BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home decor sales including mailboxes, address signs and other home accessories.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 15215 SE 272nd St

    Kent, WA 98042 (253) 236-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product order number ****** on February 18th. The item never shipped and the order was eventually cancelled, but I haven't received a refund. the amount is $479.99. I have tried to call but no one answers the phone and emails have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my credit card refunded for the amount of the item for which I did not receive.

Business Response: If this is correct, the customer should pursue this through the bank that issues his or her credit card.

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello BBB,I ordered a mailbox from this company on 12/15/2014. Which was supposed to be received in about 2 weeks. I was notified of delays and would be shipped on 1/8, then 1/15, then 1/19, then 1/26, then 2/27.I reached out several times via email, phone calls etc. I kept getting promissed my order was moving forward. On 01/15, the manager said I would receive a $30 gift card. I reached out on 03/05 ( a week after the final time I was told it was going to ship) and i was told to cancel my order and accept a gift card for the delays.I contacted the owner ****** ******** and even he said he would give me a gift card. They ended up refunding my money BUT now refuse to give me a gift card! The email said it "wasn't deserved". They kept my money for 3 months, dragged this order on and on. I have 6-8 emails stating they will give me a gift card, and now they won't.This has been the worse customer service experience in my life- and now I feel helpeless that I cannot get the gift card I was promissed, time and time again.I don't know what to do, except suggest not doing business with them.-******

Desired Settlement: I want my $30 gift card and an apology from the owner.

Business Response: The customer skirts around details that are central to his complaint.

The $30 gift card was offered predicated on his order and due to the untoward delays waiting for the order to ship, which indeed took “forever”. 

(Eventually it became doubtful as to whether or not the mailbox ordered would ever ship.  The reason is that the supplier, which whom we've dealt for at least eight years, is a one-man operation and suddenly and unexpectedly became unreliable – perhaps no longer in business.  Each mailbox is made to order, so that the question of having one in stock for the customer was not germane.)

The customer eventually canceled his order.   The $30 gift card was offered as compensation for his waiting for the mailbox he ordered.  He canceled the order.  The gift card canceled with it.  It’s as simple as that.

The customer goes on about having kept ‘my (his) money’ for three months.  The mailbox in question is a custom made mailbox and in such cases must be paid for in advance.   The customer could have canceled at any time resulting in a prompt refund.  At his own election the customer waited for the order to ship. 

The customer says he  “…contacted the owner ****** ******** and even he said he would give me a gift card.”  This is partially correct.   The customer, however, errs in his thinking which seems to steer him to think that the gift card was offered to him independent of his order - which he canceled.   Had the customer not canceled his order, he would have received the gift card.
 
If the customer still wants his gift card, then we can reinstate the order and wait again for our now-unreliable supplier to make and send the mailbox – which I would not suggest doing.

The customer wants an apology.  We are sorry the mailbox took so long and indeed never did ship.  This is not our usual modus operandi.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

PLEASE SEE ATTACHMENT WITH EXPLANATION WHY I REJECT THIS RESPONSE. THERE WAS NOT ENOUGH ROO TO WRITE IT HERE.

THANKS

Sincerely,

****** *********

 

Hi BBB,

The fact that THEIR supplier was the reason for delays is their problem, not mine.  They should be responsible for resolving the issue with the issuance of a $30 gift card like I was promised. I am doing business with Seattle luxe, not their supplier, and Seattle luxe was unable to complete the order. 

The owner states the “customer eventually canceled his order” – this is true HOWEVER- he left out the fact that HE suggested I cancel the order and customer service told me it was delayed until further notice – what am I supposed to do – wait “until further notice”!?

Customer service email to me on March 5th was:  “We are sorry; this item is on delay until further notice. Please advise if you need to cancel.”  The owner, ******, also says on March 5th “I suggest you simply cancel the order and accept a refund along with our apologies.”

At NO point in our correspondence did he or customer service reference the fact that the gift card was subject to keeping the order active. They led me to believe it was already being processed.

****** ******* email on March 5th:
“As you know due to this ridiculous condition we’ve offered a $20 gift card to you. This behavior on **** part is nothing like we’ve experienced over the past six years.  But rather than wait for **, which has been uncommunicative and which may in some way be unable to ship, I suggest you simply cancel the order and accept a refund along with our apologies.”
On Feb 9th Customer service said:
“Thank you for your call last week in regard to your delayed order. Again, we are very sorry about these production delays. As discussed, we can offer you a Seattle Luxe gift card in the amount of $20. Please advise if you would like to continue to wait for your order, and we would be happy to issue this gift card to you via email.”
I did continue to wait and no gift card was provided.
On January 9th you manager **** ******* said:
“We are very sorry, but as mentioned, free 1 day shipping would not be an option. Please reply to this previous offer. At this point, we would be happy to update it to a $30 Seattle Luxe Gift Card.”
I WANT THE $30 GIFT CARD I WAS PROMISSED FOR THIS TO BE RESOLVED. 
Thank you,  ******

Business Response: Customer states that something like "at no point was it mentioned that the gift card was predicated on the order."   And this is correct.  But obvious facts need not always be be stated.  It is obvious to any rational thought that the gift card was predicated on the order.  This is not an admission wrongdoing, but to put the customer's complaint to bed we will issue the $30 gift card.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed order number ****** with Seattleluxe through their website on 2/21/2015. On 2/23/2015 they took the money from my account for the item, a mailbox. I have tried 4 times since then to contact them by e-mail and have not yet had any response. My last e-mail was to have them cancel my order . In addition, I sent a fax today requesting that the order be cancelled. I no longer want this item from Seattleluxe but do want my money returned. ($167.78)I tried calling and the phone system indicates there is no person answering that all inquiries are handled by e-mail.I talked to the artist who makes the item and he indicated that he has not been paid for materials he supplied since October and is currently out about $1,000.

Desired Settlement: Please return all funds to me whether it is a credit to my card or a check.

Business Response: Yesterday at 11:10 AM, email was sent to the customer indicating his order was canceled and that a refund would be forthcoming within 24 hours.  The customer fails to mention that email.
Here is the text of the email:
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

To: **********@msn.comCC: BCC: Entered: Tue Mar 10, 2015, 11:10 AMSend: Tue Mar 10, 2015, 11:10 AMSent: Tue Mar 10, 2015, 11:10 AMSubject: Seattle Luxe Order# ******

Dear ******* *******,


Per your request, PO# ****** has been canceled. A refund will be issued within 24 hours.


If you need to reply to this email, please use your REPLY button to
respond and include the entire text of this email in your reply.


Customer Service
www.seattleluxe.com

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Although the refund has not been issued yet, it is scheduled for this afternoon.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hello, we received a mailbox we ordered with sharp edges. We asked for an authorized return. The company took quite a while to give us authorization. It took another phone call to see why we were not credited. Then we see that the seattleluxe company took more than $30 for the return from our credit. The company said I could speak with a company service manager but I was sent to voicemail. It was supposed to be authorized return. The rep told me sharp edges are a part of the uniqueness of the handmade item ! Can you assist us with a fair return of our shipping costs? Thanks in advance for your help. The website promises easy returns. They have not been easy to deal with at all thus far. Sincerely, **** ****

Desired Settlement: Return postage for defective item. It was pretty but sharp edged. I have left a message with a customer service rep but have not had a return phone call. Thanks for your help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ The customer must have a very short memory. Every customer contact is documented. Contrary to customer claims, the customer had extensive contact with customer service here at Seattle Luxe; on 11/13, 11/7, 12/2, and 12/3 (twice). In addition emails were sent to the customer on 11//7, 11/14, 11/21, and 12/4. The customer returned the mailbox to the factory. The factory, with which we've been dealing for 15+ years, advised us that the mailbox was no different in any respect from any other mailbox that they produced and that "sharp edges" was an unfounded claim. In that light, a refund was issued on 12/3, less round trip shipping charges. Shipping charges were deducted from the amount refunded since the factory informed us that the claim was unfounded, and the return thereby was deemed a preference return. This was explained ad nauseum to the customer on the phone by customer service and by the customer service manager, with whom the customer claims she had never spoken, but was put into voice mail. Despite all of the above, for the sake of good relations and against our better judgement we informed the customer by email on December 4th, that an additional refund would be issued. The additional refund was issued yesterday, December 8th. Hence the current claim is unfounded as the customer has all of her money back.

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an out door kitchen door on line that was supposed to be shipped with in 5 days.which they took over 3 weeks to deliver it. once delivered it had many scratches on the door as well as the handle was installed on the interior of the door. i called the customer service they asked me to send them pictures ,which i did after a week they send me return shipping label , i returned the item next day,they promised that they will replace the item, when i received the item after 3 weeks ,the door had the same problem , many scratches and wrong installation of the handle. I called the customer service they again asked me for pictures which i send them pictures again and requested for refund . The customer service send me return label and advised that upon receiving the item back they will issue the refund. On July 29th i had returned the item as directed. But no refund is issued yet. many times i have send them regarding the refund and also talked to customer service by the name ****, he said he is waiting for the manufacturer to confirm the delivery of the product. Now it is over 3 weeks that they have received the product but no refund is issued.

Desired Settlement: Full refund that i paid on May 27th 2014 ,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/27) */ A full refund was issued yesterday, August 26th. We apologize that this has taken so long. Both shipments and both returns were directly from and to the factory. A lack of response at the factory delayed our capabilities. ************ Aug 26, 2014 10:08:51 AM Credit 126.78 USD

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our wood fired pizza oven arrived with packaging intact but when we unwrapped it had a BIG dent in it. The box that it came in was completely intact. We had no reason to suspect that it covered a damaged oven. We contacted customer service and sent photos their response was : "After reaching out to the President of Seattle Luxe as well as the manufacturer, it has been determined that the item did not leave the factory in the condition shown in the photos and it is not possible for it to have been damaged in the way that it was during shipping without any damage to the packaging. I do apologize, but we would not be able to offer a replacement or discount at this time."

Desired Settlement: Replacement or financial compensation

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/16) */ The problem we have with this is as follows: The photos of the broken thermometer glass were shot on November 27th. The photos of the large dent were shot on December 2nd - five days later. If you received a product with a dent like this, wouldn't you shoot the dent photos immediately? The thermometer is almost an afterthought. Moreover, the product was already in customer hands on November 27th, but the customer didn't call us to report the damage until the December 2nd, the same day the later photographs were taken. Nevertheless, the pizza oven was already on sale at $300 less than the regular price. We can offer the customer an additional $200 in financial compensation. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please give us more information about your latest proposal. Be specific about which pieces you will replace. Also we would appreciate your recommendation regarding what type of specialist would be capable of repairing a pizza oven of this kind. Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/03/11) */ A new hood and a new back are being shipped from Italy. They are coming in the next container but it will not arrive for weeks. The factory advises that any competent mechanic with a set of metric tools can change the hood and back.

6/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After numerous attempts both on their website and their email I have failed to receive a response regarding my price match request. I purchased a mailbox and post from the retailer on 4/10 for $337.58 (Order XXXXXX) as follows: 1 ea. GDNPT @ $89.79 Newport Mailbox 8.25 x 21.25 x 10.5, color=Black 1 ea. GDNPTPOSTX @ $247.79 Newport Mailbox Post (no newsp. holder) - Pacakge, color=Black Shipping charges $0.00 Tax $0.00 Promo Discount $0.00 Order Total $337.58 I went to find at http://www.directmailbox.com/order.html a lower price for the same items totaling $284 including shipping and the mount for a difference of $53.58. I filled out the online form 3 times and sent 2 emails. I would like to give the retailer the benefit of the doubt still which is why I am trying another outlet to request that they honor their price match guarantee. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $53.58.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ There are numerous factors involved here. 1. All emails are logged. We have no record of any email from this customer. To what address was the email sent? Did the customer provide a copy of any of the alleged emails? If so, can they be forwarded? 2. We have no record of the filled-out website form having reached us. Does the customer have a record of some sort, or even the date on which the form was filled out? 3. The customer enjoys a free 2-year "everything covered" exclusive warranty from Seattle Luxe, which is not present nor included on the GDM (manufacturer's) website - i.e., directmailbox.com. The terms of the price match specifically exclude purchases which include the free warranty if the warranty is not also matched. 4. Despite the fact that our toll-free number is visible on every page of our website, the customer did not phone us to inquire as to the fate of his emails or the form - letting six weeks drift by between the time of purchase and this BBB complaint. We feel the customer is not entitled to the price match under the above circumstances. But if the customer can supply us with suitable information showing that he complied with the terms of the price match AND is willing to void the Seattle Luxe warranty, we will honor the price match. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. I do have a record of emails sent and can provide. Emails were sent to *******@seattleluxe.com . 2. Sent the form numerous times. Did not save but very hard to believe they didn't receive the forms. 3. I am okay with dropping the warranty if it was explained to me. 4. I called so many times but no live person every picks up. I will not give up on this now based on the answers from the retailer. Very disappointed at not taking responsibility. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/06/03) */ I want to give due respect to the retailer for giving me benefit of the doubt and refunding me the difference on their price match guarantee. This type of retailer deserves loyalty. Thank you very much for resolving this issue in an amicable manner.

3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday Feb 25th, I ordered a ******** Mirage 605 Built-in Grill which was advertised on ****** and SeattleLuxe.com for $799. I called Seattle Luxe with some measurement specifications, and some questions on shipping time. Then I proceeded and placed the order and received email confirming the purchase and my credit card was charged the $799. Two days later, I got an email stating that there was "a system pricing error on the item and in order to proceed with the order an additional $600 would be due". I didn't understand that how i could purchase something, my card be charged that they could do this. I called the 800 number and spoke to a supervisor that would NOT honor the advertised price (which I have the order conformation by email with pricing). He said it was an "honest mistake"....I call it false advertising that should be honored.

Desired Settlement: ******** has honored the price of the $799 because the felt horrible about the situation. They unfortunately, had to charge me $100 for shipping . I think Seattle Luxe should have to pay the shipping charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ It was a mistaken price and although it appeared on the website, our "back-end" system ultimately caught the error. In fact our supplier, ********, controls the prices at which the product can be advertised and called to our attention this outrageously low price, as well. Our apologies to the for the disappointment. If the customer checked around the internet, he or she would see that our price was $500 or more lower than everyone else's. The erroneous price was far below our cost. It was a error. Plain and simple. We carry over 42,000 individual items and cannot manually review every price every day. I think you'll find that this type of error is extremely rare even with 42,000 items. If it occurs more than once or twice a year, I'd be surprised. At twice a year, that's an error rate of 0.000005%. Again, our apologies for the error. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company Seattle Luxe should have honored the price that they falsely advertised it for $799 with free shipping. You should have honored the price, no matter what your cost is, that is the cost of doing business. I don't care if you have a million items. Bottom line is you advertised a grill for $799, charged my credit card, then realized there was a mistake. You basically sent me an email saying pay an additional $500 or go fly a kite. Not ANY kind of compensation for YOUR MISTAKE, NOT MINE! Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/03/18) */ It's easy for ******** to ship anything for any price since they manufacture the product. The $799 which ******** charged the customer plus $100 shipping is still below our cost, never mind shipping. The customer has already obtained the grill for $500 less than the correct price diminished somewhat by the $100 ******** asked for shipping. Net, the customer paid $400 less than the regular manufacturer-controlled and authorized price on a brand new grill. In fact the grill purchased cannot be found ANYWHERE for the price the customer paid. It's true we made a mistake. The customer claims "false advertising". There is a difference between false advertising and a mistake. False advertising involves a pattern of deception. Here there was a single mistake, corrected after it was discovered, within roughly 42,000 items. This is clearly an error for which we are simply not responsible, I'm sorry to say, according to law. The customer now wants US to pick up the charge that ******** foisted on her for shipping. Sorry, the customer has already obtained a fantastic bargain and now is simply working the system to get what she can. We will not be party to this.

1/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered vanity mirror on 12/9/13 from Seattleluxe and on 12/10/13 received correspondence by e-mail from them that shipping was delayed by their fulfillment center and that shipment was to occur on or about 12/20/13. After not receiving the item or any further communication from them, I called them on 12/26/13 and spoke with ***** who replied that she would inquire and get back to me on 12/27/13. I called her back (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) at 10:40AM and she advised that their fulfillment center did not have the item I ordered and that Seattleluxe had not been notified by the supplier and that orders could not be fulfilled until 1/7/14. I questioned ***** as to why I had not been told earlier that the item would not be shipped prior to Christmas (which they knew) so that I could have obtained the item locally in a store and was to be a Christmass gift. ***** never offered any satisfactory response so I had her cancel the order, not knowing when or if it would be delivered to me. This company is sorely lacking in keeping their customers informed. In checking into the status of my order on 12/27/13 it only reveals it was sent to warehouse for shipping.

Desired Settlement: Anything more than what I received which was not even an apology. They only passed the blame and responsibility on someone else. Mostly I just want to alert other prospective buyers of the unreliability and lack of communication of this seller.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/03) */ Our apologies are hereby given. During the Christmas season, continuity of supply is our biggest problem. We try to stay on top of our suppliers as best we can. We are, at times, given misinformation which we have no choice but to rely upon. Fortunately, thousands of our other customers were correctly informed and deliveries made on time for Christmas. Yours is an isolated case, not typical of our performance and we're sorry this happened to you. We hope you'll give us another chance. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Seattlelux still refuses to take any responsibility for their failure to inform me that they would be unable to fulfill my order prior to Christmas. I do not desire to have anything further to do with this company and would advice caution to anyone doing business with them. They prefer to pass any blame onto their suppliers when it is their duty to inform the customer..

8/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not meet the estimated delivery time. I attempted multiple times to log onto ****** to see the status of the delivery using the tracking number; however, it was not available (no reason given). Had multiple discussions with the 3rd party carrier and the company directly, expressing concern that I could not miss that delivery date since i did not have the capability / contractor to install the item if the delivery estimate was not kept. Delivery time not met, so the item was refused / returned. The company only refunded me $554 of the total original amount of the item that cost me a total of $1,129 (that item also advertised free shipping so that amount was for the item). When I called, they said that it is their policy to charge me for all of the carrier's shipping costs ($575) if the item gets returned.

Desired Settlement: Since i do not have the item, I am asking to be refunded for the entire amount that i paid ($1,129). They only refunded me for $554.95. So the remaining amount is what i am seeking ($574).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/06) */ The event is nowhere near as simple as the customer would have you believe pursuant to the well-crafted complaint. Nevertheless, and unfortunately, a proper response requires about 10 days to gather the information necessary to refute this complaint. We will reply in full as soon as we have the information required in hand. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/07/12) */ I am writing in response to the business update to case: XXXXXXXX I do not accept this response due to the innacurate account of the events: 1 - In the response, the business stated that *********** attempted to contact me at my XXX-XXX-XXXX phone number 'numerous times' and that they 'gave up' on 4/17. This is simply not true. I am attaching my phone bill for that phone (xls and pdf) for the dates in question (xls file highlights in yellow the trucking company). Please note that the first phone call came in from the trucking company on 4/17 and that there were no additional calls (before or after that date). I am attaching the pdf since i did not want there to be any question as to whether i 'modified the xls file'. I am obviously not comfortable to post these documents publicly since it has my personal phone information in it. 2 - the business states that i was "negligent in rendering the incorrect phone number". This comment is borderline silly. I have a phone number attached to my ****** account (XXX-XXX-XXXX ). This is a correct phone number for me. I simply told the people when I called them back that this phone was being used by my husband during that particular time and could they please contact me at a different number, which i provided at that time. I did not realize that such a simple request was so difficult. It is now clear to me that they do not possess the technical capabilities leveraged by most larger (and many small) companies to update information and share across the multiple groups that are touching an order, since they continued to contact me at that original phone number. 3 - I did not request multiple deliveries - i asked them to send back the sink and only deliver the refrigerator since i did not have the capability to install the sink since the delivery date was missed. 4 - It just occured to me from reading their response, that they charged me for shipping on for both the original delivery, as well as the return. Why would they charge me for the original delivery when I actually accepted the refrigerator (which was FREE SHIPPING) -why was I penalized for the entire order when that portion of the order was sent and accepted? 5 - I asked the trucking company to email me the letter of authorization so that I could have them leave it - I did not receive that letter (and when I mentioned this to ****, he seemed to be completely unaware that this was even an option). 6 - Of course I assumed it was a grill - i had multiple people (who, in my mind, represented Seattle Luxe) telling me it was a grill. I am not clear as to why they are surprised that I was uncertain. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 25, 2013/08/05) */ I have authorized a refund of $87.57 as promised. If the customer re-opens the case, as she has done before, we will not make any further adjustment.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a father's day gift my wife ordered a grill cover from SeattleLuxe to replace my existing grill cover. She found the exact grill cover pictured from SeattleLuxe and ordered it. As soon as I opened it I knew she ordered the wrong product, it was a built in grill cover. Upon further investigation, the picture on SeattleLuxe was my grill cover, but the description was for a built in grill cover which my wife doesn't even know what it is. Nowhere in the description did it say that the pictured item is not what was being purchased. They did send an e-mail to my wife, but it went to a spam folder and the item was shipped with no response from her. After calling to complain they agreed to refund the cost minus original shipping and return shipping, well the original shipping was already paid for and I felt it was SeattleLuxe's error for having the wrong picture with the product so they should be responsible for return shipping. They finally agreed to refund the full amount of $53.43 so I sent the item back. On July 23rd, I sent a follow up e-mail inquiring about my refund which I was still waiting on, with no response I called today and was told since the item was not shipped in it's original package and had dirt on it it is not eligible for a full refund. Why was I not called about this. I don't have the original package, it was a gift, and finally the item was put on my grill for an hour, if there is dirt on it, and should be easily removed. This company is just giving me a hard time for complaining.

Desired Settlement: A full refund

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ The grill cover was sold through Sears.com. Sears.com shows the incorrect picture with the grill. Nevertheless, the descriptive text correctly describes the grill cover and even enumerates the grill models which the grill cover will fit. Evidently the customer bought the "picture" and did not bother to read the explicit headline that describes a built in grill cover. The customer order was placed on June 4th at 2:05 PM local time. On june 5th, at 4:04 PM, email was sent to the customer verifying the various grill models that the cover would fit. This was either never read or disregarded. The cover was shipped that same day - June 5th. On June 19th, the customer contacted us by phone and claimed to have made numerous attempts to contact us previously, but we had no voice mails or emails from the customer on record. The customer requested a return and a return label was sent to the customer. The customer was initially promised a refund based on the good faith belief that the customer would return the merchandise in good and saleable condition. But when the grill cover arrived at the warehouse the following was observed: 1. The original packaging was not returned with the grill cover. 2. The grill cover was dirty. 3. No care whatsoever was taken in packaging the grill cover for shipment; it was simply stuffed it into a small carton. These are not the conditions under which a full refund is issued as neither we nor any retailer will accept used merchandise for refund. Our refund policy specifically states that merchandise must be returned "...in saleable condition..." to be eligible for a refund. In addition, the email sent to the customer on 6/25 including a return label, reiterated the specific section of our refund policy. But disregarding any refund policy, common decency dictates that a customer take reasonable care of a product which he/she intends to return but this was not done in this case. The grill cover, as returned, is not saleable. Nevertheless, we made a good faith effort to try to get the customer a refund for the used returned merchandise which required some time for us to iron out the details between our supplier and ourselves. The customer, despite repeated assurances that we were trying the best we could, became irate; sent at least one nasty emails to customer service implying that we were somehow contriving to cheat him or deny him a refund. If the merchandise was returned in non-used condition and if the customer had taken reasonable care in repackaging, we would have deducted from the refund amount only the return shipping (approx $10) and our standard repackaging fee of $15. Or approximately $25, allowing a refund of approximately $26. But the grill cover is used and dirty (albeit slightly) and cannot be sold as new. Therefore the customer is not entitled to a refund. Finally, the customer exacerbated the situation by filing this complaint, unjustly besmirching our record. But we will still offer, as a good will gesture, to extend to the customer a $15.00 courtesy refund or store credit in the amount of $38.99 - the original purchase price. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for finally issuing a full credit. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/31) */ A full refund has been issued. Despite the customer's feeling that the grill cover can be cleaned, we cannot and will not sell a dirty cover as new, even if cleaned. How would this customer feel if he received a dirty (cleaned) i.e., used cover? We are not sears.com and sears.com is not seattleluxe.com. The purchase was made from us through the sears.com website and any photo on the sears.com website which was incorrect, is beside the point. We never denied the fact that the image on the Sears website was incorrect. But we did indicate the following: The HEADLINE on the product on the sears.com website does now and did then state "Built In" in describing the grill which the cover would fit - and the customer does not own a built-in grill. And as stated previously we sent the purchaser additional confirming email explaining which grill models the cover would fit. The customer (be it the gift-giver or recipient) acted with reckless disregard and saw fit to a) disregard or ignore the headline on the sears.com website, b) disregard or ignore the cautioning confirmation email from us, c) disregard or ignore the description on the original packaging, d) either lose or destroy the original packaging, and e) manage to soil the product.

7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues