BBB Accredited Business since

Fire & Ice Heating & A C

Phone: (503) 309-1901 View Additional Phone Numbers 11124 NE Halsey St Ste 507, Portland, OR 97220

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers heating and air conditioning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fire & Ice Heating & A C meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fire & Ice Heating & A C include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Fire & Ice Heating & A C
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2013 Business started: 04/01/2009 Business started locally: 04/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. George Landen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Landen, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Business Management

According to business license information from Oregon Secretary of State, George Landen is the corporate member of Fire & Ice Heating & Cooling LLC. For more information on this company, please refer to its BBB Business Review at

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fire & Ice Heating & A C has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11124 NE Halsey St Ste 507

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 618-9010 (503) 309-1901


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** was a partner in Fire and Ice in 2005, according to his website. His company which he claims is now out of business but is listed as being in business since 2005, incorrectly installed a Ruud heat pump. Two years later water was coming out of the system. I called them again and they came out to "fix" the system. He again stated that it was installed by a former "partner." I paid for the repair. What he did not say is that it was installed so badly that the system was tilted back on itself making the water run back into the system. In August of this year the AC died. I had another company come out and they told me the AC was shot because of the way it was installed. IT was also missing part of the proper installation. I spent $2700 fixing the AC. This month the furance died. I need a new furnace because the water from the AC destroyed the motor and electrical board. Not only that, I now have severe mold in the basement where it leaked. I need this repaired before my 85 year old mother gets sick. Of course, now my warrenty is expired. I have documentation of the installation, the "fix" and documentation from a BBB of the outrageous, horrific installation.

Desired Settlement: ****** ****** sent out "an assessor" from his company to look at the problem on Sunday September 21, 2013. This same assessor was the same guy who came out to "fix the heating problem a few years ago." An independent heating man was with him and the "assessor" acknowledge the poor installation. *** ****** hung up on me and said it was all my fault for "failure to keep up the system." I want to be reinbursed for the AC, $2700, a new furnance, that is now destroyed, and IMMEDIATE removal of mold caused by the leak due to the installation. Please. My mother is not well and is 85. I need to fix this ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/26) */ BBB Please Explain To ***** That She Has No Legal Standing To Attack My Company. Her Central Air/heat System Was Installed By Fire & Ice Heating & Cooling LLC, And If She Wants To Pursue That Entity She May. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2013/10/29) */ *** ****** was mistaken when he stated my "grandmother" who in fact is my mother, reported that a "domentic water leak" caused the mold problem. He also stated my mother was "shuffled off" after she stated that. My mother was a nursing supervisor for 40 years in NY. NO ONE, AND I MEAN NO ONE, tells my mother what to say or "shuffles her off." She specifically came down to tell *** ****** the flooding from the AC had damaged her clothes and that she needed to have them all dry cleaned. NO one put words in her mouth. In addition, my other contractor heard exactly what she said. I also had the mold removed by a reputable mold remover who wrote a statement saying the mold I incurred could "ONLY HAVE COME FROM THE A/C UNIT." I refuse to let *** ****** and Fire and Ice get away with shoddy workmanship and hide behind a "change in business name" to escape liability. I wish to continue with this complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2013/11/06) */ I'm having my attorney draw up a letter addressing the issues and this letter should be ready by sometime next week. I would expect the letter to be ready by Friday 11.15.2013.