BBB Accredited Business since

Sunset Heating & Cooling Inc

Phone: (503) 234-0611 Fax: (503) 943-6400 View Additional Phone Numbers 0607 SW Idaho St, Portland, OR 97239 http://www.sunsetheatingandcooling.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and cooling sales, repair, products, maintenance and related services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunset Heating & Cooling Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunset Heating & Cooling Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sunset Heating & Cooling Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 05/01/1922 Business started locally: 05/01/1922 Business incorporated 07/29/2004 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Vernon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Vernon, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sunset Heating & Cooling Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 0607 SW Idaho St

    Portland, OR 97239 (800) 878-1285 (503) 234-0611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12.16.13 I called Sunset Heating to tell them my heat pump (they installed) was not working. They indicated someone would come on 12.18.13 between 1 and 4 PM. ***** from Sunset came, very nice guy, he said must be a mis-communication I didn't know you had no heat and I would have no way of repairing it but even if I could, the compressor is out and the unit needs to be replaced. He said I can't do anything and I certainly won't charge you anything. He said he would let the office know that I need a salesman to come out and give me price and confirm that it is irreparable. He was onsite 10 min total. I called 12.19.13 the office for status. **** didn't have any info on it and said she would find out and call me back. She called back twice to confirm she was sending out a salesman and the same person could also re confirm that my unit needed to be replaced, which would be tomorrow between 1 and 4. 12.20.13 - 430 pm another person came by, I said are you the salesman, he said no, must have been mis- communicated but I can tell you your heat pump can't be fixed, spent about 5 min at the house and said please call them back and tell them you need an estimator. 12.20.13 - 443PM I called Sunset again, they said sorry we will have a salesman call you. 12.23.13 - 1242PM Sunset called to see when I would like someone to come. I said I have no heat so soon would be good. They said ok let me see who is available and we will call you back. 223PM the GM called back, said no one is available due to the holidays so he could come on 12.24. I said OK. 12.24.13 8AM I called Sunset back, I asked to reschedule to 12.26 due to holiday. They said fine, we will be there at noon. 12.26.13 1210PM I called to see if they are coming, was told he was already there and no one home. Not true I was home all day and I even had the front door open at noon for him. GM came back, in horrible mood, spent about 5-10 min looking and measuring and left, said he would send me a estimate. 1.6.14 - 1253PM - I received a billing for 139.95 and called Sunset. I explained what had happened to the person on the phone. She then said well, our technician was there over 2 hours so you owe us this money. I said no that is just not true and I was also told by your representative, *****, there as no charge because nothing could be done. They she put me on hold. She came back in a few minutes and said OK, we are charging you 89.95 for a trip charge. I said no, let me please repeat myself, I was told without question there was no charge. Then she said, well just buy a new system from us and we will take it off your bill. I said I haven't decided on a new system yet and I was told I was not being billed. She said, OK, I will call you back within the hour, I need to call the manager and you will hear back from me. Instead of calling me back, she sent me a past due notice with interest. I am appalled at this business practice. They installed this system in my house 24 years ago and have done all the maintenance on it ever since.

Desired Settlement: As I was told more than once there was no charge, since the system was so old, by their own people, I should not be required to pay this bill. This system being 24 years old, I would think is already in their record book, they installed it. I don't mind paying for service I have received, I have paid every bill they have sent in the past, but this is ridiculous and no way to treat a long time customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/18) */ I apologize for the misunderstanding on *** *****'s account. Having pulled the information about the activity on his account, we see that we made a coding error which charged his account. We recognize our mistake and will credit off the billing mistake. We also apologize for the communications issues within our office. We have addressed this internally so people understand our customers frustrations when their accounts aren't handled correctly and professionally. So, *** *****'s account will have this mistaken billing removed. Thanks Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept your apology and offer to remove the billing from my account. It is unfortunate it had to come to this. 95% of the communications with your company have been positive and over the years I have enjoyed your service. I felt I had no where else to go for this resolution as calling and explaining was not going anywhere. Thanks.