BBB Accredited Business since

G & S Heating Cooling & Electric Inc

Phone: (888) 879-4007 3409 Everett Ave, Everett, WA 98201

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers installation and service of heating equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G & S Heating Cooling & Electric Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G & S Heating Cooling & Electric Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G & S Heating Cooling & Electric Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1977 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Roger Thompson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Thompson, President
Business Category

Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Electricians Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Additional Locations

  • 3409 Everett Ave

    Everett, WA 98201 (888) 879-4007


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 860 dollar bill all repair man did was hook gauges to unit and add refrigerant was told service call was 87dollars and diagnostic fee of 68 dollars. Charged 268 dollars for diagnostic fee also charged way ion excuse what refrigerant should have been this in my opinion is robbery how this company can be listed with the BBB as in good standings is beond reality

Desired Settlement: Bill to be went over and justified cost. Also BBB reevaluate this company as what this company charged me was not reasonable what I would call Hi way robbery. There is no legitimate reason to charge 860 dollars to do nothing more than add refrigerant to system.

Business Response: I'm not sure why, but I don't show anyone in our system by with that last name. All of our technicians are dispatched electronically, and the customer's name has to be in there, or we wouldn't be able to dispatch.  If the customer would contact me, I'm certain we could get to the bottom of this.
thank you.

4/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/12/2014 Mr ****** *******, G&S Sales Consultant visited my home after my calling G&S for a hot water tank replacement quote. He supplied me with a "bundled" quote for the tank/labor, expansion tank and earthquake straps. I asked him to please break out the labor component of the main tank install and he informed me that his "book" did not break that out. I did move ahead and sign the order but asked that I receive that break out. I did not get it. I asked the same question of ***** the installer and he couldn't answer the question either. After finally receiving the bill for the work sometime, I believe,the middle of January (this is the first billing that I received and it was marked "Past Due"!) I called "****" at G&S on 1/23 and explained my request, again, for a pricing break out. She was not able to help me so she transferred me into the owners voice mail and I left him a message to please call me. No call. Then 8 days later I wrote a note on the billing slip asking for the breakout info and no response. Then on 2/9/15 I called and spoke to **** again. She was not able to help me and I proceeded ahead and paid the bill. The total bill for the tank, expansion tank, earthquake straps and labor came to $2920.26. In researching on line the cost of the tank I found to be $800 plus $200 expansion tan plus $100 for the straps.

Desired Settlement: The settlement that I am seeking is the one I started out with back on 12/12/2014: A breakout of the cost of the main tank and the install amount for that main tank. I understand the rest. Secondly, an explanation/justification of the cost of the apparent installation costs based on what I found to be the cost, at least on line, for the main tank. I understand that I signed the work order and please know that I have paid the bill.

Business Response:

ON 4/13 I spoke with Mr. ********* and sent him a breakdown on the water heater installation. I'm not sure where he got the pricing for the water heater he quoted, because it was far less than what my supplier pays for it. Never the less, I believe MR. ********* and I are on good terms. He has been a customer for years and I would very much like to keep it that way.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


*** *********

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: G&S came out to our rental property to diagnose a furnace not working issue on 12/5/13. The diagnostic charge was way higher then what they quoted us on the phone. The shark bite fitting their technician left us to fix the pipe he cut also didn't fit. We tried many times to reach their service manager to get the invoice corrected and finally on 12/11/13, their service manager agreed to refund us $161.79. We also emailed their company to request an adjusted invoice on 12/16/13. We have not received the refund check or adjusted invoice as of 12/24/13.

Desired Settlement: We want to receive the refund check and adjusted invoice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/02/11) */ I spoke to my Service Manager and he brought forth a carbon copy of a refund check wrote out to **** *** for $316.86 along with an adjusted invoice. We checked our records and it was cashed as well. From what I understand, ***** is the renter and **** is the owner. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Feel free to call me at any time. Regards, ***** ********, Owner Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We were able to get a prompt response after we told G&S that we had filed a complaint with BBB and our next step was to give them a very low rating on Angie's List. G&S replied to our email explaining the delay of getting back to us and sent us the refund check. So, we're satisfied with the resolution. Thank you!