This business is not BBB accredited.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks

Phone: (907) 328-1100 400 Merhar Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2010 Business started: 06/03/2008 Business started locally: 06/03/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Llyod Husky, General Mgr Mr. Mark Clark, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Llyod Husky, General Mgr
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Fairbanks Hospitality LLC Holiday Inn Express

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 Merhar Ave

    Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 328-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/11/14 we rented a room from Holiday Inn Express in Fairbanks, AK We utilized the pool and hot tub. The next day both my husband and I had itchy bumps on our arms and back. We thought we had a reaction to the pool water. This went on for two weeks. At that point we both had to go in to see a health provider. My husband got diagnosed has having been biten by "bed bugs". When I tried to call the hotel to talk to the manager she denied that we contracted bed bugs from her hotel. She was outright belligerent.

Desired Settlement: I would like my room rate to be reimbursed to me as well as payment for the health providers, mattress and box spring encasement costs.

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks, Alaska the night of 5/24/14 and checked out the next morning at 10:30 AM. When I went to the front desk to check out the desk clerk said for some reason our bank debit card had already been charged for 2 nights. She made an adjustment to our bill which took several days to be returned to our account. When I got home that afternoon I checked my bank account and there were 2 additional charges to my debit card which which together equaled the price of a room. I called the hotel and talked to **** who made excuses that contradicted each other and didn't make any sense. She later backed out the charges which she was able to do because they hadn't posted yet. Nine days later a new charge for a room showed up on a Monday morning on my debit card. Looks like an employee charged a room for a friend over the weekend. This time I talked to someone who identified himself as the night auditor (******* or **** I think). He also gave me a bunch of nonsense excuses. I was told the general manager would call me. He never did. I called my bank to report the fraudulent charges and canceled my card. I believe these people are targeting people our age because they think we don't go online and check our bank account charges, but I check mine every day. There's something rotten going on there.

Desired Settlement: For the hours I've had to spend on the phone with my bank and with Holiday Inn trying to straighten out both of these fraudulent charges, I should get the money I spent for the room that night refunded to me. And I should get a call from the manager. He either never got the message because his employees are stealing from people so they didn't tell him, or he just doesn't care.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ***** ****, stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on August 24, 2013 and checked out on 12 PM on August 25, 2013. I booked the room using Citi Easy Deals Reward Account with a Confirmation #: XXXXXXXX. The room was charged to both my Citi Credit Card and Alaska USA Debit Card so I was charged twice for the room. The Purchase # on my Alaska USA Debit Card is: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. I was charged $177.12 on my Citi Credit Card and $153.09 on my Alaska USA Debit Card. I called on Monday August 26, 2013 to express my concern about the double billing and they Holiday Inn Employee said that the bank was holding my money and I had to wait upon to the bank for them to return it. The bank has not returned my money and said that it was up to the business to return it. I went back to the hotel on August 27, 2013 with my bank statement from Alaska USA and check-in vouch & receipt of payment from Citi Easy Deals. I left my phone number so somebody could call me back in regards to a refund for one of the charges. I also went back into the hotel on August 29, 2013 because I had not heard anything in regards to a refund for the double charging. I have not spoke to a manager or any person to verify that I will get a refund for one of the charges.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for one of the charges that were charged to me. I don't think I should be charged a total of: $330.21 to stay in the hotel room for one night. This is unnaceptable. In regards to this stay I was charged a $20 overdraft fee from Alaska USA. So now a total of: $350.21 to stay in this room for one night. I was not planning on buying the room using my Alaska USA Debit Card. The Front Desk Clerk said that I just had to verify a card to stay at the hotel. I want one of the charges to be refunded to me ASAP!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/09) */ $153.09 was refunded to *** ****** Debit card on August 30. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 7, 2013/09/09) */ Business supplied email: *******@thehotelgroup.com Use this address for any contact with the Better Business Bureau