This business is not BBB accredited.

Excel Builders Inc

Phone: (360) 277-0257 Fax: (360) 277-0576 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 2672, Belfair, WA 98528

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers construction services including custom home building, kitchen and bath remodel, flooring, tile and stonework, cabinetry, decks and additions.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Excel Builders Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Excel Builders Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Excel Builders Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2006 Business started: 02/01/2002 Business started locally: 02/01/2002 Business incorporated 02/08/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Phillip Koenig, Vice President Ms. Beth Koenig, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip Koenig, Vice President
Business Category

Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Cabinets Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile & Marble Contractor - Interior Trim Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Building Contractors Carpenters Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Hours of Operation
8am - 5pm
Service Area
Kitsap Pennisula, Gig Harbor, Tacoma, Seattle
Products & Services

We Specialize in Bathroom Remodels and currently promote One Week Bathrooms. Visit our website ate

Additional Locations


    PO Box 2672

    Belfair, WA 98528 (360) 509-7477 (360) 277-0257


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with *********** VP of Excel Builders on 7/2/2015 to complete a bathroom remodel. They were to start on the week of July 21st but called and asked to come in on the 16th. I agreed to this and they worked at my residents on July 16,17,20,22,23,24, 25, 27,28, 29, 30, 31; August 6th. This job was suppposed to be completely finished on July 30th but for some reason Excel Builders kept dragging it out. On July 31st, I pointed out to **** a number of items that required attention and that were of poor workmanship. On August 6th not all of these issues were completed and the new shower door they installed did not operate properly. I called **** twice on this day and text him several time with no answer. I received a text from **** ******* at 8:27 am on August 7th stating that he was hanging out with his grandkids today and he would deal with my situation on Monday. This is unacceptable and this issue should be taken care of immediately. He conducts false advertising by stating on his website that they do bathrooms in a week. He has taken 13 days to complete mine. He also does not provide an itemized statement of material cost and I know that there were probably material charged to my job he didn't use here but took back with him but did not make an adjustment to my invoice.

Desired Settlement: at the point the only fair resolution is for him to call what I have paid him complete for this job and I will use the balance to bring someone in to fix the damage his team has done to my siding and to fix the shower door that was not installed correctly.

Business Response: After talking to the customer on Friday August 7th, we went to and made a small adjustment to the Shower Door an repaired the Siding to the homeowners Satisfaction. We should him how the gaps in the Hardi Siding  were consistent with the rest of the house. He seemed satisfied and paid us the balance due.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I received an email stating that you are closing this complaint.  Just a few facts from the contractors comments that are not true:


1.  I called him on Thursday August 6th and also text him after no return calls.

2.  Phil did not call me Friday morning until I told him to call me by text.  He text me that "he was hanging out with his grand kids and would take care of my issues on Monday August 10th).  It took a number of text before he called me and spoke to me.

3.  He did not show up on-time on Monday August 10th and I was left to supervise his two workers.  Phil showed up after the work was done and he knew I wasn't happy about the situation.  I had called numerous siding contractors to get quotes to repair the mess his crew left but the certified Hardie Siding contractors don't do patch work so I was stuck with this contractor.  He told numerous lies about the siding and when I asked his workers they told me a different story. 

4.  Phil has a clause in his contracts that states any disagreements in the payment, the homeowner has to pay all legal cost regardless of outcome.  That is the only reason I paid him in full because I don't have the time to be in court and I was hoping he was a man of integrity and good morals which he has proved not to be.

5.  My complaint should show up on your website so others will not be taken in or cheated by this contractor.  You have a post there now of how he cheated another person and hasn't returned or completed the work.


**** ***

8/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excel Builders charged me $2700 to install roof drains at my house. After 1.5 days on the job, they realized they couldn't complete the project so they disappeared and stopped responding to all of my attempts at contacting them. I paid them $2700 cash up front as they offered me a $300 discount to do so. They have not completed the work and they refuse to refund the money I paid them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the $2700 that this business unethically took from me.