This business is not BBB accredited.

America's Best Value Inn

Phone: (541) 276-1400 201 SW Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801 http://www.americasbestvalueinn.com/bestv.cfm?idp=1278 View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for America's Best Value Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on America's Best Value Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 2013 Business started: 08/07/2007 Business started locally: 08/07/2007 Business incorporated 06/08/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ranji Patel, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Office Manager, Manager
Principal: Mr. Ranji Patel, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 SW Court Ave

    Pendleton, OR 97801 (541) 276-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I would like to express my complete dissatisfaction for the customer service I received at the Pendleton Americas Best Value Inn. You truly dont get what you pay for here! My sons ************************* ******** team made it to the *************** Tournament that was hosted in Pendleton OR. In our excitement, our team quickly began to research hotel accommodations and the best deals where our players and families could all stay as a team. We went to the *********************** website and the ***************************** website and noticed a number of hotels that were offering discounted rates to teams of the tournament. We were considering the ******** and then came across the discounted price quote of $69.99, plus tax at the Pendleton Americas Best Value Inn. We called to confirm that price and the front desk politely confirmed that we could stay for $69.99 per night, plus tax. Our entire team booked rooms at this hotel (at least 17 rooms were booked in all). Each family booked, paid and arrived at different times. When my husband checked in, he was verbally told $69.99 per night, plus tax and then slipped a bill to sign, which he did. Over the next couple days word started to spread that some were charged $69.99 and some were charged $79.99. When we looked at the bill, we noticed we were charged $79.99, plus tax and not the $69.99 told on the phone or at check in. One family member that had come up later than everyone else, was actually charged $99.99, plus tax. Another guest, not with our group checking in at the same time received a rate of $42.99 for the same night. As I went to the front desk to try and reconcile what I thought would be an honest mistake on their end, the lady would not even look at me and said it was $79.99 and we signed the bills, so they would not adjust. I was frustrated, but left to talk to the others in my group to research further. Everyone started to share similar stories and confirmed their bills were different than what was quoted, even at check in. The next morning, myself and two other moms went in to try and resolve the issue again. We were again greeted with the same response and then the owner showed up. He started yelling at us and telling us to leave the property if we were unhappy. We told him we were customers, trying to resolve a discrepancy on our bills. He said we were only upset because we lost our ******** game. He then said he could change his prices from minute to minute and we should have looked at the bill before we signed it (agree). When we said we trusted that we received the rate we were quoted on the phone and at check, he said oh well! When we pointed to his sign that said they offer a price match guarantee and asked him to make the adjustment, he said he did not have to. It was his decision to charge us $79.99 per night and that was that. We asked why he would do this to a ************* Team on a budget? We asked why he would falsely advertise a price to get us to go there. He said we could have decided to stay somewhere else when we checked in, if we did not like the price. Who is going to pack up and go somewhere else at the last minute with kids in tow after your card has already been charged? A few seconds later a police officer arrived. While we were completely embarrassed, we were actually relieved to have someone of authority onsite. We went outside and explained our situation to the officer and he informed us that he has been called to the Pendleton Americas Best Value Inn before and of the many places to stay in Pendleton, unfortunately this hotel is not one he would recommend. We explained how we came to find this hotel and he apologized and told us to dispute the charges with our credit card company, report them to the Better Business Bureau, the ******************* and the ***********************. He was extremely helpful and we all went back to our rooms and began to pack up. As we did this, a worker was hiding in a vacant hotel room video-taping our children playing wiffle ball in the parking lot. The children all started to report this to their parents and were scared, so rather than go back to the front office and complain or call the police, we all made the decision to pack up quickly and leave before check out. I am pretty sure it is illegal to video tape a minor child without parent consent. We also felt compelled to take pictures of the hotel rooms as we left them in fear of additional charges that may be added fraudulently to our cards. We have reported this experience to the hotel chain, the ***************************** and ***********************, as well as some surrounding businesses which have all agreed not to advertise their services in the future.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to be reimbursed for the difference of $69.99 plus tax and $79.99 plus tax. Not for the money, but for the principle and for the poor customer service we received.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/18) */ This is a false complaint,and this guest was informed along with thier group they ar ebarred from our property,also law was called as they very getting very voilent and abusive and both girls were in tears who work at front desk,and five guests compalined about them and thier children,playing base ball in parking lot,with a full hote,also Police officer will tell you they are making a false complaint and twisting the words of the officer,who came and handled the situation very professionally.There also damged the room an dproperty on purpose.When they checke din signed three places. This is the same group,and this guest was the once who was creating a big scene when guests were having breakfast,when they checked in were given a discounted price of $79.99 plus tax,and ******************* rate ,they had an option to stay or not check in,also guest was very nice and thank ful,till we gave a refund for remaining two days,as she informed that they had lost both games an dare very upset also complaining game was not fair etc. it was really creating a public nuisance as guest started asking everyone in breakfast area and others guests checking out and people from her town how much they paid etc,she made both girls working in front cry,law was called to cool all of them down,we try to educate how the rates work in hospitality and airline industry and how online price was $99 that day and they don't have any group reservation,also when they checked in they were briefed in detail of the room,all amenities and the price before and after tax,and they didn't have any problem during that time.due to this guest we had inconvenience for other guests ,and the guests children were playing parking lot and hitting cars of other guest,even after request ,they did nothing,then came threw key at front desk and wanted a receipt for plastic keys ,which is never required Ms **** ******* is barred and flagged bad guest,we have never experienced a guest being so rude,unreasonable unthankful,and leave room in so bad state,and maintenance person found whole tube of toothpaste and other stuff flushed in toilet,which caused damages.In hospitality different guest pay different prices,some had booked two month sin advance through ********** and *******,some were walk ins some made reservations and we were sold out ,as our rates were lowest, The guest complaining is making a totally false and fabricated complaint ,because law was called to cool the guest down, the rat eon line for 12,and 13 was $88 and $99 onwards as there was event in the city,and our hotel being very close and rated number one in guest satisfaction,lots of guests had booked . During check I was present along with ******,***** and other staff,the guest were informed two times the rate and all amenities and about the city, this guest team as per guest lost both games,and they requested refund for the remaining stay, which looking at the situation and five other complaints to us from other guests ,about their kids running around the breezeway whole night,and staying in pool past the pool hours and throwing unwarranted stuff in toilets clogging them,and playing in the parking lot,with base ball bat and ball,I said I would do it,the guest came with other lady ate breakfast and was very nice ,and as soon as I gave her refund ,and as I was busy with checking out and breakfast with house full,and another staff member helping me,this guest just changed her attitude and started yelling and screaming,before other guests,even though we do not give refunds on events ,I was nice to do so,she also refused to tell kids to stop playing in the parking lot,which is unsafe for kids and other guests. She started talking to all guests eating breakfast,and anyone who was coming for breakfast,I along with other staff were in tears and had to inform other staff although they worked night before,they came and tried cool down her violent behavior also advised ,if she doesn't stop yelling and screaming ,law will be informed ,she said she doesn't care,and law was called,and law told her to go out of lobby,she cooled down after that and other ladies whom she was instigating even apologized on her behavior,said she has never travel led and doesn't understand how hospitality and airline service works and their rates,as per occupancy, The guest came gain was advised had been explained and had signed three places on folio,asked what's a folio or receipt and was shown,then came with plastic rooms keys and wanted a receipt for them,which we said we don't,we were busy and lots of other teams were staying with us and we gave a discounted price of $79.99 plus tax instead of regular rate of $99 plus tax,also we didn't charge for extra people in the room,or pets for the teams,99 percent of the guests were so happy due to the same,this guest ,was totally out of line and out of boundaries of law,disturbing peace and creating an unsafe atmosphere,guest was informed is being barred from the property, the staff worked day and night ,to clean up the mess left in pool area,breezeway and parking lot. Most of the guests were walk ins and few had reservation,and lots who arrived when town was full ,were charged accordingly even matched online rates. In hospitality rates change as per occupancy,any group rates are contracted in advance and payment made in full for any group and are non refundable, and there was no group booking,at all for these guest,these guest were very unruly and were trying to yell and screamed instigate all other guests,even other guests were nice and asked should they call the law,to help us out. We immediately barred these guests, after that they kept making treating calls and false statements,and prank calls. Their room damages have been assessed to more than $5000 . We have pictures of damaged room,and have flagged the person staying with as barred guest,no issue of any kind and never addressed,during two days of stay ,only after they lost both games,also guest were explained about extra person fees and pet fees,which we waived even for kids over 13,gave free roll away beds,free extra pillows,towels,early check in as soon as 12Pm.in afternoon The guest has to be educated how rates in hospitality work and also in airline industry. This is a totally false issue and for safety of our staff and all our guests ,who also complained about their attitude and were uncomfortable due to them,gave us written statements complaining about them .The guest is also requested to pay us for the damages to the room as soon as possible. thank You! God Bless! Sincerely, ******* GM ABVI