This business is not BBB accredited.

Jose's Landscape & Maintenance Inc

Phone: (425) 299-2654 Fax: (425) 489-8284 View Additional Phone Numbers 18004 22nd Dr SE, Bothell, WA 98012 http://www.joseslandscape.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping maintenance and construction.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Jose's Landscape & Maintenance Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Jose's Landscape & Maintenance Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jose's Landscape & Maintenance Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2003 Business started locally: 07/01/2003 Business incorporated 10/01/2010 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jose Salazar, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jose Salazar, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Gardeners Tree Service - Pruning Patio & Deck Builders Patio Builder Fence Contractors Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair Lawn & Tree Care Contractors - Retaining Wall Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance

Hours of Operation
Monday-Sunday
7:00am-7:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Jose's Landscape

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18004 22nd Dr SE

    Bothell, WA 98012 (425) 415-6154 (425) 299-2654

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company provided an estimate of $800.00 plus tax for landscaping services at my mother-in-law's house, which is owned by myself. My mother-in-law witnessed a crew of five work for 2 1/2 hours, not completing the services agreed upon. When she questioned the foreman, he claimed they did not have the proper tools to complete the job, collected his crew and left. My mother-in-law subsequently hired a different landscaper for $500 to complete the job. She then spoke to ****, the company owner, who insisted that she should pay $700 to him for the work completed. She maintained that the amount was too high, given that the job was never completed to her satisfaction, according to the estimate. He refused to reason with her and repeatedly threatened her with being sent to collections on the phone; she became uncomfortable with his temper and called me, and I then called ****. I agreed that he should be paid for the work that his crew did, but pointed out that the job was not completed. I asked him how many men had worked for how many hours during the job, as a way of trying to agree on a fair wage estimate. He then informed me that a crew of 4 had worked from 8AM until 4PM, with a crew of three filling in for a stretch from 10AM until noon; this was patently untrue, because my mother-in-law was home the entire time they were in her yard, which was approximately 2 1/2 hours, as mentioned. **** also informed me that he pays his workers "between $25 and $45 an hour." I told him that I felt he was not being truthful and again reiterated that I was happy to pay him something, but not the full amount, nor only a $100 discount, as the job was never completed and what was done was done poorly. He repeatedly threatened to send my mother-in-law to collection. I asked him if he would be willing to try and compromise, he refused and ended the call.

Desired Settlement: We would be happy to pay **** $450.00 - half the amount of money he originally negotiated for this job. Given that my mother-in-law had to pay an additional $500 to get the job completed, this seems more than fair to us. When this was suggested to him, however, he flatly refused to consider it.

9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: I'd like to file a complaint against ****'s ******** *********** at XXXXX XXnd *** *** ******** ** ************* Owned by **** *******, the services were for my home at XXXXX ** **** **** ********** *** XXXXX. Please advise me if this is not the email address I should be sending this to. After hiring ******* to basic lawn care at $100.00 month beginning in December 2008 (check ********** and *****/***), I also asked him to take on a deeper removal of logs/leaves from the backyard. Admittedly, I got behind in payments due to family deaths and honestly had not paid much attention to quality of the service. Then, I received an invoice for $519 for services through May 2, 2009. Upon inspection of the far corner of my yard in preparation for the sell of my home before my relocation to Florida in early 2010, I found that leaves/debris from his previous cleaning had been dumped in the far corner of my lawn which was not visible without close inspection. Upon raising this with *******, asking that the $519 charge be reduced to reflect my findings and advising him that I no longer wanted his services, he got very defensive, began threatening with debit collection immediately and left unwilling to acknowledge the unsatisfactory lawn service. I tried once more to contact him by phone before moving. On the phone, he again was unwilling to acknowledge the shortcut he and his workers had taken in the servicing of my yard. He simply said that he contact a collection agency. I let him know that I'd be willing to pay, if he reduced the amount to acknowledge the short-cuts taken. He was not willing. Interestly, when you do a search on his company, one of only three reviews given at approximately the same time I was getting service is very negative. In January 2010, I received my first debt collection notice, from ********** ************** **** of *** ***** ** ************** for a balance due to ****'s ********* ********* of $1,862.68. I called them to explain the situation and they actually hung up on me. In January 2014, I began receiving calls from a second debt collection organization, ****** *********** *********** on behalf of ****'s ******** ********* for $4,763.08. In fact, I just called this company today, to again explain that the original bill in question was $519 and that I was taking actions to report both ****'s ********* ********* and well as their company for the harrassing calls, they hung up on me. Yes, it has taken me a while to get to this one. But I will try my best to resolve this. *******'s unwilling to acknowledge his poor service standards and his subsequent attempt to collect almost $5,000 through a collection agency captures his lack of work ethics. I will continue to say I'm willing to work through a reasonable payment for his services that take in to account his poor standards. Because of the poor services, I had to hire someone to remove the leaves/debris left by him for $175 prior to placing my home on the market. That said, he will receive nothing from me until he addresses the unprecedented false representation of the situation resulting in unscrupulous debt collectors calling me on an absurb amount that doesn't even reflect the original invoice in question. Again, from $519 to $4,763.08 all of which are currently on my credit reports. Thank you, **** ******* **** ********* **** ***** ***** ****** ** XXXXX ************

Desired Settlement: Reduced invoice to reflect service issues; termination of debt collectors with written proof that they have dropped the collection of amounts reflected on credit reports; notification to all three credit bureaus of incorrect action.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Jose's Landscape & Maintenance Inc. on June 22nd of 2013 and paid them $ 800 dollars by cheque in exchange *** **** *** ******* presented as the owner offered to remove the moss which was already dead with chemicals applied by me and my wife, re-seed, kill weeds and in 2 months it will look same or better than my neighbor's yard. After 2 months and 20 days has passed by my yard is with 40 % of grass only and many holes on it. I had called them several time and they re-seed it once without success. I had called **** yesterday and he came with some excuses like you are not putting enough water which is not true since we had expended $ 330.00 a month for the last 2 months and the soil is always wet more over the "holes" part of the yard without grass are all over the yard and like pockets. Also he tried to sell me more work on my yard which I rejected. Today finally he ironically answered the phone with a cynic attitude he responded that he is not going to finish the work.

Desired Settlement: REFUND FROM JOSE'S LANDSCAPE & MAINTENANCE BY CASH OR CHEQUE THE TOTAL OF $ 1,460.00 . FOR THE FOLLOWING: $ 800.00 PAID FOR THE IMPROPER WORK DONE + $ 660.00 PAID ON WASTED WATER.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/23) */ First of all thanks to BBB for contacting Jose's Landscape & Maintenance. A tentative and verbal arrangement has been reached at this moment with Jose's Landscape & Maintenance Inc. He has made a commitment that my yard will be fixed on 15th of October. If for any reason agreement is not fulfilled by Jose's Landscape & Maintenace I will submit a new complaint to BBB not later than November. I would like BBB to close this case and thanks once again. Regards. **** ** *******