BBB Accredited Business since

Washington Energy Services Company

Phone: (800) 398-4663 Fax: (206) 378-6800 View Additional Phone Numbers 3909 196th St SW, Lynnwood, WA 98036 http://www.washingtonenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of furnaces, heat pumps and air conditioning units, gas fireplaces, windows, doors, siding, gutters, gutter protection systems, plumbing and water heaters. They also offer repair and maintenance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Energy Services Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Energy Services Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Washington Energy Services Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1957 Business started locally: 01/01/1957
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Gretchen Marks, VP Marketing Ms. Tamara Davis, Internal Operations Manager Mr. David Piscitelli, Vice President of Sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tamara Davis, Internal Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Gretchen Marks, VP Marketing
Business Category

Heating Contractors Piping Contractors Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Heating & Air Conditioning Doors Fireplaces Water Heaters - Dealers Windows Energy Audits Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment Sewer Pipe Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Doors - Repair Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

On February 18, 2015, Washington Energy Services Company notified BBB that a business called Pacific Home Services or GFA Heating is contacting consumers and claiming to be a subcontractor of the company. The business allegedly contacts consumers to create new appointments for furnace maintenance or air duct cleaning. Washington Energy Services Company states it has no affiliation with this business and it does not subcontract services or sell data.

Consumers who have received contact from Pacific Home Services or GFA Heating are encouraged to report it to Washington Energy Services Company at (800) 398-4663.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Washington Energy Services Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3909 196th St SW

    Lynnwood, WA 98036 (800) 398-4663 (206) 282-4700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE purchased a new AC system from WES. By their own admission, WES improperly installed the AC so that it only operated on one of two possible stages. Basically, our AC would only operate at half of it's capacity and could no keep our home comfortable. When servicing our AC, WES tech noticed that wiring was done wrong and wrong thermostat was installed. WES then charged us $210 to correct the wiring mistakes that they had made !

Desired Settlement: $210 refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/24) */ After speaking with the customer their issues are resolved and we are processing their refund which should be received in 2-3 weeks. We apologize for the delay in processing the refund. We are happy to help them in any way, and have provided them with the direct number of our Service Manager for any future questions or concerns.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attempted to contact *** ****** numerous times to resolve a repair issue. He will not answer emails or phone calls.

Desired Settlement: All I needed was a yes or no answer so I could proceed with a repair. My tenant has been very patient but 3 weeks is too long to wait for a simple answer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/02) */ We are sorry for the difficulties Mr ****** has faced in contacting ***. *** had, at Mr. ******' request contacted a landscaper working for Mr. ****** to discuss the situation. The Landscaper had told *** that he would handle contacting Mr. ******, so *** didn't. *** did not realize that Mr. ****** was expecting him to also call. The landscaper was supposed to take the next steps but did not get back to us until this Monday. When *** received communication from Mr ****** this week, they emailed and spoke on the phone. Yesterday *** was in touch with Mr ****** to resolve his repair issues, prior to us receiving this complaint. We appreciate Mr ******' business and understand that the issue is resolved already.

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a WES technician out at the house 3 different times in April 2014 for the exact same problem with my heat pump. Now, 2 1/2 months later, the problem is right back. All of the money spent did not fix the problem. The system will be only 4 years old in September. I have found it extremely difficult to get ahold of anyone. They do not return calls in a timely fashion. They do not respond to the on-line service request. This is an issue that I believe their technicians should know how to solve. I am extremely disappointed in the level of service that they show to the customers. I would never recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: Get a technician out here and FIX it once and for all, or replace the heat pump free of charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ We sincerely apologize for the frustration experienced by Mr & Mrs ****, and will work with them to fix the issue. We received correspondence from ***** in the morning of 7/8 and received this complaint around noon, before we were able to contact her. Our field service manager, **** ******** contacted her on 7/8 and made arrangements for us to visit her home and review the situation on 7/10 at no charge. It was found that the coil had failed. The most common cause of coil failure is manufacturing defect. A temporary fix was done that day. This part has a 5 year parts/1 year labor warranty and was installed 9/22/11. Therefore it is still eligible for the parts warranty. **** followed up with ***** on 7/11 to present and explain a plan, and she agreed to it. First the coil will be replaced. It is being ordered on 7/11 and the appointment will be set once it is received. A reduced labor charge has been agreed to by the customer. We will credit her for all prior repair costs and provide a free one year membership in our maintenance program, so we will be coming back to check on it and make sure it's working correctly. We will use her feedback on communication issues to do internal retraining as necessary. We appreciate their business and hope that the ***** will contact us directly if there are any additional questions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/07/15) */ I was finally contacted later than my deadline that I had given WES. A technician came out. The following day I was contacted by the Service Manager, ****, and he has been following up and taking care of the problems that I am having. I am currently satisfied with the level of attention that my problems are now receiving and I have been assured by **** that everything will be taken care of. We can close this out.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New 2 stage furnace installed 11/10/2013. A loud "oil can" noise is made during the "high fire" cycle at start up and shut down of the cycle. Numerous visits were made by W.E.S technicians to try to resolve the issue (bracing added to the ductwork, York board replaced, re-programming of the software, etc.) but the loud noise persists.

Desired Settlement: I have not paid the final 50% of the invoice due to not being satisfied with the performance of the furnace. After nearly two and a half years of silence on this issue W.E.S. just sent me a letter threatening to send this to a collection agency if the bill wasn't paid in full within 10 days. I only ask that the loud noise gets eliminated and then I'll happily pay the balance as they request. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/04) */ Our apologies to *** ********* that we lost his communication to us that the problems he had were persisting. It had been a while since we had heard from him and made the incorrect assumption that it was fixed. Our Installation manager has now spoken to him and will be going out to the site to resolve the issue. We will go to his house and check the furnace, sizing and the air delivery and duct pressure. From there we will either change the furnace or modify the duct work to resolve the problems he has been having. We expect to be able to do this assessment within a week and will follow through to ensure the noise issue is completely resolved. ************ indicated to our manager on the phone that this action and proposed resolution will meet his needs satisfactorily.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We requested annual maintenance service on the appliances we've purchased from Washington Energy Services, recently the furnace/heat pump serviced serviced our furnace and found extreme build-up inside the unit which will require intense cleaning. In observing this product we could clearly see this was a direct neglegence of the previous services we've received from former techs. The most recent serviceperson gave us a bid of $735.00 to do the intense cleaning needed in order that our air conditioner operate properly. As a result of their neglegence my husband who is a severly disabled veteran suffers from the condensation he breathes from the unit. We need Washington Energy Services to clean this unit without charge to us as we have paid over the last 7 years for annual maintenance.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking to have our furnace/heat pump cleaned without additional charge. We paid ($257.33) on August 8, 2013 for the last service and assesment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ Thank you for contacting us. We are always available at XXX-XXX-XXXX directly and are committed to ensuring your satisfaction. Our serivce manager met with ******* last week. He addressed her worries of the coil blockage. This is a maintenance issue about cleaning the coil. Right now, the coil is being used for cooling and it needs to be not in use in order to be properly cleaned. Our manager will be contacting her in Sept when we are out of cooling season and can get the coil dry. We will be able to vacuum out the dried material and get the coil clean. This will be coved under her Guardian Maintenance program and she will not be charged. We are committed to ensuring the ******'s satisfaction and appreciate their business.

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a fireplace "serviced" and I think Washington Energy Services need to get out of the fireplace business. The worker also did not discount me for military. He lit the pilot and then said the fireplace was broke - and needed a main gas valve and solenoid and to replace the main gas valve. It was going to cost me $800 and he stated I should just buy a new one as these fireplaces are only good for 20-25 years and then break The lady called promptly on Monday to come and give me a free estimate to replace it. I found the manual online, and it is only from 1995, Also the manual suggested I contact my gas provider which I did. He came out this afternoon and lit the fireplace. It works perfectly, from the blower, to the gas valve to the solenoid to the chimney output. It is sad to think of the elderly getting ripped off. I called them and took my information and said they would get back to me. I requested at the very least, a military discount but want a refund due to he performed only 1/2 the cleaning due to it being "broken and why clean?" THen he left me with the invoice stating the things wrong with it.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/15) */ We spoke with ***** about this issue yesterday and apologized for the mistake of our technician in misdiagnosing the issue. It was an honest mistake. ***** was given a military discount on her invoice. Our technician may not have explained it. However, because the appointment for a maintenance did not conclude well, we did not charge her anything. So, her card was never charged. When our manager spoke with ***** yesterday, he went over her concerns, explained that we did not charge her and we offered, and she accepted, to send a senior technician over to check in on her system and make sure everything is working properly. She told our manager that was okay and we hope we have mended our issue with her. We do value her as a customer and are sorry for causing frustration. If she has any further requests, she can always contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

7/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ******** ***************** XXXXX ******* *** ***** Seattle, WA 98178 Cell :( XXX)XXX-XXXX E-mail: *************@hotmail.com E-mail: ************@gmail.com June24, 2013 Dear Operation manager: Washington Energy Services (XXX)XXX-XXXX Dear Operation Manager: We are writing this letter to resolve this matter as quickly as possible without further causing undue stress on us or financial penalties against your company. We have attached a copy of the original contract and additional information that were included during the completion of the project. Please see the contract and the specific problem we are having and the attached contract agreements. Thank you for paying attention for details! 2 The problem with the siding products performance and deteriorating siding on the south side of the house has shown fading of color and some Martials separation in 2012 and the problem was brought to your company's attention in the summer of 2012. Then your installation manager *** ******** contacted us and the problem was inspected by *** ******** and we were promised for correction of the problem but with no response until the end of the summer. I made several calls but *** ******** did not respond until towards the end of the summer. 3 Then, *** asked for a sample of the siding for ordering the matching replacements. Then I left him on the front porch per our conversation that was confirmed he picked it up. However, I did not hear from *** until the heavy rainy season which he stated that he was unable to find a matching material that required a national search but the timing was not conducive for installation due to the heavy rain but will do it in 2013. I expressed my disappointment to him but agreed to the proposal. 4 Here we are in the middle of the summer but did not hear from ***. Once again I sent a text message to him on 6/2/13 but no response and I placed a call on 6/11/13 no response. 5 Again I sent a text message on 6/11/13 *** responded on 6/13/13 stated that "yes I remember we need to paint back". Then I sent a text message on 6/14/13 that says "please call me when you get this message" no response as of 6/19/13. Ignoring a customer is not the best way to resolve a problem with your problem with satisfying your customer. 6 On 6/21/13 I contacted your show room person named ***** ******* at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX stated that "If you don not address the problem we will be forced to take legal actions and file the BBB so that your behavior of ignoring your past customers should be a warning for potential customers. No response as of 6/24/13. Thank you for taking the time to review the enclosedcotract agreement and our stated concerns. You may contact me at the above address or by telephone. My cell number is (XXX) XXX-XXXX or my home phone number is (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ********, *** & ***** *******

Desired Settlement: ***** ******** ***************** XXXXX ******* *** ***** Seattle, WA 98178 Cell :( XXX)XXX-XXXX E-mail: *************@hotmail.com E-mail: ************@gmail.com June24, 2013 Dear Operation manager: Washington Energy Services (XXX)XXX-XXXX Dear Operation Manager: We are writing this letter to resolve this matter as quickly as possible without further causing undue stress on us or financial penalties against your company. We have attached a copy of the original contract and additional information that were included during the completion of the project. Please see the contract and the specific problem we are having and the attached contract agreements. Thank you for paying attention for details! 2 The problem with the siding products performance and deteriorating siding on the south side of the house has shown fading of color and some Martials separation in 2012 and the problem was brought to your company's attention in the summer of 2012. Then your installation manager *** ******** contacted us and the problem was inspected by *** ******** and we were promised for correction of the problem but with no response until the end of the summer. I made several calls but *** ******** did not respond until towards the end of the summer. 3 Then, *** asked for a sample of the siding for ordering the matching replacements. Then I left him on the front porch per our conversation that was confirmed he picked it up. However, I did not hear from *** until the heavy rainy season which he stated that he was unable to find a matching material that required a national search but the timing was not conducive for installation due to the heavy rain but will do it in 2013. I expressed my disappointment to him but agreed to the proposal. 4 Here we are in the middle of the summer but did not hear from ***. Once again I sent a text message to him on 6/2/13 but no response and I placed a call on 6/11/13 no response. 5 Again I sent a text message on 6/11/13 *** responded on 6/13/13 stated that "yes I remember we need to paint back". Then I sent a text message on 6/14/13 that says "please call me when you get this message" no response as of 6/19/13. Ignoring a customer is not the best way to resolve a problem with your problem with satisfying your customer. 6 On 6/21/13 I contacted your show room person named ***** ******* at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX stated that "If you don not address the problem we will be forced to take legal actions and file the BBB so that your behavior of ignoring your past customers should be a warning for potential customers. No response as of 6/24/13. Thank you for taking the time to review the enclosedcotract agreement and our stated concerns. You may contact me at the above address or by telephone. My cell number is (XXX) XXX-XXXX or my home phone number is (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ********, *** & ***** *******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/01) */ We have recently met with *** ********, and have agreed on how we will remedy his situation to his satisfaction. *** ********** house had been painted after the siding was installed, and our representative needed to obtain an example of the original siding to prove to him that it had been painted, and that it was not the siding at issue. Our manager did get a sample of the original prepainted Hardie siding and showed the customer. We agreed to apply a paint top coat to correct the fading. We were not able to do any re-painting over the winter, and apologize for lack of communication about the project. We will be making any needed repairs and applying a paint top coat at no expense to the customer.

7/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Windows installed 10 years ago and now for the last THREE years I have been trying to obtain service for one window that will not stay open and three windows that have broken latches and one window that is warped. I am waiting right now (!!!) with a *** manager guy that is 45 minutes late for our appointment. No follow-through -- two service guys have come to inspect but they never return. These windows have a life-time warranty!!!

Desired Settlement: I would just love to have the windows repaired. If they cannot repair, then please please please in a timely manner give me the options and alternatives. Please follow-up as planned or scheduled.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ Our window manager *** met with the customer as scheduled on 6/26. After walking through the house, they identified that the night latch needed was almond color and it has since been ordered. Our manager placed a temporary one in the home of a different color until the new one arrives. We have also ordered the other parts required to fix what was broken. The manufacturer of these parts acknowledged receipt of the order on 6/28 and we hope to make all repairs to our customer's satisfaction within 2 weeks. We apologize for the issue, the customer's original repair paperwork from 2011 was lost during an employee transition. She now has a direct line to our window coordinator for any future questions. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/07/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 10, 2013 ***** & ***** ********* XXXX XXX ** ** Snohomish WA 98290 ***** ******* VP Operations Washington Energy Services **** * ***** *** Tacoma WA 98409 Dear *** *******: We have been in contact, for quite some time, with **** ******* IAQ Manager for WA Energy, regarding our heat pump system. On the second to last conversation, **** said that WA Energy would do the 'right thing' and replace our 2 units; he just needed an ok from you. He said you were out of town. To our disappointment, there was no return call. We waited for a month, and when I called once again, **** said that we needed to contact you because his hands were tied. We have had nothing but problems since WA Energy installed our heat pump years ago. **** and other employees said that they cannot believe how patient we have been. Now our patience has run out. A brief background surrounding our issue is as follows: 1 - Before WA Energy put in our 'Bryant' heat pump, we had a 'Carrier' that the previous owner put in (house was built in 1991). It had the exact same issues as the newer Bryant. When the Carrier died, we asked the company that was servicing it, what would be a better product. They said that the Carrier was not compatible with the York indoor furnace and that both would need to be replaced. We wanted 'another opinion' from a 'larger' company so we called Washington Energy. Your salesman said that the other company was wrong and that we just needed a 'bigger' unit. My husband is an engineer and he wanted an engineer's opinion. The day I said my husband would be home to talk with one of your engineers - we had FIVE of your employees here and 3 of them said that they were engineers. We were very impressed at that time! My husband explained what the other company said about the incompatibility and they ALL disagreed. **** ***** even told us that WA Energy would guarantee both units if we put in the Bryant. He said he was totally confident that the Bryant would work like a gem. 2 - The Bryant install was botched. 2 months after installation, we rec'd our power bill (which they said would be lower with the larger unit) and it was $1000 higher than normal! Apparently the fan was not connected during the installation. 3 - Every time the temp. goes below 40, the Bryant freezes up (just like the Carrier did). The colder it gets the worse the ice forms (3-4 inches thick just on the outside!). I think we have had every tech here at least once. They usually just end up calling **** and he would get just as frustrated, but was the only one who could put 'another Band-Aid on' that would help for a short time. They have re-wired our system from the indoor unit to the outdoor unit, replaced parts over and over, different thermostats in and out, etc...etc... We've been told over and over that management has been looking for a heat pump that will be compatible with the indoor unit, but nothing has ever happened with that either. The last solution tried this winter was setting the defrost to come on every 30 minutes instead of 90. It didn't work, and wait till you see our bills! The indoor York has had to heat this house by itself way more than it should (because we always have to unplug the Bryant) and we've paid for all the worn out parts. Both units are worn out. We have paid for defrost parts more than once because the units are incompatible. WA Energy has paid out more money in labor with ALL of the people that have come here than what they would have paid to replace the units. 4 - We have gone w/o heat countless times because of this mess. The stress over all of these years has increased my autoimmune problems. The units are getting louder and louder (esp. when the heat pump freezes up) and I have lost countless hours of sleep. We have come home many times from a trip to find it totally froze up and surging loudly, and vacations have been ruined by so many calls/texts from neighbors who come over 3 times a day to take care of our dog and find there is a problem again. **** said about 6 conversations ago that WA Energy would replace both units since it has been a nightmare for us from the beginning and just needed to talk to ***** to get the ok. Now the story has changed. As stated earlier, he says that his 'hands are tied' and that we should write a letter to you. Wow - what a way to run a company! WA Energy needs to step up and 'do the right thing' just like **** ***** assured us they would. This is not about money for us - it is about principle. Countless people are waiting to see how WA Energy is going to handle this. Neighbors (several who need new systems), family, friends, co-workers, and even people we have referred ***** and ***** to like our son's neighbors. Our ********* friends are especially interested to see what is going to happen with this because we all hear your 'guarantee' advertisement on Spirit 105.3! We can share much more. We look forward to hearing from you, ***** *** ***** ********* ************ cc: Spirit 105.3 cc: BBB cc: Attorney General cc: Get ***** ******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/30) */ We are committed to ensuring their heat pump situation is remedied. VP ***** ******* called and spoke to **** ********* and communicated that we are not walking away from this problem, but want to get to the root of the problem as it is unusual. **** ****** our Service manager and **** ****** our install manager visited their home. After a thorough diagnosis they discovered that when the first system was put in by the builder they had covered over 1/2 of the evaporator coil, which blocked air flow over and through this coil. It did not allow heat transfer to achieve efficiency of operation and kept the heat pump from defrosting. This eventually caused all of the problems and high bills they have experienced. We are offering to replace the units and correct this malady, but are recommending additionally (and the ************ have agreed to this expense), that we relocate the indoor unit from where it is in the closet under the stairwell to the garage. This will improve performance, lessen indoor noise contribution and allow for a better design and install of the duct work as compared to how the builder installed it. Either way, the operation of the heat pump will be remedied. We look forward to working with the ********** and apologize for any frustration. Thank you.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2006 we purchased a new furnace and heat pump for our home costing over $13,500.00. Despite constant problems with the unit not heating the back bedrooms sufficiently we accepted that aspect of the new furnace system. It was a hybrid system designed to utilize less natural gas and electricity utilizing the weather outside to determine the most cost effective manner of running the furnace. In January, 2013, we received a "Critical Malfunction" on our thermostat. We called WES (Washington Energy Services) and had a technician come inspect the unit. He stated that with the heat pump we purchased, ****** was having a high failure rate and while they would not recall them, they (******) would replace the unit with their "new and improved" unit, however, WSE would charge us $1995.00 to install it because it takes 4 hours to install. When there is a recall on automobiles the dealerships do not charge for the replacements. We feel this is the same situation - it is a manufacturer defect. A second option was offered by the inspector that they would replace the compressor which was $450.00 which was covered by ******, however, when we questioned him about the longevity of the repair, he indicated there was still almost a 100% failure in the replacement as it was a design defect and if we accepted the replacement we would no longer qualify for the newly designed heat pump replacement program. In talking with WSE, we asked if we could have them order the replacement since we bought the original from them and have a certified HVAC installer put it in for a cheaper price. They said they would not order the replacement for us because if they were going to go through all of the requirements to obtain the new heat pump they were going to need to put it in. They have submitted our paperwork and it was approved for the replacement, so all of the authorizations have been obtained, but they will not give us that information or share it with another installer. We have to utilize their installation services exclusively. Unfortunately, my husband is nearing retirement and we do not have an additional $1,995.00 to pay to have our heating and cooling system repaired. In talking with WSE, we explained that we felt installation should be inclusive in the replacement of the heat pump since ****** was indicating that it was a manufacturer failure in that they have redesigned the entire unit and no longer produce their heat pumps with the type of compressor that was in our system and installation would normally be included - however, WSE said no allowance was being made by ****** for installation fees and it would be $1,995.00. We don't know what to do - we can't afford to pay the installation fee, and our furnace is not operating in the Hybrid manner that we purchased it for and providing no air cooling to our home.

Desired Settlement: To have the recalled ****** Heat Pump installed at not cost as automobile recalls are done.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/16) */ We understand the frustration that the ******'s have had and will ensure their complete satisfaction on this issue. Carrier, the manufacturer, did not issue a recall, but a service bulletin, which did not cover the full cost of the repair. (And would not have covered it for another installer either). In this case, we have arranged with Carrier to cover the full cost for the ******* and we will be contacting them this week to schedule their services.

12/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues