BBB Accredited Business since

Sullivan Heating & Cooling Inc

Phone: (360) 405-0723 Fax: (360) 405-0831 5373 Auto Center Way Ste 205, Bremerton, WA 98312

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers heating and air conditioning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sullivan Heating & Cooling Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sullivan Heating & Cooling Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sullivan Heating & Cooling Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1994 Business started locally: 11/01/1994 Business incorporated 11/29/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Daniel Sullivan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Sullivan, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 5373 Auto Center Way Ste 205

    Bremerton, WA 98312 (360) 405-0723


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a problem with my furnace not heating at my home. The first time someone came out to assess the problem, I was told it was the heating coil, which he had a part for and replaced. Later, I found that the heater still was not heating all the time, only occationally. To explain, I have my son and Daughter living in this home. I am at another location. My son called and said it was still not working. They both are seldom home since one is a pilot and the other an ER nurse. I called your company again to have someone come out again to see why it was still not working. When I made the call, I was not told that I would be charged an over time fee ($192), or I would have scheduled at a time where there was not this fee. Also, why am I being charge twice to have someone come out to fix a problem that was not fixed the first time out. I know this happened last month, but I have been out of town for 10 days. Can I please get a credit for this additional call. I do not think this is fair, since I wasn't even told that I would be charged so much. I have already paid for the first call plus the parts installed for both visits, which came to a substantially large bill.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation or at least reduction of my last house call bill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/10) */ We sympathize with the customes pilght, but the facts of the situation are as follows; On 10/29/14 we received a now heat call from this customer, on arrival found gas valve turned off and the HSI reading high OHMS, replaced the hot surface ignitor, star and tested furnace running properly at this time. On 11/10/14 customer called and said furnace not always keeping home warm; told customer we could get there today but ift would be overtime charges, she decided to schedule for 11/12/14, but please call her when in route, when we called and said we were in route she said furnace was working and cancelled appointment. On Saturday 11/15/14 customer called with no heat,found intermittent control board causing furnace to only operate intermittently, only charged customer overtime diagnostic fee (not our overtime labor rate which would hae been higher)and tenant signed invoice with listed fee. Quoted customer price for new board and replaced it on 11/19/14. So in conclusion, we already gave the customer a break on the overtime call by only charging for a diagnostic fee. (with labor, fuel and travel time it cost us more than what we billed her) and if the customer would not have cancelled her scheduled appointment (which also had a cost impact on us)none of this complaint would have occurred. At this time we are willing to credit the customers account the entire overtime diagnostic fee towards a new furnace, thermostat or indoor air filtration product. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for doing this. I'm overwhelmed with your taking care of the full overtime charge. This will help greatly with this Christmas season Again, thank you

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We built a new home and Sullivan Installed our heating system. We have had them out twice to service our system for improper working order in the last 7 years. When we had a failure for a 3rd time, they quoted us a repair bill of over $2000. I opted for another company to come in and trouble shoot. Their assessment was different than Sullivan and only $800, with 5 year guarantee on the repair. Our heater is working properly for the first time since it was installed! As the system was new when it was installed we did not realize it was overworking to heat our home and not working properly which in turn was causing our power bills to be in the $500 a month range during the winter!!! With the ******* heating repair, the power bills have gone down and the heater is working BETTER than it ever has!!! All my husband asked was that Sullivan waive the fee they charged for their inappropriate diagnosis and really for a faulty install! They stated it was our fault for not servicing our furnace annually. I am paying the bill but want to warn others with new construction!!!

Desired Settlement: To waive the fee $130 they charged for a 3rd WRONG diagnosis of our furnace and really 8 years of a faulty install and 2 prior misdiagnosis and repair bills. Seemed reasonable to me!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ installed a new heating system for customer in 2004, customer chose not to have a maintenance agreement. in July of 2008 customer called with trouble with cooling...found dirty filter and coil, cleaned coil and filter.... on 07/29/2011 customer called with no cooling...found bad capacitor, replaced capcitor and serviced unit, cycled and checked operation including refrigerant charge and electrical current and draw, system running properly at this time. on 08/20/2014 customer calls with no cooling.... found system low on refrigerant, did leak check with leak detector sniffer and found pin hole leak at indoor coil and expansion valve, gave customer quote to replace both, customer decided to get another opinion and had another company replace the expansion valve only. now the customer doesn't want to pay for our service diagonstic call and now complains about high heating bills and a ten year old system that they now say was never installed properly, but their new service company only replaced a bad expansion valve, but the system now runs great. I'm totally dumbfounded on how people feel it's okay to not take care of their equipment and then when there is a problem they want to cheat the service company out of payment. we installed the equipment correctly and have only been above board and professional in all our dealings with this customer over the last ten years.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading Sales. Sold us on 30 years of service, but sent rookies. They DID NOT even pull a permit until after they were caught. Could not get their product to work for Two Months! System burned Propane Non-stop in the middle of Summer, service call after service call. 90 degrees in the house, only 80 outside. Once the system worked, browned out the house! My TV shut off twice while I was watching it! That was when we found out no permit was applied for, they never contacted **** and they never got the measurements from the Transformer to the unit. ******** was constantly "out of the office" until he didn\'t get payment, then he was suddenly available. He admitted he knew the brown out was a possibility with a unit with this rating, but didn\'t tell us because of our budget. His answer was to now sell us another unit. We asked for what the extra cost would be and he provided exact amount. My wife called the bank and got approved. ******** then raised the price! He continued to raise the price yet again when we tried to negotiate. He said that "he was the victim here" because of all the service calls! The final insult was that he sent a worker to my house in the morning, without permission, to remove the heat pump from outside of the house. When he was confronted, his defense was that he sent an email that we had not yet received or responded to. We now have no air conditioning at all anymore and we can only heat the house by burning expensive propane. ******** kept the money we put down in good faith for a furnace and heatpump, but after $6,500 all we have is the furnace.

Desired Settlement: What choice to we have? Every expert we have spoken to, says that we overpaid by about $2,000. So a check for $2,000 would be fair, so we can put it towards a heat pump. If we can\'t get any financial relief, then we just want other potential buyers to be prepared for misleading sales, not informing customers about known potential problems, work that is not properly permitted before they start, substandard installation by rookies, unavailability when there are problems, prices that change, and the claim of 100 percent satisfaction that is 100 percent a lie.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ We removed an existing condensing unit and propane furnace and installed a new system on 06/29/13. All our dealings with this job were between our salesman **** and **** ****** and not *** ******** and *** ****** as he references to and he is mistaken on several issues.. We did not contact *** because the Holdens had an existing condensing unit. As for the dimming of the lights (not a brown out)when the heat pump starts, *** was contacted and given all the information on the new unit which they approved as it fell into thier requirements. When **** ****** checked into the cost of having a larger transformer the cost was prohibited because even a larger transformer might not stop the dimming of lights because of the distance from their house to the transformer location. We offered to replace the new heat pump to a higher efficent heat pump that is variable speed compressor and credit them for the unit that we installed and this would not cause the lights to dim, but we would need to upgrade the zoning controls or go with just one thermostat to keep the cost down. not that we were changing pricing on the new heat pump. then after four months of none payment or decision on changing the heat pump, I told Mrs. ****** that I needed a decision or payment or I wouldn't be able to give her full credit for the installed heat pump because the unit was now becoming used. Mrs. ****** said she did not have the monies and could we just come and get the unit and credit her for the balance owing. So on 10/25/13 we removed the heat pump and credited them $6,524.29. As for *** ******* experts telling him we over charged them by $2,000.00, I'm sure they are not aware that included in the work we did is a new soft start kit (helped the dimming of lights but did not resolve it), coil, refrigerant piping, upgrade of their electrical to the heat pump because the existing wire was to small of gauge,labor to come get the heat pump, repair ductwork and two zone dampers in the crawl space that another sub-contractor had broken (we have pictures of where someone dug a trench under the ductwork that was broken),having to install a new control wire from the board to the upper level zone that another sub-contractor shorted out when they were installing new circulation lines for the water heater. All these problems caused by others also created service calls and trouble shooting to determine the problem and we never charged them to repair or replace. We tried to do everything we could to help out the ******* (because Mrs. ****** kept reiterating they were on such a tight budget and how they had such a bad experience on their last remodel and ended up in a law suit)from not charging them for all the extra repairs and work we did including giving them the $6,524.29 credit when in actually we should have only given them a $2,000.00 credit for a heat pump that was used for four months. They did continue to use the heat pump even though thier only complaint was the diming of lights for less than a second when it starts in cold weather.

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to have a refrigerator repaired and they did not disclose that they charge $128 per hour or part of an hour. Repairman came out several times, even when not requested and the charged for each time. Total charge was over $1300 to replace a $158 part. At no time did they give us any idea how much would be charged and then sent a huge bill for a minor repair. My wife complained and they took off one hour but the total we paid was still about $1100. A company should have to disclose if they charge an excessive amount per hour to make repairs.

Desired Settlement: Refund of a portion of our payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ on 02/03/14 received call commercial reach-in cooler running warm, arrived at 11am found cooler running normally, holding set temp. billed one hour at $128.00 received payment, so customer aware of hourly charge which is not excessive and is very competitve for commercial refrigeration repair. on 02/10/14 customer calls with cooler running warm and compressor running hot, when arrived unit running normally(1hr.) on 02/11/14 stopped by to check on cooler found all running normally(1.5hrs.), told customer do not turn unit off when compressor gets hot so we can diagnose problem. on 02/12/14 (1.5hrs) found compressor running hot diagnosed bad temp control, ordered part and replaced on 02/14/14(2.5hrs). total labor now 6.5 hours to diagnose and replace part. it is very unfortunate we had to make several trips to finally have the problem arise while we were there. when the complainants wife called to discuss the bill she asked to have the labor charge for the time our serviceman stopped by on his own (without a call from the customer) taken off so we reduced the bill by $150.22 and the customer paid $922.62. Not sure how much more the complainant wants the bill reduced since his wife was the one who suggested the $150.22 off and we were in agreement since we could not diagnose the problem until it acted up while we were there. The only thing we did wrong here is go above and beyond to take care of the customer, so at this time (only to continue with the superlative service we provide)we are willing to credit the customer an additional $128.00 if that is satisfactory to the complainant. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/24) */ This company offered on March 5th to refund $128 (which is equal to one hour that they charge) and we accepted their offer. It's been almost 8 weeks and they have not sent the money so I would like to reopen this case. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/25) */ being a commercial unit we credited the account, if Mr.Hartley would like a check, we will put one in the mail. Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/04/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Please send a check, we will not be doing business with Sullivan Heating and Cooling in the future.

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called and requested they fix my furnace.It would not cycle.Serviceman came,indicated he couldn't find the problem but furnace needed cleaning and the igniter was getting worn so I oked work. Did not solve the problem.He charged $374.00 Called again and he came out. We agreed it could be the thermostat. I indidcated I'd install a new one. That did not solve the problem so called and got a call back the it was probably the gas valve or circuit board. I called and asked them to determine which it needed. The serviceman came out again and checked the circuit board and indicated that was the problem and said replacement was 400 dollars.He THEN said that the furnace was 18 years old and probably only had a few years left. I feel he should have said this the first visit and tested the circuit board then. I received a bill for another service call for $128.00. I feel I should have been informed the first visit that the furnace was 18 yrs. old with only a few years left and also that it was the circuit board causing the problem.If I pay the additional $128.00 I'll have paid Sullivan over $500.00 for not fixing my furnace.Throwing parts at it is not good business. I think I have been ripped off. They also wanted to put in a new furnace for $2300.00. I had one installed for less than $1200. I wrote them, much as I have said to you, and asked for my money back. They did not call me or attempt to negotiate,just sent another bill for $128.00 I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money back.I will take them to court if need be. I and my wife are in our 80's and can't afford paying this kind of a bill. If they had fixed it for the price of the circuit board I would have been happy. I should have been informed first that the furnace was too old to fix and what the true value a replacement would cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/11) */ on 12/31/13 received call of now heat. when we arrived furnace was working, home at 70 degrees. furnace located in garage which has been turned into a wood shop. furnace was covered in wood dust inside and out found flame shutting off, no flame sensing, ignitor in bade shape, needs replacing. did complete prevenative maintenance of gas furnace, cleaned electronic air cleaner (looked as if never had been cleaned in years)cleaned flame sensor, replaced ignitor, start and tested furnace ran through several cycles, now okay (total bill for all the above including $118.00 dianostic $345.00+tax). on 01/03/14 received call customer doesn't think thermostat is working properly, when arrived customer shows service technician how contactors on thermostat won't close unless he turns thermostat above 80 degrees, then heat comes on but house gets to warm. offered to replace old style contactor thermostat with new digital thermostat, customer said he would go to store and pick out new thermostat and install himself (we did not charge customer for this service call). on 01/13/14 customer calls with intermitant furnace problem (heat not always coming on). found circuit board sometimes not turning on gas valve, circuit board needs replacing ($423.00 including $118.00 diagnostic fee) or furnace replaced with new furnace and disposal of existing for approximately $2,300.00 (we install new furnace systems like this every day for between $2,200.00-2,600.00 which is a very competitive price, I would like to know where he got a furnace installed for less than $1,200.00 and if the company is even licensed) customer said he would heat with wood for now and call when he could afford to replace system. billed customer $118.00+tax for diagnostic fee. obviously the furnace needed a new ignitor, new thermostat (furnace ran properly for 14 day,s) and a new circuit board, but with the furnace always working properly when we arrived it was difficult to know the circuit board was only working interminantly. we have been more than fair with all our dealings with this customer and it is outlandish for him to accuse us of ripping him off. we use an industry standard flat rate system for service billings and have all repairs preapproved by the customer before doing any repairs. it surpises me after all the additional help we provided this customer, that he would threaten a law suit and take this position. even though we already gave him one free service call, we are willing to credit him the last service charge of $118.00+tax that he still owes to make this go away, but by no means will we offer anything else. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept the proposed resolution . I still believe they were just throwing parts at the repair and did not diagnose the problem nor inform me that this was an old furnace. I would suggest they practice better business practices. Had they done this instead of billing me I would not have said anything. It's not the money but the intent that riled me. I want nothing more to do with them, that's why I accepted the conditions. ***.***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/19) */ Just to clarify, the $423.00 was not billed. We will reverse the $128.00 and send the customer a statement showing $0 balance owing.