This business is not BBB accredited.

Fubar Equipment LLC

Phone: (907) 376-7834 Fax: (907) 376-7843 905 Vicki Way, Wasilla, AK 99654


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a heavy equipment shop offering D.O.T. inspections, welding fabrication, forklifts and service for all diesel engines.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fubar Equipment LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fubar Equipment LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 2006 Business started: 06/01/1999 Business started locally: 06/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/01/2005 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Raquel Armstrong, Member Mr. Charles Armstrong, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Raquel Armstrong, Member
Business Category

Machinery Rebuild & Repair Welding Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts Hydraulic Equipment & Supplies Industrial Equipment & Supplies Industrial Equipment & Supplies Sand & Gravel Handling Equipment Steel Fabricators Engines - Diesel Generators - Electric


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    905 Vicki Way

    Wasilla, AK 99654 (907) 376-7834

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Fubar rebuild my motor in kenworth w900l. They Rebuilt it and I didn't have the money to pay the full labor bill of $8974.00 .I told ******* that I had $7500.00 cash he said that their will be no warranty on this motor .when I got their in June to pick up the motor I had antifreeze leaks and oil leaks .and never pulled a load with it .******* the owner fixed the leaks and off I went .this motor should of lasted a minn of 100,000miles and up to a million miles if he rebuilt it correctly. Not even 17,000 miles on it and the motor blow apart .And while this was being rebuilt I was talking to ***** who's employed by *******. Who was working on rebuilding my motor . I called fubar equipment number of times and asked him for help this isn't about warranty this is about workmanship and its poor workmanship .he emailed me back bragging about his good service and been in buss for 30yrs but wont stand behind his work . I have spent over $20,000.00 in this motor and even told ******* that id pay for half the labor and he declined on that . I am about to go under and the motor blow in first of September and here I sit middle of oct and my motor is still down .I am ready to loose everything over poor workmenship.and a shop that wont stand behind only 17,000 miles on it .sad deal he says he's got a great reputation in his service then he should stand behind this . I caught him in a few lies on how this motor was put together .

Desired Settlement: I just want him to make it right now that the engine is torn apart And .I am looking at a Reman motor with a national warranty that way if something happens fubar iam covered if I have a problem in the future and I have a piece of mind that that motor was properly rebuilt. I lost over $60,500. worth of work and now the season is ended and out of the work. I just want to get back to work the truck is in Tok AK .At ********* bottom line I just want him to make it right so I can get back to work before I loose everything . I look forward to your help on this matter and responds

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2013/10/23) */ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The last thing I ever herd from ******* was the email .that he was not helping me in any way shspe or form .he never contacted me on anything he has put in this response. If ******* wants to talk with the shop he could of call ************** in tok Alaska any time . This is the first of hearing about ******* wanting to might it right . And as for******** ****** I've worked it all out with the bank . And if you read my letter that i faxed even said I'd of paid for half of the labor in the ******** responded with his email that I am out of luck and he wasn't going to help out . As for posting reviews you got the email which I explained what happened and all I want is for ******* to make it right . As for the shop they said poor workmanship . And as for tracer their was a two year warranty on the parts . We tryed to make a claim . They came back that it wasn't the parts that made the motor go .so I came down to Minnesota to find a motor and the truck is still sitting in the shop at ******* waiting for a replacement motor . So if ******* wants to make it right and have the truck towed back to his shop and he replace the motor out and get me backbto work. That's all I have ever asked for .and ill give him my word that ill reposted on all the sites that I put on review.that charlie stood behind his word and he fixed the problem. As for him contacting me every since the motor blow .I have phone recoreds that I've tryed to contact ******* a number of times and he never responded to any of my calls. Then I faxed the letter and he responded by email . Yet to this day I never talked with ******* over this by phone or face to face . Place let me know if ******* is interested in fellowing through with swapping the motor. The only other thing I ask for is he pays the shop bill from ******** tow company to since this was a result of the motor blowing up.ill wait for responses to this matter.before I buy a motor in Minnesota. I'd be greatful for ******* to back his workmenship. To have him fallow through with the swapping of the motor and the tow bill and ******** shop bill .they broke the motor down to the block . Thanks for everything **** . Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/08) */ Fubar Equipment LLC. *** ** ***** *** Wasilla, Alaska 99654 (XXX)XXX-XXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX **************@gci.net November 8, 2013 To: To whom it may concern: case #: XXXXXXXX In the matter of response to **** ****** complaint. This is ****** ********* a member of Fubar Equipment LLC. Just to make it clear I am 55% owner of this company and not an employee like **** ****** had stated. To set the story straight I had only spoke to **** ****** a couple of times on the phone, answering questions about his motor while ******* ********* was rebuilding it. I assist ******* ********* on rebuilding motors, and have done so for 13 years. Just because I understood the questions he was asking about the motor and was able to answer him does not mean that I was the one who rebuilt the engine. Further more as **** ****** states in his complaint that his driver spoke with me, is a false statement, I was not even here at the shop when his driver came to pay the bill and sign the invoice. His driver spoke with ***** ****** who has been our secretary for the last 2 years. Also I was not present when the other driver came to pick up the truck. From the time the truck was dropped off in our yard in Dec. 2013. The truck had been rolled on it's side and he was referred to us by ***** ***********. The truck was towed into our yard and ******* had checked it out and told him that it needed to be rebuilt. From the beginning **** ****** ordered all parts for the engine rebuild on his truck. He even had us bill out ***** ******** to pay for the parts cause he did not have the monies to pay for his own parts. ***** trucking paid us for 10 hours in labor and paid for the oil pump assy. & turbo & oil pump gear drive & oil pan gasket. **** ****** paid for the overhaul kit & connection rods & crank from ****** ************** We received the parts in January of 2013. If you look threw our company records since we have open our doors we have only use CTP parts or parts Directly from the manufacture of the engine. We have never order ****** parts due to no guarantee on their parts. At the same time we started receiving phone calls from a ****** ****** stated that **** ****** was not supposed to take the truck out of Montana. And that he had not been making payments to her on the truck. She wanted us to keep her truck in our position and not let him have the truck and wanted to know where the trailer was. We told her that we were not going to get in the middle of that it was between them too. We also told her where she could fine her trailer and gave her the name and number of the gentleman that had it. She continues to call our office to this day looking for the truck cause the bank is after her. During the time that ******* ********* was rebuilding the engine, when he went to remove the rod caps we notice that the caps were not on the right rods. The number 2 cap was on the number 5 rod and that number 4 cap was on the number 6 rod. Also the number 3 cap was on the number 6 rod. These parts are number to make sure that when an engine is rebuilt that the number match. When we found this ******* ********* had spoke to **** ****** about it and informed him on what was found. **** ****** has stated that the bearings where not replaced. They were replaced if you look at the bearings the Interstate McBB number is stamped on the bearing. Further more we still have the original piston on a shelf in our shop. All parts that were replaced in the engine are stamped with the McBB number. After the engine rebuilt was complete, ***** called **** ****** and informed him of his bill. He said he need time to come up with the money. He had talked to ***** several times and ******* about the bill. the truck sat here for a month after it had been finished when we were asked by **** ****** to take $7500.00 for the work because that's all he could come up with. ******* explained to him as well as ***** that we normally give a one year warranty on our work and no matter where the truck went if something happen to the truck and it was a fault of ours not a parts defect, that is it had to be something we did that we would warranty our work. But we would not warranty for a defective part. ******* * ***** had stated to him that if we took less then what his bill was he would not get a warranty. He accepted no warranty and his driver sign the invoice & paid cash for the work. After the truck was picked up from our yard about 30 days later he calls telling ******* that the truck was leaking oil and antifreeze. The truck sat in our yard like I stated for 30 days with snow on the ground being started & moved around our yard our yard and never once leaked oil or antifreeze. When he called and spoke to ******* about it he was told to bring the truck back and ******* would look at it. This was the first time that I met **** ******* ******* had look at the truck with **** ****** and found that the value cover gasket had a leak and heater hoses clamps were lose in places that we never would have had to loosen the clamps. Also ******* found that the low air pressure warning switch was defective, and had nothing to do with the rebuild of the engine. ******* ordered the part from *** ******* and installed it on **** ****** truck and never charged him for the part or the labor to install it. That was all that was found ******* fixed those issues. **** ****** left our shop and we did not hear from him again until the engine had issues in Tok Alaska. The first phone call from **** was telling ******* that the engine blew up. ******* had asked him what happen and he could not tell him anything. ******* wanted to know what caused the engine to blow up. **** told him that it was in a shop in Tok Alaska. No one to this day has said what caused the engine to blow up, was it a defected part, did a bolt come loose, nothing has been proven to what caused the engine to blow up. ******* spent time on the phone locating another engine to put into **** ****** truck just in case it was something that ******* had done that caused the engine to blow up. Then **** ****** started sending threatening emails to ******* about taking him to court for the engine and lost wages. And publishing things about ******* in the newspaper and on the internet. Like previous stated nothing has ever been said or proven on what caused the issue with the engine. Further more we don't even know if the oil was changed like it should have been during the 17000 miles he has put on the truck, or if it was a defective part. Also him saying that the bearings were never replaced in the truck and accusing and making the accusation that ******* cheated him on the work that he did. At which point ******* took offense to this. So there for ******* will not do anything for **** ****** and is willing to go to court. ******* has always taken pride in the work that he has done since we opened our doors, and before we even started this business. ******* has done mechanical work all over the state of Alaska, and has done engine rebuilds for some of the largest companies in the state, including the US Army. None of ******* engine rebuilds have never come back for any reason. ******* has always warranty his work or any other work that has been done by one of our employees with no cost back to our customers. Like I stated he was looking for a engine to put into **** ****** truck to just replace the one that blew up, out of the courtesy of his heart, even though he said there was no warranty. Because he felt it was the right thing to do and just help him out. He located a used engine from ******** ********* company, and was willing to pay $6000.00 for the engine and do the work for free. He had also arranged for one of our customers ******* *********** to haul the truck to our shop from Tok Alaska which is over 300 miles which would of cost us $2032.05. Until **** ****** started threatening him and his reputation and telling him that he didn't put new parts in his engine. And he still has not proven what caused the engine to fail. We have never received any pictures nor was ******* ever asked to come take a look at the engine to determine what happen. If **** ****** would have approached this situation a little differently instead of threats an accusation about not replacing parts things would have turned out differently then what they are now. He has not been making shady deals and cheating other people for a while including the one he bought the truck from. He is just looking for someone to blame. Find attached the statement from ******* *********** ***** ****** to what all took place during the time dealing with **** ******* Also if needed I can get affidavits from other employees that were working here during the time the engine was rebuilt by ******* ********* and have knowledge of the work that was done to his engine. Sincerely, ****** * ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***