BBB Accredited Business since

Spinell Homes Inc

Phone: (907) 344-5678 Fax: (907) 344-1976 View Additional Phone Numbers 1900 W Northern Lights Blvd # 200, Anchorage, AK 99517 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.spinellhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spinell Homes Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spinell Homes Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spinell Homes Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 05/08/1987 Business started locally: 05/08/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Spinelli, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Spinelli, President
Business Category

Home Builders Contractors - General


Additional Locations

  • 1900 W Northern Lights Blvd # 200

    Anchorage, AK 99517 (907) 344-5678 (907) 344-5678

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically I have emailed Spinell about our property we purchased from them in Feb 2010 and the fact that the land in our front yard has been sinking. First email I sent was on April 26, 2013 and was told they'd come out and fix the problem. Several following emails between me and an 'unknown' person and now after two months I have yet to see anyone come to our property, the yard looks awful and I have not been contacted since June 7th. Seems like I am getting the run-around. Here is the email trail I spoke of...starts down at the bottom: Yes we have the address correct, ***** was mistaken and was thinking of a different house. sorry -----Original Message----- From: **** ****** mailto:*******@******* Sent: Thursday, June 06, 2013 9:24 PM To: Spinell Subject: Re: Contact Us *** ** ****** ****** / Utopia Meadows, Wasilla I'm wondering if you guys have my address correct ----- Original Message ----- From: "Spinell" <*******@****************> To: "'**** ******'" <*******@*******> Sent: Thursday, May 30, 2013 8:08 AM Subject: RE: Contact Us *** ** ****** ****** / Utopia Meadows, Wasilla >I spoke with ***** and he said every time they went out there to take a >look > at it, that there were big trailers in the way, I will have ***** contact > our excavator again and he will get out there to fix it for you. Please > make > sure there is nothing in the way of the sink hole. Thanks > > -----Original Message----- > From: **** ****** mailto:*******@******* > Sent: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 10:49 PM > To: Spinell > Subject: Re: Contact Us *** ** ****** ****** / Utopia Meadows, Wasilla > Importance: High > > I know the weather got a little weird but it's been 1 month since you > wrote > that "someone will contact you soon" back on April 30th. Can you update > me > ? Thanks so much, > > **** ****** > *** ** ****** ****** / Utopia Meadows > Wasilla, AK XXXXX > > ************ (work) > ******** (cell) > > > ----- Original Message ----- > From: "Spinell" <*******@****************> > To: <*******@*******> > Sent: Tuesday, April 30, 2013 10:21 AM > Subject: RE: Contact Us *** ** ****** ****** / Utopia Meadows, Wasilla > > >>I will talk to my supervisor and see what we can do. Someone will contact >> you soon. Thanks >> >> -----Original Message----- >> From: *******@**************** mailto:*******@**************** On >> Behalf >> Of *******@******* >> Sent: Friday, April 26, 2013 8:26 PM >> To: *******@**************** >> Subject: Contact Us *** ** ****** ****** / Utopia Meadows, Wasilla >> >> **** ****** sent a message using the contact form at >> http://www.spinellhomes.com/contact. >> >> Hello - >> >> Curious about our lot. It's been 3 years since we've taken ownership of >> this >> residence, but it seems that about half the ground in our front yard is >> sinking (from the front living room of the house out towards the street) >> I've already spread one bucket load of dirt myself, but now that this >> winter >> >> is almost over I see that it has once again sunk a little bit. Is there >> anything that Spinell will do to correct this? V/r, >> >> **** ******

Desired Settlement: To be honest and fair and come out and fix our sunken front yard! If they can't do that, it'd be fine if they just cut me a check for like 10 yards of good clean topsoil and a few hundred dollars extra so that I can rent a backhoe or bobcat to spread it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 5, 2013/06/28) */ We have received this request and although the warranty for settling of soils over septic systems or utility lines in only one year, and this home is over three years old, we will provide topsoil and seed to bring this spot up to grade Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm not crazy about choosing either yes or no ...there should either be a radio button for 'Unsure' or you should give me a little more time to respond to this. Though, I like their response, it was 12 days ago. Summer won't last much longer here in Alaska and I'd sure like to see some grass before the first frost so that the dirt will hold the low spot won't re-sink during the long winter. Basically I'm saying that I believe they will live up to their agreement but I'm scared to choose 'yes' because you have the pop-up that says: NOTE: If you choose YES, the BBB will assume that you are completely satisfied with the way the company handled the complaint and the BBB will close the complaint as resolved. Of course, if the company does not live up to their agreements you can always request the complaint case be reopened. I guess my choice is to hope they live up to their end of the deal and if not I may or may not reopen the case... may just forget the whole thing and handle the job and funding myself

12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service