BBB Accredited Business since

Wolfer's Home Services

Phone: (503) 981-4511 Fax: (503) 981-0801 View Additional Phone Numbers 1365 N Front St, Woodburn, OR 97071 http://www.wolfersheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning services including heat pumps, repair, furnaces and duct sealing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wolfer's Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wolfer's Home Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wolfer's Home Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1901 Business started locally: 06/01/1901 Business incorporated 06/14/1972 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Christin, President Jim Dryden, Oper. Mgr Jessica Geck, Office Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Christin, President
Customer Contact: Jim Dryden, Oper. Mgr
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Wolfer's Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1365 N Front St

    Woodburn, OR 97071 (503) 981-4511 (503) 220-1901 (800) 660-4511 (503) 635-3146

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a 2 stage Lennox Gas furnace installed May 9th 2014. This weekend, I replaced the thermostat that they installed with the furnace. This furnace we had installed by them is a 2 stage furnace, yet they only made it work with a single stage. I found this out, when I was replacing the thermostat with a Honeywell Lyric, that will save Natural Gas and reduce our utility bills even farther. They should of installed new thermostat wire that would of made the furnace work with 2 stages, which we payed for. One of the workers, went in the house with my wife to install the thermostat, while I stayed in the garage with the other guy. Neither one of the workers let us know that it was installed with only one stage working. Looks now like they tried to hide it. I would of never known, if I didn't replace the thermostat. Here's something else I let slide. The installers didn't bring an extension ladder with them, so I let them use mine and I let them use my 4" hole saw, when they only had a sawzall, that would of butchered the hole through the roof. A quality contractor would have a selection of hole saws in the truck and an extension ladder.

Desired Settlement: I bought 37 dollars worth of thermostat cable at*********** today for the change out. They could refund that, plus some dollars for my time and effort to make the furnace work with 2 stages, like we paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/30) */ *******, We have reviewed your installation. It looks as though our installers adjusted the control board in the furnace to switch between 1st and 2nd stage, which does not require additional thermostat wire. I apologize if that was not explained to you at the time of installation. We are more than happy to accommodate your request for compensation and refund the amount of the thermostat wire you purchased. A representative from our office will be calling you shortly to discuss the details. You are a valued customer and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to address this matter with you and come to a resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I writing to tell you that Wolfers really gave us great customer service. *** their Service Manager came out and took care of everything. He really made us feel like a valuable customer. He paid for the wire I bought and the Lyric thermostat, plus, left us a filter. Not many companies come through like that. ******* ******

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a furnace check up through ** ******* **** Someone from Wolfers came out sometime over the winter and did the checkup. (not sure of the date, it was a long time ago) I was presented with a service where if I paid $85 UPFRONT, someone would come out in May of 2013 and do a check up on my air conditioning unit. I called Wolfers in July, two months after they were supposed to do the service and I was informed they had a new computer system and I was 'lost' in the system. So if I would have forgotten, like I am sure other people who already paid, then no one would have ever showed up. I made an appointment on July 12, 2013. I was called by ********** from Wolfers the day before and she wondered if I could re-schedule. I work out of town a lot and was unable to call her back. I assumed by not calling back, that they would show up for the appointment, since I did not want to re-schedule. I waited and no one showed up. I called back today, July 16, 2013 and ******** asked if I could re-schedule on the 26th or 27th of July, with would be at least an additional 10 days. My concern is that with the above normal summer heat we are having, my unit may fail before it gets serviced. It should have been done in May and I have run it on several days since then.

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking a specific settlement. Just don't like to get the run around, and don't like the fact that I paid my money more than six months ago and still have not got the service promised. My check was cashed months ago!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/17) */ The customer is correct in his description of what occurred. We transitioned software this year and had not fully transitioned our planned service customers. This has been completed now. I have called the customer and apologized about the scheduling error. We are scheduled to perform his annual service. We will also be performing one additional system tune-up in the spring at no charge to the customer. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service