BBB Accredited Business since

Narrows Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (253) 627-7543 Fax: (253) 572-1766 5121 S Burlington Way, Tacoma, WA 98409 http://www.narrowsheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial heating and air conditioning contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Narrows Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Narrows Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Narrows Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1994 Business started: 04/23/1979 in WA Business started locally: 04/23/1979 Business incorporated 08/08/1978 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Calhoun, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Calhoun, President
Business Category

Heating Contractors Pipe & Boiler Covering Contractors Ventilating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Radiant Heating In-floor Heating Duct & Duct Fittings Heat Exchangers Water Heater - Tankless Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Heat Sealing Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Sales & Service Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Ventilating Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
In appreciation of your trust in Narrows Heating, we offer a guarantee on the performance of our HVAC systems. If, in the 1st year of use, it does not deliver the specified heating or cooling capacity, akin not consideration your application and ambient conditions which will be documented at the time of the installation, and we are to able to correct the problem, we will remove the equipment and refund your purchase price for the removed equipment.
Service Area
They service Pierce, King, Kitsap, Mason, and Thurston county.
Products & Services

Heat Pumps
Natural Gas Furnace
Dual-fuel Systems
Air Conditioning
Ductless Heat Pumps
Air Filtration Systems
Ductwork Systems and Modifications
Hot Water Heaters
Tankless Water Heaters
Duct Cleaning
Gas Fireplace Inserts


Additional Locations

  • 5121 S Burlington Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 627-7543

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I recently bought the property listed as my current address. As a part of the agreement coming from the home inspection, the seller had to get our HVAC system inspected and serviced because it was approximately 29 years old. The company he contracted to do this inspection and servicing was Narrows Heating and Air Conditioning. Our inspectors, realtors, and financiers all received notice when the company finished their inspection claiming that the unit was in working order and had been serviced. A few weeks passed before my wife and I became the home owners, but the day after we moved in I turned the thermostat on. The system blew air, but after a couple of hours neither my wife nor myself felt any change. We checked the thermostat and the room temperature was dropping because of the cold air circulating despite the system being set at 70 degrees. With temperatures getting colder and an 8 month old son, we attempted numerous times to contact the company to send someone out to inspect the unit. We finally were able to talk to someone and schedule an appointment for between 0800 am and 1200 pm on November 7, 2014. Around 1330 my wife attempted to get ahold of the company to see what went wrong, but to no avail. I tried around 1530 and was told someone would be out soon. At approximately 1700 I called the company back and canceled the appointment, only to find out that the company's technicians didn't even work after 1600. I rescheduled for 1100-1300 on November 11th and was told the technician would contact me to let me know approximately when she would be out, but my wife and parents insisted at about 1100 am on Veterans day that I call and cancel since we hadn't heard anything. My wife and I were told numerous times throughout this process that the company didn't believe they were liable for teh broken heater, despite the fact that the seller would have had to replace it without a professional technician's blessing of the current model. Also, my wife and I have been in contact with multiple other companies who said the system we have in the house is far too old, and that it was irresponsible for them to claim this HVAC was good after inspecting it.

Desired Settlement: Honestly, best case scenario would be replacing the system in my house with something that worked would be ideal. Short of that I would just like to keep other young families, or anyone else for that matter, from having to go through this whole nightmare.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/12) */ The customer that ordered the servicing for this residence was *************. The request was to service the furnace. The service was completed on 9/25/2014. At the time of the service the electric furnace was working. If the technicians find repairs at the time of service a written proposal is provided to the owner. At the time of service none were found. Mechanical failures can occur at any time. As we could not find any repairs and none were made I indicated to the homeowner that we were not liable as it was working when we were on site on September 25th, 2014. We provided the service that was requested by the seller.