This business is not BBB accredited.

Hooligans Lodging & Saloon

Phone: (907) 262-9951 Fax: (907) 262-8346 44715 Sterling Hwy, Soldotna, AK 99669 http://Hooliganslodge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hooligans Lodging & Saloon include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hooligans Lodging & Saloon
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Business Management
Lily Smith, Manager for Complaints
Contact Information
Principal: Lily Smith, Manager for Complaints
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Hooligans Ladge & Saloon

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44715 Sterling Hwy

    Soldotna, AK 99669 (907) 262-9951

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 25th 2014, myself and a friend, travelling from Fairbanks to Homer, checked in at the Hooligans Fishing Lodge at 7:30 pm. After dinner in their lounge, we retired to our room. The next morning we were checked out of our room by 8:ooam, to continue our trip to Homer. In the following weeks I recieved my credit card statement, and noticed the charge of the room on the 26th, but then noticed five days later on the 31st, another charge of 250 dollars. When I was finally able to talk to the manager in charge, she informed me I was charged a cleaning fee for the room because she said someone had smoked cigarettes in the room. I informed her that I have never smoked a cigarette in my life, and that my friend, who smokes cigars, always sat in his car when smoking, which in the very short time we were there was only once our twice. She claimed they found a ash on the table, which may have been true, but only left from a unlit cigar. The charge of 250 is truly unjustified.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to see the 250 dollar charge credited back to my credit card.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/04/11) */ the house keeper informed the front desk of the ashes and strong ciggerette smell in the room the front desk went down and onfirmed there was smoking in the room ashes were found on the table window seal and we had to take the room offline for additional cleaning to remove the odors from smoking..when guest check in they sey sign a piece of paper stating they unbderstand there is a 250 DOLLAR CHARGE FOR SMOKING IN THE ROOM

4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have for the past 4 years sent my employees to Soldotna for work and have always had them stay at Hooligans for multiple nights of lodging. On the night of 3-15-14 My employees where lodged up at Hooligans. 4 days later I seen a $500.00 unauthorized charge come across my bank statement from hooligans. I then called them right away, their reasoning for the charge was that a quarter sizes hole was put in the wall. (I have a picture of the hole) I asked hooligans if I could hire a contractor to fix the hole for a more reasonable price. They declined and told us that they would deduct $100.00 dollars if we used our truck to haul off some rubbish behind the Lodge. I declined because it would take me over $100.00 to drive to Soldotna and back from my residence in Anchorage.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that I could pay for the cost of the repair to the damage in the wall. I believe that $500.00 is un-reasonable for the damage that was done. the room is still able to be used as for the hole is not too noticeable. I think that $150.00 is more than fair for the damage and to take the room out of service for 1 night if needed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/08) */ The hole in the wall was the size of a fist not a quarter the room was taken offline for 3 days until we could have someone fix it because the hole was very noticable since it was right by the tv. guest sign at the time of check in that they will pay for any damages done to the room. and by the time the guest called days later the room had already been fixed. t

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a room at this hotel while I was out of town working. After checking in, I opened the door to the room and it haf a strong odor of mildew. I was in the room for a couple hours and could not take the smell anymore. I went to the front desk and asled about checking out, and what charges I needed to pay for being checked in for four hours. They asked if I wanted another room, and I declined. The manager said since I was in the room, they would not refund any funds back to me. The woman at the front desk stated that they booked me in a pet room and that the room above mine was off line. She stated that the room above me had a water leak and it had gotten into the walls. I stated that my allergies were flaring up from the room I was in. I was not traveling with a pet, I don't understand why they placed me in a pet friendly room.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to pay for the four hours I was in the room for. Not the full 24 hours.