BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of heating, air conditioning and refrigeration system.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moore Heating Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moore Heating Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moore Heating Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1986 Business started locally: 05/01/1986 Business incorporated: 05/01/1986 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Jones, General Manager Ms. Dodi Merchant, Administration
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Jones, General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Dodi Merchant, Administration
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 1801 E Dowling Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 561-1500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just purchased a home the seller had Moore heating leave off the inspection problem with furnace, 2 days after moving in I had it serviced and it failed the CO2 test and was deemed a health risk

Desired Settlement: A new furnace

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/08/30) */ They have corrected the issue and I would like to withdraw the complaint

6/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/5/2013, I call Moore Heating to do a estimate of my garage heater, blowing cold air.Tech **** ********,***** inspected the unit heater and found piiot light out, and he visual said the spot welds on the heat exchange were split and the Modine heater unit had a cracked heat exchange. The tech did only a visual exam nothing else and told me it would cost $1800.00 to replace the unit. I call ******************* for a 2nd opinion and they observed, ran a carbin monoxide tested and also a light test in complete dark to see any defects. ******************* found no cracks in the heat exchanger and the unit work ok. There are no carbon leaks and I also called the ************** and they refered me to a local repair company and they also found no issues with my garage heater and the heat exchange. I was charged $94.00 and I am upset with Moore heating and how they tried to take advantage of me. A day later they called and said they could fix the heat exchange for $1300.00 and ******************* told me they could do the job for $1300.00 with a new unit labor included.On 4/7/2013 Moore heating came out and did only a visual check and still insisted the welds were split and I corrected him with the finding that ******** and the ************* and company rep told me. The Moore Heater suporvisor still would not admit to the wrong.The unit is still working ok with no leaks, I have 3 carbin detectors with in 3 feet of the unit. The unit is ok.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my $94.00 refund.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/10) */ The only accurate way of checking the condition of a heat exchanger is to do a visual inspection. Using a CO detector is only effective if the unit is producing CO. If the burn is clean like a cook stove, CO will not be produced. If CO is being produced it may not find its way out of the heat exchanger at the time of testing. During the heating cycle of a heating appliance the heat exchanger expands and contracts as it heats and cools at any time making it a potential hazardous condition without the homeowner knowing about it. That is why we bring it to the customer's attention when we find heat exchanger problems. Our technicians are not paid to sell and do not benefit in any way to sell something to a customer, especially something that is not needed. We would consider that to be dishonest. Our concern is the problem still remains. This heat exchanger did not have cracks or weld failure when it was new, but now is showing signs of weld failure, which at any time could open up enough to produce CO in the living space. In the event this took place, the liability and responsibility tends to fall back to the heating company. I spoke with the ****** representative to ask, in their opinion, what would be considered a defective heat exchanger. He said if the spot welds are pulling apart it would be defective. What the technician and I both saw were several of the spot welds pulling apart. I would be willing to meet the company and representative that said this is not defective on my own time with no charge to the customer. It is our desire to bring this to a resolution with our customer as soon as possible. We do understand that it is important to help educate our customer's in the proper operation of their HVAC equipment, so that they might understand the reason for the diagnosis we've made. We appreciate the Better Business Bureau giving us opportunity to address this issue. Thank you, Moore Heating