BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sprinkler installation, service and repair as well as brick and concrete work and landscaping services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 26, 1994 Business started: 07/01/1984 Business started locally: 07/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 967-6291
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Landscape Contractors Board
2111 Front St NE Ste 2-101, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/lcb
Phone Number: (503) 378-5909
lcb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Al Sievers, Owner Mrs. Sheri Sievers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Al Sievers, Owner
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Contractors Concrete Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Al Sievers Sprinkler Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Al Sievers Landscape & Sprinkler Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 22090 S Highway 213

    Oregon City, OR 97045 (503) 632-6585 (503) 244-1036 (503) 643-7060

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (503) 244-1036(Phone)
  • (503) 643-7060(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******* SPRINKLERS WAS CONTACTED TO FIX BROKEN SPRINKLER PIPE. I AGREED TO PAY A $95.00 SERVIVE CALL CHARGE AND AN HOURLY RATE. WHEN HE ARRIVED THE FIRST THING HE DID WAS HAVE ME SIGN AND INTITIAL THE FRONT OF HIS FORM SAYING I WAS VERIFING HIS START TIME. ON THE BACK OF THE FORM WAS ALL OF THE ADD ON EXPENSES, NONE OF WHICH HE SHOWED ME OR SAID HE WOULD BE CHARGING. ** ******* WALKED AROUND TALKED ABOUT SELLING ME OTHER SERVICES AND TRYING TO IMPRESS ME WITH HOW SMART HE THOUGHT HE WAS. HE DUG 2 HOLES 1 FOOT DEEP AND GLUED 1 PIECE OF SPRINKLER JOINT. wHEN HE TRIED TO SELL ME A PIECE OF USED PIPE THAT COULD BE PURCHASED AT **** ***** FOR $2.00 FOR WHICH HE WANTED $40.00 I SAID NO. HE OFFERED A SPRINKLER HEAD WHICH COST $4.0 AND HE WAS CHARGING$40.00 FOR THAT ALSO. HE WORKED 15 MINS AND TALKED FOR 45 MINS. HE CHARGED ME $25.00 FOR HIM TO USE HIS SHOVEL AND $28.00 FOR GLUE FOR ONE JOINT.TOT** COST WAS $368.00. ALSO CHARGED ME $35.00 FOR GAS IN ADDITION TO $95.00 SERVICE CALL. HE IS A CROOK, DECIETFUL AND MISREPRESENTS WHAT IS BEING DONE. THIS IS THE MOST UNETHIC** BUSINESS PERSON I HAVE EVER MET IN 68 YEARS AND SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN. I REQUEST A REFUND OF UNAUTHORIZED AND EXCESSIVE CHARGES FOR GAS $35.00,HAND TOOL USE HIS SHOVEL $25.00, GLUE ONE DIP $28.00, SPRINKLER TOWELS $5.00, FOR TOT** OF $93.00.

Desired Settlement: MAIL CHECK

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

March 24, 2015

 

Re:         ******,  ********

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

I attached the Agreement (front and back) and the estimate.

 

*** ** setup a service call for March 13, 2015

When I arrived I presented him with an Agreement which included:

  1. Service Call:  $95

  2. Working time charged @ 120 per hour (1 hour minimum)

  3. Parts, supplies, test equipment, listed on the back of this form

  4. Gas Surcharge:  $35

  5. Arrival Time:  1:30 pm

  6. Work To Be Performed:  “ Repair broken pipe, Check out system repair as necessary.”

    He and I signed at the bottom and *** ** initialed in a box accepting the charges listed, which included items 1-4 and the Arrival Time item 5.   Item 6 the work to be performed was filled in by hand . 

     

    I asked him to sign and initial and make sure he looked over the Agreement and understood.  He did and I proceed to repair the broken pipe.  I excavated the areas with the broken pipe, cleaned it off with water and dried it with a towel so I could apply the glue.  While I was waiting for the glue to dry, *** ** asked me to look at a sprinkler head.  He asked what it would cost to raise the head approximately 3 feet.   I gave him an estimate on a pad of paper.  He declined.

     

     He said he would do all the backfilling. I stopped the time at 2:50 pm and tallied up the bill for the work I performed.  He paid me and I left. 

     

    I resent *** **’s abusive language. I consider it slanderous and it is certainly not true.  All work performed and charges for work performed were agreed to before any work was done.  Please note the initials and signatures.  When I asked *** ** to look it over and make sure he understood, I assumed he did.  I hide nothing.  My charges are printed on my Agreements.  Nothing is added on.  I don’t know how I could have made this clearer.

     

    Thank you,  ** *******

     

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

** ******* reply is a lie. He did not disclose the additional costs and intentionally mislead and over charged me.

When he came to the door he handed me the form and asked me to" initial the start time and the hourly rate, then sign below to authorize the work."

When he prepared the bill he added the gas surcharge AFTER I had initialed and the extra charges on back of form.

He is a LIAR and a crook and should be closed down.

Sincerely,

**** ******

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother is an 83 year old widow who live alone. She requested service for her already installed sprinkler system. ** ****** informed her that among other charges, she would need to pay $1,495.00 for a new controller. She does not have internet, and did not know that she needed to question the ethics of a local business man. Upon seeing this bill, I called Mr. ******* and he informed me "she signed the quote." No regard for ethics was evidenced. My brother then contacted him in writing after researching and finding his pricing to be $1300.00 over-priced. He requested that Mr. ******* surely made a mistake and would refund the money to Mrs. *******. He has not responded in over a month.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1300.00 for erroneous charges. BBB rating of problem business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ BBB Complaint No. ******** - ****** ******* I have attached (2) Agreements (July/15/2014 and 9/5/2014) for service. To whom it may concern: Ms. *. called my office and set up a service call for July 15, 2014 because she wanted her system turned on and checked out. Her controller was very old (approx. 30 years) and she had been having problems with it. I offered her the ESP Modular controller because it was very simple to program. I explained it was expensive because of the supply and demand for that unit. *********'s ESP Modular controller was the easiest controller on the market to program and very reliable, but ********* decided to discontinue this model. Its replacement is very difficult to program. I called ********* and told them that they were making a mistake. Because the ESP is such a perfect controller, I purchased all the remaining ones I could find all over the United States. I explained to Ms. * there were substantially cheaper models and/or refurbished ESP Modular controllers and gave her their prices. She chose the new, discontinued ESP Modular controller (which, of course, is not offered on the internet). I asked her to sign in the body of the Agreement that she understood and accepted the cost of $1495, before I installed it. Just for her sons information, I sold this same controller to other customers (all ages) for that same price. They, as Ms. *., are very fortunate to own them. Ms. * called again and set a service call for September 5, 2014. Her lawn was dying. She or someone had shut the controller off. I turned it back on and at her request; I reprogramed it from automatic to manual and gave her instructions on how to do it herself. She wanted to decide when to water her yard. Manual setting allows you to choose when to water. I hope her sons will now understand. Thank you, ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The ******** ESP Modular controller is still available and costs around $240.00. Again, it appears the intent was to deceive about really what the options were. Perhaps motivated to make an exorbitant profit or perhaps motivated by having made advance purchase of some older stock. Either way, she was still taken advantage of. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/02) */ 2nd Response and I will try to further explain. 1) I am sorry to say, but you are incorrect. The ******** ESP- Modular controller is not available. Any ******** distributor can confirm. 2) You can still get the manuals online, but not the unit. You may be confusing the replacement unit, ESP-ME, for the ESP-Modular . Unfortunately, all the ******** controllers now available are very difficult to program. Some are sold at home improvement retailers and some are sold professionally through distributors. I am called out on service calls because my customers can't figure out how to program them. I have sold many ESP-Modular unit to them because they are exceptionally easy to program and they have seen it first-hand. I am very upset at ******** for discontinuing this unit. It set them apart from other controllers on the market. As I mentioned previously, when I learned from our distributors that ******** discontinued this unit, I quickly purchased as many as I could find all over the United States. They were older stock, as you mentioned, and also are no longer manufactured. They are very valuable units. I placed an expensive price tag on them. It is up to my customers whether they want to purchase them or not. Many have and as a result, I have only (2) left. I have been doing this for 40 years and I am almost 70 years old. I am very knowable about all controllers available on the market. I am sorry to say, but you are incorrect. I did not take advantage of or deceive ****** I gave her options for substantially less expensive units, including refurbished ones and their functions along with the ESP-Modular unit, as I do with all of my customers. ****** was fully capable to decide which unit she wanted or she could have declined to purchase any. She chose the ESP Modular and approved the cost with her signature before I installed it. ****** has not contacted me about being upset. In fact, on the second service call to her property in September, I asked her if she was satisfied. She stated she was and wanted instruction to program her controller from automatic to manual. On the previously service call in July, I showed her how to program it for automatic watering. She decided she wanted to choose when to water. I gave her instructions. All she had to do when she wanted to water was to push one button. She was very happy. She called me again last month to winterize her system. I am sorry for the lengthy response, but you were not present and I am trying to fully explain what happened. I regret that you are upset and I hope you now further understand. I do my best to inform all my customers and I don't know what more I could have done. Thank you, ** *******

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shipped items I didn't want back to ** ******* that were never used. And he refused to give me a refund on them.Saying he had installed special nozzles in them,they are not special.They are reidly available and cheap.

Desired Settlement: He charge me 90.00 dollars a piece for five Hunter PGP rotary heads. I want a refund of 450.00 dollars. Bye the way,the same heads can be purchase Online for $7.49. His pricing for all of his materials and parts is ridiculous.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ October 4, 2014 Mr. ** did send the sprinkler heads to my office. I returned them to him. We do not accept returns on merchandise left on a job. His particular heads were loaded with a specific nozzle for the gallonage of his system. He knew the sale was final. Thank you, ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I in turn sent the heads back to him. They are now in his procession. Which means he now has the heads . Most businesses I know will offer a refund, with maybe a restocking fee. **** seems to be in his own world when it come to Customer relation and how to do business. In my opinion he doesn't deserve a A+ rating on the BBB site. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/11) */ October 10, 2014 My Second Response: I can only respond by saying I regret******* is upset. I could not have been clearer. It is our policy not to accept returns on merchandise once it is left on a job and******* understood that completely. I told him I would sell him the Hunter Gear Rotors and nozzles but he needed to make sure that is what he wanted. I could not offer a guarantee unless I installed them myself, (I certainly cannot offer a guarantee on returned merchandise). He said he understood and still wanted to purchase them. I had finished rebuilding his (5) valve center. He wanted me to install the Hunter Gear Rotors and changed his mind and wanted to do it himself. Since he is a licensed plumber, I am sure he had some idea on how to install piping. I did show him how to install the nozzles and the Rotors by installing one on his system at his request. He purchased 5 more to install himself. He asked me to load the nozzles for him and I did. They are a bit tricky to load. ******* understood the sale was final. I returned his Hunter Gear Rotors once and I will return them just one more time. Thank you, ** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Based on other peoples complaints and my complaint I'm assured that **** will continue to have more complaints from the BBS. He mention that I was a Retire Commercial Plumber,he was right. I appreciated his work, he is a good Mechanic.But his pricing of parts and materials is totally and without a doubt ridiculous. He said he was going to send the Hunter Heads back to me. Why you say. Because you know that he will just turn around and sell them again and make double if they stay in his possession. Guess what, I will send them back, I'm willing to take a lose, to make him look bad.

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ******* arrived at my house in the window of time he said he would. He inspected my outdoor controller and deemed that it needed to be replaced. He wanted to replace the old controller with a new ******** controller at a cost of $1445.00 and in addition, he wanted to place the controller in the garage for an estimated total cost of $1800.00. I told him that we would be moving in a few months and I was not interested in paying that amount. I just wanted the least expensive option. He did not offer any other options and so I said I was not interested. He went to his truck to fill out the invoice. About 5 minutes later I got a knock on the door that he had a used 2004 ******** controller that he would sell me for $795.00. Really, a 10 year old controller for for $795.00? The total estimated cost for this would be around $1200.00. I told him that the new 2014 ******** controllers were priced at $200.00 and I could not understand how he could sell a used 10 year old ******** controller for $795.00. Then he proceeded to tell me that I could not buy a ******** controller for that price and that if I tried to buy it from the ******** website that I would find out that I couldn't. I went to the ******** website, picked a controller for $195.00, and put it in my shopping cart and proceeded to the payment screen. I took a picture and sent it to him. I never got a response. I called ************************ and got a brand new ******** ESP-4 Me installed for a total of $372.40. Now where near what Mr ******* quoted me. This visit cost me $285. Here is the breakdown: $95.00 Sprinkler Service Call, $120.00 Working time charged (55 minutes), $35 Gas Surcharge, $35 Test Equipment Charge. Mrs ******* had me sign his sheet when he came in, but I didn't read the fine print. Shame on me. The Test Equipment charge was added after I signed. This fee seems ridiculous, since I paid $120 an hour for his time. Why wasn't testing the equipment not part of your time worked? This sounds like an over charge to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Test Equipment fee back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/01) */ June 30, 2014 As per ******* statement, "he inspected my outdoor controller and deemed that it needed to be replaced. " He is correct and how I deemed it needed to be replaced was with the use of my test equipment. I suppose I could have spent more time insolating that the problem was with the controller and not with the wiring elsewhere without the use of my test equipment and came to the same result. That process would have meant ***** would be paying my hourly rate for a longer period of time and ending up costing him more with the same result. My test equipment usage saves time and money for my customers. It is also plainly listed on my Work Orders. I ask my customer's to initial the box which I highlight in bright yellow adjacent to my charges to make sure they see them before any work is performed. I am very sorry ***** missed it. It is not an over charge. It is in the agreement we both signed before any work was performed. Regarding the controller cost. ********* discontinued making the ESP Modular unit last year. It was, in my option, the best controller ********* made. It was very simple to program, durable and out lasted most controllers on the market. When I discovered ********* discontinued this model, I purchased the last available models from all over the United States. I also informed ********* that I thought they were making a big mistake. Its replacement is extremely difficult to program. This is the controller I was offering *****. Yes it is expensive, and no, you cannot purchase it from *********. ********* makes numerous "after market" controller/timers which can be purchased at ***** and **** ***** and are difficult to program and are cheaper. They also make numerous professional controllers that are more expensive. The bottom line here is we are not talking apples for apples. I was not informed by ***** that he was selling his home and wanted the cheapest fix for his problem until the end. I always offer my customer the best equipment possible and the best solutions possible, i.e., locating the controller from the outside to the inside. As in this case, outdoor controllers do not have the longevity the indoor units have. I correctly diagnosed *****'s controller issue. My customers can choose to purchase from me or decide to purchase from someone else. Thank you, ** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm not sure what test equipment ***** used, but when I watched************************ test the equipment, he used a voltage tester and determined it was not an electrical issue in less than 5 minutes. It cost me an additional $35 for ***** to use his "test equipment". Yes, *****, you got me. I signed your form without ready the fine print. Shame on me. ************************ told me up front what the posible charges would be. I didn't have to ask. My fault. I called ******** customer service. All of their household ******** controllers can be purchased online. The only controllers they may not have online are some of thier professional grade controllers which are for golf courses, football fields, etc... I asked them about these "after market" controller you mentioned. He had no idea what you were talking about. ***** and **** ***** purchase the same controller that are availble on their website. They get a bigger discount because they buy in volume. I'm still not sure how you justify selling me a 10 year old used controller for $795 when you can get a new one for $200. *****, you did not offer me the best solution possible. You did not listen to your customer. Instead you only were interested in selling what you wanted. Your estimated total with labor was $1800.00. I got a brand new ******** ESP-4 Me outdoor controller installed for a total of $372.40 from************************s ............. and in less than an hour. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, I will accept responsibility for not reading the fine print of the contract and determining that in addition to the $95 Sprinkler Service Call fee and $120 Working Time charge (1 hour minimum) that there would be an $35 Gas Surcharge and a $35 dollar Test Equipment fee. One thing I do object to is the $35 dollar fee to test the equipment. As I stated before,************************s charged me a Service Call charge of $120, same as your Working Time charge, they tested the equipment, same as you, but************************s didn't charge me an extra $35 dollars for testing the equipment, the testing of the equipment was part of their Service Call charge. The second thing I object to is how you tried to sell me a used 2004 ******** controller for $795 (10 years old). That was just for the controller, that didn't include the labor cost. The 2014 models sell for $269 on the ******** web site. Also the $1445 quote you mentioned was just for the controller, you told me with labor it would be $1800. These prices seem way out of line, especially since I got a brand new ******** installed from************************s for $372.00 Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/07/23) */ I will, again, address *****'s objections 1) Objecting because another company didn't charge a test equipment fee is irrelevant. To further explain-every contractor sets their fees. There is not a universal list we adhere to or are required to adhere to. It's like everything we purchase and/or agree to purchase. It is very important to read what we are signing. It eliminates confusion. 2) Objecting to my bids to relocate and install a new or a used controller: ***** is arguing about bids I gave him and what was included. I gave him bids that included time and materials for relocating and installing a controller. It is written in the Repair Story section of our Agreement. "performed electrical diagnostic on controller. All voltage is normal @ secondary input. Display is blank. Conclusion - controller display is burned out. Suggested we install new or pre-owned ********* Controller. Customer declines both options due to cost. Suggested new unit be installed in garage, cost of new 2014 ********* controller - $1445. Cost or pre-owned 2004, 8 station -$ 795." I gave these bids which included time and materials. There is no mention of $1800. I submitted a copy of our Agreement to the BBB. I have relocated many outdoor controllers to inside garages. Outdoor units just don't last as long as indoor unites. I am not sure but it sounds like the other company did not relocate the controller. It is hard for me to understand why ***** has an objection because he declined. I regret ***** is upset. I don't know how I could have been more precise. I have been in this business 40 years. I have many satisfied and repeat customer. I have learned you cannot please everyone. Thank you, ** *******

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a broken pipe at a valve box which needed fixed. The issue/repair needed was described over the phone to ** and he went into how long he had been in business, he was the past chairman of *** sprinkler organization and how fortunate we were to have called him and he was located only a few miles from his home and shop. This issue could most likely be FIXED under two hours. He arrived and had my wife sign and initial a form which only stated a pre-printed Service Call Fee at $95.00. He had her initial his "Arrival Time". After approx 20 min of review - turning on the water, viewing the leak, walking to his truck and retrieving a super soaker with which he removed the water from the valve box he explained to my wife how bad the whole system was. He got on the phone to me and again advised about how bad the system was and that the repair would cost a minimum of $1500.00. He then went to his car to write up his "bill" and came back with the form that was initially signed and initialed by my wife showing his Service Call and Start Time but now it was filled in with all kinds of Extra Charges like: 1. Working Time at 120.00 p/hr Total $180.00 2. Tools, Pump (his super soaker), Towel Total $65.00 3. Gas Surcharge (for the 6 miles between his place and mine) Total: $45.00 Al Sievers Sprinkler Service filled in charges that WERE NOT agreed upon and is now sending Demand Letters for payment and seems incapable of understanding why we would have any issues with anything he has done. The repair was completed by another licensed sprinkler company in the two hour estimate that was originally expected

Desired Settlement: Charges were not agreed upon and paperwork was filled in fraudulently. Waive all funds deemed due.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/20) */ To Whom It May Concern: I am attaching a copy of the Complaint I filed In Clackamas Circuit Court, Case No. ******** and the Agreement. ** ***** also filed a complaint with the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board. It is my understanding the jurisdiction now lies with the Clackamas Circuit Court. Please let me know if I still need to submit a written response to the BBB especially if you are going to publish any part of ** ***** complaint. Thank you. Sincerely, ** ****** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The other items were NOT filled in. The business was told where the break was (previous to site visit and in person), was shown where to turn the water on to observe the break. The business did not "discover" the break. The business never offered to repair the pipe break alone but we were advised he would not touch it and we were given the estimate of $1500.00 minimum to repair. Trying to bill us $45.00 for a gas surcharge for a 6 mile trip and $65.00 for the use of a towel and a 1 ½ hour charge for "talking" about how horrible the system was (running up charges). Pretty slimy charges especially when no repair works performed. Pipe repaired by another "ethical" company $200.00 My complaint is valid as well as the 36 other complaints filed against this company mostly stating similar complaints as ours - deception. Business ethics of this company is in the cellar. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/11/06) */ November 6, 2013 Just as a very quick response to the last information reiterated by ****** The Pre-printed charges on the Agreement are not just the $95.00, Sprinkler Service Call. ******left out the Working Time charged @ $120.00 per hour (1 hr. min), and the Gas surcharge amount written in as 45.00. In this case, had the pipes not blown the total bill would have been: $260.00 which included discovering and correcting the problem with the system being dead. Because there was water flowing all over the place due to the pipes coming apart when the water was turned back on, did I continue (with *** * present every minute) to determine the cause. After digging and pumping I did discover the pipes blown apart (defective workmanship by others) which incurred more of my time and usage of the supplies and equipment. The $1500 estimated amount given was to rebuild the valve center, otherwise the pipe repair alone would have been under $200.00. ******stopped the repairs. Now the total bill is: $385.00. All charges were accepted by ***** with her signature at the bottom of the Agreement and also accepted by her initials. If she did not understand, she should have not agreed. I never sign or agree to anything without reading and understanding it. I have to assume my customer do the same. I HIGHLIGHT IN BRIGHT YELLOW. I handed her the clip board and said I needed her signature and initials in the highlighted areas. ****** could have taken as much time as she needed to read the agreement. She did so and handed the clipboard back to me. If she had any questions, I would have been happy to answer them. This is my offer: 1) Bill owing: $385.00 ( total owing after correcting my addition error) 2) Incurred expense of the Small Claims matter: $53.00 (filing fee) and $36.00 (Service Fee) 3) Total: $474.00 4) Minus $60.00 5) New Total: $414.00 (Net savings of $60.00). If acceptable I will dismiss the Small Claims action.

9/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an experience very similar to the one that I just read in the last customer complaint. When I scheduled service, I was informed of a $95 service call fee and a minimum of 1 hour labor charge at $120/hr. I consented to this verbally. ** ****** arrived at my property nearly one hour late, spent a lot time telling me stories and boasting of his expertise, looked at my sprinkler hardware and informed me that it was junk and tried hard to sell me four replacement valves at $900 each and a controller at $500 (not including labor). I have a functional sprinkler system that just needed a little fiddling to return to 100% function. Despite me telling him repeatedly that I am in process of selling this home and just needed basic function restored, he kept pushing the hard sell of these overpriced components and services. He never did hear or internalize my basic request. Upon completion of 1 hour of telling stories, pushing sales, and minor fiddling with parts, I was shocked when presented with a $345 invoice. On top of the $95 service fee and the $120 charge for 1 hour of labor, ** ******* added an $85 fuel surcharge, $35 for parts (which amounted to a few inches of wire and a couple of wire nuts), and $10 for Visa servicing fee to add insult to injury. I believe that ** ******* charges exorbitant fees for his services, is insensitive to their true needs, and doesn't fully disclose his pricing and billing policies up front.

Desired Settlement: Refund (or reduction to reasonable amounts) of the $85 fuel surcharge and the $35 parts fee. There's no way ** ******* could have actually spend $85 in fuel driving his truck from Oregon City and back, and the parts couldn't have amounted to $3, let alone $35. ** ******* deserves fair compensation for his work, but the $95 service call plus $120 of labor should be more than enough to cover the minimal work that he actually performed for me. His billing practices are deceptive and alienate customers rather than building loyalty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/23) */ To Whom It May Concern: The appointment for arrival to *** *'s property was set between 9:00 am to 11:00 am. I arrived at his property at 10:05 as initialed by him. As is my policy with all my customers upon arrival, I asked *** * to initial the Arrival Time, and the box incasing my charges: Sprinkler Service Call @ $95.00, Working time charged at $120.00 per hour (1 hr. min.), Parts supplies, test equipment, listed on the back of this form, Washington Sales Tax @ % (which did not apply in this case) and finally the Gas Surcharge $85.00 after which; we both signed at the bottom of the Agreement. Before I left the office that morning, I filled in the information after: Work To BE Performed. I am required by Oregon State Statutes to have an Agreement with all Oregon persons before any work is to be performed. I highlight areas for my customers to sign and initial. To say I don't fully disclose my pricing and billing is simply incorrect. I proceeded to check out his valves that would not close. From *** ** comments, I gather he did not like my conversation. Almost 100% of the time my customers are right with me while I am working. I can work and talk at the same time. I have 39 years of experience and tell my customers that to reassure them that they have hired a very knowledge contractor. I am sorry, if *** * was offended. I run across a lot of systems that were poorly installed and with after-marked parts. After-market parts work for a short time and begin to fail, usually within 2-4 years. I use commercial parts and in most cases they last 20+ years. I do up sell. I give my professional recommendations. What business person doesn't? I informed him that a very functional and properly installed sprinkler system is a valuable asset to any property; especially when trying to sell a home. He was not interested and that is fine. As an FYI, contractors set their own pricing. There is not a universal list we all adhere to. I have attached our Agreement. Thank you. Sincerely, ** ****** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/08/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no proposed resolution here. *********** consistently denies any fault on his part, as he did with the prior complainant who had very similar grievances. If I were running a business, I'd pay attention to my customers' experiences, and the feelings they come away with. Building a pool of dissatisfied customers is no way to run a business long term, and if I saw a pattern of dissatisfaction emerging, I'd go out of my way to fix it. *********** has exactly that - a pattern people who are surprised and shocked by charges and fees that exceed their expectations. ********** - instead of continuing your pattern of constant denials, try getting curious. Talk to your customers, find out why their expectations were not met, and work with them to improve the situation for the future. This is best for you and your business, and for keeping a happy customer base. I personally don't care anymore whether I ever get a penny back from you. What troubles me is your steadfast refusal to acknowledge the slightest problem may exist. Your customers deserve better. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/19) */ The charges including the gas surcharge is legibly and plainly printed on the work order. The wire charges are also printed on the back under Rain Bird sprinkler control cable. I am not sure what else I can do. The reason the contractors board requires us to have a written agreement is for the protection of the consumer. If they do not read what they are signing I am not sure what more can be done. If the charges were unacceptable ******should have declined my service before I performed the repairs. The $35.00 charge was for supplies and tools used, which is also listed under tool usage. I regret ****** is upset. I feel I go out of my way to inform. Thank you, **********

8/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** came to my house to repair a broken sprinkler. He double charged me to come to my house, $ 95 for a service call and $ 85 for gas. His bill is not itemized, he charged$ 112.75 for parts. His hourly charge was $120. It took three hours for him to repair a broken pipe. Total charge was $ 652.75 I called ** about the bill, complained about double charges and requested a new itemized bill , he told me that my husband signed it and he is not going to do anything about it. He also tried to sell a controller for $ 1200.00 which I can get for 342.00

Desired Settlement: I want him to send a new corrected bill. Taking off the $85.00 Gas, reduce the outrages hourly fee of $ 120 to maximum of $ 60.00 and I need to see each parts he replaced with prices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/16) */ BBB, I am submitting my response via a file and will use the browse button. Please let me know if you do not receive it. I have never used this before. Thank you, ** ******* July 16, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive, Ste 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Fax: 206-431-2277 Re: Response to Case # ********- *** ***** To Whom It May Concern: Enclosed are copies of Mr. *.'s documents. The copy I am sending is very hard to read because it is a carbon copy of the original. He has the original with exception of the Statement of Satisfaction and Job Completion Agreement. After we went over it, he signed, dated and timed it; I asked if he wanted a copy and he said no. All signatures and initials were affixed before any work was performed, with exception of the Statement of Satisfaction and Job Completion Agreement, of course. When Ms. *. called me, I explained that her husband had the breakdown of my charges on the original Agreement we both signed and he initialed. I always make sure my customers know my charges and accept them before any work is performed. My parts, supplies, test equipment charges are printed on the back of my Agreements. I have my customers initial a box accepting my charges and the starting time. We both sign at the bottom of the Agreement. I have been accused of going overboard, but it is my policy because I want satisfied customers. Ms. * stopped payment on the check Mr. * gave me. I hope after receipt of my response, and after she reviews the Agreements between Mr. * and me, she will reconsider and reissue one in the full amount. Thank you. Sincerely, ** ******* ***Supporting documents redacted by BBB*** Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We paid this bill against our better judgement but felt intimidated and coerced by his manner. Nice to you before work begins, then one problem follows another, and he is offering to fix things before they break or go out of production. Charges for gas, mileage, service call before he gets there. Might as well take over his truck payments too. I would not recommend him, he is cynical and a wolf in sheeps' clothing. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 13, 2013/08/05) */ I am very upset also. I don't understand why people order work to be done, agree to the conditions and then try to get out of paying for it. If I don't pay my bills I would have to go to court also. It is like buying a car, agreeing to all the conditions and after you have it call the dealer and say, I want the bill cut in half because you charged to much. Would they do that to keep satisfied customers. I don't think so. This is the position the *****s are placing me in. Thank you, ** *******

7/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr ******'s took advantage of us by not providing an itimized list for billing, and did not complete the full task for which he was asked to provide

Desired Settlement: He overcharged us for a sprinkler box and I would assume his hourly charges are greatly over estimated. I would ask that webe charged only for the cost of the sprinler box which is 200 at most.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/08) */ I had an appointment with Ms. * on 6/20/13. She was having problems with her controller. I removed the defective controller and installed a new controller ( I think she is referring to it as a sprinkler box). Before doing so I put language on the work order stating: "The undersigned customer was informed and accepted new controller part cost before installation." She initialed accepting. I always make sure my customers understand my charges and accept them before any work is performed. After I completed the installation,she paid me for the controller and my service call, hourly working time spent and gas surcharge. She asked me to return the next week to replace defective sprinkler heads and relocate heads to achieve better coverage. The next appointment was set for 6/25/13. On 6/22 she called and cancelled the appointment and said she would have her gardener do the work. I do not understand her statement that I did not complete the full task when she cancelled it. She called again on 6/24 to make sure the appointment was cancelled. Just as an FYI, a gardener can not work on an irrigation system unless he/she is licensed per Oregon State Statutes. There are expensive fines for doing so. Sincerely, ** *******

6/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ******* came to analyze the sprinkler system on my property for potential repair. He arrived at 10:20. He stopped work at approximately 11:30 when I told him we'd think about it. I asked him how much I owed him and he went to his vehicle to "calculate it". This took 15 minutes to do and he appeared to take a call while doing it. He then delivered the bill at it had him working for 1.5 hrs @ $120/hr (he didn't, 15 minutes was writing the bill), then he charged me for $35 in "tools, tarp and towels", which I was not told of beforehand and he charged me $75 for "gas surcharge", again of which I was not told about. With tax, I paid $417.34 for exactly one hour of work. On the phone I was told $95/hr minimum, $120/hr of work, which would be fine but the charges I received are not substantiated. I would agree to one hour of work ($120/hr) plus tax. My estimation is that this should have cost $130.08...NOT $417.34.

Desired Settlement: Charge a fair price and refund me for inappropriate charges like "tools tarp and towels" and $75 "gas surcharge"

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/10) */ I arrived at the **** property on April 26, 2013. Upon arrival: 1) I and Ms. * signed our Agreement at the bottom. Mr. * was not present. 2) She initialed: a. the starting time and; b. the box accepting my hourly rate at $120.00/hr., (one hour minimum),plus parts, supplies, test equipment listed on the back of this form, plus Washington tax rate at 8.4 % plus the $75.00 gas surcharge. 3) I previously filled in the description of the work to be performed (Spring Activation, Check out system, Repair as necessary) as per our conversation over phone when this date was scheduled in my office. All of the above was filled in and signed/initialed and agreed to before any work was performed. The Repair Story, and the total time spent with amount owed, the parts/supplies/equipment used (as is listed and priced on the back of the Agreement form)and amount owed, the amount due for Washington tax and the Total Amount due were filled out at the end of the job. The valve box I dug out had not been touched for years. I listed, in the REPAIR STORY, what I found to be malfunctioning and gave my professional recommendations. The **** did not know what was wrong with their system and after my service they have that information. I was stopped from preforming the repair due to the ** wanting to think about other options. (I can submit a copy of our Agreement to the BBB if the ** did not include theirs.) I regret that Mr. * is upset. I do my utmost to inform my customers what they will be charged and have them agree to it before I ever proceed. On the **** copy the areas for signature and initials is highlighted in bright yellow. I do this to draw their attention as to what they are agreeing to so there is no misunderstanding. Mr. **** desired resolution: a) "Charge a fair price" - My Charges have not changed for over 10 years and I charge commensurate to the level of my experience (39 years). I am licensed, bonded and insured to serve in the States of Washington and Oregon. b) "Refund for inappropriate charges like tools, tarp and towels and $75 gas surcharge" - they are not inappropriate charges as they were accepted by Ms. * in our Agreement. I honestly do not know what more I can do. Again, I regret that Mr. * is upset. I work very hard to have satisfied customers. After 39 years of service, I have learned you cannot please everyone. I upheld my part of our agreement. Sincerely, ** ******* Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Explanation is simple as "Charges are fair" doesn't work. He advertises a rate but does not advertise all the other work and more importantly (which he does not address) does NOT CHARGE SIMPLY FOR TIME THE WORK IS DONE. Instead, he charged me for the TWENTY minutes it took him to write up the bill (not repair work)and for all the time he spent standing in my driveway telling me about his 39 year in the business (which I did not ask for this story). In short, ******* runs up the bill by stalling, telling stories, taking twenty minutes to write a bill asking the customer to pay for all of that. His intentions are bad and misleading. Charge for work done and actual cost of suppliers and/or depreciated value incurred. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/05/28) */ 2nd RESPONSE I explained my charges under the agreement that Ms. * and I signed in my response and it seems the **** are not satisfied. I do not know what more I can do. I am submitting a copy of my copy of our agreement. It is a NCR copy, the ** have the original which is much more visible and is the one my customers see when they are agreeing to and accepting my charges. All pricing is printed on my agreements. I highlight in bright yellow to accentuate on the ** copy. I do not want unhappy customers, this is why I do my best to draw attention to what they are signing and accepting. This is the time to approve or reject my service. I am following these procedures at the advise of my attorney to make sure U an with in all legal guidelines and not doing anything inappropriate. It took approximately 5 minutes to prepare my recommendations under the Repair Story and add up the bill which I left with Ms. **** for her records. I am required to put everything in writing. In the process of evaluating their system, I just stated that I had 39 years of experience to reassure Ms. *. I do not understand why this would be objectionable. My customers usually give a positive response. Ms. * did not want to go ahead with the repairs I recommended due to cost. She paid me by check for the time spent evaluating and checking out their system and equipment/supplies used and I left. It did upset me to find the ** paid for Back Flow Test in February, 2013, stating that the Back Flow device passed. I believe the test was not performed. It would have been impossible due to the undisturbed layer of rotted leaves on top of the valve box. After I located and uncovered the lid, I found the valves submerged in mud. Back flow tests are required by the water companies to keep our drinking water safe. I am not happy the ** are upset. My goal is to have satisfied customers. I am honestly at a loss as to what more I could have done. If my service and/or pricing were objectionable to Ms. *, why didn't she decline and not contract for my service. Sincerely, ** ******* ***Supporting documents redacted by BBB***

9/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues