BBB Accredited Business since

Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies

Phone: (888) 756-6718 Fax: (425) 576-9697 View Additional Phone Numbers 3055 112th Ave NE Ste 106, Bellevue, WA 98004 http://www.bhhc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial insurance underwriting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner
5000 Capitol Blvd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.insurance.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 562-6900
cad@oic.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Bill Eades, Branch Manager Mr. Rod Eldred, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Eades, Branch Manager
Business Category

Insurance Companies


Additional Locations

  • 3055 112th Ave NE Ste 106

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (888) 756-6718 (425) 576-9554

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I moved into one of the residences under Berkshire Hathaway Home Services located at *** ******* ****** **** ******** GA XXXXX. I was a stay at home wife, and my husband was the primary resource for our income. In November of 2013, my husband passed away suddenly. I could not afford to stay in the house so I gave Berkshire Hathaway written notification about having to terminate the lease early due to a DEATH. I was barely able to provide the rent for those two months, and thought that everything was fine and understood. Now Berkshire is trying to get almost $8000 in fees based on something being out of my control. They have sent this information to a collection agency under my name as well as my deceased husband's name. I cannot afford this enormous amount, I am not working and based on unforeseen and extenuating circumstances that could not be prevented believe that the amount should be waived.

Desired Settlement: Fees waived due to sudden DEATH of a leasee, and a refund of the leftover amount from the initial deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Dear Ms ******: Your complaint has been directed to me at Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Insurance Cos. in Bellevue WA. It appears to me that your concern is regarding one or more financial transactions involving the real estate you occupy in another state. Since we have no business operations other than commercial property insurance, commercial auto insurance ,and workers comp insurance, I cannot offer you any relief. However, I did a quick check on the internet and offer this suggestion: You may wish to direct your complaint to ************************* *** ***** ************ **** ****** ************ MN XXXXX. Their phone number (toll free) is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please note that this organization, while affiliated with Berkshire Hathaway, is a distinct and separate entity from the insurance operations of Berkshire Hathaway. I hope that they **** be in a position to address the issues you raise. I wish you the best of luck in resolving your problem. **** ***** Regional Manager Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Insurance Cos.