BBB Accredited Business since

Ben Bridge Jeweler

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 448-8800 View Additional Phone Numbers 2901 3rd Ave STE 200, Seattle, WA 98121 http://www.benbridge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fine jewelry sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ben Bridge Jeweler meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ben Bridge Jeweler include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ben Bridge Jeweler
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1912 Business started locally: 01/01/1912
Business Management
Mrs. Cathy Hall, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cathy Hall, Vice President
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Appraisal - Management Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 10315 Silverdale Way NW

    Silverdale, WA 98383 (360) 698-3055

  • 122 E Bellis Fair Pkwy

    Bellingham, WA 98226 (360) 671-6070

  • 1402 SE Everett Mall Way STE 109

    Everett, WA 98208 (425) 355-6777

  • 143 Bellevue Sq

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 454-9227

  • 1432 4th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 628-6800

  • 2901 3rd Ave STE 200

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 448-8800

  • 3000 184th St SW STE 320

    Lynnwood, WA 98037 (425) 771-7227

  • 314 Capitol Way N

    Olympia, WA 98501

  • 401 NE Northgate Way Spc 880

    Seattle, WA 98125 (206) 363-7227

  • 4502 S Steele St STE 1119

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 473-1227

  • 516 Southcenter Mall

    Tukwila, WA 98188

  • 625 Black Lake Blvd SW STE 314

    Olympia, WA 98502 (360) 754-8033

  • 81 Southcenter Mall

    Tukwila, WA 98188 (206) 246-6227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently pulled a credit report and saw that I had a charge off for Ben Bridge Jewelers. This should not even be showing up as one of the conditions of me paying off the balance was that they have each of the bureaus delete this account completely. My credit is still being negatively affected by this account.

Desired Settlement: Ben Bridge should have each bureau delete this account completely.

Business Response: We received your letter regarding **** ********** charge account with us. The
customer's credit account was turned over to a 3'd party collection agency in October of
2008. We subsequently wrote off the account at the end of that year.
The outstanding balance was collected by the 3'd party agency in April of 2010.
We then submitted an update to each of the credit reporting agencies to report the
customer's account as a paid profit and loss write off.
The account was reported in the manner it was paid. There was no agreement
made by Ben Bridge Jeweler to report the account any way other than how it was paid.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

Good morning.  My apologies for misunderstanding the situation.  Would you please be willing to contact the bureaus and have them delete the account all together?  There is nothing more I can do to alleviate the account.  This is the only negative information left on my credit and it is bringing my score down significantly.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response:

As a follow up to my letter dated March 16, 2015 and Mr. ********** subsequent
request that we delete his account from the credit bureaus, please be advised that we
are required by law to wait seven years after the last account activity before anything
can be deleted. The last activity on this account was April 2010, so the account cannot
be deleted for another two years.
In an effort to do all we can for our customer, we have contacted the credit
bureaus and removed the rating on the account. The account will still show on the
credit reports, but offers no information beyond the high balance and the current
balance of $0. We hope this action is helpful to Mr. ********.

Best regards, ****** *******,
Executive Assistant to Ed Bridge, President
Ben Bridge Jeweler, Inc.

3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Chinese resident and live in China. I visited USA in 2012 and bought a diamond ring as the wedding ring in Ben Bridge to my wife on Oct 3rd 2012. That Ben Bridge shop was located in ******* **** **** in Las Vegas. This ring costed USD 2,210.00. My wife supposed to wear this ring for a life time. However, this ring was broken on April 30th 2014 without any impact. That day I saw my wife wear the ring without diamond, my wife was shocked as she didn't notice it. Then we spent a long time to look for the lost diamond, finally we found it in a rubbish *** after a long dirty search! I contacted Ben Bridge for this issue. They asked me to look for a shop to repair it and they can just pay UP TO $130 for the repair fee. I didn't agree with it and I was very doubt of the quality of this ring they sold to me. I've never heard a diamond ring was broken automaticly within 19 months. I asked Ben Bridge to refund me the cost of this ring and wanted to negotiate with them. But they dissappeared. Product_Or_Service: diamond ring

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to Ben Bridge refund me the total cost of the diamond ring which is USD 2,210.00. I can post back the diamond ring parts to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 20, 2014/08/05) */ We are very sorry to hear the diamond fell out of his wife's wedding ring and that they had to dig through the trash to recover it. That's terrible! We understand how important this piece of jewelry is and how upsetting it is that something happen to it. Daily wear can be hard on a piece of jewelry, especially when worn on the hand. Although jewelry is made of metal, it is not indestructible. Prongs can wear away over time or even bend in some cases. Sometimes the wear can happen gradually, making it difficult to notice. At Ben Bridge we stand behind our product. We guarantee the jewelry we sell for one year. Beyond that, we have a complimentary inspection program where we clean and examine the jewelry for any damage at six month intervals. If any damage is discovered, repairs are done at the customer's expense. If the check-ups are performed consistently every six months, and a diamond is lost, Ben Bridge will replace it. We realize that *** ***, living in China, is unable to participate in our inspection program. Luckily, due to his diligence, the diamond was recovered. To make things right, we offered to reimburse him (up to $130 USD) to have the ring repaired locally, even though this goes beyond our normal policy of the one year guarantee. We feel this is an appropriate solution, given the circumstances. Best regards, ****** ******* Executive Assistant to the President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 22, 2014/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All excuses! A diamond ring broken in such a short time, it's not a desk, not a chair, it's a diamond ring! Ben Bridge cheated! I'll never accept the repair fee what they said! Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2014/08/28) */ In response to your letter dated August 18th, 2014, our initial offer to reimburse *** *** up to $130 USD, to cover repair charges to his wife's ring still stands. If he wishes to take advantage of this arrangement, the offer will be valid until September 30th, 2014. This is all we are able to do for him Sincerely, ****** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2014/08/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I said already I will never accept the repair solution. Ben ****** can keep continue cheating consumers. If they do business like this, I believe they will lose all the business. For me it's just a lesson but I will try my best to let more people know the truth, especially Chinese visitors like me.

8/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False credit report to credit agencies.

Desired Settlement: None- Contacted Ben bridge to resolve the charge issues they had reported but nothing has been done. Will be contacting an attorney.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/08/14) */ We received your notice regarding **** ******* complaint. His concern regarding erroneous reporting to the credit bureaus has been addressed. Our credit manager has taken the necessary steps to correct the information that was sent to the bureaus. She also corrected *** ******'s records with regard to his Ben Bridge account. This error occurred due to a timing issue and we regret any trouble this may have caused *** ******. Best regards, ****** *******

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ben Bridge refused to provide the free battery replacement which they agreed to when I purchased a watch from them. Product_Or_Service: Watch Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Ben Bridge to pay for my watch battery replacement as well as my expenses for traveling to thier San Diego store. Ben Bridge closed my local store. I made arrangements to have the service done at the San Diego store which they refused to complete. 15 Watch Battery30 each way for fuel75

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2014/07/03) */ In response to your letter dated June 27th 2014, we wish to inform you that *** ******* spoke directly with *** ****** on 6/3/14, at which time they discussed the issue of *** *******'s watch battery. During this conversation it was agreed that Ben Bridge Jeweler would either pay for a 3rd party to replace the watch batter at the customers convenience or an appointment could be made with a Ben Bridge watchmaker in any one of our many Southern California Stores. To date, we have not received a receipt for the battery replacement.

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an engagement ring in December of 2012. After the forfeit of the engagement, I went to numerous stores to have the ring appraised/ sold. The ring which I am currently still being forced to make payments on cost $ 5,110. 16. However, when I went to sell the ring, the highestappraisal I was given was for $ 250. I was shown under a blue light the diamonds were bad diamonds and the ring was comprised of material that is of poor quality.Therefore , I was sold a defectivering. I have not been offered a refund for this error and was told I still must pay off the remaining balance, unless I choose to withhold payment which would affect my credit negatively. Product_Or_Service: Engagement Ring Order_Number: XXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund for the ring's value. Ben Bridge declared that amount for $ 4,699.00 (excludes sales tax ). Due to being sold a defective ring, I do not want to exchange for another piece of merchandise and discover the exchanged item is defective as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 20, 2014/06/19) */ After *** ******'s complaint was filed, he visited our store in Hillsdale, CA where he returned the ring in question in exchange for a different style and also purchased items. *** ****** and his companion left the store satisfied with their new purchases, as verified by the store manager. We are pleased that this issie has been resolved to the satisfaction of all parties involved.

4/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally went in the week before Christmas 2013 for a simple watch repair. My watch is a Victorinox model XXXXXX which the number six had fallen off the face. I am very fond of this watch and it was still mechanically sound and accurate, so I brought it in to get the number reattached. The staff was pleasant and they gave me a good price for the repair. A month or so later I picked up my watch and was happy as a clam, but over the next couple days I noticed that the watch would stop randomly and was not functioning the way it used to. I brought it back under their stated guarantee that was on the receipt. At first the man tried to turn me away saying "This is for a quartz watch" since the receipt said "battery change" under charges. Luckily the model and serial numbers confirmed my assertion, and so they agreed to fix whatever happened to my watch while they had it. Two months later I get a call saying that my watch is repaired and ready for pickup again. When I arrived to pick it up on March 19th, they tried to charge me $200+ dollars for the repairs. When I said that I was not paying, this was warranty work, the manager, (****** I believe) said "there is no warranty". I reminded them of their service guarantee which I pointed out, printed on the receipt. After time spent arguing with the manager and reminding him of their responsibilities and making the case that I'm not going to pay them to fix something they broke, (i.e. I gave you a functioning watch, and received back a NON-functioning watch) he finally relented, gave me my watch back, but told me that if I return with the watch again, it wouldn't be free, and that "we'll get you". Get me? Really? I'm not a conman, this isn't a game, and I don't appreciate being insulted. I asked him, "what if it breaks tomorrow or a week from now?" He said "It won't, but if it does, we'll charge you." My watch stopped ticking 12 days later, eternally frozen at 6:35am March 31. Now I have a broken watch, and *** ****** refuses stand by their work. Product_Or_Service: Watch repair on Victorinox watch

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I'd like an apology for being treated like some sort of criminal just for holding them to their guarantee. I'd like my watch either repaired for good, OR reimburse me half the msrp of my watch. I'm only asking for half because it is a used watch after all, and I don't want to be unreasonable. Honestly I'd prefer the repair. This watch was a fathers day gift from my wife and holds a lot of sentimental value for me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 10, 2014/04/16) */ We're very sorry to hear that *** ******* is upset with us and offer him our sincere apologies. I've looked into what occurred and we will be happy to repair his watch at no charge. If *** ******* will bring the watch to our store (if he doesn't wish to return to our Galleria at Sunset store, we have another store in Las Vegas in the Fashion Show Matt), we will be happy to have a watchmaker examine it and take it in for any repairs that are necessary. At Ben Bridge Jeweler we stand completely behind all our watch repairs and look forward to making this right. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I went to the fashion show mall and *** was very courteous and helpful. They didn't have a watchmaker on site, but she shipped it to another location so that it would be taken care of. I look forward to receiving my watch back repaired when the time comes.

4/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 identical rings for my partner and myself June of 2012. we paid about $1999 per ring. I recently lost one of the rings and your associate in Anchorage store made a deal with my insurance company that you would replace my ring for $1,700. This makes it feel like we got taken when I purchased the rings originally by $598.

Desired Settlement: We feel like they took advantage of us by $598.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/04/10) */ We received your letter regarding the complaint referenced above. We're very sorry that *** ******** feels he was taken advantage of. Had *** ******** contacted us and inquired about the special price given to his insurance company, we would have explained to him that since we do a great quantity of business with insurance companies, these companies have negotiated discounted pricing on replacement items for their policy holders. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Even though you do business with insurance companies, you should be able to give your customers the same courtesy pricing. We have been taken advantage of by *** ******. It is not acceptable for you to only give special pricing to only certain people or business. I would consider this being racial profiling. My partner and I have purchased now our second set of wedding rings from *** Bridge. Bed Bridge should pay us for the difference for both rings. You are honestly taking advantage of the average american with your special pricing for only certain people or businesses.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service