This business is not BBB accredited.

Grizzly Industrial Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 647-0801 Fax: (360) 676-1075 View Additional Phone Numbers 1821 Valencia St, Bellingham, WA 98229 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.grizzly.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Grizzly Industrial Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 01/01/1983 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shiraz Balolia, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shiraz Balolia, President
Business Category

Machine Tools Machinery - New Gun Dealers Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Bullets.com Grizzly Imports

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1821 Valencia St

    Bellingham, WA 98229 (800) 523-4777 (360) 647-0801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 2219

    Bellingham, WA 98227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2069

    Bellingham, WA 98227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Bison brand 5C collet chuck for a lathe. The measured runout oaths chuck is 10 times more than specified. It is defective and not usable. I have made 5 phone calls and 2 emails trying to get a return authorization. Every time I contact Grizzly, I am told that they will be issuing a refund and that someone will be contacting me to give me instructions. Nobody every contacts me with these instructions.

Desired Settlement: This is a defective product. I want a complete refund, including shipping and I do not want to incur any charges for the return shipping.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/10) */ Full credit for the product was issued on 1/27/2015. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Full credit was given, but only after much complaining on my part and numerous phone calls, emails and this BBB case.

2/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grizzly refused to honor it's prices in its 2015 catalog. The advertised price of several " heirloom guitar kits" were listed in the new catalog at $29.95. I called Grizzly to order model H8070 at the advertised price and the operator rudely stated " that must be a misprint , they're $429.95" .

Desired Settlement: Honor your advertised pricing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/15) */ The customer is complaining of a catalog misprint that occurred on several similar items in our 2015 catalog that was just mailed at the beginning of January. While we are sorry that the customer feels that our employee was rude to him, we are not able to honor a price that was clearly a mistake. Our web site and advertisements have reflected the correct prices all along. If the customer would like to refer to the back page of the catalog where the misprint occurred, we state: "DARN IT: We make every effort to be exact with our photography, prices, specifications and copy. Sometimes errors do occur and we apologize for them. We reserve the right to make changes and correct errors at any time." We also state on the back page of our catalog that all prices are subject to change, and that our website, grizzly.com will always reflect the correct current pricing, which it does.

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is about "False advertising" and "using 1 HP inverter on a 1 ½ HP Motor" on the Grizzly G0632 wood lathe". XX-XX-XX I ordered a wood lathe (G0632) including various wood working accessories. Once the lathe arrived and I had it assembled, I noticed that the inverter would cut-out frequently when operating the lathe. I called Grizzly and they shipped a replacement inverter. There was an issue with the first shipment of the inverter, as someone had picked the wrong item and instead of the inverter, I received an iron rod. Nevertheless, the second shipment contained the actual inverter. Unfortunately the inverter was a Delta VFD 007S21A, which is listed as a 1 HP inverter and has a maximum output current of 4.2 A listed on the label. The Grizzly G0632 lathe on the other hand is running a 1 ½ HP motor which draws 4.7 A. I then called Grizzly technical support and complained that the inverter, which they had shipped, was not appropriately sized for the G0632 lathe. ***** at Grizzly technical support then wrote back that: "What we were informed is that "Under-rating of VFD's is a fairly common practice." In another e-mail he then expanded: "The sizing of a VFD is determined by the amperage generated. The VFD that originally shipped on the lathe, and that you received for a replacement, is properly rated for the amperage generated, although it states 1HP. This has been confirmed by our engineer and Quality Control department." And last not least, he even sent me (e-mail XX-XX-XX) an incorrect spec-sheet for the inverter, which listed a current rating of 5A for the VFD 007 inverter. The tag on the inverter, which I received as well as the current spec-sheets for the Delta VFD inverters show 4.2 A as the maximum current. I find it very disturbing that a "technical expert" at Grizzly would make such a mistake and in the end still insist that the 1 HP inverter is sufficient for the 1 ½ HP motor. Moreover the initial spec-sheet for the G0632 lathe had a 2 HP inverter listed on their own web-site (copy can be provided). After my current complaint, the web-site has been changed. I understand that for many people a 1 HP lathe is more than sufficient, but I don't accept that I purchase a 1 ½ HP lathe and specifically check for a sufficiently sized inverter, only to end up with an undersized inverter, which is now prone to break down rather sooner than later, leaving me with a substantial expense for a possible replacement part. By the way, I was told that the 1 HP inverter would cost between $700 and 800 when purchased from Grizzly, which is about 50% of the cost of the lathe. I am not looking forward to these kinds of very costly repairs only to end up with another undersized inverter, which probably is going to last only for a short time as well. I have tried very hard to convince ***** at Grizzly technical support that they should honor their initial description of the inverter and send me the 2 HP version of the Delta VFD. That one is only slightly larger in its physical dimensions, but I would be happy to make the necessary accommodations for that as it is only a very thin sheet-metal box, covering the inverter, which needs to be changed. However, despite numerous e-mails I was unable to get this result and I now have to file the official complaint through BBB. Hopefully this step will convince the management at Grizzly to provide a better support for their customers in the future.

Desired Settlement: I see three possible solutions: 1. Send me the correctly sized (2 HP) inverter and assist me with possible programming of the inverter to make it work with the G0632 lathe. I would also expect that Grizzly compensates me with a decent voucher (e.g. 15 % discount on any future purchase) for the trouble I had until now. 2. Grizzly makes a significant price deduction (somewhere close to the $700 or $800, which Grizzly charges for the replacement inverter) on my original purchase price and I will send back the old as well as the replacement inverter. I will then purchase the correctly sized inverter directly from Delta and only expect from Grizzly possibly help in case the inverter needs any special programming. 3. This is the least favorable option, but in case none of the previous solutions can be worked out, I insist on returning the entire purchase, which I placed 09-30-14 (order # XXXXXXXX). Grizzly would have to send sufficient packaging material, since I did not keep all of the original packaging and a suitable pick-up date/time would have to be arranged. Ideally Grizzly should send someone here to pick up all of the items.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/06) */ The bottom line in this issue is a disagreement between Grizzly and the customer with how to size an inverter for use with a Wood lathe. While the HP/amperage rating of the motor is a factor, there are others that are just as important. Many inverters, for example, are used for pumps and fans - which are typically subjected to maximum loading while they are being run, i.e. "heavy load". A wood lathe is considered a "light load" because the motor is only loaded intermittently as a cut is being made. Then there is a significant period of non-loading while the user is repositioning for another cut, selecting a different tool, etc. Because it is a hand held tool, the maximum force that can typically be applied to the work piece is seldom enough to push the motor to its full load rating; 4.7A in this case. The "1 hp" inverter used on this machine is rated for a constant load of up to 4.2A, which is ample for what the motor here will actually require in any reasonable operating scenario. Inverters are sized incrementally, and the next step up is a 2 hp inverter, which is rated for up to 7A. We sell many of this model number with no historical issues related to the size of the invertor, nor has the size been changed over the years we have sold this model. After full consideration of this matter, we feel the "1 hp" inverter is the correct one overall for this machine. The customer can install a larger inverter if he really wants to, but we do not recommend it and will not be involved in any way if he chooses to do so. We are still offering to take the machine back for a full refund if the customer is not satisfied. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Essentially Grizzly is telling me that a car company can sell me a car listed with a 150 HP motor, but the motor can never really provide the 150 HP, since another component limits the power to 100HP. Arguing that the car hardly ever needs the 150 HP since it will sit in my garage for 99% of the time and even if I drive, I hardly ever use the full 150 HP (unless I am a racecar driver). If anyone thinks that this is a valid explanation/excuse, we are living in another world. The inverter already had trouble right from the first test (as shown in the video, which I provided to Grizzly) and to design a machine with a 1 1/2 HP motor but running that motor on a 1 HP inverter is plain and simple a design-flaw. First of all, I will never be able to use the full 1 1/2 HP power, which the lathe was advertised for, and second, the chance of an underrated inverter burning out is a chance I am not willing to take. At the minimum, Grizzly should provide a full lifetime warranty for the inverter to all of their customers and in addition the advertisement should clearly label the lathe as a 1HP lathe and not as a 1 1/2 HP lathe. Just to further clarify the situation: At the time, when I bought the lathe, the Grizzly spec-sheet clearly listed a 2 HP inverter for that specific model (I can provide documentation for this fact), which was one main reason why I picked that specific model. After my complaint the corresponding web-site has been changed. As such, I am not willing to accept their argument/solution(?). I like to request that this issue be brought before a 3rd party (arbitrator).

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Grizzly Model GXXXX XX" Drum Sander. I had to replace the conveyor belt drive motor gear within days after the warranty ran out. The drive motor has a plastic gear that strips out, end result the conveyer belt hangs up. After calling the technical support at (XXX) XXX-XXXX to confirm the part number before ordering another part I was inform by the technician (didn't write his name down) that they have had numerous complaint on the failure of the conveyer belt drive motor gear and had to redesign the drive motor. The gear I needed was no longer available and I had to purchase the new design motor and circuit board to fix the problem at a cost of $180 plus shipping for a Drum Sander that cost $575. Grizzly Industrial had a design flaw that they corrected, but rather replacing all the defective design parts with the newer design they chose to charge their customers $180 to correct THEIR design flaw. Grizzly design engineer failed to preform proper design testing of the part to make sure they didn't sale their sander with flawed parts.

Desired Settlement: Grizzly Industrial needs to stand behind their product and replace the conveyor belt drive motor, without charging the purchasers of that product

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/19) */ The customer purchased his item in 2006, and it is now 2014. Grizzly warrants its products for one year. Unfortunately, we are not able to extend warranty consideration to an eight year old product. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That is what I expected from Grizzly, this complaint is not about a one year warranty issue. Grizzly is right that belt sander was purchased in 2006 and in 2007 just over one year I had to purchase a new gear that stripped out. This is a sander that I don't use a lot, six month a year I'm in Florida. When I'm in my work shop, 90% of my work is making cabinets where the sander is not used. So the sander is not used very often, but when I do use the sander I would expect it would have been designed properly to hold up for years. This complaint is about a company that designed a belt sander with a poorly engineered conveyer belt motor which has a plastic gear that strips out extremely easily. If proper testing was completed for failure mode; testing would have highlighted this defect before the belt sander was put on the market for sell. They proved belt motor was not properly designed since they had to reengineer the belt motor. Their own technicians even highlighted that there has been numerous complaint on this issue causing a redesign. And instead of Grizzly Industries recalling and replacing that drive motor they chose to put profit over customer loyalty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/02) */ Once again we must reiterate that we cannot extend the warranty on an 8 year old machine. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, absolutely not do I accept their business proposal resolution. Their Grizzly representative can call it anything they want. But I'll state one more time, this is not a WARRANTY ISSUE. This complaint is about Grizzly engineers designing a sander with a DESIGN FLAW. And the fact is, Grizzly Industrial realized that design flaw when they had their engineers redesign the total conveyor belt drive motor system. I'm disappointed that a reputable company would not stand behind and replace their design flaw. At present, I have purchased or had my wife or children purchase for me as a gift Grizzly tools. At present I own a G1071 Oscillating sander, 6"x48" combination sander, 8" Joiner, 12"Drum sander, shop Fox 2 hp dust collector, and Oscillating 3/4 hp drill press. Now do they think I would ever purchase another wood working tool from Grizzly or anyone else that doesn't stand behind their products, and even again recommend a Grizzly tool to any of my wood working friends which I have in the past?

8/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/24/2014 I called Grizzly to order a base/motor assembly for G1018 jointer. I was given an order number of XXXXXXX. I asked the phone salesman what the shipping charge was for this item and was told $23.00, which agreed with what I had found on company's webpage. I agreed to purchase the base/motor unit along with a knife setting gauge at that time and gave credit card information for purchase. On 7/26/2014 I received an email from Grizzly saying I owed an extra $55.01 because it had to go on a truck. Never was I told that I might be subject to further shipping charges, nor did I see it on the web page. I contracted with Grizzly to pay $23.00 for shipping, but two days later they changed their minds and require an extra $55.01 before they would ship my order. This is a grossly unfair business practice. How do I know what Grizzly will charge me for something in the future if I cannot believe what their salesman says or the webpage? They are in the business of selling and shipping machinery and large heavy items. I cannot understand how they would not know what it costs to ship the item I ordered out of their catalog. But even so, why am I held hostage to pay for their error? I agreed to a price, and paid it in good faith. I would like for them to ship me what I paid for without trying to exact further charges.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to ship me what I paid for without trying to exact further charges. I paid for the service what I was told it cost. Honor the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ After review, we agree the customer should not have been contacted after the fact for extra shipping. This was entirely Grizzly's error. We will not process the charge for the extra payment, and the customer will be contacted to explain same.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an new G0514X2 19" 3Hp Extreme series bandsaw on June 23rd, 2014. Order number XXXXXXX-XX. Friday of that week, I received the delivery from *** *** The outer crate showed no signs of damage and the *** ** delivery person was very helpful in getting the unit to my shop door. On Saturday afternoon, I uncratted the unit and noticed some very disturbing damage and blemished areas on the bandsaw upper door edge at eye level and again at the front of the throat area near the cast iron table is to be mounted. The most disturbing issue for me, concerned the fact that the dent and scratched area on the front upper door had paint covering it to try and make it look less obvious! The color doesn't even match well and the dent/ scratches are obvious. Secondly the large 3.5 inch scratch/ dent and bubbly paint job on the front of the throat is more than annoying. Quality control could not have missed these issues! It was simply passed down the line and shipped to me, the customer, to have to spend time dealing with instead of using the equipment the way it was intended. This purchase is the second one from Grizzly and I am very happy with the dust collector I purchased just last year from them. I paid full sticker price for this item and it looks like a factory second from one of their dent and blemish tent shows! I really want to keep this bandsaw but not in its current condition having paid full price for the unit. I sent their customer service pictures and have made many phone calls to them the last week.

Desired Settlement: I would like to suggest their shipping out a new fully stickered and logoed front door panel including the serial number sticker so that I might replace the defective one easily. Also some green paint to redo the scratched / dented and bubbly paint on the throat area. Lastly I would like to receive a 20% refund on the cost of this unit. I think it only fair since, I have to deal with these issues and live with the blemishes that should have been taken care of before I received the unit. As of today the company is offering me the replacement parts for the upper door panel and some paint to attempt to fix the scratches and dents on the throat of the bandsaw myself and a $25.00 credit. The other option was to recrate and box the bandsaw and ship it back to them for replacement! The item weighs 480 Lbs! I am a reasonable individual and would simply appreciate being offered a better financial settlement that justifies the trouble I am having to deal with after receiving a defective product that I purchased in good faith.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ We have reviewed the customer's case as well as the pictures he provided to us. In our opinion the issue is a very minor paint imperfection and will in no way affect the use or longevity of the machine. Woodworking machines like this will show considerable wear on all the painted surfaces once they have been used regularly, so a discount of $315.00 for something this minor would not be considered reasonable for this type of product. The customer is still more than welcome to return the machine for a full refund if he is dissatisfied with it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want to take a moment to thank Grizzly for sending me the replacement top panel and green paint as requested previously. The parts arrived in good condition as requested with the exception of the serial and date logos missing. I took the time to transfer these over and am very happy with the new top bandsaw panel. That being said, I am still very dissatisfied as a customer that ordered a new bandsaw and received one that looks like something out of the tent sales Grizzly holds several times a year. The reply from customer service is unreasonable. I am a home hobbyist woodworker that maintains a shop for personal enjoyment. It is unreasonable of them to expect me to re-crate the bandsaw, at 480lbs, drive the unit to a shipping location and pay to have it shipped back to them. If this was easy, I would have done it many times over! I want to keep the bandsaw but believe I am being mistreated and taken advantage of by Grizzly Industrial. I have had many phone conversations with them requesting they escalate this issue to a person that is able to negotiate a reasonable refund for all of my troubles. To this date no one has contacted me with this kind of authority. I only receive calls from customer service people that say "sorry, I can't help you with the refund issue just parts". I know that Grizzly Industrial commonly offers 10% discounts during sales to purchasers. At the very least call me and offer me credit with your company. I have always been a big supporter of your products for both the value and quality you generally offer. Why would you treat me in this way?? I look forward to hearing from you. Thank You Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/29) */ We have offered the customer a discount coupon as a token of goodwill, and he has indicated that he is satisfied with the gesture. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/08/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am at the point where it is obvious my complaints concerning this purchase have fallen on deaf ears. Customer service contacted me and offered me a 5% discount on my next purchase.The damage is cosmetic only and the bandsaw performs well. I will ask to have any unit physically inspected at the factory for signs of damage before it is shipped to me if I ever choose to order from this company again. Highly Unlikely! I appreciate the opportunity that the BBB has given me to resolve this issue in a public forum even though I did not receive a satisfactory resolution.

6/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have one of Grizzly machines. It is under a one year warranty. I confirmed a bad part with the technical department. They will not send me the replacement part. My machine will not run without it.

Desired Settlement: The failed part to be sent to me.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/06/16) */ Grizzly Industrial had contacted me. They have agreed to supply warranty as needed. I would like to redraw this conplaint

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered somme .22 LR bullets from the website and went through the checkout process and even got an email confirming order. When I got home and checked my email they said they ran out and cancelled my order. I went on line and chated with "********" and she said that they ran out. How can you sell something if you do not have it ?

Desired Settlement: Send me my order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/28) */ There is currently a national shortage of 22 ammunition in the US. This is well documented. Every time we get such ammunition into stock, the various web 'bot' programs like ******.com scrape our website and send thousands of alerts to subscribers. This produces what can only be described as a 'feeding frenzy' and we run out of stock faster than the web site can update the quantities. We have increased our website capacity to try to stay ahead of these surges, but the volumes are difficult to anticipate. The customer was provided an acknowledgement only, his credit card was never authorized or charged, and we informed him of the issue as quickly as we possibly could. The fact remains though, that the ammo is in very short supply, and at this time we cannot fill the customer's order. The orders placed ahead of this customer's order took all our stock. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This nothing more than an "excuse" from them. The *******.com web site is the one that gave me a false checkout not anyone else but them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/07) */ We believe we explained the issue in our original response. The customer was never charged for the order. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no need for the BBB to repond to the business again. They are not going to do anything about this. Please just mark this down as a negative for the business. Thanks for your help with this issue.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product on March 3rd and my credit card was charged for the transaction on that day.I received an email telling me that the order was complete.On Mar. 4th I received an email that the product was unavailable and that they wouldn't be able to deliver the product and that it couldn't be backordered.On Mar. 5th the exact same product and model number was put back up for sale on there site.I believe they are doing this just to gain email subscribers. This type of practice should be illegal. Product_Or_Service: BL8084 - USA235LRH .22 LR 36 Grain HP Ammo, Box of Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want the product that I was charged for and I want there practice of operating this way made known to other internet users.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/07) */ We received a very small quantity of item BL8084. The different 'ammo seeking' programs that scrape the internet for ammunition stock found our stock almost immediately, and sent out a massive number of texts and e-mails to their subscribers. This caused what can only be described as a feeding frenzy on our web-site. Our web site was completely overwhelmed with this unanticipated volume, and could not update fast enough to show the item out of stock. This resulted in some additional orders placed beyond our stock on hand. We processed the orders received as first come first served, and cancelled the rest after our stock was depleted. The customer's credit card was never authorized. We have increased our web site capacity and put some other measures in place that will allow us to react more quickly if something like this happens again, but other than offer our apologies, which we have already done, there is really nothing more we are able to do.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ***** ******* ******* # ****** ******* ** ********* **** **** ** ***** *** Beeville, Texas 78102 Better Business Bureau 1333 N. Loop South, Suite 1200 Houston, Texas 77027 XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX wdw.info3bbbhcu.org BE: Complaint- Grizzly Industrial, Inc. ******* **** Bellingham, WA 98227 Dear Sir/Madam: On the 11 day of December 2013 I sent Grizzly Industrial, Inc. a check for $35.70 for two items which were both on clearance at the time. The two items were a pair of Disposable Nitrile gloves for $5.95 # TXXXXX and (4) pack of Clear Packing Tape which is 12.rolls of tape in each pack # H6312 . The tape was $19.80 plus $7.95 for shipping and handling-which totaled $35.70 with the gloves. The Grizzly company refunded me the money that I sent for the tape and sent me the gloves. Grizzly told me that the reason for refunding the money was that they discontinue selling the tape. I was charged $7.95 shiiping fee for just the gloves that only cost $5.95, instead of paying a shipping fee that is higher than the product itself I would of rather a refund for the whole order. To my surprise, a peddling friend of mines sent in a similar order to Grizzly Industrial for 2 (12 per pack) Clear Packing Tape # 6312 (his order # is XXXXXXX Segment # XXXXXXX printed date: January 23, 2013 and he received the same tape that Grizzly told me that they discontinued selling. I placed my order one week before him and I Was not able to get the tape and he did after placing a order a week after I was told that tape was discontinued. Grizzly has always done good business in filling my orders, but this time I was disappointed to know that I received this type of service. Sttictlt speaking, what I am asking is for is this. I am asking to be compensated for the $7.95 shipping and handling fee I was charged not knowing that I was only paying for a pair of gloves that cost less than the shipping fee. I also would like to order the Clear Packing Tape by sending in another check for that amount I originally sent for the tape. I order from Grizzly Industrial all the time and have had great service to my satisfactic until this matter occurred. I am not happy at how I was not sold the tape and told that the tape was discontinued and I am very unhappy that I was charged $7.95 shipping fee for only a pair of gloves when my order had tape included. I would be more than happy to send another check for, the tape if Grizzly is willing to correct this matter with me and compensate me for the $ 7.95. Finally, this brings ray complaint to an conclusion as I await a response from the BBB regarding Grizzly Industrial. Thank You for investigating this complaint!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ After investigating the customer's complaint we found that at the time his order was placed we had only one of item H6312 left in stock in a warehouse that we would not normally ship from to his location. The person entering the order made an error and did not assign this last item to the customer's order. The friend who ordered later actually was given the last unit of the H6312. Unfortunately we really don't have any more at this time to supply the customer. We should not have shipped the other item by itself without the customer's permission, so we are refunding the $7.95 shipping charge for that item. The customer should receive a check shortly.

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/28/2013 I purchased 3 items online from Grizzly Industrial. I paid via credit card and received a receipt for a total amount of $65.80. Later that same day I received notice the items had shipped. The next day I got a call from Grizzly stating that the price was wrongly posted and that they were charging me a total of $229.80. I was given the choices of returning the items or paying the higher amount.

Desired Settlement: If you sell an item at one price, it is wrong to raise the price of that item after it ships. I want to company to sell me the three items at the initial set price that I have a receipt showing I purchased them for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/08) */ We have contacted the customer and apologized for the incident. We have called the customer and are working with him to resolve the issue to his satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grizzly Industrial has invalidated my warranty. Their reasons are inaccurate and unmerited. Their machine malfunctioned resulting in serious damage to the machine. When notified they agreed it was covered by warranty and sent replacement parts - this did not correct the problem. The machine was then sent in and I was notified the warranty was judged invalid based on rust and abuse. When the machine left my shop, it absolutely had no rust. If we had not been wearing hearing protection, we probably would have noticed the damage progressing on the machine - this is what is called abuse. I have sent the last several months back and forth trying to resolve this issue - all fully documented to no avail. I have sent pictures of all my eight grizzly machine in my shop that have not rust. I oldest machine is over 15 years old, my maintenance record for my machines is not in question

Desired Settlement: Repair and return the machine at no cost to me as provided for under the terms of the Warranty or provide a full refund for my cost of the machine.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ *** ****** contacted Grizzly 2 weeks before his one year warranty was up. He informed us that his machine was not working properly, and he wanted to upgrade to a new model. After much back and forth, and troubleshooting, we had, at our expense, *** ******'s machined returned to us for inspection and repair. Upon receipt we discovered that the machine had been severely abused. The machine had not been properly adjusted, had been run without dust collection so was completely clogged with sawdust, and for some inexplicable reason, the cutter heads had been painted. We documented this with pictures. We informed *** ****** that our warranty does not cover customer abuse. Another flurry of back and forth ensued, and we finally, as a gesture of goodwill, not warranty, agreed to repair the machine to working condition at no charge to *** ****** for the parts and labor required. We determined however, that any additional freight charges would have to be borne by *** ******, and we would not extend any further warranty on the machine. *** ****** was made aware of this decision by certified letter. We are awaiting *** ******'s instructions on how he would like to proceed. We believe that we have been extremely fair with *** ****** under the circumstances given the abuse of the machine. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The fact remains that Grizzly invalidated their warranty on their machine and required me to share in the cost of repair. The reasons given by Grizzly were 100% invalid, lies and made up fabrications. To claim now they have completed the "warranty" work after several months of doing everything under the sun to not do the "warranty" work is one huge lie. The least that can be done to resolve this "Warranty" scam is: 1. Apologize for the months of justifying their so called invalid warranty - I need to point out that after many resolutions on my part, Grizzly never agreed to do warranty work on this machine. 2. Admit their policy to not fulfill the responsibilities of their so called warranties. 2. refund of the $179.00 required by Grizzly to do the work payable only in certified check or cashiers check. As stated in their next to last statement to BB, they claim to have done the "warranty" work, this again is a completed fabrication on the part of Grizzly and no customer should ever have to go through the intimidation and harassment that I was subjected to. If their is no admitting of wrong doing and no apology from Grizzly's actions in this case, then this one case must be a black mark for all future customers of Grizzly and the BBB needs to make sure it is made a permanent record. A consumer alert is required. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/10/08) */ Once again we must point out that we have done everything we promised to do for the customer. We consider the matter closed.

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order on 07.15.2013 and paid $11.95 for shipping and handling. The order was delivered a few days later, but the packing slip shows total shipping and handling charges of $6.75. I e-mailed a complaint regarding this discrepency. The next day a ******* called me and attempted to justify this discrepency by explaining it in a very curt and short manner. No matter how she attempted to deliver her verbal assult/explanation, she never explained the $5.20 difference between what I was charged and what the packing slip shows was charged.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from Grizzly, and for them to arrange and pay for the pick up the order and refund 100% of the purchase and S & H costs I paid ($76.85). I am not willing to pay any shipping or re-stocking fees. I don't expect them to refund the $50.00 (of the $126.85 order total) for the electronic portion of the order(South Bend Serial Cards) of the purchase. I am appalled and insulted with the manner of ******** feeble attempt of explanation, and refuse to conduct business with any establishment with such practices, both the over-charging of S & H charges and ******** insulting phone demeanor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ Grizzly charges shipping and handling by the dollar value of an order. Our shipping and handling charts can be found in the back of our catalog and on our website. The value of *** ******'s order less the serial cards that were delivered electronically was $64.90. This corresponds to $11.95 on our shipping and handling chart. Our ordering system, amortizes the total shipping and handling for an order over all the items. As a result, part of the $11.95 charge was applied to the 'shipment' containing his two serial cards, thereby leaving a balance for *** ******'s shipped segment as the $6.75 *** ****** is so upset about. There is no intent to deceive, and if *** ****** adds up the total of the charges, the shipping and handling total **** be $11.95. As an aside, 9 lbs. (the weight of *** ******'s shipped order) via UPS Ground Residential from zip code 17756 (The facility *** ******'s order shipped from) to *** ******'s zip code of 44087 is $11.70. *** ****** can check that on ups.com if he would like. We charge shipping and handling which we hope in a perfect world will cover the shipping cost as well as the cost of materials. In this case it did not. If *** ****** wishes to return the item, he needs to contact us for a return authorization, as he is within 30 days. Our regular return policies will apply. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2013/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They didn't offer any resolution, and again have not addressed the rude and condescending attitude of the girl I spoke with regarding this initially. Grizzly continues to illustrate they don't care how they treat the customer. All I asked for was an apology and a return, but they won't even acknowledge the requested apology. Had ***** spoke to me in a kind and intelligent manner, this case would have never been opened to begin with. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/08/29) */ While we appreciate the fact that the customer is still upset, and does not accept our explanation, we do not believe there is any point in further discourse. We are still willing to accept a return for the items on the customer's order, and we believe we have addressed all the legitimate issues.

8/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a G9729 Combo Lathe/Mill from grizzly industrial Inc. Over 1 year ago about 20 days after purchase. I noticed parts missing From the machine. I contacted grizzly industrial by phone and told them About the missing parts, they said they were sorry about the missing parts And would ship them. I weighted several mounts and nothing come, So I again contacted them, told them the problems, again they said they would Ship the parts, again I weighted and again nothing came. I have emailed them With no response. This is a list of accessories included with purchase of g9729 Accessories Included: 1/2" Drill Chuck with Arbor 2 Dead Centers 4-Way Tool Post 5" 3-Jaw Chuck 9" Faceplate Change Gears Follow Rest MT#3 Chuck Arbor Steady Rest Threading Dial The items missing is threading dial. Which consist of the folling parts Part# T205 P9729T205 Gear T201 P9729T201 Thread Dial Seat T202 P9729T202 Shaft T203 P9729T203 Indicator Plate T204 P9729T204 Ph LP HD screw M4 .7 x 12 T208 Pcap30m Cap screw M6 1 x 45

Desired Settlement: Please send me the missing parts

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ We have no record of any contact from *** ******* regarding this matter either by phone or e-mail. *** ******* purchased the item referred to in his complaint on 3/12/2001, over 11 years ago. On an item so far out of warranty, we would not be willing to supply parts at no charge. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Regarding the purchase date, it is true I purchased the item 11 years ago Missing items has nothing to do with a warranty. As advertised the machine Was supposed to come with the parts listed in my complaint. The question is are You an honorable company or not, do you supply what you say you do? What's the difference if it was yesterdays date or 2001? Missing parts has nothing to do with a date! I am now a disabled veteran with lots of time. I value my honor **** send me email address and i will send you photo of where my missing part go. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/08) */ Grizzly would have been happy to provide replacement parts to *** ******* had he contacted us within a reasonable time within his warranty period. Since over 11 years have passed, we have no way to verify what was or was not received at the time and what has happened to the machine in the intervening period. It is not reasonable to expect us to replace parts at no charge after 11 years. We respectfully decline the request once more.

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2013 Delivery Issues
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues