This business is not BBB accredited.

Blue Coast Inn & Suites

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 469-2161 1216 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Blue Coast Inn & Suites include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Coast Inn & Suites include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Coast Inn & Suites
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2013 Business started locally: 07/01/2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Naomi & Paul Oh, Owner Jeremy Galvez, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jeremy Galvez, General Manager
Principal: Naomi & Paul Oh, Owner
Business Category


Additional Locations


    1216 Chetco Ave

    Brookings, OR 97415 (541) 469-2161


    PO Box 6577

    Brookings, OR 97415


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we first entered our room we were knocked over with how musty it smelled, like it had been shut down and not aired out in a very long time. The only window in the room slid up to open but we were only able to open it about 12 inches because there was a peg that kept it from opening any further. Because we had already paid for two nights we went to the nearest Fred Meyer and purchased some Febreze to try and make it tolerable. We sprayed down the entire room including bedding and drapes, left open the front door for as long as possible, which helped a bit. We were told when we checked in that we had one of the best beds because it had a "memory foam topper" which turned out to be just plain foam on top of a mattress that had lots of dirt along the sides and a fitted sheet that was way too small so it continually slipped off. The pillow cases had dirt smudges along the seams, the refridgerator did not work at first (and smelled musty too), nor did the hair dryer. They did take care of those items after we mentioned it, but we were told that " They were not a problem ever before". Also, we noticed that after walking across the carpet our socks and the bottoms of our feet were filthy dirty. At about 8am in the morning we were awakened by someone hammering on the wall in the next room. We tried to ignore it, but it was really loud and after about 45 minutes of continual noise I got up and went to the room where they were working and asked nicely if they could please wait until a little later in the morning to continue, please? The man working asked how long did we need because they had "work to do and couldn't be waiting around for too long". We were later informed that "quiet time" was from 8am to 10pm and they would not be waiting any longer. Upon returning home, we noticed that we had a $150 charge on our credit card from the hotel that we had no idea what it was for. I called to inquire what the charge was incurred from and was told that we must have been dying hair in the room because there were red stains in the bathtub and on a towel that they could not get out and the damage fee was $100 for the tub and $50 for the towel. I explained that there absolutely was no hair dying going on but that my wife did have red hair and that I am a stylist and the red will come right out if you spray bleach water on the tub and wash the white towel with bleach, we clean out the tub and towels like that at home and do the same at my salon, it works immmediately and completely. I may not get my money back but these charges are outrageous and I want other consumers to be aware of this business and its questionable practices.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $150 returned.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/05) */ Our quiet hours are between 10:00pm and 8:00am, and after 8:00am maintenance begins work. This currently consists of extensive renovations. These take place at least 2 rooms away from any occupied guest rooms. The guest never brought up anything about a musty smell in his room during his stay, and the room was not musty when checked prior to his arrival. Had he done so, we would have done everything possible to accommodate him. He did bring up a couple of maintenance issues, which were fixed immediately (within 2 hours of notification). Prior to his check in, the room was checked, and there was no pink dye on the bathtub, or the bathtub walls. His towels were also clean and white when they went in to his room, but stained pink and brown when he left. To date, we have used bleach, peroxide, Zep disinfectant, Mr. Clean Magic Erasers, Fabuloso, and even Folex carpet cleaner to try to remove the stains from the tub, and have been unsuccessful. The towels are going to be discarded, as the stains are so bad that there is no way that they would ever fully come out, and I can't put pink towels in my rooms, or subject my washer to that strong of dye. There is a standard damage fee of $100.00 if damages are found in a guest room, which is a policy that is clearly posted behind the front desk. This was put into place to be a deterrent against this sort of incredibly low rent behavior, but obviously does not work all of the time. We then charged him only $50.00 for the damage to the towels, the damage to the tub, the lost revenue from having the room down, and the labor cost for the cleaning. Both of these charges were clearly explained to the guest on the phone. We're seeing now that we should not have been so lenient, and should have charged him the full cost of everything. We have retained pictures of the damages, and we will absolutely not be refunding his money. This guest has been placed on our "Do Not Rent" list for the future.