008 to remove existing decking, stairs and facia boards and replace with new material. He chose******** Composite Decking & Railing. We purchased the composite decking material from our usual supplier, **********************. At the time of purchase, the******** brand decking material was recognized as a leader in the industry with a 15 year warranty. The decking was installed to manufacturer's specifications of 1/8" to 1/4" spacing between boards. In the following years, ************* had us complete other work at his home. Our records show work done in both 2009 and 2011. But the first notice to Choice Carpentry of any problem with the deck did not come until May, 2014 in the form of a certified letter. *********, owner of Choice Carpentry, immediately called Mr. ******* to make an appointment to go out and look at his deck. Mr. ******* stated that his deck problems had started two years earlier but he had never gotten around to contacting us. ***** ******* told *** that the decking had been recalled and gave him the name and number of the attorney who was working on the recall and subsequent class action lawsuit. At that time *** contacted ********************** who confirmed that the******** composite decking had been recalled in 2009 by ***************** and that the******** company is out of business. An ensuing class action lawsuit was handled by an attorney in San Francisco, who upon contact let us know that the lawsuit closed in 2012. ********* called Mr. ******* to discuss these findings. Mr. ******* said that he knew all of this and was undecided as to what to do about his deck. *** offered to work with him on replacing his deck but Mr. ******* said he wanted to think about it rather than move forward now. We have had no further contact from Mr. ******* to date. RE: Case #******** *** ******* continued Front Door At about the same time as the deck work and other interior and kitchen remodel work, Mr. ******* contracted with Choice Carpentry to supply and install a new Entry Door System per our July 28, 2008 proposal. Although our proposal clearly states that "Bid Price Does Not Include: Paint, stain or other prefinish of material", we did have our usual painting subcontractor include stain and clear coat of the exterior door at the time he was at the job site painting the interior. This was done at no additional charge to the homeowner. The BBB complaint filed by ***** ******* is the first time we have heard about any issues with the front door. Mr. ******* has never contacted us directly about the door. Now in 2014, six years have passed since this work was completed. Over these years, the exterior door would have been subject to weather conditions. it be entirely usual and customary that a finish on an exterior door would require routine maintenance and need to be redone periodically. Skylights - As part of the entire scope of work we completed at the ******* home in the summer of 2008 Choice Carpentry hired our usual qualified subcontractor to install three skylights. There was no notice of any problems until the fall of 2009. At that time, **** ******* reported that he had pressure washed his roof and some skylight leaking had followed. Examination of the problem showed that the pressure washing had damaged the skylight seal. Choice Carpentry took care of resealing the skylight from the exterior roof at no charge and Mr. ******* said he would take care of the interior drywall and paint repair in exchange for the work we completed. We have never heard anything further about the skylights. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***