BBB Accredited Business since

Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc

Phone: (907) 345-3364 Fax: (907) 345-3362 775 E 100th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99515 http://www.sunshinegardenservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping & gardening services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jo Dagon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jo Dagon, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Lawn Maintenance


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sunshine Garden Service & Landscaping Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 775 E 100th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99515 (907) 345-3364

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Sunshine Landscaping to do $5,404 of backyard landscaping including laying new sod, planting tree/shrubs, etc in 7/13. They came with sod that had bare patches and dead spots which I had to ask them to swap out. They said it was the only sod left. Although the lawn is limping along, they said they also had found the 'last' Canada Red tree they could find which was separated from the others with a tree fungus on its trunk. We discussed this in subsequent emails over the following months and I watered them along with 2 Deutzia schrubs per their instruction. The Canada Red and 2 Deutzia shrubs in the backyard are all now dead. The lilacs are fine, but I'd like to request replacement or refund of the tree and the 2 shrubs to be replaced with lilac instead. I don't believe either I got healthy plants, or the soil depth with their lanscaping was appropriate to maintain these 3 items. The amount of the Canada Red and the 2 Deutzia is $619. I've emailed both *** and **** about this on quite a few occasions, the last of which went unanswered. Thanks.s

Desired Settlement: Refund or Replacement of 2 Deutzia and 1 Canada Red- total $619.

Business Response: To ****** *****

Please set up an appointment with ** our landscape designer, plant expert so she can meet with you to discuss your concern.  Lawns need lime fertilizer and water on a timely basis and they do very well...But it looks as if your Canada Red and two Deutzia shrubs did not survive.   Hopefully the plants are still there so our expert can verify your complaint.  All our plants are certified healthy when they are planted.   Lets meet at your home where the landscaping was done.  Late morning appointments are best.
 
**
Landscape Design

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Jo with Sunshine Landscaping and I spoke about 2 weeks ago but she said that she would need to address me when they were less busy with other customers in mid-July. I plan to follow up. She said there may be a drainage issue under the tree. Within 4 feet of the tree on either side, there are healthy shrubs, and 1 completely dead deutzia they planted which I also asked her to address in addition to the Canada Red. She said it was alive but not leafing. Regardless, it's an eye sore and has limped along and doesn't serve it intended purpose right now. Thanks.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

On July 22, 2015, we replaced what the consumer claimed to be an "unsightly" tree with an apple tree. We also replaced the dead shrub with a lilac. Both were healthy and the client was there to see the work done.

Jo

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please close out the above issue as satisfied with business response- you’d closed it out before I responded. Thanks.

Sincerely,

****** *****

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not given a quote for all the work. Had I been I believe I would have found another company or person-whatever. I was charged $555.00 for lawn mowing and weed pulling. Then the workers came back a week later to mow the lawn and I have no recollection of contacting them or agreeing to their weekly service. I have been charged $120.00 for this work that I did not contract for.

Desired Settlement: I want some kind of reduction in the charges. I have no idea what is the right thing to do. I do know I am in shock. I also know Sunshine Gardens has been in business and is well established. I believe, at this time, I would never, ever recommend the company, especially to a senior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/22) */ At Sunshine Garden Services and landscaping we have contracts for large landscape jobs and seasonal lawn and garden maintenance. Many of our clients call in for sporadic service and we do not do contracts with those clients. We have many happy responses for the work we do and the prices we charge. **** ******** ****** called us saying she had a lawn full of dandelions and asked if we would come out and cut the lawn and get all dandelions. We sent a man out and he did mow very long grass which takes much longer to do. This took over an hour and the charge was $60. *** ****** called us and said her garden needed weeding. She then called us again asking us to get out to her gardens and weed. In fact she called twice asking for the service. We put her on a schedule and sent our master gardener, Hanna out to do the job. *** ****** called again this time demanding we get rid of the dandelions in the lawn so we went out again. We had to cut the lawn again because it had grown quite some. We also asked her if she wanted weed and feed and she agreed so we did that application. we picked up bags of trash and re did the lawn again. This went on from June 6 to June 30. We did what we were told. We did not know she was a senior citizen and we will give her a good discount! We will contact her and let her know of a discount now that we know she is a senior. We are sorry this happened. ** ***** President