This business is not BBB accredited.

Shaan-seet Inc

Phone: (907) 826-3251 Fax: (907) 826-3980 PO Box 690, Craig, AK 99921

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shaan-seet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shaan-seet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 2009 Business started: 10/06/2009 Business started locally: 10/06/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Carle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Carle, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Shaan Seet Hotel

Additional Locations


    PO Box 690

    Craig, AK 99921 (907) 826-3251


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hotel management has been very rude and disrespectful toward my guests and I. I went to pay my rent in the amount of 550 that i have a signed lease for and was told my rent would go up to 850, then to hours later was told it was going to be 700, i tried to discuss with the management that legally they could not do that accroding to alaska landlord tenant act they have to give me more of a notice and have a new leasing agreement signed they then yelled at me that i have 5 days to move out and hung up the the phone on me. the next day when passing them in the hall ways i was told by management that check out would be in 5 days at 11am even though its posted everywhere that checkout is at noon. Im very displeased with how they have treated me and my guests, they are making up rules that go against what is advertised in the hotel. On multiple occasions during my stay at the lodge they tried to make up reasons to get more money out of me and i refused to pay for there scams. I have pictures of condition of the room they moved me into it was disgusting the floor smelt like **** and had stains everywhere in it, the window was cracked and missing blades, under the bed was plastic bottles and trash from the guests that had stayed there before. Product_Or_Service: Hotel rental for one month

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a formal appolige from both managers and a full refund since i was not treated with respect and dignity during the time i stayed here.And the conditions of the rooms i stayed in where unacceptable and unsanitary.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/23) */ ****** ******* and his girlfriend were living out of their car, came to our Corporate office to see if we had any rentals available, told us they had no money. The only available place we had was at the Haida Way Lodge, which is a Motel, not apartments; our normal monthly rate for a double occupancy is $1100. before applicable taxes, $850. for single occupancy. Due to the fact that they just arrived in town and had no place to live we told them we could give them a break on the first month, agreed upon $580 for the month, had them sign a rules document and his Dad paid the bill. A week or so after they moved in ****** and his girlfriend got into a fight, which resulted in ****** being charged with Assault in the 4th Degree, they both filed restraining orders against each other, ****** spent several days in jail, the room they were in was ordered off limits to both of them by the judge with only one chance to get belongings. There were several after hours' trips with the Craig Police Department, ****** and his girlfriend. During ********** trip to the room he was very rude and disrespectful to the Hotel on call Manager. They both failed to remove a deer leg they had been cooking (which is against the rules they had signed) and housekeeping noticed a stench coming from the room. To date 10 hours have been spent trying to get the room back to a usable condition, we are still unable to rent out this room. We continued to rent to ****** and his girlfriend (separate rooms) with no additional charge to ******. About 9 days after their fight they both dropped their restraining orders and moved back into ********** room. ****** was informed that if there was one more incident they would be asked to leave, and that they would be charged for the cleaning charges on the original room. To date no payment has been made. When ****** said he wanted to make next month's payment he was informed that per the original conversation of which there are 3 witness' his rent would be more, since his girlfriend had lost her job, we weren't going to charge the regular rate, but that it would be $700. before tax. ****** got extremely rude to the Hotel Manager, due to his attitude the Manager informed him he could pay the regular amount of $1100. per month or check out was 11:00 on the 26th of September. I spoke with ****** on the 22nd and he told me he would be moving out. As far as his complaint of unsanitary conditions, he has had a do not disturb sign on his door every day, house keepers are required to clean the rooms thoroughly once a week, and provide clean towels on other occasion for the long term guests, in order to do this housekeepers have had to wait until the room is occupied. If the room was so dirty ****** should have informed housekeepers or management, no mention was ever made. Considering the condition they left the other room in, I would suspect any pictures were taken after they had been in the room for a while. We do not have the guests sign a lease agreement it is a statement that says they will pay for any damages done while they occupy the room and when their rent is due, the room they will be occupying and the recourse ***** **** will take if the rules aren't abided by. My manager didn't hang up on him, ****** hung up on her. There will be no apologies issued and ***** **** will pursue a small claims action to get the cleaning costs from ****** *******. My hotel manager doesn't feel safe and won't go on the premises without another person with her due to his history, and the way he has treated her. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Was threatened by management that they would have police remove me from the building, i went and spoke with the police they told me that was lie they would not get involved but would like to see a copy of the lease, instead of walking down to the hotel to grab my extra copy i told the Cheif of Police i would just walk accross the street to get a copy, They began to get very childish with me calling me names and called the police saying i was refusing to leave the building i told them i was there under advice from the police, i then watched them make fradualent changes to my lease they both got in my face and yelled at me after i caught them i told them i would go grab my copy and that they would be busted!. There is little if any truth in there rebuttle, Claims have been submitted to consumer protection agency and a civil law suit for lose of wages!