BBB Accredited Business since

Pius Kitchen & Bath

Phone: (206) 382-6638 Fax: (206) 382-8438 View Additional Phone Numbers 2462 1st Ave S, Seattle, WA 98134 http://www.piuskb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers kitchen and bath design services as well as granite, cabinets and sink products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pius Kitchen & Bath meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pius Kitchen & Bath include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pius Kitchen & Bath
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2007 Business started: 11/01/2006 Business started locally: 11/01/2006 Business incorporated: 11/22/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Miao Ming Ma, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Miao Ming Ma, President
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Granite Cabinets


Additional Locations

  • 2462 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98134 (206) 382-6638 (425) 999-6305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested a final invoice several times without response from the company. Also, when the sink was installed they didn't caulk it. The owner said he would get back to me about this and didn't. Communication on their part was very poor. I have tried to contact this company many times by phone and email through both owner and business contact numbers without response. Please send me a receipt reflecting the final payments made of 1994.77 and 413.91 to****

Desired Settlement: I would like a detailed receipt sent to me. I had to pay plumber $150.00 to caulk sink. I would like this credited to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/09/18) */ We apologize for the late response. We thought we had someone take care of it, but this apparently fell through the cracks. At Pius we believe in providing our customers with the best products and service; however there has seemed to be some miscommunication between us and *** *******. We believe we have already sent the customer a detailed receipt and had given an original receipt to her when she purchased the order from our store. We too would like a detailed receipt of the plumbing job from *** *******. We want to know what kind of plumber would charge $150 to caulk a sink; we suspect that the $150 is inclusive of hook-up service from the drain to the pipes, which is a service that Pius is not licensed to do. On the invoice, it clearly states Pius will not do plumbing. However, if the plumber did indeed charge $150 to just caulk a sink, we believe that $150 is a ridiculous sum of money to perform a service that would take no less than 5 minutes and some $5 caulk to do. Furthermore, looking at this from a legal standpoint, Pius is not obligated under the contract to caulk the sink. In fact, some of our customers wish us to refrain from using caulk as they would like to chose their own color of caulking. However, usually the customer checks off on the job before the installers leave and write them a check, indicating satisfaction and the fulfillment of our contracted obligations. *** ******* should have noted she wanted the caulking done on the sink, which the contractor would happily oblige and complete in less than 5 minutes. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2013/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company lacks integrity and I believe it is reflected in the demeaning remarks about "holding my hand through the remodel." Personal insults do not resolve the issue that they sold, installed and lied about my sink being caulked. If cabinet and granite guys sell and install sinks, I would expect them to be installed correctly. Their bird walks about a house that "had settled and thus her floor and walls were uneven." has nothing to do with caulking a kitchen sink. Yes, their measurements were off and many other aspects of their work were unsatisfactory. The Lazy ***** didn't fit, the refrigerator didn't fit. They left one of their huge cabinets in my front yard for days before hauling it away. They cut granite slabs in my yard (leaving granite dust on my vegetable garden), used my outside water to cut the granite, and disturbed my neighbors late into the evening by using their granite saw. And, yes, they neglected to inform me prior to these intended procedures as well. They left bowed gaps between granite and walls. Used cracked granite slabs for my countertops and didn't seal the granite countertops. However, my complaint is about the sink not being caulked. I had granite installers come out and look at their work several days after the work was completed. They confirmed by doubts about Pius. They did, however, let me know that the sink looked like it was installed correctly. That I am thankful for. I realize that Pius isn't licensed to do any plumbing or electrical, and I did not expect them to perform these duties. I did expect them to be truthful and I did expect and would continue to expect anyone who installs a sink to caulk it properly. Not knowing that the sink wasn't caulked properly could have led to damage to the work I'd recently paid for, mold (I have asthma) and future unnecessary expense. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/10/25) */ Attached is the customer's invoice. We have sent her this invoice many times and will not send it again. In the invoice, it clearly does not implicate Pius to have the duty to caulk the sink as it is not a line item or implied. As for the $150 issue, that is a logically faulty analogy. That is if I said I paid painters who finished painting an entire home but there was additional touch-up needed later and then I proceeded to hire a general contractor at $150/hr and in two hour he did electrical, plumbing but also helped touch up the paint; I would never proceed to backcharge the original painters with a bill of $300. As for the three professional opinions, it is another logically fallacy to assume that opinion equates to fact. They have not experienced first-hand the degree to which *** *******'s site conditions unfortunately left the Honestly, it is unfortunate *** ******* did not hire a general contractor, who would have been more apt to inform her on all the costs and details that go into a remodel. We are just the cabinet and granite installer. We do not have a license to do any plumbing or electrical, nor should be expected to perform these duties. If *** ******* had hired a general contractor who would have held her hand through this process from the beginning, he or she would have explained in perhaps fuller detail over several billable hours that *** *******'s house had settled and thus her floor and walls were uneven and this information would not have been discover-able until after the demolition occurred. When **** went to measure,there was no way he could have predicted this without pulling out the cabinets. Construction is always subject to site conditions and unfortunately there is always asymmetrical information as one learns more about the said job site. We sincerely apologize to *** ******* for being unable to guide her emotionally through the often unpredictable construction process, but we performed every line item we were obligated to do under the attached invoice and had *** ******* sign waivers acknowledging the possibility of change due to site conditions. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service