BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (907) 745-3211 Fax: (907) 861-1058 1740 S Chugach St, Palmer, AK 99645 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers local, long distance, wireless products and services; high speed and wireless internet; digital television; and directory services.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from MTA

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MTA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MTA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MTA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 2004 Business started: 05/01/1953 in AK Business started locally: 05/01/1953 Business incorporated 06/18/2003 in AK
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Burke, CEO Mr. Michael Burke, CEO Mrs. Tracy Ressler, Executive Assistant Ms. Shawn Osborne, Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Burke, CEO
Principal: Mr. Michael Burke, CEO
Principal: Mrs. Tracy Ressler, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Internet Services Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Advertising - Directory & Guide Telecommunications Equipment - Disability Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS: 238210)

Alternate Business Names
Matanuska Telephone Association Inc Matanuska Telephone Association Inc MTA Communications MTA Inc MTA Solutions MTA Vision Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1740 S Chugach St

    Palmer, AK 99645 (907) 745-3211


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have purchased 2 Avaya phone systems from MTA, one for our offices in Anchorage and the other for our hotel out in Bethel. The cordless phone that came with the Bethel system has never worked and numerous calls were made to MTA to notify them of the problem and after a few months they said we would have to send the phone into them and then didn't hear back from them AT ALL. When we reached out to them months later to inquire they sent me a quote for $282.00 to replace the phone we spent $501.86 on originally. The other issue is with our Anchorage location. In early ***** 2015 our company server crashed and we had to purchase a new one. The IT company we use reached out to MTA to get the password to the voice mail server they installed with our new Avaya phone system and MTA would not give them the information. Our IT people then called me saying they were unable to complete the installation because they needed this password. The password that I was given on installation does not work. I was informed by our sales rep **** that he would schedule a tech to come out here to get me the password and I would have to pay for a service call. I do not believe that I should have to pay for a service call when they could very easily give me this information via email or over the phone. It has now been a month and half that we have not had voice mail to email connectivity because MTA will not give us our password. Even though I have marked my requests URGENT it takes days for them to respond after they have read my urgent emails.

Desired Settlement: I want a cordless phone that works sent to our hotel in Bethel immediately and the password for our voice mail server.

Business Response:

IP DECT Base Unit:
The IP Office system, including the IP DECT Base Unit, were installed in November 2013. All of the equipment was working (tested and verified with the customer), prior to our technician departing the site (Bethel, Alaska). We generated a trouble ticket for the DECT Base Unit in August of 2014. The ********* ***** was supposed to send us the device for testing and did not at that time. We closed the original trouble ticket in October 2014.
Once we finally received the IP DECT Base Unit we completed testing and informed the ********* ***** (through ***** ******* of ***) that their DECT Base Unit was no longer in operation and they would need to purchase a new Base Unit. ***** ******* responded to our e-mail stating that the original trouble ticket was generated within the warranty time frame. While this is a correct statement, the customer did not send us the equipment prior to the expiration of the warranty for replacement for testing.
Despite this discrepancy we opted to replace the DECT Base Unit for the customer at no charge. The customer has received the new DECT Base Unit. They have not been able to get it to sync with their IP DECT Telephone. We have scheduled a technician (with the customer) to work with them remotely on June 3, 2015 to complete the installation of the new IP DECT Base Unit.
Voicemail Pro Server – Password reset:
On 5/14/2015, ***** ******* sent an e-mail asking for the log in and password for the IPO Voicemail Pro Server. Their IT provider, *******, needed to update the Windows software on the server to match the rest of the *** network. ****, MTA’s employee, called her that day and left a voicemail message explaining that we did not have the log in and password for the Server. We provided that information to ***** and her original IT Support Staff when we installed the IP Office system. **** also informed her that the only way for us to reset the log in and password information for the Voicemail Pro Server was to utilize an Avaya Technician Level log in and password within the Voicemail Pro Application. This can only be completed by Avaya Technicians or Avaya Certified Technicians. This is not access information we can provide to a customer.  **** communicated with ***** that this would require a billable site visit.
On 5/15/2015 **** followed up with an email. She replied stating that they were not going to pay for a site visit when we could just provide the information over the telephone. **** reiterated the situation via a follow up e-mail. ***** continued to express her dissatisfaction with having to pay for a log in and password. At that point we scheduled a technician at no charge, who completed the process on 5/21/2015.