This Business is not BBB accredited

Pacific Plaza Hotel

Phone: (206) 623-3900 400 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104 http://www.pacificplazahotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Plaza Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Plaza Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Scholl, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Scholl, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Spurgeon, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 Spring St

    Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 623-3900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late August 2013, with the help of an online travel agency, I attempted to book a two night stay at the Executive Hotel Pacific on or around September 26, 2013. Upon doing so, when I proceeded to confirm the reservation the website indicated that the hotel was sold out for the time period that I requested. Therefore, I proceeded to make another reservation in Seattle. Following my trip to Seattle the Executive Hotel Pacific charged me a late for for "non-arrival." I disputed this payment but the hotel simply stated that I was charged the fee for "non-arrival." At no point, did the hotel provided me by mail, phone or email a confirmation of my stay or contact me on or around September 26, 2013 asking me if I would be checking in to the hotel. As a a business traveler I tend to arrive late for most of my stays and each time I've always been contacted to ask if/when I will be checking in. This hotel did no such thing. Furthermore, I contact my travel agency where I attempted to book my reservation through and they had no history or a reservation for me staying at this hotel.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of the late charge that the hotel assessed me because at no time was I made aware that I had a reservation at this hotel either prior, during or subsequent my trip to Seattle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/28) */ Mr. *******, Below is the copy of the confirmation letter that was sent to the travel agent who booked your reservation. I apologize if your travel agent failed to notify you of your confirmed booking. Once your reservation was booked by the assistance of your online travel agency it is subject to our 24 hour cancelation policy, which is clearly outlined on the confirmation letter. I have copied the confirmation letter, and subsequent charges associated due to Non-Cancellation of your existing reservation and have mailed to BBB 1000 Station Drive Ste. 222 DuPont, WA. XXXXX attn: ******* ********* I would advise that you take this matter up with the On-Line travel agency with whom you booked your reservation through. Regards, *** ******** General Manager ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a Billing AND Customer Service complaint.... I have email from the hotel to back up my complaint... We made reservations for 3 nights at the hotel and received an email detailing the total charges. When we checked out of the hotel August 21st, we were charged much more than quoted, but did not see it until we returned home. After checking our AmEx online statement, we also found we were being billed an additional "pending charge" by the hotel on August 21st,of $324.17, for reasons unknown to us (or them?). After complaining to the GM, *** ********* by email and phone, I was told we would receive credit towards our AmEx billing for the excessive charges and the additional charge showing on AmEx as "pending charges", and we would also receive additional credit for our room not being airconditioned the first 2 days of our HOT stay. All of that was reasonable,acceptable, and appreciated. I then received 2 emails from ******** ******* the reservations manager, specifying our credits on August 26th. Today is August 29th, and our AmEx statement still has not been rectafied. So I filed a "dispute" of this billing with AmEx. I emailed the hotel asking why we have not received our AmEx credit yet to date. ******** ****** sent me an email stating that it takes 7-10 days to make the AmEx credit (not acceptable- it only takes seconds to charge my AmEx account so it shouldn't takes over a week to correct those charges). She also said that since I complained to AmEx, it will take longer to credit our charges (also not acceptable). My primary complaint against the hotel is their fraudulent charges against us, poor customer service, and reluctance (slow to act) to correct the situation as agreed after being "caught in the act". How many other "tourists" have they done similar things to in the past (or future)? If they had just done what they said they would do (BY NOW), I would have let the whole situatiuon go without filing this complaint against the hotel and it's reservations management. Product_Or_Service: 3 nights hotel stay, Bz King Room Order_Number: Folio #XXXXXX Account_Number: reservation confirm

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) we want our AmEx CC account and all billing charges to be credited as agreed NOW, not weeks from now. That means remove the current charges of $857.66, and charge us only the $452.95 as agreed upon. Also, remove the wrongful, "pending charge" of $324.17 from our AmEx CC account. This complained needs to go on file with the Seattle BBB against the hotel for the world to see. Most people may not check the BBB for complaints against a hotel (I have before in unfamiliar areas), but it may help some.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ Yesterday, after filing my complaint, I informed the hotel I had filed a complaint with the Seattle BBB, and was also considering filing with the WA State Attorney Generals Office regarding their business practices. This morning, we checked our AmEx account and found that all of my requests were granted (our AmEx account charges and discrepancies have all been corrected to our satisfaction). Once you have done whatever you may want to do regarding this complaint, my complaint can be dismissed, but please keep it on file for others to learn from.