This Business is not BBB accredited

Fire Mountain Gems & Beads Inc

Phone: (800) 355-2137 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Fire Mountain Way, Grants Pass, OR 97526 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.firemountaingems.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fire Mountain Gems & Beads Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fire Mountain Gems & Beads Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stuart Freedman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stuart Freedman, President
Business Category

Jewelers - Wholesale Beads Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Fire Mountain Way

    Grants Pass, OR 97526 (800) 355-2137 (541) 956-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased beads, many of which were not usable. Rec'd return approval LTKXXXXXXXXXXXXX authorizing return and promising refund for each 1/2 lb returned. Returned 3 lbs, 8 oz. of beads (in two bags, some blue and some green), with all paperwork and reference numbers on 5/13. As many as I could fit in a **** small priority mail box. Have usps receipt documenting pkg weighing 3 lb 10 oz. Just rec'd cc statement with only $3.68 refund (= one half lb pkg) when $25.76 ($3.68 x 7) was anticipated. Called and spoke to ******* who advised I should take off time from work on Monday and call back to talk to returns dept. Daughter previously spoke with ******* on 5/21 to confirm receipt and she was told that only $19 would be refunded for some reason. Why would I pkg up, take the time to go to USPS, for $3.68? In good faith, I believed in the policy and email from ****** advising of a full refund. How can I send you usps receipt illustrating weight of pkg?

Desired Settlement: A refund to my credit card for $25.76-3.68 = $22.08 Thank you for your assistance

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/06/30) */ I rec'd credit card statement and see that a credit has been rec'd. I consider cased closed. Thank you.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had placed an order from this company. They provided tracking information and it shows it has been delivered to the wrong address. I was told I would receive a refund and now they are refusing to refund me. They are scamming me out of my money. They charged me for items and NEVER sent them to me. They are committing fraud and doing something illegal. You CAN NOT take money and not send the goods to customers.

Desired Settlement: I need a FULL refund for my order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/09) */ Fire Mountain Gems and Beads, Inc. is a customer friendly company dedicated to providing our customers with the best shopping experience possible. We always strive to quickly resolve any issue of concern our customers might bring to our attention. Our customer satisfaction record speaks for itself. Our return policy is unconditional - any customer can return any unaltered product, for any reason and we will make it right. Here is the URL link to our online return policy: http://www.firemountaingems.com/customerservice/csdocs.asp?docid=CSTMRSRVCSFTYND&WT.ac=LSIRONCLAD This customer's claim and demand has caused us to initiate a comprehensive internal review regarding their assertion of non-delivery of the shipped package. We have contacted the U.S. Postal Service (****) and we are currently working with Postal Service inspectors to determine the facts relating to the delivery of the Priority Mail package, which this customer says was delivered to the wrong address. Once we have the **** report regarding the delivery facts, we will determine what course our actions will take. We will update the BBB with our findings and determinations at that time. We believe the matter will take up to 10 days before our next update. Thank-you.

8/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One month ago, in June 2013, I received a catalog from this company that writes, Jewelry Maker's Comprehensive Catalog 2012-2013. I wanted to place a large order and every time I mentioned an item I was told the prices were higher than the catalog states. In some cases 50% higher or more. When I was shocked I was told that the catalog I received a month ago is supposedly for "reference" only and that the prices are never correct. That they change daily. Then I was informed that in page seven hundred and something they have a disclaimer about the prices and I should have seen that and understood this. I was informed that when I was mailed the catalog all prices were incorrect. All I wanted was to be able to place an order based on the prices they advertised. I was told over and over that the prices are only there for reference. But that is absurd. How can I reference prices that are inaccurate? If they fluctuate daily, then they need to print that. But instead they came up with a number. A number that apparently means nothing. They also claim "Lowest prices anywhere"! When I asked about that and if they meant it, I was told that "some people think their prices are low." I asked again, and was told that they "should" have "competitive" prices. They repeatedly used terms that are designed to be fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: I want them to abide by the prices they advertised. Nothing more. I also want them to have to stop sending out catalogs with false prices to people. That isn't right. They knew the day they mailed this catalog to me that the prices were off by a huge amount and still they sent it to me. That is wrong and they should not be allowed to do that.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/02) */ Fire Mountain Gems and Beads catalogs state within the "Ordering and Other Information" page under Pricing Note: Due to the constant changes in the world market and fluctuating prices on base metals, precious metals, oil, labor and foreign currency, the prices in this catalog are for reference only and are subject to change without prior notice. The most current pricing will always be found online at www.firemountaingems.com. When a customer contacts us by phone requesting a catalog we inform them that it is for reference only, as this is part of our standard scripting. Our catalogs have a two year life span and when the markets fluctuate downward we extend lower prices as well. *** ***** has placed two orders with us both on the same day, 6/1/13. The first order was in the warehouse and she called requesting that we add to the order, which we are not able to do once an order is in that status. We extended the courtesy of applying the same quantity discounts based on the first order and waived the standard shipping fee for a second order. We make every attempt to resolve our customer's situations to their complete satisfaction. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is not true. As far as "adjusting" the pricing...nope. I didn't not get the prices that were listed in the catalog I was sent. I had to pay 50% or higher on the items I ordered. I got the regular prices that were listed at the time on the website. They didn't do anything special for me. Regarding the implication that they "gave me" free shipping on an item, that is also not true. I ordered 150 items and then added one an hour later. Instead of deleting the entire order and redoing it to add the new item, they just decided to send the additional item with free shipping. That was to make their life easier. They didn't offer me free shipping at all. I still paid for shipping the order. It was just a clerical choice to decide to give free shipping on one additional item instead of removing the entire order and retyping the whole thing in. They didn't give me anything that I wasn't entitled to anyway. I had the right to cancel the order which I could have done....then reordered everything with the additional item....and I still would have paid for one shipping cost. Which is what I ended up doing. As far as letting "We do inform our customers verbally as well when they call requesting catalogs We make every effort to alert our customers to pricing fluctuations." That doesn't pertain to me as I did not request this catalog, they sent it to me without my asking. It would have been so easy to write on the front of the catalog that the prices had changed, yet they did not. Nor did they include a separate piece of paper alerting me to that fact. No, they just sent me a huge catalog that had false information. Buried deep within the bowels of the document it says in tiny print that prices are subject to change, but that is too little too late. That is not giving a person information, that is hiding information and burying it so they don't notice. I didn't think that was legal. Regarding their claim that "We do state on all pages within our catalog that have precious metals products "Precious metal prices fluctuate with precious metals market, please see the back of the order form for more information"." That does not address the fact that pricing on crystal beads is incorrect. The pages that sell the clay and crystal beads DO NOT SAY that the pricing fluctuates. They don't say anything at all except the price of the beads on the page.....a price that is false. Plus, the very fact that they do say that precious metals prices fluctuates and to check pricing on those items IMPLIES that the prices on other non-precious metals items does NOT fluctuate. Further leading to confusion. I STILL don't know what they are talking about when they say that the prices are for reference only. Again....what good is a reference to false information? I thought that companies were supposed to advertise truthfully and not pull a bait and switch at the last minute? If you have to change your prices on a regular basis, then don't put prices in the catalog. Leave them out and send people to the web page or call for current pricing. But it isn't fair to send them a huge catalog with prices that are all false. The issue I have is one of fairness. I want them to be fair to the people they send a catalog to, and sending them a catalog with false pricing information isn't fair. At the very least, they need to say on EVERY page that prices change daily and the prices were only correct at the time of printing, but that current prices are available by phone or on the internet. I don't see why they need to fight about this issue. Just change your catalogs. It can't be good to upset your customers on a regular basis. It would be better for them as well to do the right thing. If they were going to do the right thing by me....they could go look at my orders and give me the prices that were listed in the catalog they sent me. But clearly they aren't going to do that. They are going to lie and say they did adjust prices, which they didn't. But, I didn't have to order things after I learned of the higher prices. I guess they have the legal right to trick me as they did. I don't think they have the legal right to continue to put send out false catalogs. If the BBB won't stop them from doing that, who will? Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/08/19) */ We do state on all pages within our catalog that have precious metals products "Precious metal prices fluctuate with precious metals market, please see the back of the order form for more information". On every order form we state that the catalog pricing is for reference only as our catalogs have at least a two year life span. We do inform our customers verbally as well when they call requesting catalogs We make every effort to alert our customers to pricing fluctuations. Catalog planning and production is done well in advance of printing the catalog and prices can change from being higher and lower after the catalog is mailed. This is due to a variety of reasons including international vendors and the cost associated with the production and shipping of items. We have made every effort to resolve any issues ** ***** has had with her ordering process and extended free shipping on one of her orders as well as adjusting pricing.

10/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues