This business is not BBB accredited.

Short Term Suites

Additional Locations

PO Box 40568, Bellevue, WA 98015 http://shorttermsuites.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Short Term Suites include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Short Term Suites include:

  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Short Term Suites
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Jon Tellefson
Contact Information
Principal: Jon Tellefson
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1120 8th Avenue #1802

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 972-9950

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 40568

    Bellevue, WA 98015

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

On 1/19/15, I reached a verbal agreement with *** of Short Term Suites, and at his request also completed an online "reservation form", and furthermore paid $600 to reserve the apartment with address ** ****** ***** **, which according to the website at that time would be available beginning February 9th, 2015. In another email I informed *** that I would be arriving on February 10th, around noon (within the check-in times stated on his website), in order to meet him and pick up my apartment key. Two days prior to my move-in date, on February 8th, I wrote to confirm: "I just wanted to make sure we were still on for my move-in date of this Tuesday, February 10th, around noon." to which *** replied: "We are set for your move in however, I have moved you up to ****** **-upper floor. See you on the 10th Tuesday at noon ** ****** ** Seattle 98109" I sent a lengthy response, which I have truncated for brevity sake below (entire email is available upon request). "Hi ***, I am wondering the reason why I am not able to rent out the apartment I had reserved. When I paid the $600 deposit, you informed me that this deposit would serve the purpose of reserving the apartment I'd selected - namely, ****** ** ***** **. The deposit was NOT to secure an unnamed or tentative apartment within the building, but a specific apartment, **, as we had discussed on the phone, and which was listed on your website that day as being available February 9th. There was nothing to suggest that I might be "moved" to an apartment I hadn't explicitly indicated interest in moving into, nor was I consulted as to whether such a move would be agreeable or of interest to me. I would like to know whether it is still possible to move into ********* * as previously agreed. . . . I have not authorized - and do not authorize - any withdrawal from my bank account for rent payments applied to 
* and ** ****** ****** ********* **" *** replied later that day (monday 2/9/15): "I have done some switching around. You are set for ****** *". So as previously established in our emails, we were to meet Tuesday the 10th at noon. Here is my summary of what happened, which I also sent to *** and he later acknowledged receipt of without dispute: "I was extremely disappointed to arrive in Seattle yesterday (Tuesday 2/10/15) at ** ****** ******, **, luggage in tow, to find that you were not present despite our having agreed to meet at that place and time (12 noon) and which I had confirmed numerous times via email (as had yourself). When you did not show up for our meeting, I checked my email and saw that you had asked me to call you regarding payment of the rent. I did, and you acted surprised that I was in the area, and that I had arrived ready to move in (again, despite our previous emails back and forth and my confirming Tuesday at noon, and your statement the previous day that I was "set for ****** *". I had, as stated in an earlier email, cash on hand for the first months rent, and was anxious to settle into my new home. However, on the phone, you asked me to please make a check out for the rent and slip it under the door at apartment **. Still believing that ********* * was ready for me, I agreed and immediately proceeded to ask how and when I would receive the key to my apartment. It was at that point that you stated that the apartment was not in fact ready for me to move into. You stated that "it was being cleaned for me", and that I would not be able to move into the apartment any sooner than Thursday 2/12, at best. I was bewildered; you were asking for the rent to begin on February 9th, which was supposedly the day that I would be able to move in if I so chose, you had plenty of opportunities to inform me that the apartment was not going to be ready until 2/12, and yet you had led me to believe that the apartment would be ready when I arrived on 2/10. I had made the trip up to Seattle with my belongings and invested considerable time and financial resources in order to meet you that day and at that time. Standing outside now and denied access to my own living space was no small inconvenience and meant I would have no choice but to fly back to California that day, and if I wanted to move into ****** **, to do it on Friday. You suggested that your daughter come by and pick up my check for the first months rent (which we agreed I could postdate to Friday the 13th), and suggested that I leave my belongings in ********* * and that you could move them for me into ********* * when it was ready. Needless to say, I was uncomfortable with the prospect of leaving my belongings with a person I still as yet had not met face-to-face. You stated that your daughter was on her way to pick up my check, and to open ********* * for the purpose of allowing me to leave my belongings there, and we hung up the phone. In the next few minutes, as the shock and surprise of being told that my apartment was not actually ready receded, I realized that I could not be expected to pay the full first months rent, TODAY, for an apartment that I had twice been led to believe would be ready for me on 2/9, and yet was not ready for me until 2/12. I was now being told instead that I could "leave my belongings in ********* * and have ********* * on Friday", but that was not even close to our original agreement, and given the resources I'd already invested in trying to move in PER OUR AGREEMENT and your lack of consideration for informing me of changes you had made to this agreement, I realized that I was very unsatisfied with the business we had conducted together so far and therefore called you back in order to resolve this. On the phone I stated my reasons for my dissatisfaction and we came to a mutual agreement that I would not move into your building after all and furthermore was entitled to receive a full refund of my deposit. This deposit, which I had made on 1/19/15, in the amount of $600, was to reserve ** ****** ****** **, for February 9th, 2015, and since that reservation was not fulfilled on your part I would receive a full refund of that amount. You asked that I email you when I got back to California and to send you a mailing address to which payment could be sent." To this *** replied: "Thank you for the description. We do want all of our customers to be happy. Please provide a mailing address to mail your refund. Our accountant prefers we process refunds in this manner. We do not have a physical office." I did provide a mailing address, and requested to be informed of when the check would be mailed. This was one week ago and I have not heard anything back from him yet. I wrote him again yesterday in order to request a status update and request that the funds be returned to me ASAP (as I now have to seek out a new apartment, thanks to his failure to provide the apartment on the day I specifically flew up to move into it, and our mutual decision at that point to part ways). I am very upset with the numerous "bait and switch" tactics (e.g., "you can't have ********* *, the one you paid for, but you CAN have this other unit that you didn't ask for or desire" ... and then stating "we are set" and on the day of our arrival acting surprised that I was there and stating he thought I was moving in later on in the month. I am especially upset that these tactics resulted in my incurring the costs of a round-trip plane ticket, travel to and from the airport, and a loss of a days productivity, in addition to the $600 refund to which I a entitled.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting immediate return of the $600 deposit I paid for an apartment that was ultimately not available according to the terms of our agreement. I am furthermore requesting compensation for my flight to and from Seattle, transportation to and from the airport, and a day's worth of lost productivity, owing to the fact that my moving into the apartment was the SOLE purpose of my trip to Seattle (I flew up AND back on the same day, and was only in the city for 5 hours!), and that I was falsely led to believe that I WOULD be able to move in that day.

Business Response: We wish all of our customers to have a good experience and were disappointed that it did not work out this time.

Full amount of refund issued back to customer on Feb. 18 2015 to the address supplied.

2/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service