This Business is not BBB accredited

Best Western Pioneer Square Hotel

Phone: (206) 340-1234 Fax: (206) 467-9424 77 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104 http://Pioneersquare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Best Western Pioneer Square Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Best Western Pioneer Square Hotel include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Western Pioneer Square Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2014 Business started locally: 01/01/2014
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mitchell Weitzman, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mitchell Weitzman, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    77 Yesler Way

    Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 340-1234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to reserve a room as I am taking a vacation with my wife to celebrate our ten year anniversary. I am a Best Western Rewards member and AAA member. We decided to book at the Pioneer Square Hotel because it advertised on the Best Western reservations page a AAA price of $125.99 starting price for rooms. As I asked to book a reservation, the price jumped to $143.99. When I called to ask why I was treated as a nuisance and with such disdain. I feel the pricing is intentionally misleading and the two managers I spoke with just blamed me for not understanding the pricing. When I looked at another Best Western in the area, the Executive Inn, it listed a room price of $188.96 and then when I go to reserve a room, I actually see a room for $188.96; no tricks, just listing the price advertised.

Desired Settlement: All I wanted was for the hotel to honor the price I saw originally.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/08) */ *** ********* contacted Best Western about his experience with booking his room and his experience with the poor service and rude behavior he received when he phoned the Hotel. BW File number XXXXXX-XXXX:. He accepted our offer of a 50 dollar travel card. Full details of the exchanges are below. I spoke to *** ********* on 8/1/2013. The *** ********* claimed that the Best Western website, BESTWESTERN.COM, was giving him one rate and booking the room at another rate. The guest told me that the Hotel was engaging in a "bait and switch" tactic, and we are cheating him. *** ********* demanded that I change the rate to what he thinks he should be paying. I politely explained how the website works and how rates are displayed. ( after another manager and also spoke with him and explained that the rate did go up for the Friday and Saturday). I also politely answered *** ********* that the rate did indeed go up and it was clearly displayed not changing as he looked at the screen to something else, as he claimed. BBB can see for it self by viewing the site for our hotel or any other Best Western Hotel. I also advised *** ********* had he phoned the hotel or Best Western to book the reservation he would have been quoted the same rates which are displayed online. He told me my responds had insulted him. He did not seem to want to listen or hear what I had to say. He kept demanding his rate be changed. We did our best here to assist him, other then giving he a rate we did not advertise or offer for his entire stay. The guest rejected my best effort, accusing the Hotel and myself of engaging criminal, immoral and unethical behavior. Additionally *** ********* told me again I had to change his rate to reflect $125.99 plus tax for each night he was going to stay here. I refused to change the rate, as the booking was correctly done, with all information on the rate changes, displayed on the website for the given dates. *** ********* told me if I did not change the rate that he was demanding; he would call Best Western, the BBB, other governmental agencies and news outlets. During the conversation the guest accused me of being rude, insulting him, giving him bad service, that the staff he had spoke to before was also rude to him and insulting. I personally apologized to the guest for any rude behavior he thought had occurred. It is not rude to tell someone no, or their claim was incorrect. *** ********* knowingly booked the room agreeing to the fully disclosed rate, as you can see from Best Western's e-mail to him(see file below), before he called the hotel. He did not stop and phone Best Western toll free for help. *** ********* followed up with an e-mail to the hotel. *** *********'s e-mail to the hotel: *** ********, **** ***** and to whom it may concern, I may not remember your names correctly, though I feel you may remember me. I received the notice you mailed me about the room rates for my reservation, that you sent after our unproductive and customer unfriendly phone call regarding the bait and switch rates you post on your website. I very much appreciate the obviously insincere, sarcastic and blatantly harassing gesture of mailing me documentation on the room rates, which we had already reviewed, in an attempt to prove a point; that you have all the power. While you may be able to cower and hide behind a gray area where your business practices may not technically be illegal; they are definitely immoral and unethical. You can rest assured that, while the court of law may not support me in holding you responsible for operating in a manner that honors your customers, I will be spending my time seeking satisfaction in the court of public opinion. I have already begun my campaign on Twitter and Facebook to tell everyone about my experience. I have filed a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I have also contacted your corporate office in Phoenix, Arizona. I am constructing my submission to the Today Show's Rossen Reports and looking for any and all customer advocacy groups that will listen to my story. I think **** ****** **** be very interested to pursue a story where I can demonstrate for him that you lure me in by advertising one price and then change it without me changing any parameters I submitted to obtain the original quote; this is almost a text book description of a bait and switch. You could have taken the high road, honored the rate I was initially quoted, and looked to make improvement to your website; instead, you chose to personally insult and harangue me; with your final act being the letter you sent to me. Since you are looking to belittle me and make a statement, I will do you the courtesy of responding in kind. My actions may have zero impact or may not bring about any meaningful change. At least I will have a clear conscience and know that I helped provide others with the necessary information to make an informed decision; something you strive to take away from the public. Best regards, **** ** ********* claims that the price jumped, the website shows clearly the rate for each night booked. The Hotel also mailed a confirmation to the guest showing the rate changes as is our normal procedure for all reservation. The mail also included other Hotel information. In ** *********** e-mailed he is saying that; "the mail itself was insulting and a attack on him." We mail out over 20,000 of this confirmation/ information letters a year. ** ********* claim is false, this was our standard confirmation letter. No insult was planned or intended, we send the out for all credit card, hold for arrival reservations; as requested by the credit card companies. They are printed out nightly and mailed the morning after booking. The guest claims that we blamed him for not understanding, this not true and totally false. I did tell the guest that the website and the hotel does not engage in "bait as switch" and he claims. That we operate with full integrity. No misleading information was shown.. The guest states that another Best Western Hotel was not showing any rate changes for the dates he wanted to book and that is true. BBB should know that BESTWESTERN.COM, meets or exceeds all e-commerce standards. The ** ********* contacted Best Western about his experience with booking his room and his experience. As a good faith effort he was offered a $50.00 gift card. BW File number XXXXXX-XXXX:. ** ********* accepted our offer of a 50 dollar travel card. Due to a lack of space to reply a full copy is avaible to the BBB, just contact ********. BEST WESTERN INTERNATIONAL Customer Service Inquiry Notification File number XXXXXX-XXXX Comments and Narrative: 1) Incident date: 07-AUG-2013 User: MemWeb user ******** . 2) Incident date: 06-AUG-2013 User: ***** THIS FILE WAS SENT TO THE PROPERTY XXXXX 3) Incident date: 06-AUG-2013 User: ***** NOTIFICATION SENT VIA E-MAIL TO *****@hotel.bestwestern.com 4) Incident date: 06-AUG-2013 User: ***** Guest called in to accepted our offer of a 50 dollar travel card. * I verified his information, and informed i will be sending out the card shortly. FILE OPEN, sent to supervisor for travel card approval. 5) Incident date: 06-AUG-2013 User: ********* Reply to guest: File XXXXXX-XXXX Dear *** *********, Thank you for your comments regarding your upcoming reservation with the Best Western PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel for September 12, 2013 for three nights. The rates are booked and confirmed as follows: $125.99 + tax for the first night $152.99 + tax for the second night $152.99 + tax for the third night No other rates are listed on the reservation. As a good will gesture from our office for the confusion, I would like to send you a Best Western Travel Card for the amount of $50.00. You may use this card at any Best Western property. The card will not expire or depreciate in value. Please contact our office directly to accept the Gift Card at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please reference case number XXXXXX-XXXX. Thank you kindly in advance and looking forward to hearing back from you. Sincerely, ********* **** Best Western International 6) Incident date: 06-AUG-2013 User: ********* I will do you the courtesy of responding in kind. My actions may have zero impact or may not bring about any meaningful change. At least I will have a clear conscience and know that I helped provide others with the necessary information to make an informed decision; something you strive to take away from the public. Complaint Background: Product/Service: Model: Account Number: Order Number: Talked to Company: 8/1/2013 Talked to Company (2nd): 8/3/2013 Talked to Company (3rd): 8/5/2013 Name of Salesperson: Purchase Price: $0.00 Disputed Amount: $0.00 Desired Settlement: At first, all I wanted was for the price I was quoted to be honore Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept the proposed resolution, because there is still no resolution offered. The misleading pricing has still not been corrected. *** ******** keeps throwing the gift card around. I didn't ask for the gift card and accepted it as an apology for my treatment; not to reconcile the issue, which still exists. If you doubt the circumstances, I can play the call for you pertaining to the gift card because I recorded it. *** ******** is correct that I have never stayed at his establishment; I did cancel my reservation because the pricing issue was never fixed; and I don't intend to stay at Pioneer Square until the pricing and customer service problems are solved. I'm sure there are parts of Best Western that are showing zero BBB complaints because it is so confusing to find who to correspond with; since all hotels are independently owned and the corporate office is not clearly labeled. The bait and switch pricing still exists at Pioneer Square and approximately eighteen out of the twenty one Best Western hotels in the area. I know this issue can be fixed and the pricing doesn't have to be so tricky because there are two Best Western hotels I found in the twenty one I investigated that did, in fact, post the correct pricing on the first page even though their daily pricing changes during my stay. This can be resolved. Best Western just refuses to do it; even though I have done all their work for them and provided overwhelming evidence that the bait and switch pricing exists and that some BWs are doing it correctly; so it can be fixed, they just don't want to change. Until the core issue is resolved, I can't consider this case closed. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/08/16) */ Attention BBB file reviewer: ** ********* accepted the company gift card of $50.00. This was a goodwill gesture on the part of Best Western. There was never any marketplace transaction, ** ********* has yet to stay at the Best Western Pioneer Square Hotel; in fact the reservation was cancelled. ** ********* cancelled his reservation on Bestwestern.com on 8-9-2013 at 7:42am. Here is the note in our Best Western file XXXXXX-XXXX: 2) Incident date: 12-AUG-2013 User: ********* Received email from the BBB Guests Comments: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID XXXXXXX, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, **** consider this complaint resolved. This was never about receiving compensation. This was about reporting the misleading pricing so it could be changed and about providing feedback regarding the awful treatment I have received when trying to call the hotel, customer service and through every step of this process. The only time I received basic common courtesy was when I involved the Better Business Bureau. I hope that Best Western will that a long look at how they are doing business and make changes to better the customer experience. At this point, I would not be considered a promoter of Best Western because they have not demonstrated they will take care of people. Even this offer seems like an empty gesture. Due to my treatment, I am not seeking other accommodations for my 10 year wedding anniversary trip, which is the event that prompted this whole thing, and I'm paying more than $100 more for the cheap room; so $50 doesn't really reimburse me. I want to thank the Better Business Bureau for helping me and advocating on my behalf. I hope, in the future, Best Western will be more responsive to customer inquiries. Regards, **** ********* *****The $50 Travel Card was approved on 8/11 by ************* **** update BBB ) Incident date: 06-AUG-2013 User: ***** Guest called in to accepted our offer of a 50 dollar travel card. * I verified his information, and informed i will be sending out the card shortly. FILE OPEN, sent to supervisor for travel card approval. Bestwestern.com is the main booking website for all Best Western Hotels, worldwide. It meets or exceeds all Travel Industry standards. Best Western displays our rates as any other hotel in the system. We have a zero complaint record with the BBB. I contacted Best Western and they could find no other complains about how our rates are displayed or any other Best Western Hotel. I addressed ** ********* claim that the Hotel staff and myself was rude to him in my other reply. Please remove or close the file. ** ********* was never a guest at this hotel. Thank you ******** ******** XXX XXX XXXX