BBB Accredited Business since

Middleton Heating & Sheet Metal Inc

Phone: (541) 758-3358 Fax: (541) 758-3159 View Additional Phone Numbers 610 SW Washington Ave, Corvallis, OR 97333 http://www.middletonheating.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential heating & cooling systems, installations, service, repair, preventative maintenance programs, and custom sheet metal work.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Middleton Heating & Sheet Metal Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Middleton Heating & Sheet Metal Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Middleton Heating & Sheet Metal Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated 10/03/1973 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn DeFord, President Mr. Dale Gay, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn DeFord, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Sheet Metal Work Contractors - Sheet Metal Fireplaces Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Ventilating Contractors

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:00pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Emergencies 7 Days a Week
24 Hours a Day

Additional Locations

  • 610 SW Washington Ave

    Corvallis, OR 97333 (541) 758-3358 (541) 928-1005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 20, 2008, I purchased through mentioned company a new furnace. The original invoice states that "Supply air ducting accessible from the garage will be rebuilt and sealed to reduce the amount of heat wasted in the garage." After the installation, which I signed off, (because I assumed - by mistake - that I had hired professionals to install the furnace), and continued to experience extremely high heating bills. Because I was raising a family all these years and using utilities, I blamed the expense on this. After all my children left home this past year, I began closing off vents in rooms, closing off the fireplace, caulking and putting plastic on the windows. And lastly, changing the water heater setting. I now live alone. In November 2015, my electric bill was $109 - 30 days later it was $254. On Christmas Day, my friend went into the crawl space of my home and found a severe air leak at the furnace entry wall. It is my belief that Middleton Heating simply removed my old furnace and simply set the new one in its place without sealing any of the problems that I called them for in the first place. I believe I was taken advantage of because I am a single mom who didn't realize the need to supervise the installation of a furnace.

Desired Settlement: Because of their initial shoddy workmanship, I would appreciate if this company would stand up and do the right thing by repairing the air leaks that I contracted them for in the first place at no charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/15) */ *** ******** contracted Middleton to install an electric furnace and have a separate company clean her ductwork, which both occurred in October of 2008. Since the installation, Middleton has never received a call, letter, or any type of complaint or request for repairs from *** ********. Our records indicate that *** ******** has not had any service, repairs or even general maintenance performed on her furnace since 2008. After six years, we were shocked to read *** ********'s complaint. Our contract that **** ******** signed, and refers to in her complaint, clearly states a one year warranty on all labor and workmanship from the date of installation. We still maintain a close working relationship with the duct cleaning company that cleaned *** ********'s ductwork in 2008. If there are any problems with a duct system at the time of cleaning, they will not only inform Middleton, they inform the homeowner directly. The duct cleaning company did not note any problems, tears, rips, holes or ill-fitting ductwork while cleaning and inspecting *** ********'s ducts. Many things can attribute to high electricity bills. Operating an electric furnace (electric furnaces are to most expensive to operate), less daylight during the day, colder days and nights, running the heat more or turning up the thermostat during holidays, not having maintenance performed on equipment, not changing dirty filters, utility rates going up, and ductwork can become compromised by joint sealing tape failure, age, under the home pests, rodents or animals. We feel that Middleton properly performed all of the items proposed for *** ******** six years ago. We also believe that if *** ******** had any issues or concerns with her installation, she would have contacted Middleton to try to resolve such issues. Instead of contacting Middleton, *** ******** filed an unjust complaint with the Better Business Bureau as a "strong arm" technique because she knew her warranty expired 5 years prior. Middleton is a family owned and run business, and is well known for performing above industry quality work. We unconditionally stand by our warranty, and it is clearly in writing on all our contracts.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service