This Business is not BBB accredited

BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows

Phone: (503) 286-9600 1215 N Hayden Meadows Dr, Portland, OR 97217 http://bestwesternoregon.com/hotels/best-western-inn-at-the-meadows


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BEST WESTERN Inn at the Meadows
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2010 Business started: 08/15/1989 Business started locally: 08/15/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Steve Lee, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Steve Lee, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1215 N Hayden Meadows Dr

    Portland, OR 97217 (503) 286-9600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising, bad customer service, support, refusal of refund or partial refund. Came from California to Portland for vacation. Drove to hotel, surrounding area not in a good area. Seen homeless people, cameras all over building and seen a car drove slow and checking cars in parking lot , not a security guard. Area felt very unsafe with child. Which in all the pictures on the website only show inside of hotel and only one outside picture looked like in a good neighborhood. Payed through groupon, called customer service they said it was up to the hotel. So we went in and talked to ***** the manager who looked like a valet, no name tag and kept talking on cell phone. So we talked to him to get a refund, partial refund or credit for another best western. I told him we did feel safe of the area. He didn't care and said I can't give you a refund because we didn't cancel within 24 hours. I said well how are we suppose to know the area was bad. He said we should have done more research because this area has a lot of homeless people. It also said it was right next to downtown it's about 15 to 20 minutes away in car, not walking distance as advertised. So he would not do anything, so we left and I called two different corporate phone numbers and they both said they can't do anything because their privately owned. So I guess all I can do is make a complaint with the bbb for false advertising and poor customer service. Thank you for help.

Desired Settlement: Refund or half refund of total amount already paid or credit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/06) */ Hello *** *******, This what was stated on our ******* promotion. Best Western Inn at The Meadows is just 6 miles from downtown Portland, which you can reach in less than 15 minutes by car (parking is free at the hotel). It's also three blocks from a Yellow Line light-rail stop, 8 miles from ******** ************* ******** and steps from the ******** **** ****** and ******** ************* ******** Reservations: Dates cannot be changed once booked; valid only for night(s) purchased Cancellation policy: 24-hour cancellation notice required prior to check-in or reservation is non-refundable; reservations made within cancellation window are non-refundable Taxes: 14.5% tax added at purchase A valid credit card is required at check-in; if no credit card a debit card is allowed and may be authorized for up to $500 for any incidentals. Unfortunately, there are homeless, most places you go in and around any city. Like I said before; this area is very safe and there has not been an incident of violence in our area for 7 years to my knowledge. And actually we do have security walking/biking around the area everyday. As for the security cameras; it is just an extra measure to keep everyone safe; in my opinion it does a great job of making people think twice about doing something bad in our area. Also, the ******* promotions are very strict; since it is heavily discounted and a limited offer the cancellation penalties are very strict. Sorry, for any inconvenience. Please do not hesitate to contact me regarding any questions or concerns. Kind regards, ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well before we went in to talk with ***** the manager, we talked with ******* to get a refund. ******* said that they would refund our money if the manager accepts our reason for cancelling, which was the hotel was in a very bad, unsafe area which was not listed in pictures or in description. We booked two nights and tried to cancel even the second night within 24hr policy and he still said he could not refund our money back, no partial or even credit back. I understand that cities have bums too but when there more than the worse areas ive been in thats pretty bad. I look up the hotels address on CrimeMapper and found out that with in the last 12 months in that parking lot and within a half of a mile of the hotel. There has been multiple crimes in that area vehicle thefts, larceny, theft from autos, assault, burglary, vandalism, drug law offenses, stolen property, disorderly conduct, liquor law violations, trespass/threats. Theses are all on the website. My advice would be to go on this website before you stay at this hotel or any. All i would like is a partial refund i dont see why this is a problem, ******* was willing to work with me and they need the managers approval to refund it back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/10/17) */ Hi *****, If you did the same search anywhere in Portland or any city it will pull up a lot of crimes. This is still not a valid reason for a partial refund or any refund. When you booked through ******* you agreed to terms; 24 hour change/cancel policy; if you cancelled your reservation 24 hours in advance you would have received a refund; you had plenty of opportunity to do research before your arrival; I see you booked in advance; didn't give the hotel an opportunity. Where did you end up staying? I would like to do the same search on CrimeMapper and see what I pull up. If there no crimes in the area in which you ended up staying; I will ask Groupon to provide a full refund. Kind regards, ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I find it funny that you said there has not been any crimes in your area for several years when there was countless acts of crimes in your parking lot and area within a mile of the hotel. Well we didn't stay in Portland you put such a bad taste in our family's month that we left and went to roseburg area. Oh and I looked up area we stayed in roseburg no crimes at all at the location and within miles of where we stayed. Defiantly never staying at a best western ever again.

4/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues