This business is not BBB accredited.

Coastal Inn LLC

Phone: (360) 642-3049 620 Pacific Ave S, Long Beach, WA 98631 http://www.thecoastalinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coastal Inn LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coastal Inn LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2011 Business started locally: 07/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Frank, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Frank, Member
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
#1 Coastal Inn and Suites

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    620 Pacific Ave S

    Long Beach, WA 98631 (360) 642-3049

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Wife made a reservation with Coastal inn and suites for Augest 2nd, 3rd and 4th checking out on the 4th. We came home yesterday Wednesday July 17. It was **** from Coastal inn and suites. He was calling to see why my wife had not checked in yet. She explained to him that the reservation was for August not July. He said that is was for July 17th 18th, 19th. She again explain to him that she had made a reservation for August 2nd, 3rd, and 4th checking out on the 4th. He then told my wife that we had already been charged for that day (July 17th) We do not have the money in our account for such a charge as I her husband do not get paid again until July 26th. She explained that she double checked this reservation and that It was computer error. He said he would work with us to change the date and not charge us but every date we pick and we pick a lot he was booked despite having a lot of room available the previous day July 16th when my wife check there site again. But he was more that willing to up sell us another rom for another $150.00. Not only was the date for the reservation wrong but the room was wrong as well as the bed. There was more than one error with this reservation. Order_Number: ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a complete refund. As well as any overdraft charges. None as of today July 18th. We are working with the bank. But there may be overdraft charges as we had not budgeted for this as the reservation was for August and they were only suppose to charge $30 to hold the reservation. But the date where wrong thus the charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/30) */ To Whom It May Concern: On June 16"", ******* ********* made an online reservation for the nights of July 17th and 18th in room ***. Our online reservation system is available through our website for customers to book their rooms. The online process is done entirely by the customer. All information is manually inputted by them, including what room they choose and which dates they choose. Any changes made during the online booking process are made by the customer. The reservation system itself cannot make any changes. On the "Review" page of the online booking process, all of our policies are clearly stated, including our booking and cancellation policies. The customer must check the box at the bottom, which states "I Agree to the Terms and Conditions", before proceeding to the final page of the booking process. Also on the "Review" page, displayed the left of our policies, is a summary of the customers room, date and price information. Once the customer agrees to the terms and submits the information, a confirmation email is automatically sent to the customer verifying their reservation. On July 17th, at 6:13 pm, I made a courtesy phone call to ******* ********* regarding her check in that evening. During the phone call, she informed me that she would not be checking in that night as she believed she had a reservation for august 2nd and 3rd in room ***. However, it would not have been possible for her to have that reservation as another guest had already reserved room *** for August 2nd and 3rd back in March. Again, all online reservations are made by the customer, and the information is manually inputted by them. The system itself is not able to change or add any information. Only what the customer enters is what is recorded. She made the reservation online herself on July 16th' She then received an automatic email confirming her reservation. She made no contact with the hotel at that time to change anything on her reservation. Our booking/cancellation policy is stated on our website, on the "Review" page in our online booking process, and in our automatic emails that are sent to customers after they've made an online reservation. It is also stated on our receipts at check-in. *** ********* would have seen and agreed to both her reservation information on the "Review" page as well as our booking/cancellation policy before submitting. She also received an email immediately following her reservation that stated her reservation information and our booking/cancellation policy. No information was in her reservation except what she manually entered and submitted. "No~shows" are charged the full amount of their reservation, while cancellations made within 72 hours of the date of check-in are billed for one night. *** ********* would be considered a "no-show" and therefore should have been charged for both nights of her reservation. However, after talking with *** ********* in the first phone call, I charged her credit card for only one night. I then proceeded to offer to credit the charge toward another stay. At that point, I had turned away three other guests who were looking for a room that night. I would simply lose the money, but hopefully be able to help her out. She inquired about several different dates, going out as late as September, but either I did not have a kitchen unit available as she desired, or we were simply already full. She also demanded that she now wanted a weekend stay (originally her reservation was during the week, with a nightly price of $129.99), but did not want to pay any more for the weekend price ($149.99). The only room available for the weekend she wanted was in the Captain's Suite, room ***, a larger and higher priced suite ($149.99 during the week, $169.99 during the weekend). | explained to her that I was happy to credit the dollar amount toward that room/stay, but she did not want to pay the difference. She wanted only to be either fully refunded her one night charge, or be fully compensated for a future stay no matter that it was for a better room on a premium night. Eventually we found a kitchen suite in September, and she agreed to have the charge credited to that stay. This conversation took place over three separate subsequent phone calls, between 6:13 and about 7:10pm. On the 4"" call they made, it was her husband **** calling to have the entire reservation cancelled as his wife was no longer interested in coming to the beach. I tried to explain our cancellation policy; however he began talking over me in a very belligerent tone. He concluded to hang up the phone in the middle of the conversation. In the day or two following, I received two emails from *** ********* related to the events that took place on the 17th. In short, I simply followed our hotel policies as I do with every other guest. In this case, I did try to make an exception for *** ********* by crediting her charge toward another stay. Our customers are responsible for the information they submit in their online reservations; I simply proceed accordingly. | have records and documentation for all aspects of her reservation. l am including these supporting documents for your further review . Also, please note that the times shown in our reservation system are an hour earlier than real time (ie. in the system = 11:57am in real time), es our software does not automatically update to DST. **** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was no clarification of the reservation policy when the reservation was made. this over-site on the business part was not fixed until after the incident in question was made. This was fixed after our reservation not before. Stating that is was there before is untrue and misleading. Thanks **** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/10/11) */ To clarify once again, our cancellation policy is stated online in the reservation process. It is on the page just before a guest would enter their personal information. On that page, after reading the policy information, the guest must check the box that says "I agree to the terms and conditions". *** ********* checked this box agreeing with our policies before being taken to the next page to enter her personal information and continuing with the reservation process. Secondly, there was never a computer error. If there had been a problem, I'm sure we would have received a call from *** ********* after booking to let us know there was a mistake. *** ********* never contacted us to have anything on her reservation changed, though she has acknowledged she received the email confirmation which states the dates she booked as well as the cancellation policy. This email was sent electronically right after she confirmed her reservation online. Please refer to our original supporting documents for reference. You can see the dates on her reservation and the cancellation policy as well. Additionally, per *** *********'s request, we contacted our networking staff regarding our booking system, and they reported no errors in our system.