BBB Accredited Business since

Hayden Homes LLC

Phone: (541) 923-6607 Fax: (541) 548-0761 2464 SW Glacier Pl, Redmond, OR 97756 http://www.hayden-homes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers custom home building.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hayden Homes LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hayden Homes LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Hayden Homes LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 1998 Business started: 03/01/1993 Business started locally: 03/01/1993 Business incorporated: 03/18/1993 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
John McLeod, Director of Operations Mr. Dennis Murphy, President Ms. Sonya Rhodes, Customer Service Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: John McLeod, Director of Operations
Customer Contact: Ms. Sonya Rhodes, Customer Service Coordinator
Business Category

Home Builders Contractors - General


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hayden Homes LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2464 SW Glacier Pl

    Redmond, OR 97756 (541) 923-6607

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New home 1 year warranty is not being honored. Submitted new home warranty request form 11-10-14. No communication on status or schedule. Repeated calls and messages are unanswered at the number I was advised to call. XXX-XXX-XXXX, ******* **********

Desired Settlement: Im looking for communication on when the new home warranty items will be addressed. I also request the items be addressed in a reasonable timeframe.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ Hayden Homes has received the customer's warranty claim request. We have opened a Service Request SR-XXXXXX and are working with the customer to address their concerns as applicable to the warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Acknowledgement of warranty item submission received with item solution in progress.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted Hayden Homes Rep multiple times to fix an HVAC issue. They have in fact, setup appointment for the HVAC company that installed the service to look at the 10 degrees temperature difference between the living/dining room areas and the bedroom/bathroom areas. Walking down the hallway you can feel the temperature change, which the HVAC repairman even admitted. The HVAC manager has stated nothing can be done. I have been advised since the house has vaulted ceilings, and the floor plan with correct amount of vents is proper, to leave the fan on to move the air throughout the premises. UNACCEPTABLE! I have contacted the Hayden Homes Rep regarding this issue again, and again, in which he advises me, he is trying to contact his boss to meet with me. Whenever I call, it goes to voicemail, because, I am sure, he is tired of hearing from me. I have contacted other local HVAC companies in which they have stated this 10 degree temp difference should not be. I am willing to forgo the so called 1 year warranty on the HVAC to have this issue corrected by a company that is not afraid to fix it properly. Hayden Homes Rep has advised me this is the first complaint about temp difference they have had. Maybe because people don't know it isn't supposed to be this way. Whether you have vaulted ceilings or a 2 story, the temperature should not be different no matter what room, or floor, you go to. I have been told it is a ducting issue from the other companies I have spoke with. Sure, on paper the floor plan looks as if the correct amount of venting and placing the thermostat in the hallway looks good, but maybe, just maybe, the architect or engineers that drew up the floor plan, might have made an error. At final walkthrough, the Hayden Homes Rep advised me to leave the vents open all the time to get proper airflow throughout the house. Then, at the last meeting, the same Rep advised me to close a couple vents and/or doors to rooms that are being used. UNACCEPTABLE! I have indeed closed the vents to all 5 vents in the backside of the house where it is cooler (when the a/c is on), but this does not fix the problem, and it only forces the air through faster.

Desired Settlement: To honor the 1 year warranty stated at time of walkthrough. Have enough integrity to resolve this issue before June 2015 warranty coverage ends.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ Our HVAC contractor visited this customer with to evaluate the customers claims and attempt to reach resolution to the matter. A copy of the HVAC contractors notes are attached. The evaluation did not confirm the customers complaint of a 10 degree temperature difference between areas of the house, rather that the temperature differences were slight at the time of the visit. The house has been installed per plan, based on specifications that meet code requirements for HVAC systems for the area and the equipment is operating as designed. It is not possible to ensure perfectly consistent temperatures in all areas of a house all the time, especially in extreme heat / cold conditions. The customer was advised of a number of common techniques to improve performance and outcomes for the system, including running the fan independently of the thermostat to continually mix the air in the house, opening and closing vents in different areas of the house to fine tune the airflow. These are solutions that most homeowners are aware of and able to work with, but unfortunately in this case were not acceptable to this customer. We believe that we have done everything reasonable to ensure the customers system is working as designed, and in a manner consistent with the many homes of this type that have been built in the area, without complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Your HVAC contractor even admitted to the difference in temperature. Sure, when you turn the ac down to 73, the whole house WILL get cold. And yes, I have tried closing (not all the way) vents in the other rooms, and NO, that did not help. I also have tried, just like I told Hayden Homes Rep, it still did not resolve this issue. The temperatures were slight at the visit was because it was EIGHT in the MORNING. Why didn't you, or you so called contractor show up at 2pm or 3pm? I am sure it's because both of your companies know that I am not the only one experiencing this issue, or IF, just IF, i am, then neither of your companies want to get off your a** to make it right. Like I said mentioned before, maybe, JUST MAYBE, your architects or engineers made a mistake with this layout. At least thats what the 4 other HVAC companies have advised me. It is really odd, when I conversed with the other companies, they all came to the same conclusion, "sounds like a duct issue". It IS possible to get more of a 2 degree difference in the home not matter what room you are in, and no matter what the temperature is outside. If you have that problem, which I do too, maybe there is a issue with the insulation. But, for now, lets just stick the HVAC issue. I am not sure how Hayden Homes can say it operating just fine, when I have to run a fan in the 15' hallway leading from the bedrooms to the living area. This in fact, fixes the issue. And since I am doing this, makes me think this is a air flow problem. How this cannot be seen by Hayden Homes or the so called contractor is beyond me. These "solutions" are not acceptable to me because I shouldn't have to waste electricity I pay for, to keep my house at a more reasonable temperature. And no, no contact has been made from the Hayden Homes rep to me, since he advised me he was going to "talk", to his boss. Sounds like a run around tip next summer to me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/22) */ The HVAC system has been designed and installed according to industry codes and standards. Our evaluation of this particular situation is that the system is operating as specified. The nature of any HVAC system is that it uses electricity to perform its function and the greater the difference between ambient temperature and the desired temperature, the more electricity will be required. It is also true that higher efficiency systems, multi zone systems, more insulation and so forth will achieve superior results at lower operating costs. The systems installed, inspected and approved by Hayden Homes are provided at a certain cost and provide a certain level of performance, which in this case, as in every home we build, is guaranteed. Hayden Homes will continue to do everything reasonable to meet and even exceed those standards. However we acknowledge that there are times when the expectations of a customer and the performance parameters of the purchased system do not align Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/10/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "Hayden Homes will continue to do EVERYTHING REASONABLE to meet and even exceed those standards." Replacing ductwork only to the living/dining room is reasonable. "However we acknowledge that there are times when the expectations of a customer and the performance parameters of the purchased system do not align." This is just a simple way to say, even though you spend THOUSANDS of dollars on your house, if you are not comfortable, it's your problem. Thanks for the money. I guess INTEGRITY doesn't mean what it used to.

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my Hayden Home Jun 30 2013. We bought the ****** model. We have had non stop A/C issues. Hayden has under several warranty claims attempted to fix my A/C issue(A/C will not reach temp causing the unit to run nonstop). Hayden Homes had ******** in my home several times and *** said my house needs to be dual zoned to work properly. Hayden Homes had *** do this evaluation. Hayden Homes now refuses to do what ******** said it would require to fix my A/C. Their response is that they just don't do dual zones nor do they offer that as an option. But that does not change the fact my A/C unit runs all the time....never cycles on and off to give the unit a chance to rest. Hayden Homes used ******** ** to install the HVAC system. They did not build my home to this spec....they have since come out and further deviated from the Manual J HVAC installation. Now they say it is my problem and refuse to dual zone my house per the Company that they hired for advice. I paid a lot of money for my home....*** also says Hayden Homes have had several HVAC home issues/Complaints.

Desired Settlement: I want my HVAC unit to work as advertised. Dual zone my house or do whatever the HVAC company says to do to fix it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ The following information has been given directly to the customer involved through our Warranty Department.. As part of the building permitting process, jurisdictions require Manual J Residential Load Calculation for HVAC equipment sizing loads for single-family homes. In this and every home we build, a proper load calculation was performed by a licensed installer and approved by the local jurisdiction which was applied to the home. A system that will cycle on and off quickly hurts the system's ability to control humidity levels, and deliver well balanced, even conditioning. The motor uses 3 times or more energy to startup than to run. Therefore, quick on and off cycling is not the recommended way to heat or cool a home. Quick on and off cycling will also likely cost the Homeowner more in service calls and for earlier equipment replacement. The Manual J outlines the procedures necessary to estimate the heat loss and heat gain of residential structures. The home was built to the specifications outlined in the Manual J and Hayden Homes has had the installer inspect and verify that the proper equipment was installed and is running at efficient levels for the home. A copy of the Manual J design specifications and calculations is attached to this response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have deviated twice from their manual J that they just posted. That information would be great if they didn't deviate from that very nice and large PDF of how they "built" house. The thermostat isn't where the manual J puts it, the return isn't where the manual J says it should be and they added an extra outlet"duct". So all their numbers and figures don't work on my house because it isn't built to those specs. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/23) */ Our Regional Construction Manager and the General Manager of the HVAC company attended the home of this customer to review the situation and perform corrective action to ensure that the system is performing properly. It is our understanding that this situation is corrected and we will remain in contact with this customer over the next few weeks / months to ensure his full satisfaction with the HVAC system and his Hayden Home.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased an inventory home that was in the process of being built from Hayden Homes. Our home closed on Mar. 28, 2014. On Feb. 7, 2014 I contacted ****** ******* the Community Manager in charge of the development where our home is located, and asked her if she would measure the windows in our home since I was going to order blinds for the windows. I let her know I was going to do it that day because of a sale I wanted to take advantage of. I did not feel comfortable going to the home myself since they were painting and I signed a contract with Hayden Homes which stated that I was not allowed on the property unless accompanied by a Hayden Homes Respresentative as it was a construction site and carried risk. ****** was rarely available but I thought that I would ask anyway. Hayden Homes verbally told my husband and me that we were more than welcome to visit the homesite whenever we liked but because of the contract, I chose not to. When I prompted ****** about blinds measurements the following day she replied, "I can do you one better. One of our other "Targhees" is being professionally measured today at noon. He said he would do yours at the same time. I will email you his measurements and bid." The blinds measurements were e-mailed along with a quote later that day. The measurements were given to a half inch which suggested to me that they were reasonably accurate and true. I thanked her and ordered the blinds. After we moved in I prepared to hang the blinds, and I discovered not a single measurement was correct, indeed, not even close. I spent $1400 on these 9 blinds. Because the blinds were custom made, I could not get any sort of help or refund. I brought the issue up with ****** and two of her colleagues for the next couple of weeks and no one took responsibility for my financial loss. I ended up having to spend $900 more to get new blinds. Product_Or_Service: Window blinds Order_Number: Order # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want reimbursement from Hayden Homes for allowing a third party onto the property to provide a service that was arranged by verbal agreement and by e-mail which resulted in a financial loss for me for $900 -- the amount it cost to repurchase new blinds.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/21) */ In this case the customer used measurements contained in an estimate provided by our supplier in good faith, to purchase blinds from an on-line 3rd party company. Hayden Homes will always stand behind the quality of products purchased from Hayden Homes and its partners, but cannot be responsible for the quality, fit and workmanship of products supplied by non-related organizations. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since the Community Manager allowed a third party into the home without my solicitation, I had to assume that there was some business relationship with this party and Hayden Homes or it's representative. I did not have any reason to question this relationship since I trusted the information and response given to me by the Community Manager. I never had any contact, direct or indirect, with this third party. All of my questions and contact and correspondence was through the Community Manager, whom I was instructed by Hayden Homes to contact for all questions and help. I never signed any document which stated that any third party, be it a plumber or electrician or any other party, was not a contracted employee of Hayden Homes and that I should be responsible for any of the service given by these parties should I have a problem. Was instructed by Hayden Homes to file a claim through Hayden Homes and that it would be Hayden Homes responsibility to remedy the problem. I contacted the Community Manager immediately upon discovering the problem and was told that I would get help. I have been ignored since. Final Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/07/03) */ Hayden Homes is currently working with the homeowner to resolve this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2014/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hayden Homes was given until June 9, 2014 to respond to my comments. I waited until June 27, at which time, not having heard anything, decided to take them to Small Claims Court. Their response came after this happened. They have not made any attempts to contact me since the first week of April so I feel their answer is a bit suspect. I do not feel anyone is trying to resolve anything. I will await my court date and accept whatever ruling is issued.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At time of orientation we were checking the dishwasher and water was all over the interior. I asked if the dishwasher had been run and Hayden Homes reps. said yes they had run it. I wondered at that time why there was so much water-inside door and all racks should have been dry! The first time we used it the dishes were all wet! We have had 4 service calls and still not fixed according to the technicians. Hayden Homes have made no attempt to resolve this issue and they have been informed numerous times. Their Warranty Rep. has been aware of this issue from the beginning. We also informed him of cracks around the counter and backsplash of which he said he would fix several weeks ago,have not heard from him since!! Also there is paint dropped on the floor of the patio that he said would be removed before we moved in and has never been touched!! In all, we feel Hayden Homes does not live up to its stated warranty policy!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) 1. Dishwasher to be replaced 2. Cracked grout to be removed and installed properly as promised3. Paint on patio floor to be removed as promised

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/16) */ Hayden Homes would argue this is not a valid complaint. The dishwasher appliance warranty is with the manufacturer and not Hayden Homes. In good faith Hayden Homes received notice regarding the dishwasher on 10/29/13. The customer complained that the dishes were not drying properly. Hayden Homes advised the homeowner to contact ** and open a service claim to schedule an appointment with ****************** the ** authorized repair company. The customer contacted ** & opened a warranty service claim. The first appointment with the appliance company and homeowner took place on 11/30/13, Hayden Homes has documentation to support this. ** sent a Technician from Quality Appliance to fix the problem. The technician had to order a new rack. The new rack was installed and the homeowner said that the new rack did not fix the problem. Another appointment was rescheduled a 2nd appointment and technician told homeowner that he would order a dry kit as the rack was not fixing the problem. On 11/11/13 the dry kit was installed. The tech needed a light shield to complete the job. The Technician couldn't finish the job and had to order this part. During this appointment there was a lack of communication between all parties. The customer was not aware of the service call not being completed and that another part had been ordered. The new light shield and dry kit was installed and all work has now been completed by ** factory authorized repair company.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the negotiation process, we had several counter offers going back and forth. On each counter, the 'Fill Your Fridge' promotion was included in the counter, until the final offer. The reason given for pulling the promotion, was "A full price offer wasn't submitted for the inventory home." After reviewing the specifics of the promotion, I found that it did, in fact, need to be a full price offer. However, none of the offers or counter offers were "full price" offers to start with, thus leading us to believe we would receive the $3,000 ******* Card upon closing. This was a huge part of our thinking when deciding to purchase this particular house. We had no indication the promotion would not be honored, until we received the final offer from Hayden. We were so invested in the process at that point, that we decided to buy the home anyway. If the reason for Hayden pulling the promotion was simply "negotiating" we would have been fine with that. Their explanation of, "not a full-priced offer" doesn't make sense as no other offer was "full priced" before the final offer. Needless to say, we felt misled. Note: XXXXX ********* ***** in Aspen Rim in Bend, OR

Desired Settlement: We would like the $3,000.00 ******* Card we believed we would receive at closing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ First of all these Buyers were in a contract on another Hayden Home that never qualified for the Fill the Fridge promotion ever and we allowed them to move to this home site and transferred their earnest money from the other home to this one. The original purchase price for this home was $284,990. The Buyers original offer was for $250,000 and NO mention of the Fill the Fridge promotion was mentioned in this contract nor did the Buyers ask for it in any way in their original offer. This offer would not have qualified per our promotional guidelines and therefore was negotiated without the promotion which is why our Sellers counter offer #1 was not full price. The Buyer then countered at $270,000 and requested the Fill the fridge promotion on the Buyers counter #1. At which time we wrote a Sellers counter #2 agreeing to the $270,000 purchase price but saying no to the Fill the fridge promotion. The Buyer accepted this counter thereby receiving a $14,990 discount on this property. We in no way misled this Buyer as all of our advertising says good on Full price offers only and further this Buyer never requested the promotion in the original contract. Upon hearing of the promotion the Buyer then put it in their Counter Offer #1 which we did not agree to and immediately countered as such. Please let me know if you need copies of the original offer and counters I would be happy to provide them. Lastly, add to this that ******* was never an option. Our Promotion is for ********** or **** ***** only.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my wife and I first signed the contract with Hayden Homes to build our house we were told that the floor plan that we wanted (Orchard) would need to be flipped to accommodate Hayden Homes' community design. When the floor plan flip was first brought up to my wife and me, my wife, our relator, and I had reservations about how the driveway and the driveway entrance would work - being that the street ended short of the driveway and that the barrier for the street would almost divide our driveway and driveway entrance in half. We were assured by Hayden Homes that the barrier would be moved and that there was no reason for concern. On a visit to the property, after the driveway and driveway entrance had been poured, my wife, our relator, and I had noticed the driveway was misaligned and the driveway entrance was inadequate (by about 3/4 the size) for the size of the driveway. When Hayden Homes came out to the property to address our concerns about the driveway and driveway entrance, Hayden Homes had told my wife, our relator, and me that the city was "The Big Bad Wolf" and that my wife and I need to compromise with Hayden Homes. Our relator talked to city officials and the owners of the property, which butts up against our property, and got the okay for an easement. Even though we have paperwork, from both Hayden Homes and the city, showing that Hayden Homes had planned to move the barrier and extend the street, no compromise was given by Haydn Homes. Instead Hayden Homes said that the driveway and entrance to the driveway was acceptable by Hayden Homes and that they would be doing nothing to resolve the problem. My wife, our relator, and I have worked tirelessly to try and resolve the issue only to be met by Hayden Homes with refusals to work out a compromise and that my wife and my contract with Hayden Homes is now an "as-is" deal. Since the observation of the misaligned driveway and insufficient driveway entrance my wife and I have been told that the problem with the driveway was the cities fault, that the driveway meets Hayden Homes standards, that it was our duty to know that Hayden Homes could not do what they initially told my wife and I they could do, and that Hayden Homes wants to terminate their contract with my wife and me.

Desired Settlement: We have asked Hayden Homes to do one of the following things - to no avail - to resolve the driveway and driveway entrance problem: 1.) realign the driveway, put in a driveway entrance that accommodates the size of the driveway, and move the street barrier back - as initially promised 2.) reduce the price of the house to reflect the amount of money my wife and I will need to spend to properly fix the problem 3.) add upgrades to the house to reflect the amount of money my wife and I will need to spend to properly fix the problem 4.) a combination of both numbers two and three.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ In response to the complaints made by ****** ********** Hayden Homes LLC have delivered the home at **** ******* ** Albany, Oregon 97321 as per the written contract signed by both Hayden Homes LLC and the buyer ****** **********. The **********'s had signed a contract to the layout and orientation of how this home would be constructed and built; Hayden Homes LLC has completed this home per the terms and conditions of said contract dated May 22, 2013. In regards to the City of Albany barricade, driveway and approach Hayden Homes LLC at no time addressed in the contract how it would be completed or delivered to the home buyer. The complaint in question and improvements requested by the **********'s are on private property and the City of Albany. Hayden Homes LLC has meet with the City of Albany multiple times and was directed by them as to how the driveway approach would be completed to meet all of their building requirements. Hayden Homes LLC does not own or control the land the buyers are concerned about and it was never our intention to move the City of Albany barricade or obtain an easement from a private landowner. The **********'s have to take some responsibility regarding their due diligence in this transaction, as the property pins, and City barricade were both present and disclosed to the home buyers prior to construction starting. During their due diligence they could have inquired what City's requirements were required to move the City barricade, instead of assuming that Hayden Homes LLC would be moving the barricade. With regards to resolution Hayden Homes LLC does not want the home buyers the **********'s to feel like they are being forced into purchasing this home they are clearly not happy with; Hayden Homes LLC had graciously offered to give them 100% of their Non-refundable construction retainer back. Two options we proposed to the **********'s (1) to move forward with the purchase of the home built and constructed as per the signed written contract. (2) The buyers get their Non-refundable construction retainer refunded. Both of these options have been rejected by the **********'s At this time Hayden Homes LLC is terminating this transaction and will release the buyer of any future claims from the Hayden Homes LLC. Home Buyer is within their right to pursue any Legal means they deem necessary. However the non refundable construction retainer will be handled as outlined in Earnest Money agreement if buyer fails to accept the proposed termination. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My wife and my response is to the completely unethical actions of Hayden Homes LLC. The purpose of reporting Hayden Homes LLC to the Better Business Bureau is twofold: 1.) to make the Better Business Bureau aware of Haden Homes LLC business practices and 2.) to allow potential buyers to see how Hayden Homes LLC operates, so that they have a better understanding of how Hayden Homes LLC potentially operates. In no way have I misinterpreted the actions of Hayden Homes LLC. The term "flipped" was used by two of their sells representatives - this was not a term that my wife and I have come up with. My wife and I wish Hayden Homes LLC nothing but luck on their selling of the property on **** ******* ** Albany, Oregon. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/25) */ In response to the complaints made by ****** ********** Hayden Homes LLC have delivered the home at **** ******* ** ******* Oregon 97321 as per the written contract signed by both Hayden Homes LLC and the buyer ****** **********. The **********'s have made repeated claims that the home was somehow "flipped" or that a mistake was made on the layout and garage orientation of this home. The home was completed as outlined by the contract. Hayden Homes LLC had submitted to the City of Albany all plans, specifications and placement of this home and met all of the City's building requirements without issue. With regards to resolution the **********'s have signed the termination agreement and received a refund of 100% of their Non-refundable construction retainer back. The home was planned, built and constructed as outlined by the contract. The **********'s and their representative are clearly not happy with this home or Hayden Homes LLC as a builder and we wish them the best of luck in their home search.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for our garage to be insulated, but they never did. We didn't find this out until we cut a hole in our garage wall, and we owned the home almost a year. We are not the only home this happened to. There have been at least 5 homes. Also the main gal in the West Richland, Wa office told a neighbor of our how we lied about the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to go to each home and check to make sure they get what they paid for.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/06) */ On X-XX-XX Hayden Homes received a warranty request for lack of insulation in the garage ceiling and walls at 2721 Madrona Loop, West Richland, WA. XXXXX. After some research Hayden Homes confirmed this customer did purchase the insulated garage option (as this is not a standard feature with all of our homes) as part of the sale of the home. Hayden Homes contacted the Home owner to follow up and address this concern and schedule repair. The garage walls and attic were insulated on 2-18-13. Drywall damaged where the walls were drilled to blow in the insulation were also repaired at the same time. This Service Request was approved complete by the customer on 2-18-13. There have been 2 additional home owners that have contacted Hayden Homes with concerns the insulation was missed in the garage, these concerns have been addressed directly with each individual home owner. It is our hope and recommendation that any time a Hayden Homes customer has a concern with their home, they will make contact with us so that we may have the opportunity to work toward a resolution. If there are any other homes owners this customer is aware of with concerns about their home the best way to request a follow up would be to submit an online warranty request so that our Customer Service team can follow up to assess each homes needs. This can be done through our website at www.Hayden-Homes.com

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues