This business is not BBB accredited.

Scout.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 501-5752 View Additional Phone Numbers 2125 Western Ave Ste 200, Seattle, WA 98121 http://www.scout.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Scout.com include:

  • 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Scout.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scout.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 10/28/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Miller, President Mr. Jeff Husvar, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Miller, President
Business Category

Magazines - Dealers Internet Marketing Services Business Promotions - General Publishers - Book

Alternate Business Names
Citadel Media Inc Scout Media Inc Scout Publishing

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1916 Pike Pl Ste 12 Pmb 250

    Seattle, WA 98101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2003 Western Ave Ste 700

    Seattle, WA 98121

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2125 Western Ave Ste 200

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 728-7200 (888) 979-0979

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 900

    Beverly Hills, CA 90213 (888) 501-5752

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 5 months ago I was searching for Michigan's new coach. For the record, I am not a Michigan fan (moot). All of a sudden I get free Scout.com services on Michigan for the next 5 months, still, and they don't know how to delete me after numerous (20) phone and e'mail complaints. They suggested for me to have these (20 a day?) bothersome e'mails go to spam. I would do that if we had our computer set up that way. Everything we delete goes through the bottom--not to cox.residential. My wife and I are tired of deleting this free service. Evidently, their best IT people can't get rid of us. We would help, but have had our computer set up this way forever. We want to be removed and they can't seem to do it. Perhaps a call from the BBB would help them find their way. Thank you for your help. Sincerely, **** (& *********) ********

Desired Settlement: Elimination of all Scout.com e'mails. Again, we are non-paying people who somehow got in their database and yet they can't find us in order to delete us. I asked them to treat us as though we were non-paying subscribers; yet still they cannot comply.

8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We originally joined the National home Gardening Club as a Lifetime member, , which was to include the following as part of our membership (taken from their original website) : Life Members of the Gardening Club of America receive a lifetime of exclusive Life Member gifts, rewards and benefits (easily a $1,010.00 value). * Lifetime Subscription to /Gardening How-To/ Magazine * Lifetime of Free Product Testing Eligibility * Lifetime Access to our Club Website * Lifetime Access to Great Giveaways * Exclusive Life Member Credentials including a Life Member ID Card, Keyring, Life Member Gardening Mat and Gloves, and more. * Free Life Member Exclusive Gifts, valued at $155.00. Scout.com bought the gardening club, and no longer offer or honor this exact service. I have repeatedly contacted them for a refund of the full amount of $269.00 Instead, I received the following message from Brandon G******** of Scout.com "We haven't changed what you purchased. You purchased access to premium articles and stories. Those are still being provided but in a different format. We never said that our articles would only be provided in paper format until the end of time. Things change in life and a lifetime membership is bound to go through changes as technology and other things change. Your membership is still in tact but as the world is moving on and evolving, so to does our way of doing business and presenting our information to everyone. So you still have access to everything that is published, it is just being presented in a different way. In a modern way." This is not at all true, as their site is nothing more than fluff. It is nothing at all like a true gardening magazine. Also, because we are in a rural area, without easy internet access, we do not have an easy time accessing digital soundbytes, etc. In addition, where is the free product testing, membership gifts, etc. ? The new membership is not at all what we signed up and paid for, plain and simple.

Desired Settlement: We would like our refund of $269.00 I believe this to be fair, as we signed up for a membership that is no longer available to us as it was originally advertised.

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They built a very unsatisfactory web page they said they would build whet I wanted you compair there's, ****** ****** ** **** **** On Google whey took over 2 weeks to complete what they did I canceled this company after 2 weeks and hired ******** **************** ** ******* took one week from start to finish

Desired Settlement: Cancel and refund my money

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a Lifetime Member of the "North American Fishing Club" since 2009. One of the main reasons that I signed up was because I wanted to take part in product testing. I paid a good amount of $$$ to become a life member, and after switching to "Scout.com", now it seems that they have dropped the program! I had reached out previously to inquire when we would see product testing again, and was told they were switching to a new program, not dropping it! I got few products to review over the course of my membership, and now I want a refund! I don't take part in any tournaments and only fish to take my kids away from their video games and have something in common. I am VERY disappointed, and feel like they just took my $$$ and ran. I don't even get a magazine any more! (I only use internet at work, not at home so dont feed me the line about it being an online magazine!)

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the amount that I paid for the full lifetime membership! I'm not sure what the entire payment was, but I paid over $500.00! This needs resolution!

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have 30 months left on my ***** ******** ******** and am a life member of ******** ***** I was just notified that I would not get any more magazines just there online chat or content. I cant do that so I asked for A refund And they canceled me and said they don't give refunds.

Desired Settlement: I would like the unused portion of my subscription.

5/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/8/14, I purchased a Fantasy Football Pro Picks package for $7.95. This package allowed me to view exclusive information in preparation for the Fantasy Football season. I used the service and was satisfied. More than FIVE MONTHS later, on 2/27/15, my bank account was charged $7.95 by Scout.com, and AGAIN on 3/31/15 for the same amount. I learned of these charges on 3/31/15 (the day of the most recent charge) and decided to discuss these transactions with members of the Scout.com team. During the call, I requested a refund of $15.90 under the conditions that 1) I did not approve the charges in February and March, 2) services were never utilized since September, and 3) I was not made aware of upcoming charges or notified of any membership for which I (apparently) registered. Furthermore, I was never notified by the company of a so-called "extension", which the representative used to justify the lapse in time from September to February. The representative understood my concern, typed my complaint/request for refund, and forwarded to Scout.com Corporate. I was told that I would be notified of a decision within ten business days. After not hearing back from the Scout.com team 2 weeks later, I followed up with a phone call to check the status of my request for a refund. The representative told me that it has been denied and my only course of action would be to send an email directly to Scout.com Corporate. So, I sent an email through the Scout.com "contact us" page detailing the situation and requesting that I be contacted by a representative. It has been over two weeks since I sent the email, and I still have not heard back. I am very disappointed with Scout.com's negligence in this matter and am asking for the BBB to support my claim and assist with getting my justified refund of $15.90. Thank you,

Desired Settlement: A refund totaling $15.90 for charges to my account on 2/27/15 and 3/31/15. These charges were never approved.

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For 11 months I have tried to work with the company in receiving the $44.00 membership refund that a member services representative **offered** to me on 5/27/2014. I accepted their offer at the time of the discussion. This involved my deceased father, who renewed his 3 year membership 6 days prior to his death. Including the 5/27/14 conversation, I have been told four (4) times the check was being issued / reissued and to allow 4 weeks to receive in the USPS mail. On 4/7/2015 I was advised the check was again being reissued, a 5th time, and suggested I email the company at corporate@scout.com to help ensure the refund would be processed and sent. I sent said suggested email on 4/14/2015 but have received no response from the corporate email nor the **********************@scout.com. Here is the timeline of interactions (this was included in the 4/14/2015 email both company emails: 1.5/27/14 Initial contact and promise to send full refund in the amount of $44.00. Told to allow 4 weeks to receive check in USPS mail. 2.8/15/14 Inform Member Services via email refund check not received, Im told the check will be reissued and allow 4 weeks to receive. 3.1/16/15 Inform Member Services via email refund check not received, Im told the check will be reissued and allow 4 weeks to receive.4.2/20/15 Inform Member Services via email refund check not received, Im told the check will be reissued and allow 4 weeks to receive. 5.3/23/15 Send email requesting to speak to Member Services Supervisor by phone due to this unresolved refund issue. An email response stated all communications are handled by email only. 6.4/6/15 Find and call a Scout Member Services via phone number on website. Asked to speak to Supervisor , whom I was told was not available & to call back tomorrow.7.4/7/15 Call Scout Member Services but supervisor unavailable. They were reissuing refund and suggested I email corporate, which i have done as stated above.

Desired Settlement: Receipt of the $44.00 refund offered and accepted. I must say As Executor of my father's estate I have a fiduciary responsibility, as sworn to by local County Court, to collect the refund. Furthermore, this has been a difficult time alone, I'm astounded by the deception practiced by this company.

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Suddenly, out of the blue, scout.com, who has taken over the ******* **** ** ******** is showing almost $1000 of unfounded charges to my account dating back to the early 2000s. I have kept current on this account and owe nothing. I don't understand the sudden balance due or Scout.coms refusal to address the issue. I have a lifetime membership with the ******* **** ** ******* and paid a huge fee for it so I'm pretty angry about this issue. I would like it addressed and these charges removed from my account.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the sudden bogus charges removed from my account.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************@scout.com
February 24, 2015



**** ********
**** * **** ***
Morrison, CO 80465

******* **** ** ******* Member # ********

Dear Ms. ********:

Thank you for your written complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

It is our goal to ensure that all of our members have a satisfactory experience while being a member of the ******* **** ** ******** We apologize if our service has not met your expectations.

After reviewing your account our records indicate that you are a fully paid life member of the ******* **** ** ******** we apologize that you have continued to receive invoices for life membership dues. We have updated your account, you have a zero balance, there is nothing owing.

If you happen to receive another invoice for life membership dues please disregard as it has just crossed in the mail. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please contact me at ***** ******** if you have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,



***** ******
Member Services Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. *****d claims that there is a zero balance on my account but when I log into my account online I still see two bogus charges dating back to 2003 and 2005. These charges need to removed so my account actually does show a zero balance. I do not owe anything to Scout.com. These bogus charges suddenly showed up out of nowhere when Scout.com took over.

Sincerely,

**** ********

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just spoke with one of Scout.com's representatives on the phone, asking her to cancel my gift subscription to the Packer Report. The recipient's name and address: *** ******** ********* ******** **** **** ** ******** ***. Milwaukee, WI 53211 The phone rep indicated that there are no refunds on cancellations. This policy is intolerably unfair. I asked the rep to apply full credit for the $40 back to the credit card that was charged on February 20, 2015 for the 2015 year. Scout.com's policy of not giving a refund for a cancelled subscription is unfair. The gift recipient does not wish to receive a renewed subscription; he has not yet received any of this year's magazines; I do not wish to pay for any of these magazines. Yet Scout.com falls back on its policy, saying they do not give refunds. Surely it is not unreasonable for me to ask for a refund for a product that I have never yet received. Oh yes, I suppose the non-refund policy is buried somewhere in the Terms and Conditions. However, I do not think it is fair for Scout.com to operate a business in such a way that the company will take a person's money for something they HAVE NOT yet and DO NOT ever wish to receive.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $40, to be credited to my MasterCard account.

Business Response:

 

 

 

 

April 22, 2015

 

 

 

Better Business Bureau Serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

P.O. Box 1000

DuPont, WA 98327

 

Re: Customer Complaint:  File # ********

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

You recently forwarded to SCOUT a complaint filed by ******* ******** regarding renewal of his SCOUT gift subscription.  We regret that Mr. ******** was dissatisfied with our service but believe that our renewal practices offer adequate notice and are consistent with all applicable laws. We believe we have successfully addressed Mr. ********** complaint as outlined below.  

 

Mr. ******** was unhappy that his gift subscription to SCOUT was automatically renewed and his credit card charged for another year's subscription.  The terms of agreement -- to which Mr. ******** consented when he originally purchased the subscription -- indicate that the subscription will automatically renew annually until the customer cancels the subscription.  We are unaware of any Washington statute that requires additional notification to be made to the customer and believe that our renewal process conforms to all applicable laws and regulations. 

 

Nevertheless, as a gesture of good will, SCOUT will refund the $39.95 that was charged to Mr. ********** credit card.  Mr. ******** should expect the refund to be processed within one month.

 

Please contact me directly at************** if you have further questions or concerns.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** ******

SCOUT

Member Services Manager

 

 

 

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a member in the ******** **** ** *******. At some point they became a part of Scout.com. I did not use the product review or other benefits of membership, I was only in it for the published magazine. I renewed my membership for three years in October 2014, at the same time they sent the Fall 2014 magazine. This was apparently their final issue as I was told this week that they are no longer publishing it. I was further told that I will not receive a refund based on their policies. Their policy clearly provides a loophole for them to keep the money I paid ($48) for a product that they have decided not to give me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of paid fees and cancellation of membership to include any auto-renewal.

Business Response:

April 22, 2015

 

 

 

**** ********

*** ******* *****

Leesville, LA 71446          

 

******** **** ** ******* Member # ********

 

Dear Mr. ********:

 

Thank you for your written complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

 

It is our goal to ensure that all of our members have a satisfactory experience while being a member of the ******** **** ** *******. We apologize if our service has not met your expectations.

 

We are no longer printing the Handy Magazine. While the printed magazine element of your membership has changed, you have access to a lot more content than we've been delivering previously. You still have access to all of the various benefits we offer such as:

                 

1.       Searchable, Members-only content

2.       Members-only forums

3.       Members-only Flash Sales of products selected by hunters, for hunters

4.       E-mail newsletters with stories, tips, contests and more

5.       Automatic entry into Club contests

6.       10 percent discount on any products in the Club’s online store

7.       10 percent discount on tickets to special events

8.       Full access to Members-only content across the network of Scout Media’s 300 websites, including home improvement, fishing, cooking, gardening, military and sports

 

Per your request through the Better Business Bureau we have canceled your membership and issued you a refund check in the amount of $48.00 for the membership dues in which you paid. Please allow 2-3 weeks in order to receive it. 

 

Your membership is canceled and we have removed your from our mailing list. Please allow up to 30 days for all mailings to stop as some are pre-printed in advance. Please contact me at ***** ******** if you have any further questions or concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

 

***** ******

Member Services Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

**** ********

3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/1/15 I requested to cancel my Warrior membership because I was not satisfied with the services. On 1/2/15 I received an e-mail stating that I would receive a prorated refund on my membership in the amount of $226.00. I was told to allow 4 weeks to receive my refund. On 2/3/15, after not receiving the refund, I sent another e-mail to check on the status. I was told that a check was mailed to me on 1/22/15 but that I should allow up to 4 weeks from that date to receive the check. It is now nearing 4 weeks after 1/22/15 and I still have not received the check.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my refund check of $226.00 that I was originally promised on 1/2/15.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed Up for Premium Ohio State Premier Package and My Service was Cancelled by the Forum Message Board Moderator who Abuse his Position to Banned Me for No Reason. My Family and my Sons have been using the Ohio State HineyGate Forum since 2002. After Ohio State Advanced to play for the National Championship, The Message Board in Question has been Flooded by Outside Agitators who launch Personal Verbal Attacks at my Sons and myself of which had brought my 15 year old son to tears after Agitators had Verbally Attacked Him using Foul Language... All of my family who use the service each have our own User Name. I Emailed the Board Moderator about these ongoing problems and had recommended that he post a Clear Notice that Any and All Verbal Attacks Will Not Be Tolerated. And that if he would kindly Delete the Offensive Threads to Clean up the Message Board and to Take Action against the Outside Agitators. The Moderator Did Not Respond. I Emailed the Moderator on 5 other occasions. On my last Attempt, The Moderator Responded by Banning My Family for absolutely No Reason. The same has also happened on other Forums with Moderators Banning Users for Absolutely No Reason at All.I thought I would sign up for the Premium Service so my family could post on the Premium Forums so they would not be subjected to the Verbal Attacks of the Hoards of Outside Agitators and their continued use of foul language and hoping that the Premium Forums would be Moderated by Professionals. After I had signed up and my family started to use our Premium Service...It was Cancelled the Next Day by the same Moderator who refused to respond to my emails and my recommendation of cleaning up the message boards and stop the Verbal Attacks by Agitators. I have made Hard Copies of all the Messages Posted. When the Moderator failed to respond and to take action and Abused his Authority by Banning my Family. I tried to File a Complaint as to why this Moderator would Abuse his Authority. No One would respond. I tried calling the Subscription Department and they said they could not help me. I tried to email other departments without getting any response...There is a total Disconnect between Departments and Supervision over the Forum Moderators who evidentially do not have to answer to anyone for their behavior and failing to do their jobs and their abuse of their authority to Ban Users without just cause at their sole discretion and without any Supervisors to answer to. I have learned that Scout.com simply hires anyone, being users of the forum wanting the job of a board moderator based on the time the user has been using the message board forums and are clearly unsupervised. Abuse by the Board Moderators has grown out of control due to the fact that there is no supervision and the Board Members have no recourse to report such Abuse by Board Moderators. I have the name of the Board Moderator and have tried to email him and have tried to report his abuse to no avail. Product_Or_Service: *************.com Total Access Order_Number* ******* * ******* Account_Number: ******* * *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) And would like a Full Explanation as to why this Moderator **** ** **** has so Blatantly Abused his Authority in the Ban he has placed on my Family and his Cancellation of my $99.95 a Year Premium Service Membership and his lack of control of the message board by allowing my family to be subjected to Verbal Attacks by Outside Agitators and had posted my family's user names on the message board only to Ostracize me and my Family by insinuating to other board members that we were outside agitators. I have Copies of All of the Messages Posted by me and my family and All Verbal Abuse that we were subjected to by Mr. **** ** ***** Actions and lack of control to make the message board a civil place. Instead Mr. **** allowed the Chaos on the Board to Continue and would not respond to any of my emails. Since the Ban placed on me and my Family and Mr. ***** actions of Canceling my family's Subscription to our Premier Package $99.95 annual. We will be missing out on taking part in enjoying our Subscription and interaction on our Team' Competing in the National Championship on 1/12/15. We would like our Subscription to be Restored along with Full Access that comes with our Subscription...If you need to see Evidence of Mr. ***** Actions and Lack of taking No Action and lack of control and the ongoing Verbal Attacks me and my Family have been Subjected to. I will be happy to provide it upon request. Also would like to see That All Moderators be Fully Supervised and answer for their actions to stop there Abuse. Sincerely,**** ********My Family's Memberships that Have Been Cancelled by Ohio State Hinygate Forum Moderator **** ** **** are Number is ******* and *******

Consumer Response: Over the past 10 years the people that administer / moderators of the Scout.com /http://ohiostate.scout.com/ and specifically the Ohio State Hineygate Forum fan site called the Hineygate Forum have played favorites, They allow Board Members incite and to personally attacked people they disagreed with and have continued to allow members to participate in outright lies and verbal attacks against other board members and they Ban the members who abide by the rules of the Forum who complain or file complaints whenever a member complains about verbal attacks and messages that clearly violate Forum Rules by outside agitators .

They ban the board members who abide and follow the rules of the forum and who file complaints against the members who break the rules of the forum my posting threats and obscene language and allow these people to stay that have posted threats to others, wished death on others and have attacked other people's posts.

The moderator who responded by banning myself and my family also knowingly participated in an outright lie by insinuating that myself and my son are Trolls and published all of my family's User Names that have been members for 10 years or more and Destroying our Reputation on the Forum that caused me and my family to be verbally attacked by other members. The Forum moderator Mr.**** ****** who had continued to leave the offensive thread on the board and had refused to remove or delete these offensive posts but long after he knew it was a lie he continued to perpetuated it until me and my family were ostracized by other board members. Not only did he not ban these people( Agitators ) who would continuously violate the Forum Rules that did it, he banned the people hurt by it and that had tried to report it to restore order to the board.

Until they change the main admins and forum moderators like Mr. **** at the site Ohio State Buckeyes Hineygate Forum. This Abuse will only continue. It's sad because it once was a great site that was well supervised by forum moderators who had taken their job seriously. After me and my family had been ostracized from the forum by the moderator Mr. **** ** ****. I thought by subscribing again so myself and my family would not be subjected to constant Abuse and Threats and Verbal Attacks that we would gain access to other Forums that would be better Supervised. When Mr. **** ** **** had noticed that I had become a fully Subscribed Member, He Immediately had my Subscription Cancelled and had placed a Full Bann on Myself and my Family. Due to Mr. ***** Actions, Me and my Family had missed out on enjoying all the action and celebration with our friends who also are members of the website and message board forum of our College Ohio State's run to the National Championship. As I had stated, I would like my family's Subscription to be Reimbursed and all of my family's User Names to be Restored along with a Apology from Mr. **** **** and Scout.com

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************@scout.com
February 24, 2015



Better Business Bureau Serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington
1000 Station Drive Suite 222
DuPont, WA 98327

Re: Customer Complaint: File # ********

To whom it may concern:

You recently forwarded to SCOUT a complaint filed by **** ******** regarding his SCOUT subscription. We believe we have successfully addressed Mr. ********** complaint as outlined below.

Mr. ******** was unhappy that he was banned from the *************.com forums. Pursuant to the "Terms of Service" which Mr. ******** was required to accept prior to enrollment of his subscription, our offer states:

"v. No Monitoring/Right to Takedown. Scout may takedown or delete any User Content that in the sole judgment of Scout violates this Agreement or which may be offensive, illegal or violate the rights, harm, or threaten the safety of any person. Scout assumes no responsibility for monitoring the Scout Services for inappropriate User Content or conduct. If at any time Scout chooses, in its sole discretion, to monitor the Scout Services, Scout nonetheless assumes no responsibility for the User Content, no obligation to modify or remove any inappropriate User Content, and no responsibility for the conduct of the User submitting any such User Content (whether that is you or another User). Despite the terms of this Agreement and the Prohibited Content (defined below), other Users may post User Content that contains inaccurate, inappropriate, offensive or sexually explicit material, products or services, and Scout assumes no responsibility or liability for this material. If you become aware of misuse of the Scout Services by any person, please contact us by clicking the "report" button on the webpage at issue, if any, or send an email directly to corporate@scout.com and include the nature of the misuse and include the URL of the related page in your email."

In addition our offer also states:

"d. Message Boards and Public Forums.
You acknowledge that certain Scout Services, such as public forums and features, are for public and not private communications, and you have no expectation of privacy with regard to any User Content posted, submitted or distributed on or through a public forum. Scout cannot guarantee the security of any information you disclose through any of these public forums; you make such disclosures at your own risk. Scout affiliate publishers (each an "Affiliate Publisher" collectively the "Affiliate Publishers") may have their own forum guidelines that are outside of Scout's control. Please check the appropriate Affiliate Publisher web site for additional information, terms and guidelines as each Affiliate Publisher web site's forum guidelines may vary."

After review of Mr. ********** account, SCOUT has not received a payment for any of Mr. ********** subscriptions (Subscription ID's: *******, ******* & *******) therefore we will not be issuing a refund as a result of not receiving payment.

Please contact me directly at ************** if you have further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,



***** ******
SCOUT
Member Services Manager

12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company debited my account $99.95 without my permission for a online subscription renewal. When I called for a refund I was told I would never get it back. My complaint went to Corporate who also informed me that I would not get a refund. This account was cancelled and I do not wish to continue this subscription. Beware of signing up with this company!

Desired Settlement: I just want a refund of $99.95

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/17) */ October 17, 2014 Better Business Bureau Serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Ste 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Customer Complaint: File # XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern: You recently forwarded to SCOUT a complaint filed by *********** ******** regarding renewal of his SCOUT subscription. We regret that Mr. ******** was dissatisfied with our service but believe that our renewal practices offer adequate notice and are consistent with all applicable laws. We believe we have successfully addressed Mr. ********'s complaint as outlined below. Mr. ******** was unhappy that his subscription to SCOUT was automatically renewed and his credit card charged for another year's subscription. The terms of agreement to which Mr. ******** consented when he originally purchased his subscription indicate that the subscription will automatically renew annually until the customer cancels the subscription. We are unaware of any Washington statute that requires additional notification to be made to the customer and believe that our renewal process conforms to all applicable laws and regulations. Nevertheless, as a gesture of good will, SCOUT will refund the $99.95 that was charged to Mr. ********'s credit card. Mr. ******** should expect the refund to be processed within one month. Please contact me directly at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have further questions or concerns. Sincerely, ***** ****** SCOUT Member Services Manager

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a account with scout.com for more then 7 years. In the mount of Oct. 2014 I was posting on the blog that i pay for giveing my opion on a post. The site emploeree by the name of *** ****** begain to call my names and beening negitve to my post. I retaliated. Not cousing or useing vorger langeuge or anything of the sort. The site person locked me off the site and not allowing me asscess to the site i pay 9.99 every mounth for. I broke no rules of the boerd and and my commints were well with in the rules of the site.

Desired Settlement: to post my exspirence with scout.com so others can read it before buying there into there site

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/05) */ Dear Mr. *****: Thank you for your written complaint to the Better Business Bureau. It is our goal to ensure that all of our members have a satisfactory experience, and we apologize if our service did not meet your expectations. We understand you have questions and concerns regarding why you were banned from the ******************* Premium Forums. Our "Terms and Conditions" can be found at ************************************ and state: "Forum means a chat area, message board, or e-mail function offered as part of any Scout.com Site. If you participate in any Forum within a Scout.com Site, you must not": * defame, abuse, harass or threaten others; * make any bigoted, hateful or racially offensive statements; * advocate illegal activity or discuss illegal activities with the intent to commit them; * post or distribute any material that infringes and/or violates any right of a third party or any law; * post or distribute any vulgar, obscene, discourteous or indecent language or images; * advertise or sell to, or solicit others; * use the Forum for commercial purposes of any kind; * post or distribute any software or other materials which contain a virus or other harmful component; or * post material or make statements that do not generally pertain to the designated topic or theme of any chat room or bulletin board. Also stated in the "Terms and Conditions": "Your access to any and all Scout.com Sites may be terminated immediately without notice from us if in our sole discretion you fail to comply with any term or provision of these terms." If you have questions regarding your forums privileges, please contact the site publisher and/or forums moderators directly by submitting an email via the "Contact Us" link on the ****************** website. All of your other Scout benefits will continue until your subscription expires on 11/23/14. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX if you have any further questions or concerns.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Join the Life Membership the changes have been dumped upon us, without warning or now that option, In 2006 I purchased, at considerable cost, a lifetime membership in the ******* ******* Club. Included in my membership program, was a lifetime subscription to the ******* ******* magazine. Now my magazines are no longer arriving recevied a ******* ******** and instead of a History website I get sent to this Warrior/Scout.com website. Now these changes have been forces on me, without warning or now that option, I did not become a Life Member of the ******* ******* ***** To have this deceiving switch to ******* ******** and other unwanted web site services.

Desired Settlement: A refund in Full of my LIFE MEMBERSHIP of the History Channel Club Dues is requested, for deceiving unethical practices and beech of contract of my LIFE MEMBERSHIP services. Now, belong to a club that you do not wish to be a member of, with a managment that does not care about your wishes, preferences, expectations or contract law.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/14) */ July 14, 2014 ****** ****** XX-XXXX ******** *** Kapolei, HI 96707-2922 WARRIOR Club Member # XXXXXXXX Dear *** ******: Thank you for your written complaint to the Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon, & Western Washington. It is our goal to ensure that all of our members have a satisfactory experience while being members of WARRIOR. We apologize that our service has not met your expectations. Per your phone conversation with ******* (Quality Control Supervisor) on 7/8/14 we have cancelled your membership and issued a refund check in the amount of $165.00 for you today. Please allow up to 4 weeks in order to receive it. Your membership is cancelled and we have removed you from our mailing list. You have a zero balance and there is nothing owing. Please allow 30 days for all mailings to stop as some are pre-printed in advance. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and are sorry to lose you as a member. Please contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, extension ***** if you have further questions or concerns. Sincerely, ***** ****** Member Services Manager CD Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Agreed upon Per 7/8/14 phone conversation with ******* (Quality Control Supervisor). A prorated refund for my LIFE MEMBERSHIP Dues of the History Channel Club. Scout/Warrior shall issued a refund check in the amount of $165.00 on this date 07/8/14.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2013, my subscription was canceled by me! Then in January $99.95 was drawn out of my checking account! Now they refuse to refund my money due to them saying it wasn't canceled during the 7 day trial period! I have had this subscription for a year! I didn't care for it and never used it so I canceled it! But they "have no record of it!" So I'm being conned out of my $99.95! However, they have canceled my subscription now but yet kept my money for the next years subscription! These people are crooks and I want my money back!

Desired Settlement: I want my $99.95 put back in my account or a check sent to me for that amount!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ To whom it may concern: Scout is in receipt of the above referenced complaint filed by **** *********** with your office regarding his Scout-subscription. Scout believes it has resolved *** ************ complaint as outlined below. On January 3rd 2014, *** ********** contacted Scout to cancel his subscription. Unfortunately, *** *********** subscription had already renewed. ** ********** was informed that he would not be receiving a refund per our Terms of Service that he agreed to upon sign up. As a gesture of good will, we have issued a full refund back to *** ************* credit card, in the amount of $99.95 on January 24, 2014. It may take up to 5 business days for the refund credit to be processed and reflected in *** ********** account. Please let us know if you require further information. Feel free to contact me directly in this matter. Sincerely, ******* **** Scout.com Customer Service Supervisor

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An automated renewal was charged to my account for a one year subscription. The day it posted to my account I called to ask them to take it off as the services are not wanted any longer. The company is able to charge by the month or year. Instead of working with me to cancel my account they told me there are no refunds period. When I told them I would pay for the next month due to the confusion but did not want to pay for the full year they would not budge. I am asking for a refund on a service that has not yet been provided.

Desired Settlement: A refund for services that have not yet been provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/13) */ June 12, 2013 BY FACSIMILE ************ Better Business Bureau Serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Ste 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Case ********: *************** To whom it may concern: Scout.com (Scout) is in receipt of the above referenced complaint filed by *************** with your office regarding his Scout-subscription. Scout believes it has resolved ************* complaint as outlined below. On May 31, 2013, ************ contacted Scout to cancel his subscription. Unfortunately, ************* subscription had already renewed. ************ was informed that he would not be receiving a refund per our Terms of Service that he agreed to upon sign up. As a gesture of good will, we have issued a partial refund back to ************** credit card, in the amount of $95.78. It may take up to 5 business days for the refund credit to be processed and reflected in ************** account. Please let us know if you require further information. Feel free to contact me directly in this matter. Sincerely, ************* Scout.com Customer Service Supervisor Phone: ************* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The refund offered in the Scout response is exactly what I had hoped for when originally working with them to create a resolution. However, I was asked to accept or deny their response by 6/23/13. They stated the refund would be in my account within 5 business days on 6/13/13. I still have not received a credit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/07/22) */ To whom it may concern, Scout.com("Scout") is in receipt of the above referenced complaint filed by *************** with your office regarding his scout-subscription. Scout believes it has resolved ************'s complaint as outlined below. On may 31, 2013, ************ contacted Scout to cancel his subscription. Unfortunately, ** ********'s subscription had already renewed. ** ******** was informed that we would not be receiving a refund per our Terms of Service that he agreed to upon set up. As a gesture of good will, we have issued a full refund back to ************'s credit card, in the amount of $99.95 on July 22, 2013. It may take up to 5 business days for the refund credit to be processed and reflect in ************'s account. Please let us know if you require further information.Feel free to contact me directly in this matter. *************

5/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scout.com was a service I originally subscribed to in April 2005 in order to get a paper called Giants Insider. The paper stopped coming to me a couple of years ago and I did not think much of it. April 24 of this year a charge comes on my credit card for $99.95 that says it is an auto charge for a one year subscription to Scout.com. I see the charge on 4/27 and call today (first day they were open since I saw the charge) 4/29 to cancel the subscription. They say they will cancel the subscription AFTER this full year (364 more days) is up because they have a no refund policy. At best, this is a total scam and highly dishonest even if they can support it with some document (I am not sure they can). At worst it is a cynical way to rip people off $100 at a time.

Desired Settlement: A partial refund. For example, had they said something like "You need to give us a month's notice but we will refund an 11 month balance" I would see that as far more reasonable.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/09) */ *** 8, 2013 BY FACSIMILE XXX-XXX-XXXX Better Business Bureau Serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington **** ******* ***** Ste 222 DuPont, WA XXXXX Re: Case# 22388964: *********** ***** To whom it *** concern: Scout.com XXXXX ***** ***** Dr. Third Floor Playa Vista, CA XXXXX Phone: ************ Scout.com ("Scout") is in receipt of the above referenced complaint filed by *********** ***** with your office regarding his Scout-subscription. Scout believes it has resolved Mr. *****'s complaint as outlined below. On April 29, 2013, Mr. ***** called Scout to cancel his subscription. Unfortunately, Mr. *****'s subscription had already renewed. Mr. ***** was informed that he would not be receiving a refund per our Terms of Service that he agreed to upon sign up. As a gesture of good will, we have issued a partial refund to Mr. ***** in the amount of $96.19. It may take up to 5 business days for the refund credit to be processed and reflected in Mr. *****'s account. Please let us know if you require further information. Feel free to contact me directly in this matter. Sincerely, ******* **** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/05/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They made a reasonable refund based on the date I cancelled relative to the amount of time the subscription had been renewed. Thank you

4/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service