BBB Accredited Business since

Washington Natural Gas Heating and Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 347-0707 Fax: (425) 290-9080 PO Box 13589, Mill Creek, WA 98082 http://www.wanaturalgas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning installation and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Natural Gas Heating and Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Natural Gas Heating and Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Washington Natural Gas Heating and Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2007 Business started locally: 05/01/2007 Business incorporated 02/01/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Fahmie, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Fahmie, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing

Alternate Business Names
1888Heating A-Fast Heating & Air Conditioning F P S Hvac Fast Furnace & Duct Cleaning Fast Furnace Repair Fast Heating & Air Conditioning Fast Heating & Air Conditioning Inc Fast Heating and Air Fast HVAC Fast Puget Sound Heating & Air Conditioning Puget Sound Furnace & Duct Cleaning Puget Sound Furnace Repair Puget Sound Heating & Air Conditioning Puget Sound Home Exteriors Puget Sound HVAC WA Natural Gas WA Natural Gas Heating and Air Conditioning Washington Natural Gas

Additional Locations

  • 2615 W Casino Rd Ste 2G

    Everett, WA 98204

  • PO Box 13589

    Mill Creek, WA 98082 (425) 347-0707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Asked Washington Natural Gas to inspect our furnace. After repeated calls, someone finally came out. During their inspection, the thermostat stopped working. They said they could replace it for $280. I pointed out that thermostats typically run from $20 to $70(this is a simple heating system without AC) and installation takes ten minutes, four screws. The most expensive thermostat on the market, the Nest, costs $249. I asked what features their thermostat had that made it work this price. They said it turned on the heat. I said I would paid it because I wanted the inspection done (we are selling out house) but that it was clearly a rip-off. At that point, they refused to finish the inspection and left. When they closed up the furnace, that they had been inspecting, the thermostat started working again as it always has.

Desired Settlement: An apology from the company and some recognition that the individual involved, Mr. **** ******, is, at best, a poor representative of their organization and, at worst, an employee that engages in questionable business practices. I have no idea how these service people are compensated, but given that we are senior citizens, there may be a problem here. It happens than I am, among other things, well-versed in electronics because of my profession and know perfectly well how a thermostat works and what they cost. I have installed many of them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Furnace working intermittently as we turned it off & tried to turn back on but thermostat showed a display of low battery even with new batteries installed the furnace would not turn back on. While we were at the house, the tech asked **** twice to look at our electrical meter showing that voltage was going to the thermostat but not coming back to the furnace. He did not want to look at our meter, did not like our diagnosis or our cost to repair. We felt we were not going to be able to please him so politely declined to work for him and all charges were waived. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is not consistent with the facts. First, at no time did the tech ask me to look at an electric meter. My father was an electrical engineer and I grew up looking at meters and love the opportunity to look at new ones. Second, the tech never stated that the furnace was working intermittently. When he was leaving and the thermostat started working again, he said that the thermostat was having an intermittent problem, but this was AFTER he had decided to leave. Second, he fails to mention that thermostat was not working after he did something very specific: he turned off the furnace. This is what caused the thermostat to stop working and the low battery light turned on. The low battery turned off when I replaced its batteries, which I did while he was there. This did not make the thermostat go on however, because this type of thermostat doesn't work when the furnace is turned off(see below). The thermostat started working again as soon as he turned the furnace back on when he was leaving. Next, the tech was anything but polite. His flippant remarks were rude. His manner aggressive and hostile once he was questioned. For example, when I asked what features the $280 thermostat that he wanted to sell me had since this was very expensive for a thermostat, he said, "Turn on your furnace." He gave no explanation for refusing to replace the supposedly defective thermostat once I had questioned his prices nor was his refusal to complete the scheduled service. Suspicious, yes. Polite? Not so much. Since making this complaint, I have the furnace inspected by another company. The report is available to BBB on request. There were no problems with the thermostat or the furnace. Neither are working "intermittently". The tech explained our thermostat doesn't work when the furnace is off (though some do) because it relies on power from the furnace, not the battery to power the circuit. The battery just keeps the clock alive when power is out. We also had an electrician out for another matter a few days later. He also verified that there was nothing wrong with the furnace circuits and that anyone competent should know that not all thermostats provide power when the furnace circuit is out. I can give you his name as well Was the tech intentionally misrepresenting the nature of the thermostat or despite his title as "manager" did he not know how it operated? Having talked about this with several people, most agree that he was trying to defraud me. His quick exit after my questioning his prices and refusing to complete the scheduled service is more evidence of that. The fact that his response is completely false is yet even more evidence of that. I would like to see a response from this person's manager. I would also like to know how people at this company are compensated for making sales of very expensive thermostats (many times market price). I would also like to hear how many such thermostats this "manager" sells compared to the average tech. I would also like to know if these sales are typically made to elderly men and women. This would expose whether or not there was a pattern of systematic fraud. Once more, for the protection of the consumer, the company really should do a little more to investigate this incident. Maybe the tech was just having a bad day and all of this was innocent. Hey, we all have bad days. However, maybe it wasn't so innocent. Certainly this counterfactual response and the reaction of other professionals in this industry raises more doubts than confidence. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/05) */ We sell quality thermostats with an excellent warranty. The thermostats that can be bought at a hardware store are of a lower quality with a lesser warranty. While we could install a thermostat that is no more than a dial on your wall, we choose to install higher quality thermostats with screen that display the temperature inside your home digitally. We offer a 5-year warranty on the parts and a 90-day warranty on the install. We could take 10 minutes and 4 screws, but that would be shoddy work. Washington Natural Gas does a thorough check of your entire system to ensure problems don't come up down the road. This is our policy of superior customer service. Our price for your thermostat installation was $280, which is actually lower than what we normally charge to install a programmable thermostat. At the going national rate you would have paid between $350-450. ****, we're not sure what other technicians have told you, but an intermittent furnace or thermostat is a furnace or thermostat that sometimes runs, sometimes doesn't. Your unit did not run when we inspected it, then after we packed our tools up to leave, it started to work again. We stand behind our diagnosis of an intermittent thermostat. When we asked you to look at our electrical meter, you were flipping switches on your circuit breaker and may not have heard our technician. After 40 years of business, we have established a good reputation throughout the Puget Sound. HVAC is a competitive industry and those that commit "systemic fraud" as you claim go out of business quickly. That is not something we do and we have an A+ rating with the BBB for that reason. Washington Natural Gas has the right to refuse service to anyone. When we feel as if we're not going to make a customer happy due to their expectations or misconceptions, we do not waste their time. Instead, we waive any charge and focus on the customers who we are able to help. We stand behind our technician and his diagnosis. He worked within company policy. And with regards to amount of thermostats sold, this technician in question ranks on the lower end of thermostat sales. We are not in the business of scamming or ripping anybody off.

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service