BBB Accredited Business since

Genesee Fuel & Heating Company Inc

Phone: (206) 722-1545 View Additional Phone Numbers 3616 S Genesee St, Seattle, WA 98118 http://www.geneseeheat.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail residential heating and oil distribution, as well as sales, service and installation of heating and cooling equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Genesee Fuel & Heating Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Genesee Fuel & Heating Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Genesee Fuel & Heating Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1929 Business started locally: 01/01/1929 Business incorporated 12/27/1960 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Clark, President Mrs. Sarah Allen, Controller Mr. Gordy Nelson, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Clark, President
Related Businesses
Cascade Oil Company
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Thermostats Air Quality Service Gas - Propane Oils - Fuel Duct Cleaning Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing

Alternate Business Names
Bowman Oil of King County Genesee Propane Laurelhurst Oil

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Genesee Fuel & Heating Company Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3616 S Genesee St

    Seattle, WA 98118 (206) 721-2045 (206) 932-7575 (888) 792-7684 (425) 228-7060 (253) 852-8800 (206) 772-4447 (425) 252-0450 (253) 243-0022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ***********, where we have been a customer since 2001, to get a furnace repair. The serviceman came out, was very rude, and claimed that the problem was fixed. That night we experienced a smell of burned oil in the house and I got sick, had to go to the ER. I then found out that ******* is no more, that they have been bought out by Gennessee. I called the service manager who refused to work with me on this issue; I then called **** ****** at ****** Fuel who came over and fixed the problem (bad damper) quickly. Now, Gennessee is sending me to Collections for this, when I have indicated over and over that I have no problem paying for delivered fuel but will not pay for a service call that did not work and made us sick.

Desired Settlement: Remove the charge for the service call and reimburse me for ******** repair. I will happily pay for the fuel we used, and NEVER deal with these people again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/02) */ A ******* (operated by Genesee) service tech was dispatched to Mr. *********'s residence on 12/13/13.The call reason was odors. The technician performed routine maintenance and diagnostic tests including checking draft. The technician noted on the invoice that the furnace needed a power vacuum of the heat exchanger and chimney base. In addition, it was recommended by the technician that, due to the old age of the furnace, carbon monoxide detection was needed. We believe that the smell problem was due to furnace not having proper draft because it needed to be power vacuumed. We believe that our repair and recommendations were proper and appropriate. Because Mr. ********* is an important customer, we are happy to waive the $95 diagnostic fee if the balance of the amount owed is paid. We will also waive all finance charges.