BBB Accredited Business since

Platypus - Media, Advertising & Design

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 597-1686 Fax: (800) 597-1690 14935 NE 87th St STE 160, Redmond, WA 98052 http://www.platypuslocal.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Offering advertising and sponsorship opportunities to Accredited Businesses around North America. In addition, we also offer end-to-end online video solutions and Web site creation. This company offers advertising, video production and Internet marketing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platypus - Media, Advertising & Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platypus - Media, Advertising & Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Platypus - Media, Advertising & Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 02, 2001 Business started: 02/01/1993 Business started locally: 02/01/1993 Business incorporated 02/01/1993 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Burkholder, President Mr. John Heffron, Senior Executive Officer Mr. Garrett Martin, Sales Manager Mr. Raffaele Riconosciuto, Vice President Mr. Revel Stark, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Burkholder, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Raffaele Riconosciuto, Vice President
Business Category

Marketing Programs & Services Video Production Services Internet Marketing Services Consultants - Social Media Advertising Agencies & Counselors Advertising - Shoppers Guides

Alternate Business Names
Platypus Platypus Productions Inc

Additional Locations

  • 14935 NE 87th St STE 160

    Redmond, WA 98052

  • PO Box 2430

    Issaquah, WA 98027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were consistently solicited by **** ******** with the *** *************** in Pittsburgh, PA to get our website created by their partner, Platypus Productions. We were told by **** ******** **** *************** rep)and ***** ************* rep)that the website would take 2 weeks to create & publish. We PAID UP FRONT THE ENTIRE COST OF $2045.00 ON 5/15/13 for the website. I paid this fee by phone to **** ******** with the *** ***************. ***** had a conference call with me within a few days of receiving that payment. Once we had the conference call with ****** we didn't hear from him for a couple of weeks. We emailed **** & ***** both. We were called by **** and was told that one of the web designers was in a car accident, delaying the progress of our website. We were assured the delay would be minimal. By the beginning of July, we emailed ***** concerned that we still had not heard anything. ***** emailed back confirming that our website "was still in development" but offered no real explanation as to why all the delays. By the end of August, we were called by ********* ************* Platypus rep), who explained that ***** was no longer handling the website, and that we were starting over with her. We explained how frustrated and upset we were with her, and she apologized and asked to let her take care of our website and to give her an opportunity. So, we agreed to get her the same information all over again. Soon after, it became increasingly clear to us that we were actually building our own website, that Platypus had no knowledge of our industry, offering no suggestions at all. I had many emails to ********* where we had to provide photo's and all the content information..which I thought Platypus would be creating and making recommendations since they are supposed to be the web design professionals. That was clearly not the case. We kept looking for the website to mature and look professional and competitive...I had a lot of changes we needed to make emailed to *********. Within a few days of the emails with all the requested changes we had for the site, she emailed us to tell us she was done and wanted our approval to PUBLISH the website. We went to the website, and could not believe that ********* and Platypus thought the website they created was even publishable. It was sophomoric, unprofessional and sloppy. ********* had not updated the photo's as I detailed in the emails as well as other issues. The lack of attention to detail was shocking..At this point, all of the delays we had hoped would pan out to be worth the wait, turned out to be the worst investment of our time and money. We lost 5 months of website advertising and potential business..We sent an email asking her not to publish it as we were extremely exhausted and disappointed. Now, we are requesting a full refund. I have expressed all the disappointments with the process to *** **********, President of Platypus. At no point did he even explain why the promised 2 week turn-time never took place, or why representatives were changed on us, only placing blame on myself and my wife, ****, who primarily sent all the email communication on our behalf during this process. I can't believe the President of the company would not stand up and own the mistakes of his team. Here are the facts: 1. ***** delayed our project for almost the entire summer when we were promised by ***** and by **** ******* with the *** *************** a 2 week process to create and publish our new website. 2. We lost 5 months of advertising and potential work for our business to grow. 3. We had to start the website all over again with another Platypus rep 4 months into this horrible experience. 4. Platypus is in breach of contract because we never approved Platypus to publish the website, let alone maintain it. Now, *** ********** is trying to charge us $350 for the 10-second slide show of photo's of our work that was to be posted to our website. He is also trying to charge us the cancellation fee of $550. First, the 10-second slide show is tied to the overall approval of the website, of which we obviously never approved. Second, Platypus is in breach of contract and can't charge the cancellation fee because they never published and maintained our website. Instead, Platypus took full payment upfront, waited 5 months to create a pathetic website, and now are trying to blame us for their multiple mistakes. The Platypus contract Page 3 section A states that the business commits to 12 mos of service and if they cancel in the first 12 mos of service, they are subject to a $550 cancellation fee. This section does not apply to us because the website was never published..we never even started the 12 mos commitment because Platypus never published or maintained the website. Additionally, Page 4 section 6 in regards to cancellation we know does not apply to us because the website was never approved and published. Again, Platypus is in breach of contract since they were never able to provide a publishable website, therefore, the cancellation section of this contract does not even apply to our situation. Ultimately, We were forced to hire another company to build our website. ********* had our website running in 3 business days, and all change requests complete 2 days after. A total of 5 business days. Now that is service. Given the extreme unprofessionalism and breach of contract by Platypus, we expect a full refund of $2045. *** ********** sent $1100 check that we have not cashed because they owe us the remaining $945. The BBB representative who aids in helping me resolve this complaint may call me on my cell phone directly to discuss at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Regards, ** ***** ******

Desired Settlement: 100% refund of $2045.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/11) */ The client (***** ******) contracted with us (see attached contract) to build a website and to create a video commercial. These were two separate products that the client purchased. Many clients purchase either one or the other and they need not be purchased together. Video: After a few revisions, the client responded that they were very happy with the video commercaial that we delivered. See the email chain attached; specifically September 6, 2013 ***** replies to the last video edit "Perfect, Thank you!". The work was completed, the product was delivered, and final approval was received. We are shocked that they are now requesting a refund. Website: As is evident from the email chain and my letter to ***** ****** below, we worked for many weeks to try and build the clients website. We made numerous changes as requested by the client. The client did not even submit the final content for the website until September 6 2013. At this point we had spent 60-80 hours on their site and it was complete once we input their content. More changes were submitted September 12 & 17, 2013. Then without any warning at all they cancelled and requested a full refund. Much like you can not request a full refund after a painter has already painted your home, or after the landscaper has completed his work... we are unable to offer a full refund of our creative services. Had ***** informed us at the early stages of the website production before significant work had already been spent we would have obliged his request for a bigger refund than the contract obligated us to. The amount of money we have lost on this project far exceeds the $550 cancellation fee that the contract allows. Even at the low end of 60 hours of design time on this website this would be less than $9 per hour for our developers time (they bill $40 per hour). Platypus has hundreds of web clients and nearly 3000 video clients. In that time we have never had a complaint of this magnitude. When I tried to discuss this with Mr. ****** by phone, he was very unreasonable and instead yelled at me before hanging up the phone on me mid sentence. In addition we spoke to his attorney who relayed to us that she felt our offer of a $1,100 refund was quite fair. We voluntarily sent Mr ****** his refund and feel that we have been unfairly harassed by the ******'s attorney, ***** ******,threats of lawsuits and liable, and now his complaint to the BBB. We look forward to final resolution with this client so that we may all move forward. Please see the attached documentation: 1) Refund Letter to ***** ****** (copied below) 2) Contract (attached) 3) pdf email chain supporting claims (attached) 4) timeline of events (copied below) Letter to Client (******) *****, I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me this week. I am sorry that we were unable to serve you in a satisfactory way. Per your request, I am including a check for $1100 to resolve this matter. $2045 - Paid for website and video -$395 - Completed and approved video delivered Sept. 6 2013 -$550 - Cancellation fee per contract term D.(A.)2 $1100 - Refund Video: I am admittedly confused by your comments that you are now unhappy with the video product. I have attached the email chain from September wherein you were requesting many additions and changes to your video. Ultimately resulting in your response that it was, "Perfect. Thank you!". ****'s Sept. 5 email also indicates that she was very pleased with the product. I want to reiterate that you still own this video and have full license to include it on your webpage and even in your BBB business review. Online listings with photos and video attached can receive up to an 85% higher response rate! If you do not still have the download of the video we are happy to help out with this. Website: Our team was very shocked to receive your cancellation letter on Sept. 18, 2013. We had received no previous communications that you were unhappy with the site or the timeframe. Your chief complaint about the website now is that it was not delivered on time. I have included the email correspondence from you titled, "Content info you requested". This email was not sent to us until September 6, 2013. The website could not be completed without this information. You wrote us to cancel the website on September 18, 2013. After it was already completed. Please understand that the initial creation of a website takes nearly 40 hours of a web developer's time. This is the reason that there is a cancellation fee on this product for clients opting to pay a low monthly fee instead of a large up front cost. At the time you cancelled your website we had many hours beyond the 40 due to your numerous change requests. The website was at its final completed phase when you decided to cancel on September 18, 12 days after providing us with the requested content to fill in the site. Timeline of events: 08.16.13 requested items needed to create video 08.20.13 sent email deadline email (will use stock images to create site if no response by 08.28.12) 08.21.13 followed up w/client on video 08.21.13 received response from ** - "I am organizing all the photo's now. I will be sending them to you in categories over the next few days." 08.26.13 received more pics and script revisions for video / started creation of video 08.26.13 received first set of pics 08.27.13 received second set of pics / spk w/ ** / decided to recreate site / sent questionnaire and request to do a phone consultation 09.03.13 sent video to client for approval / ** wants to make changes 09.04.13 conducted phone consultation (date & time requested by *** / ** stated that she would be sending all content, including written 09.05.13 ** sent more pics 09.05.13 ** sent more changes for video throughout the day 09.06.13 Account Manager confirmed all changes w/ ** / ** confirmed - no more changes / sent revised vid for approval / video approved 09.06.13 received first set of written content / began re-creation of site 09.09 - 09.10 received more content 09.12.13 before site was sent for approval, ** looked at progress and sent changes / ** sent more pics 09.17.13 sent link for review and approval / set activation date for 09.20.13 / ** sent more pics and more changes 09.18.13 ** requests conference call - disappointed w/site / emailed and lvm 09.19.13 followed up - no response 09.23.13 wants domain transferred back and sends in complaint / requested infro from ** needed to transfer domain 09.24.13 transferred ownership of domain back to ** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 2/20/14 Although we appreciate your time in presenting your defense on our claims, it is very clear to us that your interpretation is extremely one-sided and conveniently omits the facts we have presented on what our experience was with your "website team." Ultimately, we are not satisfied with your offer to return only half of the contract amount. We know that in this case we deserve a full refund of the $2045. We are upset for multiple reason's, but it breaks down to the fact that we were told that the website would take 2 weeks to create upon ************ receiving 100% payment. We paid for the website in full on May 15th, 2013. By your promise, our website should have been completed by the end of May 2013. By your own admission, the timeline you have presented as "evidence" in your defense acknowledges no one was actively working on our project until August 16th, 2013. ****** *********** lost the entire summer for advertising and promotion of our business, and potential business. You have never acknowledged that ********** obviously and completely dropped the ball on our project. It is clear that this took place when I emailed him at the beginning of July 2013 to ask what was going on because we had not heard a thing for weeks after providing him with all the information he requested of us. He simply stated that our project was "still under construction." He gave no reason as to the delays and certainly did not apologize for the delays. It is further clear that our project was mismanaged when *************** contacted us at the end of August, introducing herself as our new "web designer"..that she had taken over our project. You have never acknowledged that we had to start the entire website process over again 4 months after the project was paid for....4 months after our website was promised to be completed... You have never acknowledged that the website was a total failure from our perspective and that paying for the 10 second video, to us, is pointless without the totality of the website. We don't care about the 10 second slide show. We care about the service we should have been provided in getting our website professionally and efficiently up and running. We care about the quality of the website. From our perspective, we gave your web team the benefit of the doubt, and we were completely disappointed with the results. What you need to understand is that all of the time delays compounded with the sophomoric website your team created is what sent us over the edge. If your team could have produced a professional website, we may have been able to deal with the time delays. However, that was not the case. We feel as though no one really cared about created a unique and professional website for ****** ************ We feel as though we were just another customer to your web team with no sense of urgency to help us achieve our goal..We feel we were used. We paid for the contract in full in May 2013 with our total trust in your business to produce our website in two weeks. Your web team delayed our project to death. Then, when they were finally working on it, they pushed it through with less than mediocre results. You have never acknowledged that when you did speak with the owner of ****** ************ that he explained how he knows first hand about customer service. That we are held to a high standard from our customers. And, when our company makes a mistake, or when our customer is unhappy with the results, we pay for it. If one of our colleagues makes a mistake, we are held accountable. We expect to be held accountable and do the right thing when our customers are unhappy. We take a financial loss and pay for the mistake to ensure it is completed to the happiness of our customers. It is quite simply, the cost of doing business. You have not acknowledged the mistakes of your team, and you certainly are not taking ownership of all the time delays and mismanagement or the ultimate disappointing results. You have not acknowledged the entirety of our concern and disappointment, and how with all of the issues we were faced with, that we should be upset and deserve a full refund in this case. Instead of acknowledging the facts of the case, you "hand selected" emails to try and exonerate yourself from full responsibility. We expect the president of a company to buck up and do the right thing. We would not be wasting our time or your time if this was not a warranted complaint. We expect you to acknowledge the failure of your team, apologize, and refund us 100%. Final Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/04/23) */ I completely understand *** ******'s frustrations with the delays to the website. If he had brought up these concerns at the time we could have addressed them. Had he requested a full refund before we had started the work, we would have been more than happy to oblige. However, once we contacted him after the initial delays, they were excited to move forward as the email chain shows. No indication of issues with delays or timing were ever brought up until after the website was completely finished! It should be noted that we went well beyond our typical service by making numerous corrections and redesigns to suit the ********** We provided these extra services in part to make up for the time delays. Again, no mention of these time delays was in any correspondence until after the website was completed! Imagine if your roofer had delays on a project, but when he ultimately showed up you provided him access to the property and implied that you were excited for him to get started. However, once he finished the roof, you then requested a full refund. The delay complaint by itself has merit, but the timing of the complaint simply makes no sense. Regarding the video I defer to my previous correspondence. The ******'s were completely happy with the product. They approved its final design. They own the video, it has been delivered to them. My advice to the ******'s regarding the video is to immediately us it in your business listings, youtube channel, and post it on your website. Statistics prove that rich media video and picture content increase customer engagement at these sources by up to 85%. If their current website company is not suggesting this then they are doing the ******'s a disservice. Mr. ******'s claim that his new website is superior are also completely unfounded. Building websites is a very scientific process, it is only about 20% look and feel for a well performing website. In a very brief analysis of his current website there are significant basic flaws that were not present in the website created by Platypus (see attached documentation): Brief Analysis of ****** ************ 1. *** Rating and logo displayed in a static image. Cannot be dynamically updated upon rating change, or other changes in *** accreditation. 2. Unfriendly URL structure ********************************************** ************************************************************ 3. ******* not included Site is not optimized for basic SEO standards, and will have low ranking in search index. SEO Doctor Reports: No H1 or H2 tags No meta description Also not indicated in SEO Doctor Report: No keywords in site title Low HTML to Text content ratio No XML Sitemap found ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***